4th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Monday’s here and we have another LASO challenge to keep us very very busy. The dailies today are pretty standard and without Dedication/Time hanging over you I suspect at least one of these will be skipped by a lot of people…

Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. I imagine there are guys out there who will be able to get this challenge in one game.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

The Little Guys – Kill 200 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1500 cR

Winter Contingency, Exodus or The Package are excellent for Grunts – read through the post from the 17th for more information on them. The opening of ONI Sword Base has one useful trick – go straight to the Target Designator, turn around and blast some Grunts, then reset to checkpoint. It’s a quick way of doing it, although I prefer playing through levels to up various commendations. Ryan suggested something similar on The Package, throwing a grenade just before the checkpoint so that every time you reset it goes off and takes out a few Grunts. Let me know if you have any other great suggestions.

Legendary Friends – Complete any Campaign mission on Legendary in co-op mode – 2500 cR

This is new – a previous weekly challenge added as a daily! There is no requirement on staying alive for the whole mission, having skulls on or how many people you do it with. So the best easiest way to do this is on Winter Contingency. It’s a fairly easy level that if you’ve been doing challenges for a while you should know like the back of your hand! Reach does scale up the difficulty in Legendary co-op, so it’s not the walk that Halo 3 apparently was. You can also combine this with the weekly LASO if you want, but this will be quicker to do without skulls. Does anyone know if doing it in Nightfall with the quick run through is possible?

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

A huge thank you to Snickerdoodle for her commentaries this weekend, go follow her Twitter feed and her blog as well.

And as ever if you have your own thoughts on the challenges, feel free to add them in the comments.

30 Responses to 4th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. robert says:

    Does anyone know if doing it in Nightfall with the quick run through is possible?

    Yes it is, I just did it. I just logged in with my second account, never touched that one and went for it. There are a few more enemies but I still managed to get through in 5 minutes.

    • Scruff UK says:

      Awesome, thanks for trying that out for us all! I will actually bother with today’s Legendary co-op challenge then; 2500 credits for 5 minutes seems good. Can’t be bothered with the weekly though; I need more than 14,000 credits to tempt me into trying something that nightmarishly difficult, I’ll just play a few games of Invasion instead!

      • robert says:

        I love LASO challenges, but this particular one is ridicilous yes..I might try it if I can’t sleep or something..All the other challenges are already done in just under a hour, had myself some extra fun with griffball (103 kills lol).

    • Cam says:

      Wonder what I’m doing wrong! No matter what I do, I can’t jump off the forklift through the door. Worked for me once, and never again! =@

      • it takes me a few tries to get the angle just right. and by “a few” i really mean “a helluva lot” so keep trying!

      • Scruff UK says:

        Make sure you’ve got the exit of the forklift parked right against the join in the two doors you’re trying to glitch through – I find this part to be just as crucial as getting the forklift flat against the doors.

        I’ve done the speed-run of Nightfall a few times now; sometimes the forklift trick works first time, other times it takes six or seven goes. Just be patient 🙂

      • okininja08 says:

        I’m not sure about everyone else but being flat against the wall never worked for me. I have the back end touching but a slight gap between the front of the forklift and the gate. It works for me, it might work for you. Good Luck.

    • alex says:

      To do Nightfall quickly, run without being seen through first part and try to get past the turret in the second, then just book it until u have to defend the marines, screw the marines just book it under the bridge and to the left, go to the big antenna and get in the fork lift, put it up against the wall and get out, it should leave you on other side of door, from there enemies dont load so just run to the end

      • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

        Absolutely! The biggest pain in this level is that d*ckhead Jorge or however who insists on shooting at everything, thus giving the game away.

        Glad to hear from people above that a run-through with a 2nd controller will work.

      • Tyson Black says:

        If jorge is ahead of you, push him offf the edge of the cliff. Then he cant shoot anything 🙂

      • okininja08 says:

        I believe you guys are talking about Jun? Jun is the sniper and Jorge is the heavy.

      • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

        Yes, Jun is the guy. I actually had more difficulty doing this run than I did when it was the weekly LASO! Enemies all over the place. had to start several times over. I almost murdered a controller, WTF. My only solace was that Jun was well-behaved this time and I got through the doors with the forklift in one go.

  2. CaptainRon19 says:

    7,375 credits in daily challenges, woohoo!

  3. michael says:

    For some reason i dont like playing with random people in Firefight so i always go for Score Attack when a challenge calls for it. For the Flat Tire challenge like Matthew stated Holdout is your best bet. If you take out the banshee everytime it comes out and if you make each wave last a while you might get lucky and get 4 in 1 game. I did this 1 time before. Well, I will be on the weekly all day im sure and honestly i have beaten every LASO challenge but for some reason i dont know if i can get this one or not.

    • Shane says:

      Firefight co-op is ruined by the AFKers.

