17th December – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

It’s official, Christmas is here. Lots of snow outside, cake and treats inside, and Bungie are giving a ridiculous number of credits to warm your hearts…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1500 cR

Any game mode, so by the time you’ve gotten the other challenges you’ll pretty much have 300 kills. Cool huh?

Secondary Fire – Earn 25 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4000 cR

Communicate if you’re going after this, use overcharged plasma pistol shots, or sniper rifle shots, to strip away someone’s shields. Only 25 so it shouldn’t take too long. Rumble Pit is apparently excellent for assists.

Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 100 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Your automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. This will take a bit of grinding.

Mostly at Night – Complete Nightfall on Legendary without dying – 5000 cR

I’ve previously written a fuller commentary on this challenge, so refer to that for a good guide on how to do it.

Awesomeness. Although I have a Christmas Party tonight so probably won’t get near any of them. Oh well.

3 Responses to 17th December – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Braythor says:

    I really enjoyed the first three challenges today and thought it was a good combination; rumble pit all the way and I found that although it takes quite a few games you’re always happily working towards each of them, so it doesn’t feel like a grind. Crazy King is the way forward for assists; I had a good game on that (to be fair probably one of my best) in which I got 13 assists and more than a dozen rifle kills. I also got 12 doubles, 6 triples and 2 overkills, which made me wish I’d started aiming for the weekly earlier on…

    Don’t know about the campaign one, it’ll boost me to Cpt Gd3 but I’ve not done legendary yet and know it’ll take a while, in fact I’d definitely end up doing it the ‘cheating’ way. Would like to see some variety in the campaign challenges, that’s for sure.

  2. nwordjim says:

    Here’s a speed run video of this level (not me). I did this all the way to the end and used the save trick mentioned in the link.

    This took a total of 15 minutes.

  3. Defender77 says:

    I hadn’t played campaign for awhile so I loaded and guess what…Nightfall legendary was the last level. Clicked on Resume save and boom…challenge met. 30 seconds of load time.

Leave a Reply

