31st March – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Well I guessed none of the challenges right today, and sorry it’s a bit late. In case you try, the file I told you to download yesterday CANNOT be used for these challenges as they have to be done in Matchmaking.

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You get 120 enemies in a Gruntpocalypse/Fiesta Attack/2X Score Attack game types. How annoyed would you be if a Grunt took out one or two others with a grenade leaving you with 119 kills? My tip – do this on Waterfront. Not the most favourite map I know, but you can snipe the dudes on the cliff to add a kill or two. However do it on Glacier first to try and get the third challenge easily.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. Again though do it in Glacier to get the below challenge first.

Heroic Spelunking – Kill 100 enemies on Glacier on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Glacier’s a pretty easy map until the Skirmishers turn up if they’re in your game. To try and guarantee this do it in Score Attack and pick some variant, whatever you’re best at really, although Gruntpoc is always easiest if you can.

Points, Points – Score 20,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1750 cR

Score Attack variants usually get you close to 20k, and most Firefight Matchmaking games (the multiplayer ones) will get you this high if you have a good round and manage to take out a Wraith or two.

As ever, if you have any comments please add them below – especially if you’ve tried the latest variants and can offer a suggestion on them.

30 Responses to 31st March – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Edward says:

    I’m very pleased that Bungie is being fair play about these challenges in combination with the weekly challenge. Did today’s in 2x Score Attack on Glacier, followed by 2x Score Attack on Corvette. Great for the challenges and general commendations.

    • Tim Everitt says:

      Agreed. It’ll be interesting to see what the MM Friday challenges are. I like the spread throughout the week, generally quick and dirty.

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Awesome. Should be able to get 3 – if not all 4 – of these in one game on Glacier with a 2x Score Attack. Was a bit worried that they’d be difficult ones today since it’s unlikely I’ll have much (if any) 360 time tonight, but I should be able to cram in one game. I wouldn’t normally care but with the weekly and all…

    Incidentally, 2x Score Attack on Glacier tends to drop a Wraith in there too, easily taken down with a couple of plasma grenades, usually giving you two kills for it – but they don’t count in the 120 enemies dropped in by default. Could be handy to top your kills up to 120 if a grunt accidentally blows himself up and robs you of a kill.

    Second post, time to thank Matthew for the essential daily lunchtime reading, means I can plan my evening’s Halo time! πŸ™‚ Is there a way to set up a forum / sticky threads on this site? There’s been a few interesting conversations recently but they get lost quickly as the days roll on, and it’d be nice to have a section where we can post Gamertags and the like. This is the only Halo-based blog/forum I look at, since every other one seems to be mainly comprised of people whining about how Halo 2 was the best and Reach is awful blah blah blah…

    • which conversations did you mean?

      i know that a forum isn’t possible here, it’s just a blog. πŸ™‚ buuuuut maybe if we ask real nice, matthew may set up a new post with it’s own tab or something so it’s easy to jump to. i think it may depend on what it is though..

      oh and before i forget…..halo 2 WAS the best. but i love me some reach still. :mrgreen:

      (that was [mostly] meant as a joke. please no one start a debate and derail today’s post!)

      • Scruff UK says:

        The conversations in question weren’t anything particularly earth-shattering; just Gamertags and our current rankings and all of that stuff, but given that I almost exclusively play with randoms with no mics who don’t bother playing as a team, it’d be nice to play with people on the same sort of wavelength πŸ™‚

        Halo 2 was not the best. The Arbiter sections. ‘Nuff said πŸ˜‰

      • Darth Malber says:

        I think when people claim Halo 2 was the best it’s because of multiplayer and not so much the campaign. There was such a gap in time between Halo 2 and Halo 3 that folks got really used to the maps in Halo 2. So much so that when subsequent versions came out they ended up being equalizers to people who otherwise thought of themselves as the “‘leetest noob pwners around” and other people who took pleasure in using glitches in the system and knowledge of the maps in Halo 2 to get pleasure out of making the experience unpleasurable for the casual or new gamer.

        Though consensus is that Halo 2 had the best campaign of the original Halo series. I’d argue that Reach’s campaign has more heart than the entire original story. Hell, nearly the whole team dies!

  3. Mike says:

    All Firefight challenges? Didn’t see this coming. At least they’re all easy, as they have been for the last four days. Done 11 challenges so far…13 more for my weekly!

    • Scruff UK says:

      Every Thursday is Firefight Thursday πŸ˜‰ Expect all multiplayer matchmaking ones tomorrow!

      • Mike says:

        Didn’t know that! I mainly do weekend challenges ‘cus that’s when I have time to get some games in, but with this weekly challenge and all I’ve had to change my routine a bit πŸ˜›

        Good luck everyone!

  4. X Solid says:

    Fistfight is the best way to get the 20,000. Just make a circle around the level and wipe them out as they spawn. Just make sure you put a hammer to the leadership class covenant to pick up the big points. The bonus round is key to reaching 120 enemies killed (unless it is all hunters :(…..As for 100 headshots….Gruntpoc baby!!! Happy Hunting!!!

