9th February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary – Birthday Edition

See how much I love you guys, it’s my 30th birthday and I’m still commentating on the challenges.

Gunslinger – Kill 100 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi-Team battle is the place to go for lots of kills, as long as you avoid the Rocket Race variant. Crazy King and Oddball help get a high number of kills if you aren’t interested in the objective.

House of Pain – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Mythic, Tilt and Thunderstorm on – 2500 cR

Mythic, Tilt and Thunderstorm, so enemies are upgraded, tougher and damage is all messed up. Nightfall will be the way to go for this one. Read through my previous entry on speed running Nightfall, the only real confrontation you need to do is when you actually get to the pylon, and Jun should help take out the big guys too. There is a glitch for getting through the doors quickly instead of doing that confrontation – if you want to try look it up on YouTube.

Survivor – Earn 9 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, and can be really difficult in Firefight. I reckon Gruntpocalypse on Corvette (where else), get the 50 kills medal, then die and do another 50. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like.

Above the Neckline – Kill 7 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Pretty much any game mode will be good for this when the DMR or Pistol are available, but by far the best is Team SWAT. Make sure you hold your reticule high for headshots, and work on a quick trigger finger! Have a look at the weekly challenge for more info on using precision weapons.

And there you go. I’m off out to see The Fighter, then have a big meal with the family whilst watching a (hopefully) new look England team start a new era without the old guard.

As it’s my birthday do me a favour – join the Facebook group, comment on the post, suggest features you want to see on the site and say hi to the rest of the community around here.

31 Responses to 9th February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary – Birthday Edition

  1. Braythor says:

    Happy birthday Matthew! Welcome to 30. Did you know 30 is the ‘official’ length of a generation? Something to ponder… Anyway, thanks for the dedication. Think I’ll be back on multiplayer later (can’t believe I only discovered the joy of team Swat yesterday – after having my arse handed to me so often on other game modes, here’s one that I’m actually really good at). Have a great day.

  2. poseidon si says:

    Happy birthday squire, cheers for keeping the blog up, it’s much appreciated.
    Question: do we need the first of the 2 posts per day? You get the second one out so quickly (i’m sure not least because so many of the challenges are repeated!) that it seems redundant…

    Happy birthday, com on England, and here’s to being a 30-something gamer from London!

  3. michael says:

    Happy Birthday Matthew! I like the challenges today… A good mix of campaign, firefight and multiplayer. Yeah, if im right i think the glitch your talking about is the one where you get in the forklift after you cross the bridge and drive it up right next to the wall and jump out of it, throwing yourself through the wall. I did this not long ago just to see if it works. It did, just took a lil bit to get it right. Of course i will be doing this on Winter Contingency myself, seeing how i have done this mission countless times and know exactally where everything is. Also i would like to add that when you pass the last checkpoint, save and exit then restart from last save and make it through to the end without dying to get your Flawless Cowboy Commendation up! This worked for me twice, but the last time i did it, it didnt. Im sure you guys probally already knew this but thought i would post it anyways to help the ones that didnt. Have a great day everyone!

  4. hunter says:

    happy birthday. thanks for the commentary it helps alot

  5. SwiftEagleEye says:

    Hey bro happy birthday, gotta love the website and the dedication by the creator lol

  6. YoSoY says:

    Happy Birthday!

  7. Steve says:

    Happy Birthday from the states!! So long from the 20-somethings. Enjoy the movie, meal, and game.

    As for the favo(u)rs: I don’t use facebook, so that won’t be happening, sorry.

    Commentary: I think doing SWAT, Big Team, Team Slayer, or Arena (probably in that order) would be good for the 100 kills and progressing the 500 headshots. I’m at 250 and hope to get close to finishing it today with my free evening. My other suggestion would be Grifball. If you play with the right teammates, a solid carrier and the rest just getting kills, its not hard to get 60-80 kills in a game. Lots of commendations, high game completion, and actually getting a slot, unlike when people run it and the game finishes too quickly to qualify for it. My one teammate got 129 in a game last night. He was +88. It’s great just watching him hammer away.

    As far as what I’d like to see, I like the exploration of the new game modes and playlists. Its nice to have an idea of what to expect from them and how they could be used for challenges and commendations. I agree with poseidon si that you usually get the second post done so quickly enough that the former is essentially unnecessary. The only other thing I might wanna see added would be tips on getting commendations, but I realize that’s kind of outside the scope of a Challenges blog.

    Again, Happy Birthday, hope its a good one. Greatly appreciate the site and insight. Its nice to read at work so I have an idea of my Reach goals at night.

    ZanyMex

    • i tried grifball earlier and kept getting stuck with THE worst people. they would betray me if i even sneezed in the direction of the ball. *sigh*

      i think i’ll try team objective later on.

      • Steve says:

        It is very rough going into Grifball by yourself. I hate when the other team is like that, or all in private chat. I’ve almost given up on going into it solo. Having a good team or at least a friend or two makes the experience completely different. I feel your pain.

