16th March – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

It feels like Bungie are beginning to find the sweet spot of mixing challenge types, giving good return and making them exciting…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the others) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Just Hold On… – Complete 10 rounds in Firefight Matchmaking without dying – 1750 cR

A round is 5 waves. So it’s possible you could play Score Attack/Gruntpocalypse 10 times without dying and get this. However if you’re good and know some tricks in full Firefight you’ll be able to get these a lot quicker. Best to jump in your favourite FF Arcade type and map to play through.

L.D. Winter – Complete Winter Contingency, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

It’s not particularly hard on Winter Contingency, for the most part you can run the map and stay in the jeep to run things over and let Noble team do a lot of the work. What makes it hard is the base section. I always say take out the Elite with the Concussion Rifle at the beginning, so keep peppering him with shots and take him down. Use DMR and grenades on the Jackals and Grunts, then when you get to the last section use a Plasma Pistol overcharge on the Sword Elite and headshot him with the DMR. If you get really stuck, there is a glitch which can be exploited, by exiting the game and restarting from last checkpoint it opens up the challenge again, and you can continue from where you died. Also have a look at this post, and particularly the comments, for the previous LASO guide to WC.

Streaky Shooter – Earn 10 sprees in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

This should apply to any spree, not just kills. So you can get sprees using:

  • Hammer
  • Shotgun
  • Sniper Rifle
  • Plasma Grenade sticks
  • Sword
  • Vehicles (two here – kills in vehicle where you do the killing, and kills as driver with passenger killing)
  • Spartan Laser
  • Assists
  • Some for specific variants of Juggernaut, Invasion and Infection

See the list on Halopedia for everything, especially as you can get 3 spree medals for each type. My recommendation – go for a weapon that allows you an easy spree, personally a Shotgun or Sword work for me. If you can take out 5 dudes you should get two sprees – one for 5 kills and one for the weapon. If you can get to 10 you’ll have 4 so almost done, or rinse and repeat on the next game. I like Shotgun on Asylum in the tunnels, or Sword on Countdown personally. Sniper on Pinnacle or Cage is probably also a good one.

As ever, if you have your own thoughts please add them into the comments.

35 Responses to 16th March – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. michael says:

    Wow! I really like these today. For some reason i love the campaign challenges more than the others. I had just a little trouble with Tip Of The Spear yesterday but i know for a fact i can blow through this easily on Winter Contingency. After the mythic run i did on this level i pretty much know where everything is on the level. Oh and let me say again for the people that didnt read the small print, YOU CANNOT DIE! For the Just Hold On challenge i would recommend Outpost on whatever gametype you like. I usually do this level and make it through without dying alot. As long as you stay up on top of the building you shouldnt have a problem. Just make sure you keep an eye on the stairs. The only real problem i usually have is when the camoflauged elites come out. Well, good luck all and have a good day. 🙂

  2. Mike says:

    I can say with 100% certainty that In Firefight Arcade, the bonus round does NOT count towards your perfectionist commendations. That said, I would assume it’s also unlikely to count for today’s challenge, though it’ll be another 14 hours before I’ll have time to test that.

    • Trayer says:

      Doesn’t it suck being at work all day while everyone else is commenting on how they’ve done this and that challenge …

    • Don says:

      Of course the bonus round doesn’t count. It is one wave. Bungie wants you to survive 5 waves in a row 10 times. And obviously the single wave in the bonus round doesn’t stack between games to count as a whole round. You don’t need to test this theory. It should be common sense.

  3. Don says:

    Best playlist for getting sprees is Living Dead. Three shotgun sprees plus the three killing sprees plus three zombie killing sprees (thats 9 sprees for those having trouble with the math). Yes you have to keep from getting infected to get up to 9 sprees, but thats true in all playlist. Really easy if you’re good in a “Safe Havens” game and all the infected think they can kill you in the safe zone.

    Grifball is my second to that since getting more than 5 kills in a row with the hammer means you have to have the distancing down every kill. Don’t get me wrong I have achieved “Wrecking Crew” a few times, but I have 6 “Buck Wild” to every 1 “Wrecking Crew”.

    • Zakap says:

      If you use the hammer to get 5 kils in one life you get two sprees. a hammer spree and a killing spree

      • dalecooper says:

        I came to say this same thing – Living Dead makes this challenge into a cakewalk. I had two sprees going in to my first LD game, and I got the challenge before the game ended. Granted I was lucky enough to start as a human each round. But it’s really simple – just hold good territory and blast away with the shotgun as much as possible.

  4. michael says:

    Man, the just hold on challenge is taking a while to get. I mean the easy way to do it is just go and hide somewhere while everyone else does the work but for some reason i cant do that. lol. Oh well, atleast if you have to do a bunch of firefights you will get a lot of credits just for doing them. Good luck!

    • Edward says:

      If you don’t mind a bit a grind, 2x Score Attack on Corvette or Holdout is great. Get the covies do go through a choke point and just waste ’em. DMR for grunts and jackals, then pickup a plasma pistol. These really tear brutes and skirmi-things apart. You should be able to get 4 or five games in an hour, so two hours or work, lots of commendations racked up and typically 2000+ credits per game.

      • michael says:

        Good idea. I was having trouble with some players in firefight arcade. They would hide as soon as the game started. Apparently they werent smart enough to know that in order to get a round finished every enemy has to be killed. When you leave one person to do that your lucky if you get 2 rounds completed. lol.

      • Shane says:

        Please don’t AFK in Firefight – I’m glad to see you don’t. I personally go out of my way to kill AFKers, at the risk of dying myself. I’ve gotten some angry, angry messages but don’t plan on stopping.

  5. Kenji says:

    Streaky Shooter: Spawn Spee. nuff said.

