15th December – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Some painful grinding challenges today, must be Tuesday…

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Multi-team will get you lots of kills quickly, particularly in Crazy King or Oddball, so stick with them to get through this as quickly as possible.

Pass the Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

You also get lots of assists in Multi-Team. I’ve been trying Team Slayer for assists lately which isn’t bad, but I’m also hearing people saying Rumble Pit is worth trying. If you do use Rumble Pit, please report back.

Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 1000 cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, especially in Firefight. My best thought on this needs to be proven, but I reckon Gruntpocalypse on Corvette (where else), get the 50 kills medal, then die and do another 50. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. Again if you try this method report back to everyone.

Killing Spree – Earn a Killing Spree in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Killing spree in multiplayer will take 5 kills, over any time. So best methods are to use a 1 kill weapon (Energy Sword, Shotgun), and camp out somewhere to use it. So the tunnels on Asylum, the top of lifts on Sword Base or Countdown etc. The Sniper Rifle might help, and most of my sprees come in Team SWAT and just getting your shots in first.

Not huge numbers of credits today, but some you’ll probably get by playing naturally anyway so that’s a bonus.

9 Responses to 15th December – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. G says:

    Rumble Pit is definitely worth trying for assists, especially if Crazy King and Oddball come up. As you’ve said before, you have to be prepared to die, so you still really want a game variant where players come together in a big ruckas… I always find these 2 the best.

    As for Gruntpoc, I’ve done this before using exactly the method you describe above, dying after 50 kills. So, yes – it works!

    I must say I find the challenges a little uninspiring this week. Not sure why…

    • xXMaster SoulXx says:

      Yes like i said before Rumple Pit is the way to go for Assists! everyone all piling up at once killing eachother your bound to get an assist!

  2. Braythor says:

    Regarding Rumble Pit, I tend to play that mode more than others, though mainly because I’ve only had the game a month or so and I don’t have a mic (I know I don’t really need one but sometimes I think it’d make team games easier). Anyway I did the 25 assists challenge on Sunday (?) and it took me about an hour and a half. Not great but you tend to get other m/p challenges too during that time. Most games I think I average between 3-5 assists on, a few more if Crazy King, Headhunter or Oddball turn up.

    I’ve never had a Gruntpocalypse on Firefight matchmaking, but then I think there’s a few options I haven’t explored. Another choice would be something like sniperfight; I know it’s a crap mode but you can get extra sprees with the sniper rifle (5, 10 and 15 kills without dying). Alternatively you could pick up a shotgun/hammer/sword and Leeroy a bunch of enemies for the extra spree medals. Oh and you can also get plasma grenade stick sprees, though that’s not really the easiest option.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Gruntpocalypse doesn’t come up in Firefight Matchmaking, you have to go through the Score Attack mode to get the Gruntpoc and Score Attack variants. Well worth becoming familiar with imho.

      • Turbo says:

        Matthew, thanks for keeping this blog. I come here just about every day because I’m usually on line before I can turn on my XBox.

  3. Turbo says:

    I find rumble pit on Pinnacle, The Cage, or Asylum gets me lots of assists, sometimes as many as 8 or 10 in a game, usually 5 or 6. You get three or four players converging, you kill the first player, start working on the second, but because of damage in the first encounter, the second player has a good chance of killing you, but the next player will kill him because of your damage. You get more assists than team slayer because everybody is killing everybody.

  4. Turbo says:

    Weapon Swap – The last time this challenge came around, I found doing sniper firefights the best because you can get sniper sprees and sword or hammer sprees as well as killing sprees.

  5. Riley says:

    The whole point of the 10 sprees challenge is to mix up the use of weapons in firefight…sword spree, shotgun spree, sniper spree, hammer riot, assist spree, killing spree, killing frenzy, running riot, untouchable, invincible, are ten I can think of off the top of my head. Of course most people are gonna die multiple times (only ones I survive a whole game on are sniperfight on beachhead/glacier/gruntpo usually).

    I wish they would get a little more creative with the challenges…i.e. – shoot down three dropships on ONI or something unusual.

  6. Aaron says:

    Sniper fight got me 18 medals this morning with 2 deaths. My suggestion is on courtyard. Get 50 kills then die. 115 available kills. So that netted me 18 sprees overall.

Leave a Reply

