Reach Weekly Challenge Commentary – w/c 4th April

Long Night of Solace: LASO – Complete Long Night of Solace, Legendary, All Skulls On (LASO) – 14000 cR

I think we can assume it’s one week on one week off for LASO challenges, so a few more weeks of this to go yet.As I said last week LNoS was a killer for me on Legendary because the Corvette section stripped my ammo away really quickly and I had to face the trek back from the bridge with a mostly empty Needler.

The basic concept for the challenge is complete the mission on close to Mythic difficulty (Mythic is all of this challenge, in solo, without dying). I won’t post a full walkthrough here, because frankly the best one you can use is actually on Halo.Bungie.Org by Tyrant.

Usually now you don’t need the Blind skull on – as ever can I get confirmation of this please?

If you have any tips on how to complete this challenge more easily, please throw them in the comments section for everyone to use.

Next time around we’ll have Exodus. I really enjoyed this mission in any difficulty, although I wonder if anyone’s found the Gold Ranger Elite on Exodus yet?

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

53 Responses to Reach Weekly Challenge Commentary – w/c 4th April

  1. Pingback: 4th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  2. michael says:

    Well everyone its here. I love a challenge when it comes to Reach but this one might be a little too much for me. When we had the Winter Contingency LASO challenge i spent atleast 20+ hours throughout the week on it. I just hope this one doesnt take near that long. I am, like always, going to follow Tyrants guide for this and i would suggest everyone do the same if you are attempting this. Good luck to all of you going for this! 🙂

  3. michael says:

    If anyone gets through this would you please post and let me know? I just attempted it and i am having problems on the very first part. Im having second thoughts about this now. 😦

    • Skull King X10 says:

      I completed it last night much easier in Co-op but have some tips for yahs doing it in solo.
      First of u can skip the starting battle by killing the first group of grunts on the beach and stealing a plasma pistol, then use sprint to quickly rush up the beach, sticking close to water to avoid elites. Then rush across the bridge and wait for the wraith to drop down, hi-jack it to kill quickly, reccommend from behind to avoid turret. Now just continue up the side of the fortress and wait for ur spartan squadmates to kill the units (they do it much faster if ur ahead of them). Now in the space battle be sure to take ur time and dont b afraid to hide to recharge ur shields and kill Seraphs first they are dicks!!! When on the corvette (pressuming u picked up sword in the base qucikly slay the top eltes by assasinating as they pass thru the shield. Now ther are like 6-7 elites below you it is much easier and safer to jump down draw their attention then jump back up this shud allow one at a time to follow u and just kill them one by one. The next part is more tricky as u make ur way to activate the beacon (be sure to take ur time and use plasma weapons, swords but also concussion rifle is very useful as it can b used to bounce weapon holders into elites for splatters! USE either the drop shield or armour lock as it will provide the most cover during the hard battles. In the beacon room move up the left and then back into the center and walk slowly behind the grunts (they sudnt notice u) and quickly assasinate as many elites as possible perferably sword ones). There is a weapon holder with swords so look out for it if u need a new weapon. Honestly after this part it is best to just take ur time when moving back thru the corvette and attempt to kill the elites one by one ( remember in close range they will kill u in just one hit unless u can dodge… when behind then side stepping shud help as they typically do a 180 punch or kick) . KILL THE ELITES THAT DONT USE THE PLASMA CANNONS FIRST AS THEY ARE MUCH HARDER TO DODGE! but THEE most important tip is that in solo when doing it if u shud die IMMEDIATELY SAVE AND QUIT b4 the iron skull takes effect and restarts the mission. then let the map reload and u will b able to RESUME SOLO CAREER from ur last checkpoint. TAKE UR TIME AND GOODLUCK! from X10

  4. michael says:

    Oh and no Matthew, the blind skull is not needed.

  5. Arebd says:

    Yoo i already found the goldranger it was a challenge 3 months ago
    He’s flying low and if you attack him he flies away really fast In a banshee

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Funnily enough I know it was a challenge for New Alexandria a few months ago – I run a challenge blog 😀 He flies a set path through the map, so you’ve got to catch him. If you check my post from back then we’ve got videos of his path attached.

