10th February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Easy challenges today on Firefight Thursday, plus some good credit values you can pick up really easily…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend 3 Score Attack and one Gruntpocalypse, since you don’t always get the full amount in each game (usually Grunts and Brutes kill each other by accident with grenades), and Score Attack gives you a good way to up various commendations with the variety of weapons and enemy kills. I got 122 kills in Fiesta Kill, so you may well be able to combine some of the new Firefight Arcade variants to get this easily. Has anyone played Skirmageddon yet?

Killagruntjaro! – Earn 35 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 3500cR

Gruntpocalypse, any map (although Corvette is my recommendation), and 35 multikills should be easy. Try and get yourself a good position to see several of the Grunt spawn points and take them out as they enter the map. Multikills always stack, so an Overkill counts as 3 multikills, therefore if you can take out a group you’ll do well. I like in Corvette using the platform to snipe the Grunts as they come through one of the lower doors, then swinging quickly to the central walkway and taking out any that are coming down the middle. Then you can also hit the Plasma barrel thing to take out any walking past there.

The T.G. Opposition – Kill 20 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1300cR

The best way is Score Attack on any map, particularly once the Brutes and Skirmishers turn up as they make real efforts to get to you. The Shotgun is one of the loadouts so you can use it for as long as you need.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500cR

Beachhead or Corvette are good because of the Wraiths that are dropped, however I think Outpost for this, because there are usually a few Ghosts dropped in each game. In Sniperfight you’ll only take a couple of kills to take them out too. 10 vehicles might take a couple of games to do, unless I’ve missed some way of doing this. Last time Glacier was recommended as lots of Ghosts and Wraiths were dropped, so this may be the best option – if anyone tries this please report back.

Thanks to everyone for the kind messages yesterday, I had a great chilled out day, now back to reality!

As ever, please comment if you have your own tips.

44 Responses to 10th February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. John says:

    Anyone having trouble with the vehicle kills? I’ve killed ghosts on Outpost and Wraiths on Glacier but it’s not counting either of the,

  2. Tim Everitt says:

    I love Firefight Thursday (I seem to say that every week).

    Tried Skirmageddon on Corvette. It’s like gruntpoc on steroids, perhaps weak steroids. The platform strategy for the map and gruntpoc can still be used, just be aware of the jumping skirmishes. The FRG of Skirmageddon is the laser rifle.

    The recent updates are the best yet: http://www.bungie.net/mobile/dl/article.aspx?cid=30547&type=topnews

    And Happy belated birthday, btw.

  3. Solar Pudding says:

    YES firefight Thursday! I’ll be going after these tonight (Eastern Standard) if anyone wants to get a squad together. May have some help from my twelve year old too …

    • Ian says:

      I’ll be hitting these too today. i’m willing to get a squad together. let me know and i’ll get you my gamertag.

      • Probably 7:30 ish? I’m Solar Pudding on there but my name is Josh.

        Side note – I see you’re from B-more too! What’s with all the mid-Atlantic people on here?

  4. Justin says:

    Sniper fight on Glacier worked for me last time with vehicle kills. Of course of my 4 teammates, two of them dropped within a couple minutes of the match, and the third one must have been a 3 year old playing because he couldn’t do anything.

  5. michael says:

    Looks like i will be doing firefight most of the day. The only challenge that i will have a problem with is the flat tire challenge. Last time this challenge was up it was hard for me to take any vehicles out because as far as i know, this has to be done in a game with 4 other people. So when the vehicle was dropped everyone went wild trying to get it first. Does anyone know if any of the new game variations in score attack have enemy vehicles? Im hoping so, it would make this challenge easier for me. 🙂

    • Tim Everitt says:

      If I recall correctly, Corvette Score Attack drops a couple of wraiths.

    • Ian says:

      i’m fairly certain that the score attacks do not have any vehicles unfortunately, nor does the firefight arcade. Although arcade with rocket fight should make the multi-kill challenge easier. it looks light you have to try for a firfight limited with snipers or rockets on one of the maps with vehicles for that flat tire one.

    • The Master Chief says:

      Good Luck Guys – Thanks for the great post mate!
      Re. John and Michael
      I think I remember this last time this challenge was out, you need to be in multiplayer Firefight ie. not Score Attack! hazy memory though :s
      Can anyone confirm/deny this?
      I’m at work for another two hours then I’m hitting these challenges!

      • John says:

        I think you’re probably right, there didn’t used to be vehicles in score attack but now they’re available the challenges don’t seem to work with them.

      • michael says:

        What map in score attack has the vehicles now?

      • John says:

        michael – from what I’ve seen there’s Wraiths in Beachhead (I think), Glacier and Corvette (also I think), ghost in Outpost and a banshee in Holdout. There’s probably more and they don’t appear in some modes – they definitely appear in the 2x score attack.

        There’s also drop pods now plus those insanely annoying sniper jackals in Waterfront even when you’re on a heavy weapon loadout with no weapon pickup making it pretty much impossible to kill them

  6. blah. thursdays stink.

