26th November – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

I think all of today’s challenges are a bit of a grind, which is a shame, but at least they’re not too challenging to stop you working for the weekly…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

You probably won’t get this in going for the others. My advice to get lots of kills quickly is always Score Attack games, using Gruntpocalypse on Corvette. You get 120 Grunts coming at you in waves, which is very easy to work through and rack up those kills.

Gunslinger – Kill 100 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Pick your best game type and play it a lot. Multi-team battle is excellent for a good number of kills, especially Oddball and Crazy King since those matches go on longer. Avoid Rocket Race though, you don’t get many kills, if any.

Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1500 cR

We’ve had this challenge a few times since I started the blog. Have a read of these three posts for my previous thoughts on this, I still say playing through The Package and The Pillar of Autumn, particularly from later Rally Points for each will see you well. If you’re doing other levels, throw on the Thunderstorm skull for upgrades to enemies so you get more Leaders (as always thanks to imortal youth for the tip).

Double Nickels – Earn 2 killing sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

And we’ve had something similar to this before as well. As it was back then, try and get a weapon you like and aim to take out 5 guys with it. I think sticking with Plasma Grenades counts, so Elite Slayer could be a good option. Of course the alternative is to play something like Courtyard and snipe people from far away. Don’t get so engrossed in your scope you miss what’s happening around you though!

And that’s it. There has definitely been a good haul of credits this week, and if you get the weekly you’re sitting pretty. I just ranked up to Commander and I’ve still got 1 more challenge to get out of the 16, which is pretty sweet!

Housekeeping notices are as usual – click Like on the Facebook page to see updates and additional thoughts there, follow me on Twitter to get updates on posts, and vote in this week’s polls. I’ll be doing a quick commentary tomorrow as it’s my sister’s wedding, but don’t worry, I won’t leave you high and dry (note to Bungie – please make them easy challenges that I know how to get!).

2 Responses to 26th November – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. biffomatic661 says:

    i know its lame .. but you can pick up the 400 enemies and the leaders challenge in a couple of minutes … just go use the oni base credit farming trick with the ordnance … there are a couple of leaders in the group and a handful of grunts and other enemies

  2. iam8up says:

    Regarding Shootin and Lootin, I have a very good game type I found that was meant to get a million points on Firefight for the achievement. I killed 400 elites in roughly 10 minutes.

    For Gunslinger, I usually do well in Team Swat. The kills come quick and roll in. I usually get 15-25 kills in 10 minutes, making for a quick challenge. Usually when playing I go for fun, not challenges – but not when a 16k challenge is awaiting!

    Congrats on the rank! I just hit Lt Colonel with the weekly.

Leave a Reply

