8th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Really easy challenges today, and a mix of game types which should be fun…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend 3 Score Attack and one Gruntpocalypse, since you don’t always get the full amount in each game (usually Grunts and Brutes kill each other by accident with grenades).

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 1500 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly. Go into Exodus to pick up the next challenge, then if you need to top up, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long.

Roast ’em, Toast ’em – Kill 10 enemies while jet-packing in Exodus on Normal – 1200 cR

Now, if you can get these 10 with an automatic weapon you’ll help on the last challenge. Go to Rally Point Alpha of Exodus where you’re given a jet-pack and hop over to the platform. You need to make sure you’re actively firing the jet-pack when you get the kill otherwise it doesn’t count. 10 should be pretty easy, you can snipe the Grunts and Jackals before actually making it to the platform so getting a few that way. There was a good suggestion from Turbo last time we saw this – pick up a Gravity Hammer from the Brute who runs at you, then hit fire and equipment at the same time when hitting someone.

Vengeance Found – Earn your ‘Revenge’ in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1150 cR

Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you. Chances are you’ll pick this up naturally. That said, there are some maps that seem to make it easier, particularly ones where you can get back to someone really quickly. Team SWAT on Asylum’s good because you can snipe the guy who took you out from afar. I like Countdown because the high platform by the jets and ramps is always a killing zone that’s easy to get to and you’ll often find your killer there. Infection might be good if you’re the zombie and you get shot by a human and can then take them out.

If you have any thoughts on other ways to achieve today’s challenges, please add them into the comments. How’re you doing on the weekly challenge too? Anyone like me expecting to get it tomorrow?

 

21 Responses to 8th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. EMiE1705 says:

    Hopefully I should get the weekly challenge today and also rank up to Captain at the same time 🙂 This weekly challange has been great for me as i have gone from Warrant Officer grade 2 to grade 3 and will b at captain by the end of it

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nice one! I remember that grind from Warrant Officer Grade 3 was such a slog – much like the one I’m in now getting from Commander Grade 3 into Colonel, and then through all the Colonel ranks! That’ll be another achievement ticked off for you when you get to Lt Colonel!

  2. Braythor says:

    This is a nice little mix of challenges. I’ll be getting the weekly today (only need 3), which gives me nice cR boost; I just crawled over the line to Lt Col last night.

    Re the firefight one, I find going into matchmaking pays off as quite often players quit or it sets you up with less than 4, eg Thursday I was put in a match with only one other person on rocketfight on courtyard and got over 200 kills just from that one game. The only downside is that occasionally you end up on something like sniperfight on waterfront (I hate that so much).

    Exodus I agree is a good one for today as there’s lots of spikers and needlers around. Re the jetpacking one, last time I nicked the rocket launcher off the guy when you get outside and tried using that but don’t think it worked. Do you have to be firing the jetpack when you fire the weapon or when the enemies die? I’ll try it again today.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      It should be you have to fire the jetpack as the kill is made (with grenades that’s how it works). If you try again let me know what happens. Cheers.

    • Pavan says:

      How do u knw once u have got the ten kills. It is not telling me anything an i am sure that i gave much over ten kills with the jet pack. I am on exodus difficulty normal. Is it the scoring? I put Free for all.

      • Russ says:

        mine wasn’t telling me either – had to keep checking the Challenges bit to find out i;’d done it 😦

  3. Mike says:

    Just out of curiousity, can u get the 10 jetpack kills then just quit the game? Or do I need to finish it out?

  4. Rob says:

    For today’s first challenge you said “I recommend 3 Score Attack and one Gruntpocalypse,” ….

    Why not just do 4 Gruntpocalypse since it would be easier and you would be guaranteed to get the 400 kills? Just curious why you recommend Score Attack over Gruntpocalypse.

    THANKS!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Because in Score Attack you get a variety of enemies and weapons, so you can rank up lots of commendations rather than the 4 or 5 you can do in Gruntpoc. It also helps refine some skills against those enemies too. It’s my opinion, you’re right, it’s potentially even quicker with Gruntpoc but that gets a little tedious.

      • Rob says:

        “…so you can rank up lots of commendations…”

        Ahh!

        So you have the potential to gain a larger variety of commendations in Score Attack vs. Gruntpocalypse.

        Thanks for the insight!

  5. Russ says:

    i got my weekly on Thursday 😀

    nice range of stuff today, just completed the 400 kills via gruntpocalypse. heading to get my revenge then going for Exodus :]

    anyone know how to get gruntpocalypse from heroic to legendary ?

  6. Valdan says:

    Matt, may I call you that? I really appreciate what you do on this site and all the time you put into it. I just wanted to say thanks and I really love the site design and layout. If you ever need anything, as a true fan, count me in!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention 8th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges -- Topsy.com

  8. Alex says:

    Finished the weekly this morning…still not even halfway to Brigadier from Colonel Grade 3 (200,000 cR)…sigh. Now that’s a grind, none of this Warrant Officer crap! 😉

    I’m gonna start playing some other games now though…getting a little burnt out on Halo. I’ll just stick it in to grab some of the easier/high cR challenges for a while now, I think.

  9. TigerNuts44 says:

    First weekly challenge complete! This site is really useful and I share the sentiment of the other posts in thanking you for the dedication and time you put into it. Chapeau Matthew Vose!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Thanks Tiger, well done on getting that achievement! Are you close to doing all of them?

      And what does chapeau mean? I’ve not heard it as a greeting/herald type phrase before.

      • TigerNuts44 says:

        chapeau is french for hat, but its also means ‘hats off’ as a term of congratulatory thanks/respect. famously used on the front cover of l’equipe sports newspaper in france when lance armstrong won his 7th tour de france, the headline was ‘chapeau l’american.

        again excellent site and perfect for beginners (like me) and the experienced alike. has really helped me to learn about all the different modes there are and how they can help with the challenges.

  10. Nova says:

    I only need one more daily challenge tomorrow to complete the weekly challenge. This will be my first weekly challenge completed. I hope tomorrows won’t be crazy.

    Ps this site is awesome. What time is it updated?

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Cheers Nova, the weekend ones are usually a bit easier, and mixed, for the weekend crowd – if you look at the stats on people you play multiplayer with it’s usually obvious who’s casual or not.

      I try and post around 11.05 GMT. The new challenges come out at 3am PST, which is 11am here in the UK. It takes about 5 mins for the Bungie site to update and me to do that first post. I then do the commentary as soon as possible, sometimes straight away, sometimes later in the day. There are occasions where I can’t make it at 11, so I update next time I have a free moment via phone if necessary.

Leave a Reply