    • Darth Malber says:

      I have to say that I find fistfight a ton of fun. Especially during the bonus round when the Black Eye skull is on! Maybe it’s just me, but running around smacking things with a hammer puts a big grin on my face.

      • John says:

        I’d say the Gravhammer is the most satisfying weapon to use in Halo with the excellent audio and watching enemies fly when the hammer makes contact.

  5. michael says:

    I was able to get all four of these challenges done in 2 games. The first was a 2X Score Attack game on Glacier. I got the Points points and Heroic spelunker in this game and the second game was a Gruntpocalypse on Corvette were i was able to get the Covenant-Cide and Hyper Lethal Vector challenges completed. I was pretty happy about the second game since i was able to get 120 kills and 0 deaths. Its hard to kill ALL of the grunts on Corvette since they always blow themselves up. lol. I look for the challenges tomorrow to be the rougher ones for me.

  6. CaptainRon19 says:

    The quicker I can get these done the better, because I am officially addicted to the new “Team Classic” playlist!

    • kurt says:

      I know right, hey does anyone have a list of the maps for this playlist?
      Yesterday I played on one, didn’t recognize the name but when I spawned I knew it was Lock out (nice).

      • Shane says:

        I think that’s Rockout. This list isn’t conclusive – I played at least one other (Hydrosomething?) which seemed to be an odd CE remake.

        Battle Canyon = Beaver Creek
        Dreadnought = Derelict
        High Noon = Hang Em High
        Hydro = Damnation
        Magus = Warlock
        Prolonged = Guardian? Longest?
        Prophet = Midship
        Rat Trap = Rat Race
        Rockout = Lockout

      • Zerrick says:

        http://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=55715741

        This link has a list of the Classic maps and their present names.
        I’ve seen all of these except Magus and no others, so it’s likely that the list is complete.

        A friend of mine commented on the Lockout remake. He’s into the Forge, so he was quick to recognise an issue with the Sword drop. He said something about it being ‘fixed’ rather than free or phased. Apparently when weapons are fixed, there’s an issue with players being about to pick them up. Sometimes I go to the sword spawn and it’s there, but when I hold RB to pick it up like it says to, I can’t equip it. Other times I can pick it up, and even if I can’t, some other players are still able to.

      • shane – prolonged is actually Elongation.

    • Matt says:

      Where do you go to access the Team Classic playlist?

  7. kurt says:

    I’ll try waterfront and courtyard for today’s challenges. Thanks for the tip!

    Been lurking arround for a few weeks, very usefull comments specially on those LASO challenges.

  8. ZzOwningMoFozZ says:

    Glaicer + DMR + Gruntpoc = 3 challenges in 1 game! time for 2x score attk!

  9. CaptainRon19 says:

    I’ve only completed 14/24 for the weekly challenge after doing all of them today. On Tuesday I was too busy to finish all of them. So I’m really hoping that Bungie doesn’t throw me a serious curveball over the next three days. I can only miss 2 more challenges or I’m screwed.

    • Shane says:

      The only hard daily challenges I can remember are the Running Riot in MM one and the 2/3 triple kills in one game (fixed with Grifball!). I’d say you’ll be fine – just get them all up to Saturday for sure :-).

    • ZzOwningMoFozZ says:

      which 2 challenges did you not do? the campaign ones? if so those were really ea

    • amanda says:

      That’s better than me. We didn’t see it until Tuesday, so now we can’t miss any… At all… About to dive in for the evening and hopefully clean these up.

    • kevin says:

      today’s were pretty easy, i think it only took me 45 minutes to get all 4 challenges. i’m 16/24 now on the weekly. i think this has been the best weekly challenge by far. this site sure has helped me in speeding things up. that tip was awesome yesterday about running thru nightfall using the forklift glitch. i love this game πŸ™‚

  10. docdiver says:

    Well I was messing around on Glacier SA, ran out of time and now short a few kills…gonna have to hope for a Crashsite to top off. One comment from yesterday’s mission challenge. I played it with my daughter (two different xboxes so don’t know how she actually did it but in WC “defend evac zone”…I was just hanging out popping shots when she comes flying out on a vehicle and plowed down what was left of the covenant. I asked after the game and she said it wasn’t the one we came up on…that had gotten blown up. It was the one where you pick up the DMR/health pack. Honestly, I’ve seen it in there but never thought to try to use it. She simply said, I kept firing at it and it dropped. Anyway, that sped up that part of the game for us.

    Best of luck today and maybe I see you on MM Friday. Again, be gentle on the comments…I’ve been really struggling with MM for some reason the past week or so. Maybe I’m trying to BE a Field Marshal instead of just playing away.

  11. Wahammy says:

    This theoretically could be done in one game if you are fast/accurate enough. 1 game of 2x score attack on glacier. Almost had it, just short like 5/10 headshots.

Leave a Reply

