13th February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Lots of easy credits again today, in some of the more fun game modes too…

J.H. Death Machine – Kill 70 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Grenade launcher – 2000 cR

Score Attack for this one, and in a change from normal go do it on Beachhead. One of the loadouts is the Grenade Launcher, so grab that and go nuts. The waves are Grunts, Jackals, Brutes, Skirmishers and finally Elites. I tend to use the base as a camping zone, especially with the Grenade Launcher going to the top and firing down as enemies appear.

…And Recreation – Kill 100 enemies on Beachhead on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Hopefully one round of Score Attack will get you this. If you can avoid any of the waves taking themselves out you should get a minimum hundred kills.

Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

3 assassinations in one game can be tricky. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there. Anyone who has watched the Halo Reach Mythbusters series will know that assassinating someone on a moving platform, and sometimes on unusual terrain, does not trigger the animation but counts, so that could be useful (I know I’ve been assassinated on the ramp on Pinnacle but the animation didn’t play).

Close Talking – Earn 40 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1600 cR

Close Quarters Combat is melee, assassination, Sword, Hammer and Shotgun (let me know if I’ve missed any). It’s actually my normal way of playing to shoot then melee so it should be pretty quick. If only there was one game type where you only had CQC weapons to use… Oh yeah, Grifball’s back! Jump in there and have some fun bludgeoning the other team to rack up these kills.

See, fairly easy to get? If you have any tips of your own please add them into the comments. I’ve also added a poll below which I’ll run on each commentary for the next week, please add your vote to say which of the controller schemes you use in game…

15 Responses to 13th February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. stevelands says:

    That’s probably the quickest I’ve done all the daily challenges. Took 1 game of score attack on Beachhead with the Spectre loadout, then a couple o’ games in rumble pit because I didn’t get the assassinations in the 1st game. Then finished off with a few games of infection. Now I can play something else without feeling like I’m missing out for once!

  2. Coolguy says:

    I think a game type with no sensors or a lot of people would be best for assasinations…..ill probably jump into swat or big team battle with the sprint or cloak loadout…

  3. Ytypo123 says:

    Boxer is the best. You can get really aggressive and just yank on the trigger. Unfortunately I bought the avenger n control so we will see what that changes. Good luck today everyone.

  4. Eivind says:

    im having trouble with the assassinations 😦 can’t seem to pull of 3 in one game, but two i can do easily :8

    • Coolguy says:

      It was hard for me too, my third assassination was the last kill of the game 😀 i actually went into a team snipers: no sensors, and people are standing still looking to snipe; with their backs wideeeee open.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Rumble Pit worked really well for me, esp Crazy King, I’d come at the hill either from an odd direction or above if someone was in it, if not I’d get near and wait for someone to enter.

      • Pedle Zelnip says:

        Problem is that nobody ever seems to pick crazy king. 😦

  5. Treygon says:

    Bumper Jumper all the way! Been playing it since Halo 3 came out. Pushing melee/jump and turning at the same time = better scores.

  6. Alpinestars CTR says:

    Liked the poll of today!! Maybe one for tomorrow to see how many brothers I have on the Legacy stick control scheme? :-D…

    I use Recon and 2 senst btw.. no defaults for me

  7. Locklear66 says:

    I had

  8. Locklear66 says:

    I had a great game last nite. It was rumble pit I was two points behind the lead and I ran into the middle on pinnacle and I glanced at my radar and and two guys were comin up behind me so I turned threw a sticky and stuck one and killed both. Thus a big win for me

Leave a Reply

