1st April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

No April Fools from me folks, although if you follow my Twitter feed you’ll see I retweet the best ones I see (Thinkgeek’s are as always wonderful). And I’m pleased no ‘Kill 20000 enemies in a game’ type fools from Bungie too…

More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Multi Team Battle is the best way to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other mode. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a couple of games, assuming no one scores the points very quickly.

No ‘I’ in Team – Earn 8 assists in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

8 assists in a game might be difficult. Rumble Pit is a good place to do this. If you’re able to team up with someone then Multi-Team is good for it too. And Grifball can be good if it goes on for long enough. Try actually hitting people with the hammer instead of the ground for damage without a kill.

Aggressive Negotiations – Earn at least 19 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1900 cR

19 in one game is fairly achievable in Team Slayer or Team SWAT, but remember what I said earlier about Crazy King or Oddball in Multi-Team? I think you’ll get there in one game if you can get either of those variants, remember to take it slow and don’t rush in to battles, pick people off after other players have shot them up. If you can lay your hands on the Sword or Hammer and use Active Camo you can go on a decent run. And as ever… Grifball for buckets of kills.

Vengeance Found – Earn your ‘Revenge’ in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you. Chances are you’ll pick this up naturally, especially if a camper kills you and doesn’t move. That said, there are some maps that seem to make it easier, particularly ones where you can get back to someone really quickly. Team SWAT on Asylum’s good because you can snipe the guy who took you out from afar. I like Countdown because the high platform by the jets and ramps is always a killing zone that’s easy to get to and you’ll often find your killer there. Infection might be good if you’re the zombie and you get shot by a human and can then take them out. Grifball’s also excellent as it becomes a big melee you can get back to your killer quickly, especially those who stay near your spawn zone. Shame you can’t get revenge on Betrayals though.

Any thoughts of your own on today’s challenges? Put them in the comments.

I won’t be blogging this weekend, your daily commentaries will be covered by Snickerdoodle, who I’m sure most of you will know from the discussions in the comments.

54 Responses to 1st April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Aw, I was rather hoping for some joke challenges today. Like “Complete Nightfall in more than 10 minutes” or “Earn your revenge… on a teabagger” or something.

    The 8 assists and 19 kills ones could be interesting. Rumble Pit / Multi Team / Invasion are looking like the best modes right now, but I’ll see how it goes when I get on the 360 tonight.

    Thankfully I don’t technically have to get any of these thanks to a quick couple of games on Score Attack last night, but I want to get at least 2 of these done to cover me in case there’s a horrendous challenge over the weekend!

    • Darth Malber says:

      I have to wonder how bungie really feels about the term “teabagger” or teabagging in general. For example, TBAG is not allowed as a player tag.

  2. Andy says:

    Invasion is also a good playlist to meet all of these challenges

  3. Coolguy says:

    Grifball works every time…it seems that when there’s these kind of challenges, even if you dont communicate it to the other players, everyone has a understanding to not plant the bomb and let everyone kill each other for the challenges…

  4. Edward says:

    I wonder if being the driver counts as getting assists?

    • Scruff UK says:

      I’m 90% sure it doesn’t, unfortunately. It never says “assist” at any point when you get them, and the ‘driver’ commendation is completely separate from the ‘assist’ commendation.

      Rumble Pit / Invasion / Multi Team objective games are best for the assists I think. Just lob grenades in at large groups of people and hope for the best… Or grab the sniper and aim for a single body shot on anyone you see.

      • Edward says:

        Thanks, I’ll try that when I get home. Got the other three in one game of Grifball over lunch. If all else fails, I could live without the assist challenge, as I’m sure the ones for the week-end will be doable — famous last words, eh?

      • Darth Malber says:

        Overcharged plasma pistol is good in team slayer as long as you’ve got a wingman with you.

      • Shane says:

        My (probably very annoying) tactic is to sprint up to someone in Multiteam, melee, sprint away and hopefully melee someone coming towards the first guy. Evade / die then wait for gravy.

    • CaptainRon19 says:

      That is weird if it doesn’t because in the post-game report they recorded as assists on the stat sheet. If it doesn’t count that totally sucks, I’m about to find out in 2 mins. Will report back!

    • what scruff said. you get a wheelman but it doesn’t count as a real assist. sorry!

    • Peter says:

      It doesn’t. You get all kinds of assists recorded in the postgame, but they don’t count toward the challenge.

      Wouldn’t it be nice if they did, though? Then everyone would be running for the driver’s seat for once 😛

      • Shane says:

        I’ve been doing this recently to get that commendation up – I’ll happily choose a hog driver seat over a tank.

