24th October – Points Pyramid Challenge Commentary

So it’s obvious you need skulls on to ramp up the skull multiplier, but which mission is easiest? It should be one with a vehicle, since they help negate the effect of skulls. There’s only one for me, Long Night of Solace. Rally Point Alpha is your space combat in the Sabre, so works really well here. I played in Heroic but I think even in Normal you’d be able to do it, might just take a little longer.

Turn on as many skulls as you’re comfortable with. I used these skulls:

  • Black eye – no melee option so doesn’t affect
  • Catch – No grenades to speak of, so doesn’t affect
  • Cloud – No motion sensor, so doesn’t affect
  • Famine – No dropped weapons, so doesn’t affect

Then roll out and shoot some Banshees and Seraphs. My multiplier was 5.25, and in 5 minutes I had my 25,000 points. The par for the mission is only 20,000, so it’s surprising this is that easy!

7 Responses to 24th October – Points Pyramid Challenge Commentary

  1. Sam says:

    Does the challenge unlock once you reach 25k points, or do you have to finish the level (or save & quit)?

  2. Matthew Vose says:

    It unlocked as soon as I hit 25,000 points. I was worried because no message came up to say ‘Challenge Complete’ like normal, at which points I thought perhaps you can’t do it in the space combat for some reason. However in the challenge screen it already said I had the challenge, and when I quit the game it gave me the credits. Hurrah.

  3. Sam says:

    Thanks! I felt that it should be pointed out the Tough Luck might be useful to add, unless the ships dodge more often when this skull is enabled.

  4. Pingback: 13th November – Reach Daily Challenge Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  5. Pingback: 16th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  6. Pingback: 18th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  7. Pingback: 22nd February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

