5th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Lots of excuses to try out FF and MP variants today, plus take on your favourite Campaign mission…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

So you could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants, but you’re well advised to combine it with the next challenge. Why am I going for Gruntpoc as the best option? Because there’s a guaranteed Pistol, easy enemies to take out and a really quick game type to play through (and who wants to be taking on Brutes or Elites with a pistol for the next challenge when you can stick to Grunts).

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 200 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1500 cR

As above, try and get a couple of Gruntpocalypse games in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible then back in the menu to get it done. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out. I personally think Holdout’s an evil little map, although that’s when it introduces the tougher enemies in Score Attack.

Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Iron restarts the mission if you die, so be very careful here. The main trick is that if you do quickly save and quit the mission, then restart it and the challenge will be active again from your last checkpoint. Winter Contingency is good to do because we should all be experts at it now, or Nightfall, since you can use various tricks to get through it barely firing anything. You could potentially do this with the LASO Weekly Challenge I think, although that’ll take much longer and frustrate you a lot.

Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1750 cR

Complete 15 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, and Grifball can be very quick depending on if someone goes for the score straight away! The new Action Sack games seemed to take a while so I wouldn’t recommend them for speed, but if you’ve got to play 15 games why not mix it up and try some new options. I did enjoy HaloBall Extreme. XD

So you’ll have a little bit of grinding today, but it gives a good chance to try new things and play some of your old favourites. And if you have your own tips add them in the comments.

30 Responses to 5th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Headshot says:

    I think 15 games is a bit much i will end up skipping that one most likely

    • Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

      Action Sack goes surprisingly fast. We had this challenge last Saturday too; I think you can have it done in 1.5 hours.

    • Darth Malber says:

      It is a lot considering doing the other challenges aren’t goint to fulfill any of those 15 games. But any excuse to do multiplayer matchmaking is fine by me. Action Sack is an excellent diversion if you’re bored with the standard slayer variants and classic slayer is a good option too.

      • Shane says:

        A gamer I play with was telling me about how he spent a full minute running chasing some poor guy in hockey in a circle with infinite sprint just out of assassination reach. Eventually, his target slipped and got shanked. He said he’d clip it. I suggested dubbing in the Benny Hill theme song.

  2. Tim Everitt says:

    Good mix of challenges.

    When the complete xx games in MM comes around, I’ll scan my commendations and pick variants that will add to the overall total for those close to the next medal.

    • Tim Everitt says:

      And as always, thanks to Matthew, bungiesgirl, and snickerdoodle for the continued dedication. The community appreciates it.

  3. Paddy162 says:

    I don’t like those complete 15 games challenges. It’s just a bit too much for me. Hope I get some easy ones this week or I may never get to brigadier !!

    • Chris says:

      Totally agree with you, were is the challenge in having enough time to take part in 15 games ? just makes it impossible for the rest of us ….. rant over

      have a good day
      cjc

      • Braythor says:

        I with you guys on that too – 2500 for a 20 min runthrough of Winter Cont but 1750 for at least 1.5 hours of MM…just can’t be bothered. Maybe if there were other MM challenges to work at too.

      • Scruff UK says:

        If you just want to do the challenge, go into Living Dead. Games rarely take more than a couple of minutes, so you should be done in less than an hour.

        I know what you mean though; 15 games of Team Slayer is going to take quite some time, and generally you’d get more than 1,750 cR just for playing *one* game (depending on what rank you are). Doesn’t quite add up.

  4. William Woodmore says:

    Nice challenges today. I will definitely complete three out of the four. Completing 15 games today is a little questionable, just depending on how I feel after work and what I need to do afterwards.

  5. Sean says:

    For the 200 pistol kills i’d recommend 2x score attack – the extra damage and overshields should make life pretty easy. Other option is rocketfight or sniper attack just because of the unlimited ammo.

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      I agree on the 2x score attack. The pistol is a little beast of a hand cannon with the extra damage added by the gametype. It’ll one-shot most of the grunts and jackals.

