20th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

After the astonishing find of a Gold Ranger Elite from yesterday’s challenge, we get back to normal today with Firefight Thursday, maybe 30 minutes of play for 7200 in challenge credits, plus those from Firefight games themselves will make this a profitable day…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend 3 Score Attack and one Gruntpocalypse, since you don’t always get the full amount in each game (usually Grunts and Brutes kill each other by accident with grenades), and Score Attack gives you a good way to up various commendations with the variety of weapons and enemy kills.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

150 headshots isn’t possible in one game of Gruntpocalypse, so run through it twice quickly. Take your time, even when you shoot a Grunt in the body they usually won’t die so you can then re-align your shot and hit the head. You know it’s a headshot because you get the birthday explosion, which makes it a happy occasion! Be careful of using grenades, and Grunts throwing grenades, as they’ll whittle down your available headshots, but with two games you should have plenty spare to go around.

Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 1000 cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, especially in Firefight. I reckon Gruntpocalypse on Corvette (where else), get the 50 kills medal, then die and do another 50. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. Alternatively go into Score Attack (or indeed Firefight Matchmaking proper) and use the Shotgun for three, sticky grenades, Swords, Hammers and anything else you can that gives a spree (this list on Halopedia shows all Spree medals available) to top up the killing sprees as well.

One Game, One Spawn – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game without dying – 1200 cR

I really hope you like Gruntpocalypse. The best strategies to make sure you stay alive are to use Sprint, letting you get to the platform by the corridor on Corvette to DMR Grunts as they enter the arena, which speeds up the match and means you can take out 30-50% of the wave before they get close enough to be a threat. Key things to be aware of are Grunts with Plasma Launchers and Fuel Rod Guns, who will fire from further away; Grunts overcharging their Plasma Pistols; and Grunts throwing grenades as they get close. Take out anyone you see with a heavy or charged weapon first. If you see a Grunt pull a Plasma Grenade, shoot it and they’ll often drop it. If you hear one thrown or something fired then get out of there quickly. Always better to pull back to a different part of the map than make a brave stand. Don’t be a hero and dive in, you get plenty of time to take them all out.

A number of people ask how to get to Gruntpocalypse and Score Attack, if you go into Matchmaking menu, select Co-operative and then select Score Attack. You’re given repeated options for each level of Score Attack, Gruntpocalypse and Mythic Attack. Easy peasy.

Do you have any other methods you want to share? Please put them in the comments below. If you want to get other updates on these posts, use the useful links on the right to join the Facebook group, follow me on Twitter, or further down the page subscribe to receive them on email.

19 Responses to 20th January – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Braythor says:

    Ah firefight thursday, what a way to start off my 30th birthday. Especially after yesterday (I spent 3 hours trying to find that damn elite, but he evaded me. Still, at least I upped the Right of Way commendation…).

    I say sniperfight is a good start, as it gives you a boost towards all of them (I’m pretty sure headshots with the sniper rifle count, even though they’re registered as sniper kills, am I right does anyone know?). It’s also possible, with the right team, to get through without dying – I managed this on Outpost the other week, with all of us stood on the roof in the middle. But you wouldn’t get the sprees I don’t think. I’d say die on sniperfight, get the sprees and a good headshot count, then gruntpoc. to get 2 and 4. I also find Outpost good for that – stay at the top of the stairs, strafing behind the crate if needed. You’re also right above the ammo so you can drop down then jetpack back up nice and quickly.

    Lastly I noticed yesterday that there’s a discrepency between the commendation requirements on my profile on bungie.net and those in the in-game menu. For example, on the site it says I need 7,000 to max out onyx Get Loud on F/F, but in the game menus it says 8,000. Anyone else noticed this and which one is correct?

    • Edward says:

      Sniper headshots do indeed count as headshots.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Hey Happy Birthday dude! It’s my 30th in a couple of weeks too.

      Sucks about yesterday, I’ve heard so many mixed things of people taking 6 minutes and done, and others taking hours and hours and still nothing. As you say, experience in the level at least!

      Yes Sniper hits do count as headshots so that’s good. I’m not great at staying alive all the way through a round in Matchmaking, and I’ve rarely played with people who are, Gruntpoc seems to be the much easier way of doing it.

      I hadn’t noticed a discrepancy – perhaps do a little research on Google and/or Bungie forums to see if anyone can state which is the right one to follow?

    • DCSimian81 says:

      Happy Birthday! My 30th is next week! All I’m doing tonight is cooking and then blasting aliens…no gym, no nothin’…I haven’t gotten the past two days’ challenges and I’m feelin’ that itch…thank god for Firefight challenges…Gruntpoc makes me happy 🙂

      So the spree challenge…it counts for killing sprees or do you have to keep switching out weapons for things like the shotgun spree and the sniper spree?

    • GenuinRisk says:

      Happy Birthday Braythor!..I was 30 in aug last yr!…strange coincidence with all the 30’s commenting…cool stuff!

      Got all the challenges with Gruntpocalypse. Had to get the 10sprees by dying midpoint like Matthew suggested. Always play Gruntpoc on Corvette; it’s truly the easiest.

      On another note: The weekly challenge is in sight for me!!!….The Key I found out is Grifball
      It’s easy to get multikills on there; and in one of my games, I had a multikill count of 32 in one game! basically went from a weekly count of 51 in two days to 142 (net gain: 91!!) all in 2hrs of hammer -loving. It’s a measly credit to be honest but I saw it more as a challenge than anything else.

      • Braythor says:

        Cheers all for the birthday wishes. Only had the time to get in one round of sniperfight in, but got the sprees. By the way, I never hear anyone mention the sniper mode on score attack. I’ve seen it pop up but never played it, is it just the same as sniperfight, as I think it’s got a slightly different name, like sniper attack or something?