      But that’s New Alexandria – Exodus is the mission that last time I’d checked no one had found the Gold Ranger on.

      • HHF says:

        Exodus is very much a Brutey level. An Elite would stand out like a sore thumb. He might possibly be another Banshee Flyer. That or we need to find a Special Brute.

  6. Wahammy says:

    What is this Gold Ranger people are speaking of?

    • HHF says:

      The Gold Ranger is BoB (A small reference to the Marathon Series)

      It’s a special Elite that wears the Ranger Elite armour except it’s Gold rather than White. After a while though, the Elite will just disappear. You have to be very quick at killing it.

      • Wahammy says:

        Is it worth extra cR? In other words, if it disappears, is there a point in killing it?

    • matt says:

      I believe you get more credits for the kill than a standard elite. No special medals or anything though. On nightfall for instance, he appears when you are protecting the civilians at Waterfront. He takes 3 headshots with the sniper rifle to drop, even on normal (my campaign reset so I breezed through the first missions on normal to do the previous LASO)

      • GunsOfSummer33 says:

        You actually DO get a special medal for killing him. It’s called Seek and Destroy, I think. As far as I know, there’s nothing else you get from him, though.

  7. Paddy162 says:

    Hey guys 🙂 looks pretty tricky to me if anyone wants someone for doing these sorts of challenges with add me gt: paddy162

  8. Rob says:

    *cringe* at this weekly…

  9. Mister X says:

    The part of Corvette is VERY VERY DIFFICULT !
    Sorry for my bad english, i’m brazillian…

  10. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Well I’m currently at the part of the mission where you drop into the Covenant Corvette. To this point, it was easy enough, but I have a feeling this is where it gets really difficult.

    If you’re having trouble advancing up the beach, just be patient. Keep moving laterally, using the rock formations as cover from enemy fire. When the opportunity presents itself (typically when an elite goes to chuck a grenade or starts to get in a fish fight with a member of NOBLE), strip down the elite’s shield with a plasma pistol and pop him in the head with your standard UNSC Magnum.

    As for the orbital defense portion, I found that Anchor 9 and the Savannah make for excellent cover should you start to get pounded by enemy fighters. Stay close to either of these at all times. If you find you’ve drifted off from them and come under heavy fire, use your evasive maneuvers as you scramble back to cover. Typically, evading to the left or to the right, followed by evading up or down worked great for me.

    I’ll post more as I (hopefully) advance farther into the mission.

    Goodluck!

  11. good luck to all trying this. i am totally skipping this weekly and not feeling one tiny bit guilty about it. 🙂

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      I think I’m going to hop aboard that ship with you.

      After bashing my head against this challenge for the past couple hours, I’m done.

      • michael says:

        I dont blame you Andrew. I spent well over an hour at the beginning trying to get the rockets for the corvette part but kept dying. I finally said screw it and decided to board with a dmr and sword. Thats where im at now and if i finish the mission i will be sure to let you all know. But i really dont see me doing it. lol.

      • hey after grinding out all 28 dailies last week, i earned my break! 😀

      • michael says:

        Agreed Snickerdoodle. I really dont know if im even going to do the Flat Tire challenge. As for the weekly, I have made it all the way to where you enter the corvette and take out the elite rangers. I did that and now im having some problems with all the elites and the engineer. Im going to take a break for a while and let my son do some MM. Im sure i will be back on it later pushing as forward as i can. 😉

      • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

        That’s exactly the part at which I gave up on it, Michael. Haha.

  12. Garr Komtaree says:

    YES, i’ve been anticipating this since the week before last, this is going to be pure easy come Jorge and the pelican
    honestly if you dont use the pelican’s chaingun come the very end after the Brige you are a plain FOOL, it will get you through it lol, it make the gunner invinceable, but as long as the other players, or if your on solo… hide behind the peli with dropshield it will work a darn charm!!!!

  13. brightenheezy says:

    this weekly LASO is for sure the toughest one so far. Long Night of Solace tends to be very difficult at times with few easy parts sprinkled in. Going by Tyrant’s guide is for sure the best way to go if you want to complete the challenge. Be forewarned though, this challenge requires patience and will take a LONG time. It will be literally be many long nights of solace for you 😛 Good luck everyone with the challenge!