    • Shane says:

      “unlike when people ruin it and the game finishes too quickly to qualify for it”

      Yeah, I play Grifball mainly for fun and commendations. Hopefully it was just because of the daily challenge yesterday but there was always a couple of people trying to score as soon as possible. I missed out on loads of sprees because of that :-/. Working with a team of friends is the way to go here.

      • Steve says:

        I play for about the same reasons. And I play in a Grifball league, so it’s good practice. But yeah, I don’t understand why people try to score it right away or run at the other team with the ball with no support. I don’t remember it being like that in 3, especially when cR-wise it becomes a waste do to that. If anyone has any insight, I’d really like to hear it. Is getting the win really that important?

      • michael says:

        I thought the whole reason to play Grifball was to win? I mean im not knocking anyones way of playing the game but i thought the whole object was to see which team scores 3 points total. I understand that you can get alot of sprees and commendations in the game if it lasts a while, but why play the game if your not trying to do what your supposed to? I was wondering why when i would get the bomb and start towards the goal someone on my team would kill me instantly. 😦

      • sure, the point of any game is to win. but with challenges like “get 3 sprees in one game” or “kill 100 enemies in matchmaking” grifball is an easy way to accomplish those goals. and to work on commendations too.

      • michael says:

        I understand that but the way i was taking the comments on Grifball was that your not supposed to score as soon as possible. I definately see that side of it when your trying to complete a challenge, but if your supposed to score as soon as possible im pretty good at it. I was just wondering if i was playing it wrong or something. 🙂

      • Steve says:

        @ michael

        I don’t wanna say you’re playing it wrong, per se, but I know many people that would get very angry about it and say you are. I completely understand wanting to ‘win’, but there’s a large group of people who believe you’re winning isn’t winning at all. I play with a guy that can run the ball great, we’ve won matches in the first 15 seconds three straight rounds. But what do you really get out of it? A win, maybe a kill or two, and possibly a death. No real commendations, no jackpot, and almost no game complete. Now the game isn’t all about commendations and cR, those are a large part of it. So I guess I’d ask you what you get out of scoring it at the very beginning. We’ll still score, but we almost always wait until overtime. We can win almost all our games, when we have like-minded teammates, and then get 1000+ cR game complete, 300+ commendation cR, and then a jackpot, plus work towards close quarters, multi-kills, sprees, jack of all trades, and a nice positive kd. And like I said, when people don’t play with mics, its hard to convey the way we want to play, and so at times, people will teamkill in frustration. Hope that sheds some light, and I’d like to hear you’re response.

        P.S. Sorry if any of this sounded sarcastic or mean, that wasn’t the tone I have nor what I was trying to convey. I’m just being frank, and as you are a person that I’m trying to understand, I do want to hear why you play the way you do.

  8. Ytypo123 says:

    Happy birthday. These commentaries are the best on the web. Thanks for doing this. Doing rumble pit can get you at least ten kills a game and 25 if you are good at it.

  9. Oki Chobee says:

    Happy birthday Matt! Hope its a good one mate.

    As for the sprees, try and get the new fistfight variant in firefight arcade. Unlimited lives and you start with the sword and hammer.

  10. David says:

    Happy birthday – Great Work – keep it up!

  11. buon compleanno!

  12. GenuinRisk says:

    Happy birthday Lord Matthew!!…great job on the commentaries…one visit here and I haven’t looked back. We all appreciate your work and effort. Welcome to the thirties…I was in ur shoes not too longer ago….cheers!

  13. Shane says:

    Happy birthday and cheers again for the really helpful blog!

  14. curt says:

    i dont know many british people, but matthew, you are my favorite lol. thanks for the prompt, insightful posts and happy birthday man!

  15. LordLiam316 says:

    Happy birthday from Australia bro. I read these every night when I go to bed and every morning the minute I wake up. I can’t sleep without checking out this site.
    Love the work keep it up. And for you, we might pop another shrimp on the barbie. You know, to celebrate Matthew Vose day.
    LordLiam316

  16. stevelands says:

    For the Survivor challenge, try new game type crash site – infinite ammo and lots of dropped weapons to choose from. Happy Birthday Matt!

  17. matt says:

    Fistfight for the firefight challenge makes it a cinch

  18. kevin says:

    happy birthday from Canada. love your blog and the FB page. i read thru it every single day. keep up the great work!

  19. Scott says:

    Hey Matt, happy 30th! I just had mine a couple of weeks ago!

    I’ve been checking your site religiously since I discovered it a couple of months ago. It’s been a super helpful resource for planning ahead and figuring out the best way to work through the challenges, or conversely helping me decide if it’s not worth my time, and probably the single biggest reason for me continuing to play online after I finished the game (this is probably the first game that I’ve spent any reasonable amount of time online playing!). Thanks again and keep up the great work!

  20. Austin says:

    Happy birthday, and thanks for all the hard work you put into this site!

  21. Pedle Zelnip says:

    Gruntpocalypse is no longer available in Score Attack. 😦

    • tim everitt says:

      Its available along with 5 other (or so) new variants. Keep selecting none of the above to cycle through.

  22. Pingback: 12th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