  5. Chris says:

    Sometimes you just get lucky , one game of SWAT 8,000+ plus points ,One shot went gold , 3 out of four dailies and I didn’t even win !!!

    Ended up as a team of one , so another 3 names to add to the avoid list … happy days.

    ps How the hell does the system give a rating of +1000 to three players who DNF and one who didn’t fire a shot !!!!!!!

    cjc

    • DCSimian81 says:

      Same thing happened when I was playing grifball the other day…4 on 1 because two morons quit and the other guy was AFK…I shoulda quit right then and there too, but I managed to score once so I got my hopes up…then it went downhill…eventually quit…

      Stating the obvious, but this blog seems to have a solid group of like-minded Reach players following it…please feel free to add me at any time. Gamertag: DCSimian81 🙂

      • Chris says:

        Good point maybe easier to add the good guys than block the idiots , there seems to be a never ending supply of idiots out there .I’ll add you next time I log on , my gametag is cjc119 .I get so few chances to play during a week it really grands my gears when people ruin a game , maybe why I prefer campaign/firefight and its not as dependant on connection quality.

        cheers
        cjc

      • Darth Malber says:

        Had something like this happen to me in Bro Slayer on Anchor 9. I was the last team player left after the other three quit. The other team were all in an XBOX Live private party. They eventually caught on to where the spawn point for me was and kept spawn killling me. I stuck out to the end for the credits (I had had a pretty good kill count up to that point). Then I got my revenge on them in the next match.

      • Chris says:

        Spawn killing is another thing that’s promoted on XBOX , when I ran a PC based game server I use to kick people out for spawn killing , I still think of it as cheating. Young’ns today …. 🙂

        Is it a sign your getting old when a good whinge makes you feel better ?

        cjc

      • English says:

        I have been a follower for months I agree with you gamertag is JCOD AshCeltic

        thanks for blog,
        Ash

  6. SwiftEagleEye says:

    Invasion wouldn’t be a bad game play too, it last so long, assist shouldn’t be an issue since everyone is headed for the same objective.

    • SwiftEagleEye says:

      Sorry Andy, lol I guess I should have read the comments before posting….mybad!

  7. I CHINIQUY I says:

    Dear everyone. I found that the easiest way to complete this challenge is in the Acftionsack playlist. Just vote for Haloball or whatever the hell its called. I was able to get all of the challenges in one game. Hardly anybody goes for kills, and the golf club seems to be slightly weaker than the hammer; making it that much more frequent to get assists. Do work people. Xoxo. ❤

    • Eric says:

      I got all but the assists challenge in one game of Grifball. I plan to get that one later in multi-team. Just vote for elite slayer whenever possible, and run around doing EMP blasts on anyone and everyone with the plasma pistol, then run away. It goes pretty quick honestly. Once I thought of doing that (the last time this challenge came up), I got it on my first try.

    • Matt says:

      Where is that playlist?

  8. drgonzo says:

    did all challenges. im at 20/24 now for the weekly.
    hardest challenge wass the 8 assists, did it in multiteam on countdown.

    YEEEE!

  9. onza says:

    Grifball is seriously, always the best for challenges for sprees, kills, multikills, wins, etc. I did three of today’s in one game. You should really mention grifball a bit more in the commentaries lol it works.

  10. jim says:

    i don’t normally do the multi player stuff, but did the challenges in 2 games… team swat to get the revenge easily, and then big team slayer, got 19 kills, 10 assists… which made my total for the two games over 25, didn’t take much time at all.

  11. CaptainRon19 says:

    Alright, for anyone having trouble getting the 8 assists, easily the best way to do it is Multi-Team in a game of Crazy King. Just keep hanging around every hill, dropping people’s shields and then letting someone else kill them. There are always bodies everywhere and grenades flying into the hill, so its pretty damn easy.

  12. Jay says:

    Why don’t you mention Rumble Pit for 19 kills? I can actually win those (25 kills), and the entire match of 8 people could also have 19 or more kills, while in a Team mode, if one of the players has 19, it is slim that the other 3 will be able to get it.

  13. michael says:

    Geeezzz….Some of you guys are right, grifball is the way to go for some of these challenges if not all of them. Im usually not too good at grifball but i did 1 game and i was able to rack up 23 kills, only 1 assist though. I guess i will have to get with a friend in team slayer or rumble pit to get those. I also tried Infection for the assists cause i thought i could shoot some of the zombies in the body and let the others finish them off, but for some reason that didnt go too well and i didnt get any assists. 😦

  14. Wahammy says:

    The reason I’m addicted to griffball is because of this site. It is an easy way to rack up kills, but not a good way to get assists. I also got my Killtacular for Jorge’s helmet in griffball

  15. Anthony says:

    Thanks for your precious advices

    today the more difficult challenge was to get 8 assist in one game. I never thought that Rumble pit would be a good idea, because your advices helped me before i said ”ok, lets try rumble pit” I got the 4 challenges in 2 games!

