1st December – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

How excellent is it that Pinch Punch is a trending topic on Twitter?

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 90 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

You’ll get close to this in the other challenges, so stick to multiplayer to continue on with the weekly total. If you want to knock it out quickly, Score Attack on Corvette gives you 100 kills of different types that you can use different weapons on, so I’d go for that.

Secondary Fire – Earn 25 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

As always, team up with someone and communicate about it. An assist is where you do 40% or more damage to someone who is killed within 4 seconds. Melee, Snipe or Overcharged Plasma Pistol do that damage really quickly, so get a friend or team mate to go around a map and do it.

Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 5 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1625 cR

Eek – Elite Slayer is going to be just grenades flying everywhere. It’s going to be even worse with Armour Lock as that causes a grenade to become unstuck, which everyone seems to use in Elite Slayer. If you’re clever you can do it in any normal multiplayer game, I know Sword Base (by the ramp up to the main killing area where the small room is) and Countdown have some Plasma Grenades sitting around, I bet the other maps do too. If you know of locations please comment them.

Credits for Completion – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Oh my God, a whole 4 games. As with yesterday if you really want to do this quickly then go for Infection/Living Dead which go really quickly (except in one game I played yesterday that ran almost the whole time because we all actually worked together to hold the main location. Shocking I know).

No housekeeping today, as you’ll probably have noticed the useful links on the side bar now point to Facebook, Twitter and the weekly challenge for you to get notifcation of updates and thoughts on achieving the challenges.

8 Responses to 1st December – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. bungiesgirl says:

    Oh dear these sticky ones are going to get tricksy! That said I am really happy that the challenges are getting a bit more creative but leaving enough space for the people that have less time (such as moi as I have stupid work during the week, grumble)…

    Elite Slayer on powerhouse could be good for stickies – there are plenty of stickies around (down near the showers, up near the upper bridge & all around the dead bodies!) but watch out for accidental betrayals and lets hope that everyone plays nice and isnt too boot happy!

    For the assists, elite slayer can be a good one as well because you can start with a plasma pistol, plus armour lock gives off an EMP to drop the shields. Hit me up if anyone fancies doing it later!

    I dont believe that there was working together in infection – vid pleae or it didnt happen 😉

    Looks like this will keep me happy all afternoon and into the evening which is lucky with all this blooming snow!

    probably catch you later

    BG xx

  2. Steve says:

    Lovin’ the sticks and elite slayer. I enjoy elite as a nice vacation from Swat and Stickies tend to be my tool of destruction during elite games, so this is right up my alley 🙂

    I’m sorry, but Assists are my least favorite challenge type, especially for so few credits. I find myself getting distracted from the game and ruining my K/D spread trying to get assists instead of kills and winning games. Iono, I could be alone in this, I’m just annoyed by them and wish they’d stick to different kill types and weapons or encouraging play in different game types.

    Lastly, is anyone else surprised by the fact they’re making it a ‘challenge’ to complete and not quit games?

    Lovin’ the blog, it’s great to read at work and plan my night of Reach!

    ZanyMex

    • Poiju says:

      The Assists Challenges only drive me nuts when they are not cumulative. Trying to get 10 assists in one game always distracts me from getting kills. With the weekly challenge being what it is, though, might be worth it to ignore the challenge and play some of the new maps, letting your assists accumulate in the background.

      As for more challenges for kill types and weapons, I always love those! The T-HUG challenge yesterday was fun, if not a little easy. (Maybe 8 to 10 for more Cr next time?) The complete 4 games challenge is weak, it seems ridiculous that it wouldn’t be at least WIN 4 games.

      The blog is great though! Definitely gets me ready for after work Halo!

  3. Chris says:

    Slayer Pro will be a good way to get 5 sticks . Spawn as a Warden , you get 2 stickies , and nobody has Armor Lock as it isnt an option .

    • Silas45 says:

      I totally agree and if you can, try to do it on “The Cage”. Small map so people can’t just hide and narrow paths so people can’t get away as easy and its easier to do long distance sticks. There are also 2 extra sets of Plasma Granades on the map…both lower level. One set on the way to the man cannon and the other set at the bottom of the ramps.

  4. Silas45 says:

    Let me just say the best way I have found to get assists is by playing Muti-team Oddball. I get on average 10 assists a game without even trying. I go for kills and end up with assits and normally I still get a positive K/D ratio. I also find that Countdown is the best map. Stay on the top level while everyone is fighting for the Oddball on the bottom…works great for me!

    • bungiesgirl says:

      Thanks for the oddball tip – I’ve already got mine by some weird accident, but I will be giving this ago next time to check out how I fare!

      BG xx

    • Spiderbaby says:

      Multi-team Oddball on Countdown is also where I got my Totally Worth It achievement (by accident). Lots of close quarters, grenades, swords, and shotguns.

      For Sticky Icky Icky: On Atom, the sticky grenades are found on the ramps leading down to the grass from the tower blocks. These are the ramps near the rock wall opposite the cliff’s edge.

      Thanks for keeping up this blog – I always read it before my Reach dose.

Leave a Reply

