24th November – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Hold on, hold on – we’ll get to the Ordnance weapons in a bit…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Any game mode, 150 enemies. Gruntpocalypse gives 120, Score Attack gives 100, Winter Contingency gives at least 100 but can be up to 150 if you stay out at Rally Point Bravo. If you’re going for assists definitely do them first, then mop this up in Firefight.

Secondary Fire – Bleugh, assist challenges. We’ve had good debate lately about how to get these, I say Plasma Pistol to take down shields. Others that have been put forward are sniper shot to the body, grenades and heavy weapons. Your best bet is to team up with someone on this, if they know what’s coming you’re more likely to get it.

J.H. Death Machine – Thanks Josh Hamrick for making the weapons again. 10 enemies, grenade launcher – go into Score Attack and pick the loadout which comes with a free grenade launcher. Then go ape on the waves. I did it on the Grunts, but it also worked well on all waves except the Elites – with everyone else just let them come the corridor pinch point and let fly. The Elites were my one problem but then they always are!

Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Okay, I wasn’t sure either. It should be Rocket Launcher, Spartan Laser, Grenade Launcher, Plasma Launcher and Concussion Rifle. I hoped it might be the Sniper Rifle too, but alas Team Snipers didn’t work. So Rocket Race is an option I hope, but I didn’t get a chance to try it out (if you do please report back). I got this by playing Team Slayer, and in Elite Slayer on Sword Base I grabbed the Concussion Rifle which is at the end of the main central area, but the jet to the top level. Then the enemy were kind enough to group by the killing zone and I opened fire.

I might do a further post on this later, but it should be easy if you can grab any heavy weapon on a level.

We’ve not got an exciting Facebook page where I’ll add any extra comments and you can get updates on posts. Go to this page to access it and click like.

And if you’ve not voted in this week’s polls please do…

17 Responses to 24th November – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. bungiesgirl says:

    I thought that the post from last night was pretty awesome as an update; I like pictures!

    Share some pics of you doing the challenges!

    BG xx

    • Matthew Vose says:

      There weren’t any good moments in my challenge hunt today sadly. I did get a streak of 92 kills in Score Attack, with 52 of those being using the Grenade Launcher, so that’s something.

      But it was all fairly mundane – Team Snipers to test out SR as an Ordnance weapon, Team Slayer to test out heavy weapons and get the challenge. Score Attack to get kills and Josh Hamrick Death Machine, then some Winter Contingency to get the final kills.

  2. Andy says:

    Did Explosive Ordnance Distribution in my lunch break on Elite Slayer on Powerhouse – this has a rocket launcher in the spillway and a concussion rifle in the locker room. I thought that it was a grenade launcher in the locker room so went looking for it because people always know where the rocket launcher is and beat me to it, but the concussion rifle worked fine for me.

    Also by targetting this challenge first I picked up a few assists from clipping people with it but then someone else turning up to finish them off. Working in pairs is great advice for getting the assists, but even if you just tag along with another player on your team they should come without too much effort, you may also find you score a few more kill in the process too!

  3. David says:

    It would be cool if you could recap on what the challenge is in the commentary because I find myself flipping back and forth to check on which one you’re talking about and how much credit is to be had. Maybe use a summary copy/paste at the end would be easiest for you.

    As always tho, thanks for the help! I got 7 of 16 so far on the weekly challenge and I see 3 here that shouldn’t be a problem, but we’ll see if I get time to play. uhg

    • Matthew Vose says:

      For you David, I will give it a go. I’d thought to myself in the past that I should re-iterate the challenges but no one had said it was a problem so decided to leave it.

      I’ll still do a separate challenge post then the commentary a bit later, but will have the challenge details listed there too. I’m looking to add in new features where I can so any comments are gratefully received.

  4. Trey says:

    Man, I want the airstrike in mulfiplayer matchmaking. How awesome would that be?

    …actually I could see it now, EVERYONE rushing for it, and me getting trampeled under the stampeding hoard of 8 year olds screaming insults at my mother.

    One could only wish.

    • Silas45 says:

      HAHAHA…BEST COMMENT EVER…IT’S SO TRUE!!! STUPID 8 YR OLDS!!!!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Agreed – both a funny comment and how true it is! And I’m not sure how useful it would be – unless you actually track it on someone it’s easy to see and avoid. Although raining it down in Countdown would look amazingly epic!

  5. Silas45 says:

    Hey you say that Elites are always a problem…well best way to kill them is to have a plasma pistol and a DMR.

    One shot with an overcharged plasma pistol + One shot in the head with the DMR = One Dead Elite! (yes a rare time where 1+1 does not equal 2!)

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I agree, I think I’ve talked before about the plasma pistol being a v powerful weapon, especially against Elites. The time I struggle is when you end up with the 6 uber hard guys at the end of Score Attack, where you don’t necessarily have either the PP or a precision weapon. Even the sword takes two or three swings to kill one!

  6. bungiesgirl says:

    Just working my way through the challenges at the moment – only go the assists (grrr) to go.,.

    I was surrised how easy Explosive Ordnance Distribution was – I hardly ever use the concussion rifle but was merrily spamming away to get the challenge in an Elite Slayer game on Sword base 🙂

    Good times xx

    • Matthew Vose says:

      That’s exactly what I did. Challenges like this are difficult because there are several ways to do them, but once I’ve done it one way I can’t check the others. Hey ho.

      And at least half a dozen clicks through your site today, hopefully your readership’s going up.

  7. Riley says:

    Didn’t have time to get all the challenges last night…too much of a grind for the 1/2 hour I had before bed. Got 3 of 4 so I’m 7/8 in regards to the weekly challenge so far. Planning on playing a few hours tonight. Somewhat dissapointed with the sub 5000cR total today, but can’t complain about the high totals from the past few days. If anyone is online between 8pm-1030pm MST my GT is ShadowScythe99. Nice to see some pics up on the site too!

  8. Defender77 says:

    I got it using the concussion gun on Powerhouse in Elite slayer. Not bad, and the assists were a pain. I have a hard time letting up so some one else can kill them. 🙂 got all 4 tho – bed! Happy Thanksgiving all!

  9. Nissassa 17 says:

    Hopefully, tomorrows will be better 🙂

Leave a Reply

