12th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Sorry for the lateness gang, I was knocked off my chair by the introduction of a new challenge today…

More than a Handful – Kill 77 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1750 cR

Multi Team Battle is the best way to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other mode. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out.

On Tilt – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Tilt Skull on – 1500 cR

What, an entirely new challenge? Surely not?? Tilt modifies the damage levels for shields and armour. I heard it somewhere saying ‘a Brute’s armour is better against projectiles, but now worse against plasma’. Basically, you really have to get the weapon right when shooting dudes. Winter Contingency is as always the recommendation – it’s fast and fairly easy. And most things die when hit by a jeep so a good chunk of the level doesn’t change much. Make sure you work on headshots with the DMR a lot – they’re always a good reliable kill method.

…Got a Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

As usual, I’m a little controversial here and recommend Team SWAT, particularly somewhere like Sword Base. Lots of teams work together in the killing area at the top of the green lift, so if you can either hold that or attack it cleverly you’ll quite often be able to take out 2 guys at a time (in previous games I got at least one Execution and a couple of Overkills). If you’re looking for alternatives, Multi Team is good, particularly Crazy King or Oddball so the round goes on longer and you can take out guys going for the objective.

Oops! All Kills – Earn 7 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 777 cR

Again the Multi Team Battles are excellent for multi kills. These will stack, so an Overkill (4 people) counts as 3 multikills. The objective variants are helpful because you can aim for people who are going for the objective (ie in the hill in Crazy King) where a natural firefight usually opens up. Again, I’ll play Team SWAT as I like the game type and know it can lead to a number of multikills.

Low credits but not a huge time investment, and for a lot of you I think the multiplayer challenges you’ll get as part of your normal playnig habits anyway!

8 Responses to 12th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Bryan says:

    We’ve had “On Tilt” before, but only once. It was on September 29th, so it was forever ago, and understandable that one would forget about it. I know I forgot about it until I saw your post and I was thinking, “I know I’ve played Winter Contingency on Tilt before for some reason.” So I checked my spreadsheet (yes, I keep a spreadsheet of challenges, lol), and it was only worth 500 cR as opposed to 1500 cR this time.

    • Derrick says:

      The spreadsheet idea is cool! Any way I could get a copy of what you’ve got so far? I’m curious to see the changes in credit values and I’d also be interested to know how often a new challenge is introduced these days.

      • Bryan says:

        Sure. I have a Google Docs version of it that I haven’t updated since Christmas Eve. I mainly had it up there for me, but if more people start viewing it, I’ll start updating it again 🙂 Enjoy!
        http://goo.gl/CdbCU

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I was keeping a spreadsheet up to December – but I stopped when I found the sterling work done on http://www.halopedian.com/Challenges to keep a full record of the challenges.

      I did some analysis on recurring challenges, credits per kill, which challenges were more worthwhile etc, but since Bungie are still working on the system and refining it any analysis has to have the information on what periods to look at and compare – which I don’t.

  2. Russ says:

    covered them all with Team Swat, apart from the campaign one, of course – campaign kinda bores me, know it back to front now 😦

    question: do people still play ODST online ?

  3. Skellyton5 says:

    …Got a Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

    “…I got at least one Execution and a couple of …”

    Execution? or Extermination.

  4. Marker57 says:

    Might be a good time to do the weekly challenge today since you can do On Tilt at the same time.

    • Marker57 says:

      Just got both challenges done, but man the last portion was tough. I was trying to do it on my own in split screen mode, but I guess a combo of co-op Legendary + Tilt makes it so that Elites’ shields don’t go down w/ a single charged plasma blast. You’re facing 3 Elites at the end. I had to get somebody to man the 2nd controller to pass it.

Leave a Reply