  14. Scumbaagh says:

    Hi all!

    me and a friend reached the control room on the corvette but then got stuck and ran out of time (sleeping time that is)

    Can we restart from checkpoint bravo tomorrow and still make the challenge or do we have to make it in one go? we got there in about 45-50 minutes actually…

    • michael says:

      I know if you do it solo and decide to stop you can save and exit, then later on you can resume solo campaign. You should be able to resume co op campaign the same way if thats the way you were doing it. If you go in and select rally point bravo and start from there even if you made it to that point, the challenge will not count as far as i know.

  15. JXibalba says:

    Yeah, as usual I will pass on all the LASO challenges – just don’t interest me at all. Although I did do the Nightfall one since it was simple. I would prefer to play multiplayer games for fun. Kudos to all that enjoy the LASO challenges – and good luck!

  16. BS Diablo says:

    I found a helpful hint on YouTube for the begining beach scene. Using tyrants guide run to the wraith but instead of getting behind it and destroy it, stop at the little bridge and wait for it to drop then pop the grunt gunner in the head with your pistol, then run jump on and knock the latch off exposing the Elite driver. Jump off and then jump back on and beat him till he dies. Now you have a wraith! It’s kinda tricky getting thru the rocks with it but once you do Cat jumps in the gunner seat. Park it off to the side and while UNSC continues to drop off fresh marines , cat will fire at the approaching elite keeping the landing pad clear so u can collect rockets from the dead marines. I’m at the final two elites in the Corvette just before u meet up with (big dude with big gun, totally forgot his name right now)

    I’ll let ya know when I finish 🙂

    • BS Diablo says:

      Update: made it to the final show down in the Corvette room… Now I just need to get in the Pelican gun and I’m done. (baby woke up so I’ll give it a go tonight)
      This one is tough!!!!

      • BS Diablo says:

        Update: Challenge completed! Mythic style (all by my lonesome) once I realized I needed to hold B instead of X to get in the Pelican due to Bumper Jumper configuration, it was a breeze finishing the level. By far the hardest LASO for me. \m/.
        Reverbnation.com/thedevilhimself

  17. Eyesac says:

    FINALLY FINISHED!!! Took me about 2-3 hours and multiple deaths but I made it! You have to be really patient about this one. I used tyrants guide(definitely couldn’t do this one on my own) but he makes it look too easy. Nothing went as smooth as it did in his video’s..in fact it was nowhere near how it went in his videos. But the pelicans gun at the end DEFINITELY saved my butt. Good Luck everyone!

  18. Bungiesgirl says:

    I’m another one leaving the challenge this week… sadly I just dont have enough time to Halo & after I threw a rage on Sunday over the ToTS challenge (I had to eat humble pie though because I had too many skulls on so it was my own fault… ulp) I want to play halo for fun rather than challenge hunting 🙂

    Best of luck to the LASO teams this week 😀

  19. HHF says:

    co-op – 1:37:27

    Very easy all the way up to the Corvette, got stuck on the roof of that for a good 10-15 mins.

    Then we got inside. That took another 10-15 mins. We got the Pelican in though, after that, rather easy. Managed to beat down the Elites at the gun control panels and when we got to the Control room, we go lucky, I was able to stealthy take out all bar 1 Elite using beat-downs. Then, got back (The crate trick that guy was talking about in the vids, worked a treat. Got in the pelican gun, friend blew the gun off and he stayed hidden with a bubble shield and headshot anything that I shield stripped. Worked out perfectly. Not a bad run.

  20. Pingback: 5th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  21. Jnasty Jr says:

    This challenge was fairly easy for me. Took me about 50 minutes. The hardest part for me was the engineer part but all you need is a needle rife and just keep shooting away at anything that moves. But keep your fire focused on one enemy. The next part is the elite ultras and they die really easily with a punch in the back. If you are doing coop the next part will be cake by having one person distract the elites in the next room you can assassinate the elites. When you go down the ramp barricade the door behind you with covenant crates. The next room is also easy with one person standing in the door shooting after the other person assassinates most of the elites in charge but this is a very ninja like part. Then after everything is killed back up from the door and blast away with your needle rifle. Go back to the main room and try to get in the pelican gun and look down and shoot and then blast away at enemies and have the other person use the plasma pistol and you should have this done in no time. Good luck and I suggest 2 people.