      Sniperfight on Holdout is the best bet for sure. I got 5 vehicle kills this morning in one game as follows. I start by flying up to the high roof on the right (one of the AFK zones :-/). Look down at the grunts and one of them will soon take up the turret in the middle section. As soon as he (or she?) does, snipe the *turret leg*, not the grunt. This will break the turret and kill the grunt and counts as a vehicle kill.

      Stay up on the roof as much as possible during the match – it’ll take 15 mins to get 3 or 4 banshees anyway. You’ll need to drop down occasionally to mop up the last enemies in the wave. I’ve tried idling (in single player) on the roof but this seems to reduce the likelihood of banshees appearing.

      2 or 3 games of sniperfight on holdout and you’re done.

  4. Chris Atreides says:

    Do any of you know if we can use the action pack game variants for the challenges? Halo ball and Hockey should just be called assassin ball. You can get a TON of kills in these 2 game types not to mention there is something comforting in hitting someone with a golf club instead of a hammer. ;).

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Yes you can, I used Speedflag for the assassination challenge, and the games counted towards the 15 games one.

      BTW – Chris ‘Atreides’ – love it lots.

      • Chris Atreides says:

        Sweet, I love the new action pack! And thanks I’m a HUGE Dune fan. (As you can tell).

    • absolutely! halo ball is quickly replacing grifball as my favorite not-serious game variant.

      speedpile is also very fun. unless it’s on Hemorrhage then it’s a race to see who gets to camp with the wraith first. 😕 and i almost always seem to end up on the wrong side of the blue balls of death.

  5. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Nice little mix of challenges today. I’ll probably end up skipping the flat tire one unless I feel really determined, but I’m looking forward to the others.

    I’d also be lying if I said I’m not concerned about the part of the Long Night of Solace mission where you drop in to the covenant ship and have to take out that big group of elites. I think that parts going to be tough.

    Either way, as soon as I knock that weekly out I’ll be sure to post any tips or hints that I find useful to compliment Matthew’s commentary.

    Goodluck all!

  6. Mister X says:

    Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

    3,4 or 5 games of Griffball.

    Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
    I don’t know, cuz i don’t have HD, so i just play Score Attack.

    The Little Guys – Kill 200 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1500 cR

    Again Bungie?
    Begin of ONI, don’t need target Designator, just kill the 4 grunts in the beginning and the other 3.

    Legendary Friends – Complete any Campaign mission on Legendary in co-op mode – 2500 cR

    Easy one, run al the Winter Contigency, your only problem is the sword guy.
    Catch Plasma Pistol and a DMR. Take off the armor of the sword guy with plasma pistol ans change to DMR, and guess what? Lengedary Friends, Chalenge Complete.

    Sorry for my bad english, i’m brazillian.

  7. mac round fartz says:

    for the challenge “the little guys, on winter contingency, theres a gr8 way to take out grunts with many multikills.

    afer the cutscene where u get attacked by the elete zelts and fieldmarshal, and are ordered to “clear the hole” get the DMRs right in front of you and take out the three gas tanks that are beside the right wall (after the elite alerts the sleeping grunts.) after you get that area cleared the hallway on where the zelot retreats there are about 6 grunts all in one small area, use a gernade (multikill 5,6) go a little bit foward and there is another group, do the same thing, then restart and do it again, (video of the three gas tanks method on bungie.net, my name is the same as the video’s owner, look it up. its called “3 DMR shots= killtacular”

    • Phil says:

      Taking out those gas tanks is a great strategy. Thanks!

      • wbs Skatanic says:

        Hey, for the grunt one, one strategy I find quite easy is to start up Nightfall, then grenade jump up the beginning rockface, aim with either sniper or Magnum directly at one of the grunts heads and wait for the checkpoint when Jun stops talking. Then fire, revert to checkpoint, fire, revert etc. Gets you commendations for headshots, infantry and precision/small arms weapon kills. Also put the thunderstorm skull on to upgrade the grunt. Gets about 200 kills in 5-10 minutes, and only requires you to use minimal attention to the game lol

  8. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Um… I just took out 3 banshees on holdout score attack x2 and they didn’t count. Im very upset.

    • wbs Skatanic says:

      Yeah, I took out a Ghost and Wraith on Beachhead, neither of which counted. So I’m not bothering with this challenge lol

  9. Lex says:

    It’s funny everytime the Flat Tire challenge comes up I never get Sniperfight Holdout but yesturday for example it came up 4 times when I was getting the 400 kills……….not lookin forward to the weekly I might just put in some heavy Crysis time this week and just pick off the Daily challenges as they come during the week…..bungie needs to add some enemy vehicles to firefight if they have this challenge so often I even feel like they took out the vehicles on 2x glacier I haven’t got one in forever

  10. David says:

    The challenges are simple enough. But I’m alsdo glad since me and my friends have fun with LASO’s. Infact we already finished it! HAHAHA. We managed to spend 6 hours on it and got the weekly, The Little guys and Legendary friends all at once. Never managed to get flat tires though 😛

Leave a Reply

