22nd February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

For those of you newer to the game you’ll probably enjoy challenge 3, it’s probably my favourite challenge…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

By the time you’ve completed the other challenges I’d be surprised if you hadn’t done this already. If you want to do it specifically then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Just Hold On… – Complete 6 Rounds in Firefight Matchmaking without dying – 1500 cR

A round is 5 waves. So it’s possible you could play Score Attack/Gruntpocalypse 6 times without dying and get this. However if you’re good and know some tricks in full Firefight you’ll be able to get these a lot quicker. Does anyone know if the Bonus Round counts??

Points Pyramid – Score 25,000 points on any Campaign mission – 1500 cR

I love space combat games (TIE Fighter is easily one of my top 3 games of all time), so I really liked the space combat in Reach. And this is a perfect opportunity to play it. Same advice as I always give here – Long Night of Solace, Rally Point Alpha. You’ll be going into the space combat, with as many skulls on as you’re comfortable with. Last time I used Black Eye, Tough Luck, Catch, Cloud, Famine and Thunderstom. That gives you a 6.80 multiplier. After 8 minutes in the combat I had 45,000 points. Note that the Phantoms don’t give you points for destroying, so go after Banshees and Seraphs first. I played it on Normal, as there’s no need to make it any harder.

Freelancing – Earn at least 21 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2100 cR

Hmmm, a fairly high number. I know a few people will look at this and think it’s not a problem, but for us mere mortals this can be something of a challenge. If you’re good at Rumble Pit, where the total is 25 to win, you can get this. Other good options are Multi-Team Battle generally, and specifically the objective based games where kill volume is not the target, so you can keep taking guys down without the game ending. Particularly Crazy King and Oddball I’m thinking. Grifball’s also a good one at times, as is Invasion if you’re human and have a good group.

So a really nice mix of stuff today, and a couple that will actually challenge which is always fun. If you need help on the weekly challenge check out my commentary here, particularly the very useful comments.

And if you’ve not done so already, vote in this week’s poll…

22 Responses to 22nd February – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. michael says:

    Wow…The just hold on challenge. Survive 6 rounds of firefight without dying for 1500 CR? That seems like a really low amount of credits for 6 rounds to me, but im not the best at surviving rounds in firefight. I guess i will be hanging out in the back away from all the action in firefight arcade while i let everyone else do the killing for a while. Im guessing we will be seeing alot of that today. 😉

    • just do gruntpocalypse and pick a spot where you can camp and watch for suicide grunts! 🙂

      but yeah, for 1500cR? i can get that in a regular matchmaking game, totally not worth the time to play 6 games of gruntpoc.

      • Newbie says:

        @snickerdoodle; Yeah, but if you, like me, are a regular Firefight Whatevermode player, 6 rounds of Firefight without dying is a walk in the park, you just have to know what map to take and where to camp. You net around (or at least I do) 2500-3000cR every FF round, so that’s just 1600 cR EXTRA. I don’t do it for the 1600 cR alone and I never would if that was the only reward. Also, it doesn’t state it has to be in a row and that you can’t quit games, so you should be able to switch map if it doesn’t work out for ya..

        I think it’s wrong to see every challenge in raw cR rewards only, I see it more like an encouragement to try out different game modes and get paid for it 😀 Sure, I’d never go for 21 kills in MM since 21 kills is about the total amount of kills I’ve gotten in ALL MM games 😛 I SO suck at multiplayer 😛 But the “win 5 games in MM” challenges gets me to play MM for sure. If the cR reward wasn’t there as an encouragement, I’d probably never play MM.