      • Scruff UK says:

        It’ll also take down most Brutes and Elites in two shots, if they’re both headshots. 2x Score Attack is just that little bit more interesting than Gruntpoc 🙂

  6. Chris Atreides says:

    15 games? Not when you actually work for a living. Or should I call in a sub??? Halo ball extreme is calling my name. Lol.

  7. michael says:

    Does anyone know anything about this? Yesterday i made it almost to the end of Long Night Of Solace but im stuck at the room with the elites and general. Its gonna take me a while to finish this and i dont think i can get it done today. My question is if i pick Winter Contingency to do the Iron Will challenge will it erase my progress on Long Night Of Solace? Im pretty sure it will and if thats the case i guess i have to finish the weekly just so i can do the daily campaign challenge. Man, its gonna be a long day!

    • Braythor says:

      Oh cheese-and-rice it will won’t it?! Nice one Bungie, set a weekly challenge that has to be done in one sitting if we don’t want to sacrifice doing some of the dailys…

      • michael says:

        Thats what im saying! lol. Well, im trying my best to finish this right now but its gonna be a while. Good luck everyone!

    • Chris Atreides says:

      I’m almost positive it will. And that last section should be worth 20.000 cr alone.

  8. Justin says:

    As a note, the plasma pistol doesn’t count towards the pistol kills, and I’m glad I finished the LASO yesterday so I could just run through Nightfall for today’s challenge.

  9. docdiver315 says:

    Well…it is a good mix. Been wanting to do the magnum in FF and today was a good excuse. I’m happy to report (NOT) that it took me 4 games instead of 3…a score attack, a 2x and a crashsite left me with 199 – I really thought I had it when I gave up the generator. So, kicked the dog, burned my Van Gogh painting, threw the TV out the window, shot myself 6 times with Patron, and called in a false fire alarm. Feeling better, completed the challenge.

    Did the WC for the campaign and now boosting Flawless and Demon – zero credits but a good, brainless break after a few games of MM throughout my off day today. Am trying to get to Hero (120K credits more to go) so very fast games aren’t a good credit return for me. Means you are stuck with me in Slayer/SWAT/BTB/etc instead of Living Dead/Grifball today.

    Luck to all!

  10. Docgdc says:

    Yep…. You will lose your place. I think they should avoid campaign challenges on LASO weeks.

  11. Chris Atreides says:

    Can any of you use Tyrants method of becoming the Pelican gun on LNOS? I’ve tried for over an hour and I’m ready to throw my xbox into the street. LOL I just keep crouching while pushing up against the side??? Thanks.

    C.A.

    • Pirate Drummer says:

      Crouch, walk from the back of the cockpit toward the nose, keeping against the pelican, looking at an angle toward the pelican, and hold “X”.

    • michael says:

      What you need to do Chris is crouch and hold down X while you are up against the left side of it next to the letters on the side. It took me a while to figure it out but now i can get into it on the first try everytime. Good luck!

    • Justin says:

      I was able to get it in about 30 seconds of trying. As a note you won’t be able to see right away but once they throw some grenades your way you’ll be able to see. I also got blown up inside the gun but I think it was a freak accident.

  12. JCOD AshCeltic (GT) says:

    Annoyed only done two challenges then had to go off As well why do they think 15 games is sensible because not everyone can play 15 games and still complete 3 other challenges

  13. Pirate Drummer says:

    They should have done “Complete 15 campaign, FF, and MP”.

  14. so i’ll be intermittent this week since apparently, internet at my mom’s house is kaput for now. apparently the tree across the tree fell over and ripped out all the poles.

    and here i thought i was leaving italy for civilization, my bad.

    at least my xbox made it. yes, i packed my 360. it was the first thing in my bag. hey, a girl’s gotta have priorities, right?? :mrgreen:

  15. Paddy162 says:

    Maybe they’ll go back too the win 4/5 games challenges.. St least it takes some skill rather than just time 🙂

Leave a Reply