        Now, off to carry on my celebrations with those that couldn’t make it last night.

        PS It’s good to know that there are people my age who are also still into gaming.

    • Marcel says:

      Thought it would be hard but one round of Sniperfight gave me all 10 sprees. Nice though…

  2. Skellyton5 says:

    hey, I’m turning 18 saturday!

    anyway, in response to “you get plenty of time to take them all out.” If I play it safe I never have enough time and if I don’t i’ll normally have 10 deaths by halfway through (with about 50 kills).

    Also, I still believe than when the challenge for X kills in “Any game mode” is available that the fastest way is to build 3 sided box with no top, place 4 or 5 respawn points in it all close together, sign in 3 guests, and blast them with a wraith. Shoot before they respawn and the shot will already be in the air when they spawn. the wraith is the best way because it has large splash and the wraith CD lines up with the respawn time on 3sec.

    My twin brother and my little brother are very good at Gruntpoc and they still get about 1/3 to 1/4 of my KPH my way Vs. yours. Think of it this way, if you can average out at more than one kill every 2 seconds or complete a gruntpoc game in under 2 minutes then do gruntpoc(I’m averaging 100 kills a game and an extra minute for endgame-newtgame delay). Otherwise my way is much faster.

    I posted a more detailed post awhile ago and you said you still believe in your way. Please at least try my way. also, you can make no shields, everyone take bonus damge, and then use a rocket warthog. It is slightly slower but you can put your radical on the box, tape down the trigger and go AFK while you get kills. The only problem with this is that you will need to reconnect the controllers about every 10 minutesbut, if you have it setup correct you will have 200-400 kills already before they disconnect. Also, do this in Forge Mode becuse if you want to change something you can and there is no timeout or kill win.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I remember, and Happy Birthday for Saturday. I hope you have a good one.

      I’m going to stand by my convictions – the good thing about Gruntpoc/Score Attack is the affect they have on commendations, so you get a boost in credits from them, plus you’re getting to practice in actual gameplay, which will help you in the long run be better at headshots and so on. I agree you’ll probably get a higher kill volume, but I always weigh up the usefulness against speed on any recommended strategies.

  3. Tim Everitt says:

    Perhaps I’ve overlooked it, or just been a bit dense. Gruntpoc/Score Attack: you get to this through the Firefight menu or the Multiplayer>Co-op>Firefight menu. I ask because I don’t recall options within Multi/Firefight to alter what playlists come up.

    -Side note: happened upon your blog last night at 3 AM on my phone when I hit the point of not being able to sleep. Thanks you to, I stayed up an additional hour combing through previous posts. Have to tell you, the 2 hours of sleep was well worth the eduction on key components I wasn’t aware of. Well done, sir. Expect another frequent vistor.

    • Russ says:

      Tim, it’s under Multi – Firefight – Score Attack

      Then you get 2 options per map – Score Attack, Gruntpocalypse and Mythic Attack.

      hth !

  4. Kav says:

    When going for the “without dying” challenge I recommend score attack courtyard sniperfight. The safest place on the map, which you should use for the skirmishers, brutes, and elites, is across the bridge and to the right. The medic bubble is the preferred armor power. This also works decently well on gruntpocalypse, but sometimes you have to hunt the little buggers down when they get lost.

    I find the reduced amount of Fuel Rod equipped enemies on sniperfight alone makes it more survivable. I also think courtyard provides you with more options for cover and more lines of sight to find targets.

  5. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    I got all of the challenges tonight doing Score Attack Gruntpocalypse on Outpost. Outpost is easier than Corvette in my opinion.

    Pick Drop Shield. As soon as you spawn run down the back stairs to fill up on ammo at the locker, run up the stairs into the building, then up the stairs on the side of the building and stand at the top of the side stairs. It is very easy to pick grunts off as they emerge from the building at the foot of the stairs. Since it is the only way to approach you won’t be out-flanked. If you step to the right you can use the DMR to pick them off at a distance on your left while being shielded from any that try to climb the stairs. It is especially desirable to pick off any fuel rod gun grunts from a distance. Just check the stairs from time to time. You will quickly rack up many headshots and double kills, both at the bottom of the stairs or off in the distance.

    After you have killed a few at the bottom of the stairs there will be a pile of plasma grenades. Just jog down and pick up a couple, then back up the stairs. I throw a plasma grenade whenever I see a fuel rod gun grunt at the bottom of the stairs, or if there is a crowd. Step to the right onto the roof after you throw a grenade so you won’t get caught by a grenade chain reaction. Then go down and pick up a new plasma grenade, and go back to headshots with the DMR or pistol. This provides an endless supply of plasma grenades so it is easy to get a Sticky Spree.

    If you kill a fuel rod gun grunt on the stairs switch the pistol for it and use it at will.

    If you take some damage deploy the Drop Shield on the roof just to the right of the top of the stairs so you can heal but still be able to step out and shoot if necessary. If any grunts make it to the top of the stairs it is easy to step out of the shield and pummel them.

    Eventually you will run low on DMR ammo. It is easy to hop down over the side of the stairs to the ground, restock at the locker, then run up the back stairs into the building and then up the side stairs back to the top. Repeat as needed, but only when you really need to because you are vulnerable for the short time until you can get back to the top of the stairs. If after you restock and start up the back stairs you discover grunts in the building, throw a grenade and retreat because they will immediately try to stick you. After the building is clear you can run in and up the side stairs.

    While I can get through Gruntpocalypse on Outpost without dying, an easy way to get through a game without dying is to play a 4-player game on Glacier and just stay inside the building. Let your teammates do all the scoring and dying outside and just kill any enemy that somehow gets past them. Your score will be low but the risk of dying is also very low.

Leave a Reply