        6 rounds of FF would all in all give me a total amount of around 18000 cR. Looks a lot better than 1600 cR? 😉

        Halo: Reach is such an awesome game, too bad I maxed out all the achievements the other night… Kinda feels empty, not having a specific reason or goal to play the game for… Before that, I could always justify an extra hour of not-sleep with the Lt Colonel rank for achievement 😉

      • that’s true enough. but i know for me, i look at what the pay off is before i decide what to play. like yesterday, i didn’t bother with the FF challenges because i could rack up the points just as easily in MM as FF. although, i will say that the Doubles SA arena thing was awesome for last week’s weekly.

        the carrots being dangled lately aren’t really desirable enough to entice me to play things other than my usual. that’s not saying i don’t venture outside of my comfort zone because i do. i just tend to prefer matchmaking. i have gotten quite good at some of the FF ones but i don’t really enjoy them. i prefer playing with my friends and since, for some reason, FF lags like mad whenever we play together, we just stick in matchmaking. 🙂 we do play a little of everything there though – BtB, SWAT, slayer, grifball, etc.

        the LASO will be interesting and definitely a challenge. i wish i could figure out how to prevent the ridiculous amounts of lag that crop up in that.

  2. SwiftEagleEye says:

    Second day with reading challenges without getting them… having a 360 without a working DVD truly sucks I don’t know if it’s the laser, motor or magnet….just gotta make it to the weekend to get red ring of death xbox from a buddy to see if swapping the drives fixes it. (with hope the drives are the same brand). At least the past few daily challenges have been fairly low credits…

  3. Braythor says:

    Mmm the firefight one’s a toughy. If it does count on score attack modes it’ll be a lot easier, but it might not, as I know score attack doesn’t count towards the Perfectionist commendation. I really can’t see it not counting on S/A, as to do it on full firefight is ridiculous (my Perfectionist count is only at 30 rounds, and I’ve had Reach 3 months…). The problem is that any tactics on full mode tend to be unfair on other players. For example, clearly the first round is easiest to get through, but then I think a lot of folk may quit on the first death. Also, on Outpost you can put your character behind one of the larger building/guns and the enemy can’t get to you (I had a Brig. do this one time, clearly working towards the commendation, was really annoying). However, get a good team on sniperfight Outpost and it’s perfectly possible to do the whole thing without dying.
    Also, I don’t think the bonus round counts, I think it’s classed as a single wave, not an actual round, despite the name. Not 100% on this though.

    • Edward says:

      Braythor, are you sure Perfectionist does not count on Score Attack. I’ve gotten several using 2x Score Attack, Gruntpocalyse.

      • Tony Dawg says:

        I know that Score Attack counts, or my commendation for perfectionist wouldn’t be going up. (:

      • Braythor says:

        I’m positive: the amount of times I’ve done gruntpocalypse without dying and it hasn’t counted. I check my commendations after almost every match I play (minor OCD I suppose) and have never seen it go up on anything other than the 4 player mode. Maybe some of the other S/A modes count, don’t think I’ve done a perfect round since the modes changed…I’ll keep a closer eye on it now that people are saying it does, and will try the 2xS/A.

    • MJOLNIR Tester says:

      Score Attack counts toward Perfectionist but you have to kill every enemy without dying, not just make it to the time limit without dying. You have to hear the announcer say “five enemies remaining – two enemies remaining – last enemy”.

    • Shane says:

      Do what I do and get those guys killed :-}. The verbal abuse alone is worth it!

  4. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    For Points Pyramid I do New Alexandria on Legendary with 7 skulls on: Iron, Catch, Tough Luck, Famine, Tilt, Thunderstorm, and Mythic. You don’t want Black Eye or Cloud on for this mission. That gives me a 19.4x points multiplier. Then I fly around and shoot down Banshees and Phantoms. I don’t engage in any ground combat. Killing Phantoms especially gives a ton of points.

    The last time I played it I scored 59,670 points in 10 minutes, so 25,000 points should take less than 5 minutes.

  5. A) X-Wing and TIE Fighter are two of the greatest games of all time!

    B) Would FF Arcade work for Just Hold On? Seems like it would be the easiest.