    PS: griffball is a good way to earn kills but try Haloball Xteme. Why? nobody is fixed on kills (there are exeptions) but it is a good way to kill some noobs trying to hit the golf balls. (I got 4 killtacular this morning)
    try it to see for yourself!

  16. Andrew says:

    And so Bungie rolls out the first semi-difficult challenge of the week. I knocked out the easy 3 as most did, with one game of Grifball. Then, for the assist challenge, I attempted a quick game of team objective – I ended up getting 6 assists. After that, I moved on to a game of Invasion and, as many have said, that’s definitely the way to go for the assist challenge. Just focus on being around the access points/objectives and stripping the opponents shield down with an automatic weapon or charged plasma pistol. If you do this, what seems to be a difficult challenge actually turns out to be rather simple.

    Also, I noticed quite a few people post their gamertags on here, so I’ll do that same as I’m always looking for good people to play with. GT – EyeOhYou

    Goodluck to everyone!

  17. John says:

    I wish I’d managed to get into a Crazy King game straight off, I was struggling for assists in Griffball and Invasion but wasn’t having much luck in multi-team either as no-one was going for Crazy King. Ended up with 38 kills (my team quit on me 😦 ), 13 assists (four within 30 seconds) and revenge so would have had the whole lot in one game.

    Plus I find the chaos of multi-team entertaining and winning seems less of an issue

  18. my personal favorite for the 19 kills is SWAT potato. way easy to rack up kills since the game is dependent on the bomb.

    also, Hockey seems to be a good game for assists.

  19. X Solid says:

    Done all the challenges on one game of multi-team. Just finish up other people’s kill stick with one guy. Happy Hunting!!!

  20. ian says:

    I kept coming up short on the assists on rumble pit. Kept ending up with 6 or 7. Then tried invasion on breakpoint and just blasted the elites running down the hill. Got all 8 assists within a minute or two.

    Oh and my gamertag is FearTheTurtle06. Its good to play with likeminded people.

  21. Mister shhhhhhh says:

    Nice lead on action sack! Hockey eh

    • half the time people are hell bent on running around and killing vs trying to score. so if you follow someone, or wallop the guy being assassinated, you get an assist.

  22. AnEvilF3tus says:

    Hi guys. I’ve been a lurker for a few months getting some amazing tips for the challenges. Thank you all for that. I seem to have one major problem though. I can’t play griffball! It doesn’t matter what I do, I never get the dang kill. I guess I’m “hammer retarded”. Any suggestions?

  23. Reaperville says:

    I’m gutted reading all these – I’ve become quite fond of Grifball for MM challenges and probably could have got three of those, taking me to within sight of the 24 – but I’M AWAY FROM MY XBOX TIL TUESDAY. By which time it’ll probably be another LASO. Frak.

  24. BadSpartan says:

    just like most of you, i got 3 challenges in my first game of Grifball, but i couldn’t get the Assist challenge for the life of me. quite a few of you have mentioned Invasion. i think i’ve maybe played that once before, so i’ll give it a try. thanks for the tips.

  25. AnEvilF3tus says:

    Add me GT- ANEVILF3TUS. 😀

  26. Defender77 says:

    My tag is Defender77 and I prefer FF normally. The assist one will be a pain but I’ll try my 4th game of Invasion …EVER.

  27. Cassandra says:

    hey all. this is probably my favourite website, first one I look at every morning, because of all of you guys’ comments. About to tackle today’s challenges.

    I’d love to have some new people to play with so my GT is “Purple PplEtr I” (I not 1)

  28. Oreo says:

    Was having trouble getting assists, then got into slayer DMRs on Uncaged. Finally got them with the more open, yet smaller, area. Just drop their shields and let them kill you. Usually makes enough noise that some else finishes them off. Ended up with 11 assists.

    Thanks for the blog. It’s been a big help.

  29. iam8up says:

    Assist challenge was super easy in crazy king pinnacle

  30. Scruff UK says:

    Everyone who’s posted their GT’s, expect a friend request from me later! Everyone else add me, Scruff UK 🙂

    Also, Hockey is genius for the assist challenge. Just run backwards shooting someone with the AR – you’ll undoubtedly die, but someone will finish your kill off 9 times out of 10. Got 8 assists in a few minutes. Also discovered it’s a great gametype to get your Assassination commendation up! 😉

Leave a Reply