  22. michael says:

    Got the challenge completed finally. It was one of the roughest LASO challenges i have ever done. Good luck to you all going for this!

  23. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    I’ve finally reached the last portion of the mission where you’re (supposedly) supposed to be able to man the pelican gun and light up everything in sight. Only problem is that I’m having trouble getting into the gun itself. I know you’re supposed to crouch walk along the left side but its not letting me in. Any tips?

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      Nevermind. Looks like the turret was blown off the ship long before I even got to it. Either I have to attempt to take out the last room by myself or restart the whole mission.

      I hate LASO sometimes.

    • Bowtie Bob says:

      Hold down X as you crouch just like entering any other vehicle (took me awhile to figure out too)

  24. Garr Komtaree says:

    Wow you people had to blow the turret? stroke of sillyness, you look at the ground and fire 4 – 5 times and it goes, due to its large… splash damage

  25. LEX(REvOfEv EcHELoN) says:

    Just finished it after a grueling hour and a half i’ve never been happier to get a weekly done!!! Did it with four people although i would advise 2 since with four players you’ll be dying more often. The turret gun on the pelican didn’t even work I tried hopping in it but it wouldn’t let me. Maybe you cant do it with four people. However we managed to eventually outsmart the 4 elites of the Apocalypse……….Tip for those trying to have a full RL when you breach the corvette in the beginning at the beach instead of destroying the wraith just take the gunner out and use it. Use it to keep away the covenant and keep blasting the marines for rocket ammo. Good luck to whoever still needs to do this mission. I started the week thinking I would skip this all together but here I am so dont give up if you’re stuck at a frustrating part take a 5 min break discuss your strategy and remember its way easier outsmarting an elite rather than outgunning one. Good Luck!!!!

    • alex says:

      you have to get in quickly or the covenant will destroy it, once it’s destroyed you cant get in. once you get in it can’t be destroyed its awesome

  26. Scott says:

    FREAKFREAKFREAKFREAK.

    I got to the very end and was trying to get into the Pelican gun. I died and didn’t exit fast enough and it restarted the whole freaking mission!

    • Scott says:

      Holy crap, I was able to sign out before the first checkpoint and when I signed in and restarted, it took me back to the checkpoint at the end of the level!!! Thank goodness!!! Took 6 or 7 tries, but I finally got in the Pelican and finished the level!!!

  27. Wes says:

    Look for a video by a player under the name of “The Departed” .. took him under an hour (search for it in the video lobby in Halo Reach). This guy really knows this level.
    I’m too young to get grey hair, so I’m not even trying these *%$# LASO/SASO’s or whatevers! If you play 4 FF Arcade games in one hour, that’s about 14,000cr anyway. 🙂

  28. Ewest112 says:

    Just finished long night laso the weekly challenge, give me a day of your life and I’ll give you some credits… I just spent about 8 hours on coop, started later in the day on Tuesday an had to call it @ 4 in the morning since I had to work around 9

  29. Jetpack333 says:

    If any1 wants to do this mission co-op, send me msg/invite

    Gamertag: jetpack333

  30. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    So bedcause im a total challenge junkie and really hate to leave a challenge incomplete (especially a weekly), I went ahead and gave this another shot.

    As some of you might recall from my earlier posts, I made it all the way through the mission once, only to find the Pelican turret destroyed before I even reached the final room. There was no way I was dealing with the “Four Elites of the Apocalypse” without it. This time however, much to my enjoyment, the turret was still intact and I tore them to pieces with it.

    For all of you that haven’t completed this yet or are struggling at all, keep at it! I was in the same boat as you. This was the first LASO challenge I really struggled on, but that made completing it all the sweeter.

    Goodluck everyone!

  31. Pingback: 8th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