    • michael says:

      Firefight arcade does work for the Just Hold On challenge. I just did it and i did it on Outpost sniper fight. I stayed on the rooftop that you take the stairs. I made it all the way through the game without dying and i got 3/6 rounds done. So if you do Firefight Arcade you will probally have to do 2 whole games without dying to get the challenge if you want it quick. And no, the bonus round does not count as a round. I just did Long Night Of Solace for the Points Pyramid challenge. I turned all skulls on except blind and iron, but i accidentally started at the beginning of the mission. It wasnt too bad though. I had already gathered over 12,000 points before i even got in the space ship. 😉

  6. Anthony says:

    Boy, I’m not too crazy about the Firefight challenge today. I am looking forward to playing some Long Night of Solace, though. I am with Matthew, I love the spaceship game-play! Also writhing with anticipation to attempting the Oni-LASO weekly tonight with one of my buddies from work!!!

    “There she is Six, race you to her”.

  7. Will says:

    I got Freelancing done in one Grifball game. Did points Pyramid in 4:47 with Heroic and 7 skulls at Rally Point Alpha, Long Night of Solace, which was the first two waves. Did a beachhead Gruntpocalypse, but got killed by a sneaky grenade toss. By the time I was done with that I had Light Fare done. Now I just have to grind out Just Hold On… I’m liking the easier challenges… spending less time working for them lets me explore other areas of the game and play with things I don’t get time. Be doing some screen shots and movies now as well. It finally let me have the time to complete the game on Legendary as well, but I’m going to skip working for the LASO challenges. I’m not that hardcore.

  8. MasterChiefBomb says:

    Since I’ve got Inclement Weather I only go for the big win challenges unlike before where I would do all of them! So I will just go for:

    Freelancing – Earn at least 21 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2100 cR

    Rumble pit is pretty easy for this!

  9. Gerry says:

    I knew this day would come. Bungie is no longer quite so generous with Cr for these challenges. I was getting fat and happy with 2,500 and 3,000 Cr for daily challenges at least once in a while, but it is clear to me that the general trend is lower Cr rewards. It’s not going to stop me, the game is too good for that, but now that I am finally very close to Colonel it’s going to be significantly harder to climb to Brigadier. Time permitting, I may just exercise the bithead in me and plot the overall daily Cr total for the past 6 months to see if I am mistaken. Then again, Matthew Vose might have already done this. 🙂

  10. NinKeith says:

    The firefight challenge is actually a little more decieving than it sounds. Unlike the commendation for perfectionist, you CANNOT die within the same game and have the rounds afterward count. For example, if you survive round 1, die on round 2, but then survive on round 3, you would get 2 perfections towards the commendation. But you only get 1 round for the challenge because the third round yoi survived was after you died, even though it was a separate round. This means if you die on the first round, you cannot make any progress on the challenge for that game. The best way I found to do this is in Firefight Arcade. Whike camping is an option, I don’t reccomend it. The best gametypes are probably rocket, FRG, and sniperfight. As long as you hangout near the spawn and don’t rush into the enemies, you should get it pretty easy. The only thing you shoukd have to worry about are Heretic heavies and snipers.

    • Mike says:

      Thanks for the info! If I didn’t know about this, I probably would’ve gotten a little upset tonight…

  11. BS Diablo says:

    Today’s challenges were relatively easy but a little time consuming. I thought 21 kills in one match would be the tough one to get, but I got it on the first game of multi-team!
    I used the last checkpoint of my late nite adventure with all skulls on (minus cloud) on Oni swordbase. Yes I’m not gonna lie, I could have never got the weekly challenge without the save and quit glitch or the walkthru vids I read about here. Anyways 25,000 was an easy score just killing the two jackals, two cloaked elites and the Phantom at the end of the level.
    Next I tackled the most time consuming of the daily challenges. I went with score attack playlist, vetoing till I got either Courtyard or Corvette; with rockets, 2X Score Attack, or Gruntpocolypse. I had picked up the 100 kills challenge by the middle of the 1st score attack.
    Took 6 games about 2 hours for all 4 challenges. Weekly challenge took me 3 long stressful hours.
    Happy Hunting Halo Heads

  12. Pingback: Electronic Station Blog

Leave a Reply

