20th March – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

More really easy challenges that you’ll pick up nice and quick…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You get 120 enemies in a Gruntpocalypes/Fiesta Attack/2X Score Attack game types. How annoyed would you be if a Grunt took out one or two others with a grenade leaving you with 119 kills? My tip – do this on Waterfront. Not the most favourite map I know, but you can snipe the dudes on the cliff to add a kill or two.

A Solid Outing – Earn at least 15 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

Best ways to get lots of kills in one game:

  • Multi Team Battle – Particularly the variants of Oddball or Crazy King as you can take out people going for the objective, but normal Slayer works well in this mode as well
  • Invasion – Depends on your skill level, but the games are long so it’s quite possible to get a lot of kills
  • Rumble Pit – Most variants help with this, bar Headhunter. Whilst the target is often only 25 you’ll find several players always getting close to the target in a game.
  • Grifball – If you get your timing right this is so easy in any Grifball game where someone grabs the bomb but doesn’t score. I’m hopeful this counts all 3 rounds as one game, so it’s even easier.
  • Team Slayer/SWAT – Again depends on your skill level, and that of your team, but it’s definitely possible to get 15 in a game without too much stress

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits.

Close Talking – Earn 100 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Close Quarters Combat is melee, assassination, Sword, Hammer and Shotgun. It’s actually my normal way of playing to shoot then melee so it should be pretty quick. Jump into Grifball and have some fun bludgeoning the other team to rack up these kills.

So more easy challenges, which is what you want leaving your Sunday free to play whatever you want!

12 Responses to 20th March – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Rob says:

    The 119 (or less) kills happens to me quite often. Grunt throws a nade, it explodes setting off a chain reaction of all the other nades dropped. No credit for the kill. Brute on 2x Corvette gets feisty and punches the explody thing up the ramp directly across from the safe room. Usually takes out 2 or 3. Random enemy FRG blast bounces off a wall directly into another enemy’s face….

    As for the 15 kills, fortunately, all three rounds of Grifball count as a game.

  2. Tim Everitt says:

    When I don’t hit the 120, I jump into any crashsite to top off the rest. Only one life so do it quick as they’re coming off the dropship.

  3. michael says:

    For the close quarters combat challenge i was in an infection game and when i got 1 kill with the sword, it gave me credit for 2. I got a total of 3 kills in the game and it says i have 6 towards the challenge. It is just like the T-Hug It Out challenge we had on the 18th. 🙂

  4. michael says:

    For the firefight challenges i did 2X score attack on Unearthed. I was able to get both the challenges done in 1 game easily. I finished with 126 kills, so im guessing a 2X score attack game is good for the 120 kills challenge, and the any spree challenge is the easiest thing ive seen since the link with bungie thing. lol. Is anyone else like me and wish they had double wielding in Halo: Reach? Dang it seems like i do a lot better playing Halo 3 multiplayer than Reach. Well have a great day everyone! 😉

    • i actually miss dual wielding halo 3 style over ODST. dual wielding needlers were the best! :mrgreen:

      the only time i miss dual wielding in Reach is SWAT magnums. other than that, i don’t really care much. just me though. 🙂

      • michael says:

        My friend told me that you could dual wield needlers in halo 3 multiplayer and i told him you couldnt. I have both halo 3 and ODST. is the dual wielding needlers in the campaign only in 3? I tried to do them in the multiplayer of 3 and it wouldnt let me.

      • um, i’m fairly certain (like 98% sure) that once upon a time you COULD dual wield needlers. maybe they took that away? 😦

      • Zerrick says:

        You meant Halo 2. Needlers were a dual-wield weapon in Halo 2, but not in Halo 3 or anything after. I think I miss the covenant sniper rifle now more than the ability to dual-wield needlers, however. :/

      • hmmm, you sure? i thought dual wielding was new to halo 3? eesh. it’s been a while.

  5. michael says:

    They are bringing some new gametypes for Halo: Reach scheduled to take effect on Mar. 29th. Some of the new gametypes include Action Sack kinda like the Halo 3 version i guess, Power Slayer, Speedpile, Speedflag, Hammerball/Hockey, Team Classic and Community BTB. I just wanted to let you all know in case you havent heard yet. I think it all sounds awesome and i cant wait! 🙂

  6. Braythor says:

    A nice day for challenges today. Took me just over an hour, and I had a couple of firsts: my first match with a noble rank player (who was not as good as I would expect), and my first multiplayer killpocalypse, in the chaos of one end of a griffball court. Shame I didn’t get one more for the killionaire…still, I think I’ll be doing griffball a lot; it’s a mode I’m actually ok at, getting lots of kills and almost constant +ve k/d spread.
    Cheers to Rob for the crashsite tip – I finished a sniperfight on 117 so that just topped it up.
    Now it’s back to Dragon Age Origins, which I’m enjoying a lot more since switching to casual difficulty (I was getting massacred over and over in the deserted buidling in Denerim (sp?) by a blood mage leader.

Leave a Reply