    • Kenji says:

      Is it me or are they trying to make us afk?

      Light Flare – In Forge, sign in as a guest on another controller and spawnkill your guest with automatic weapon (afk).

      Just Hold On – Hide in “Out of Zone” spots in FF Arcade while teammates finish rounds (afk).

      L.D. Winter – Sign in as guest to play the mission on another controller while you main account is safe (afk).

      Streaky Shooter – Find a hiding spot on invasion and camp to spawn teammates (afk).

  6. Andrew says:

    Loving not only the mix of challenges as of late, but the credit returns as well. I, being a huge college basketball fan, would also like to think that the “Streaky Shooter” challenge is in honor of March Maddness beginning. I was thrilled when I got on and saw that one, haha.

    As a side note, this happens to be my first time commenting on here. I’ve been reading for a couple months now, and finally decided to post. Unfortunately, most of my friends play Black Ops. There’s nothing wrong with that, but I’m the lone one who seems to play Reach. That being said, I’d enjoy some people to play a few games with every now and then. Add my gamertag EyeOhYou if you’d like.

    Goodluck on your challenges everyone!

    • Lex says:

      Andrew I’m down to play later my gamertag is REvOfEv Echelon ive also been plagued with the Black Ops problem to the point where I just got new online friends (personally I can’t stand black ops and sold it within the week i got it). As for this site this is my third time commenting and 4th month reading so I’m also relatively new. All I know is that this site is awesome and Mathew is the man! For making it.

      • Andrew says:

        Awesome Lex, I sent you a friend request. I totally agree about Black Ops as well. I finally got it after a friend nagged me for the better part of two weeks about it, only to play it and be very disappointed. I returned it as well. Maybe I’m just spoiled because I’ve been playing Halo since CE came out and I’m trying to compare everything to that series. For now though, Reach is still far and away my favorite game. No offense to anyone who enjoys Black Ops! It’s just not my cup of tea.

      • Trayer says:

        My Live friends also suffer from Black Ops obsession. I’m Starmage008. Maybe we can survive Firefight easier if we know we’re working towards the same goal.

      • Andrew says:

        Well I just finished grinding out the FF challenge via Score Attack Trayer, but I’ll still be happy to add you as a friend so we can perhaps work together on future challenges. Request sent. 🙂

  7. Scott says:

    Does anyone know if Wheelman Assists count towards the Firefight Assist Commendation? I know they do NOT in Multiplayer Matchmaking, but I was just curious about Firefight. It is a shame if not, because no one will want to drive the Rocket Hog around the new FF map.

    • Lex says:

      No they don’t sorry bro :(………is there an easier way to play the new FF map. Although I’ve played it in Score Attack, the map would be more fun with other people. Every time I try FF Arcade or Limited it seems like if your partners don’t have the new maps then you’ll get stuck with one of the old maps, after 6 attempts I just gave up lol

  8. Reaperville says:

    Well I managed to mess up LD Winter. Was doing lots of running & hiding, and as a result ending up doing the evac in a different place. Towards the end I notice an unattended Falcon, so think, “sweet” and nab it to finish off the last couple of Elites. Problem is, I then can’t fly to the next base (keep hitting invisible walls), and I can’t exit the Falcon. That’ll teach me to try and help out!

    • michael says:

      Where was it? Ive never heard of anyone running into a falcon just sitting there, but i have heard while defending the evac zone you can hit the one flying around with an overcharged plasma pistol and bring it down upside down killing the driver. Thats the only way i have ever heard of getting one.

      • Reaperville says:

        I’ve uploaded a clip to my file share if you can see that (same gamertag), but it’s the bit where you’re in the truck, have come down the hill, turn right at the bottom and usually run into a small group of Grunts on the road. They retreat across the river to the left where there’s an Elite and (I think) the second truck.

        Never done the evac there before, and due to doing some crucial, top-level hiding didn’t see how the Falcon came down.

      • dalecooper says:

        Probably was plasma pistoled – it’s not supposed to be there.

  9. Sir Emmortal says:

    Man, had the worst run last night towards the weekly. I think I played about a dozen games and had only 3 wins. Even when I was scoring 20+ frags, team still lost, me no likey.

    Great site though, been reading it for a while now, great posts (not including mine).

    Anyway, keep up the great work Matthew, I enjoy reading this daily

    • Andrew says:

      Same here. I’ve been doing all I can to get my team to win (putting up spreads of 10+ most times out) and we still come up short. It’s quite frustrating.

      • Sir Emmortal says:

        I know, tell me about it!

        Some people are beyond help. Wish matchmaking searching was based someone on rank like h3. It would first search for similar ranked combatants, then open up the search after that.

        Don’t get me wrong, I suck sometimes too, just not as much as some people 🙂

      • Andrew says:

        Well we have our ups and downs, but when someone posts a spread of like -15 or worse… it may be time to find a new game or practice some more.

    • Kenji says:

      The chances of winning a game are about 2/5. It’s not 1/2 because it can be a draw. And give or take how good of a player you are, your team has a higher/lower chance of winning. So when you say you played a dozen games and only won 3, thats statistically correct. If you do the math 5/2 times 50 = about 125 games you have to play.

  10. Coolguy says:

    So what happens in the campaign challenge if on co-op your friend dies?

  11. Defender77 says:

    Too many people hiding in firefight today. Uhg. Time for some snipers or infection.

    • Andrew says:

      Yeah I bet. I personally went with just grinding it out via 10 score attacks. Go for something like 2x Score Attack on Corvette, Holdout, or Courtyard. These three maps (Corvette especially) go pretty quick. I think I spent a little over an hour getting this one taken care of.

  12. Shane says:

    I’m more of a personal pronoun kind of guy but it’s great that you’re another generic.

Leave a Reply