  7. michael says:

    I just tried frgfight and fiesta attack. They are a good change if your looking to get the challenges done and are tired of the old firefight or score attack. Fiesta attack starts you with random weapons everytime. My favorite mix was the rocket launcher and the hammer. 🙂

    • John says:

      I like the idea of Fiesta Firefight but not the current implementation, I think ammo should be unlimited and pickups should be disabled so you’re stuck with the guns you start with. I realise that would make it challenging if you only have a plasma pistol but I’d find that more entertaining as right now your starting weapons don’t matter too much, if you don’t like them you can just go and grab dropped weapons and use those instead.

  8. okay i lied, that wasn’t too bad at all. 3 games of gruntpocalypse for most of the kills and the killagruntjaro or whatever then one game of score attack x2 for the rest of the kills and the shotgun kills. it took me less than an hour…

    i’m not gonna bother with the flat tire one, multiplayer FF matchmaking always lags hard core for me.

  9. DCSimian81 says:

    I did Sniper Attack on Corvette last night and they dropped in one Wraith at the end.

  10. Braythor says:

    Err…where the hell has the normal firefight mode gone? All I’ve got is limited, arcade and score attack…

    • John says:

      The previous Firefight mode is gone, if you want to play Firefight that way go for Arcade as it’s much the same.

      • Braythor says:

        Oh…that’s a bit crap; arcade’s only 15 minutes and there’s no vehicles to wreck on it…Is it coming back do you know or is it gone forever?

      • John says:

        Braythor – At the moment I don’t think there’s any plan to bring it back, one of the complaints about the Firefight mode was the long duration hence it’s been shortened for arcade. I haven’t spent much time in Arcade as I prefer Limited so only know the basics

  11. John says:

    For Killagruntjaro! I’d recommend the new FRG attack as the fuel rod gun’s firing speed and larger magazine make it a breeze to get a multikill on pretty much every enemy you hit. Just don’t choose Waterfront as you’ll have the annoying Jackal snipers which are difficult get shot of with no weapon pickup leaving you either the needler or fuel rod to try and shoot them down.

  12. A tip for trying to get the flat tyre challenge

    if you turn on all three search restrictions,
    alot of the time it fails to find you teammates
    so you can get the game all to yourself and all the vechicle kills 🙂

    • meh. for 1500 cR it’s not really worth it. i’d rather just spend that time getting the cR in SWAT and working towards the weekly.

    • Shane says:

      Sneaky… I like it!
      🙂
      Could be good for working towards that commendation.

    • Oh cool! I didn’t realize it would time out eventually and send you in alone.

    • dukemeiser says:

      Or you can sign in a second controller and turn on restrictions. It will take the pressure off of you while you target the vehicles.

      • John says:

        I thought you got a ban if you do this though?

      • dukemeiser says:

        I believe they only ban for full party idling. And idling controller really doesn’t help you. It basically becomes a game of Score Attack with drop ships.

  13. OK I am super stoked about these new Firefight modes.

  14. Steve says:

    Beachhead Sniperfight, get at least 7 wraiths a go.

  15. michael says:

    I dont know about you guys but the 35 multikills challenge was rough on me. I played about 6 games before i got it. I finally got it on gruntpacalypse on corvette. i would recommend to try and do the same if you are having the same problem that i did. I kept the dmr and picked up a fuel rod gun. Thats what got me the challenge. GOOD LUCK!

    • John says:

      I found it fairly easy with the new modes, both rocket and FRG attack make it pretty easy as you can pretty much get a multikill on each enemy. Sniper Attack is also fairly good as if you’re sitting at a good spot where enemies have to come straight at you the sniper rifle can get multikills in a single shot.

  16. Austin says:

    I also have to recommend FRGFight for quick completion of the Killagruntjaro challenge. I had 35 multikills using the fuel rod gun within 10 minutes of playing on Glacier. Great multikill opportunities when shooting large groups of enemies as soon as they spawn — but be quick because your teammates will be looking for the same easy kills.

  17. dukemeiser says:

    I was splattering on Beachhead with the provided Ghost when the Heretic Elites showed up. One of them jacked my Ghost! I turned around and tagged it with my plasma launcher, destroying the vehicle with him. It counted for the Flat Tire Challenge!!!! 😀

  18. Will says:

    I just got +60 multikills on Glacier Rocket fight. Being in the right spot for the Bonus round help. No vehicles though. Haven’t found a spot for the vehicle kills … tried to get a Beachhead Sniper, but it didn’t get voted.

    Happy Belated Birthday as well.

  19. G says:

    I got the multikills on corvette with fiesta attack, first game. I think so long as you headshot the grunts and the jackals, and use the stickies for the first few brutes, you can easily get this before you’re halfway through the brutes. If not, just jump into Gruntpoc and the multikills soon stack up

  20. Turbo says:

    I got the multikills on Gruntpoc in the Courtyard. The new mode drops a target locater. Both times I used it I got a Killionaire, so that’s 18 multikills right there. The new mode also drops a rocket launcher. I ended up with 51 multikills.

Leave a Reply

