7th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Loads and loads and loads of kills to get today…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1875 cR

You’ll probably get this, or very close to it, through the other challenges. But if you want to do it somewhere other than Firefight your good options are:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Heroic Holdout – Kill 150 enemies on Holdout on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

So you’re probably looking at two games of anything here – if you can get into Firefight Arcade or Limited on your own or with one other you might get this, but you might as well whizz through Gruntpocalypse, 2x Score Attack or something twice.

The House of Blue Leaves – Kill 188 enemies in a single Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic – 1400 cR

Ummmm… this should be 88, I’m sure. It was 88 when we had it in October, and it’s named after the battle with the Crazy 88’s in Kill Bill (side note – how good would Reach look with the single colour look like the screen fight or like in Wet?). My first point is for someone to log on and check it’s actually showing 188 in game (it says so on the user profile screen online) Thanks Chris and Steve for confirming. If it’s 88 then you’ll get it in pretty much any Score Attack, especially if you do Gruntpoc, 2x Score Attack etc for the above challenges. It is 188? That’s a multiplayer Firefight game with only one or two people, and taking out everything quickly. So you might end up with someone using their spare controllers to do AFK players taking up game slots – rather than doing this just sort out with your group who’s going for the challenge and have the rest distract the enemies so the ‘challenger’ can kill them more easily until they hit their total, then play as normal. Go for power weapons so you can take out a lot at once. Perhaps using Beachhead’s Warthog turret too is a good way to go.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking 1000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits.

Let me know about the third challenge in game, and post any further tips in the comments.

60 Responses to 7th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Chris says:

    yep 188 in game as well .

  2. Steve says:

    Just logged in. It says 188. Thats gunna be rough. Think like you said, doing it with a friend and us both having an AFK is gunna be the best way.

  3. Augie says:

    AFK is probably the best way to go… as long as the banhammer doesn’t find you! That would suck if you got banned for it.

  4. Augie says:

    I just got my 188 kills on Corvette Rocketfight. Wasn’t easy, got a perfection and got the last kill with 2 secs left in the game.

  5. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Another good way to try for 188 kills is to jump into a firefight arcade game with three other friends in a gametype like Rocket Fight or Sniper Fight. Then, your friends leave the game, giving you a whole lot of enemies to kill all by yourself, and no pesky number of lives to worry about.

  6. Scruff UK says:

    That’s stupid. 188 kills in one game – which is only possible in online, 4-player games – is just encouraging people to AFK with a spare controller. Why not “kill 88 enemies in a single Firefight game on FF Arcade”? At least that divides up quite nicely (~330 enemies per game, 4 players = an average of 82.5 kills per person). Why is it called AFK anyway? There’s no keyboard on my Xbox :/

    In theory you could get all of today’s challenges in one game, if you used three spare controllers and got lucky and got Holdout in the first or second choices in the FF Arcade menu. But then you’d be playing in a tiny quarter of the screen, and could well get banhammered.

    Best idea is probably signing in with one spare controller, putting it on the floor and jabbing randomly at the buttons and the sticks with your toes, whilst your hands (and your main log-in) do the actual work.

    • Chris says:

      A challenge that makes you use tactics that are in effect cheating is not for me.

      Used my two coffee break games up this morning and ended up on 247 for S&L , dam it ……

      cjc

    • okininja08 says:

      AFK stands for “A Free Kill” so I’m not sure what not having a keyboard has anything to do with it.
      Also, You can only have up to 2 players on a single xbox when doing firefight. So you’ll need to find a friend to do this with.

      • so i can’t tell if you’re being sarcastic or not?

        i’ve never heard “A Free Kill” but i can assure that AFK = Away From Keyboard in ‘net lingo.

      • docdiver315 says:

        Ahh…I like the distinction as it is true if you can find the player AFC to get AFK. Though not applicable in FF. If I’m positive a player is idle, I will beat down (why waste bullets or grenades) and hey, they can’t boot me…LOL.

      • rippy says:

        I had a player boot me for betraying when I killed him 5 minutes earlier for being AFK.

      • Steve says:

        AFK also means ‘away from keyboard’ in regards to online computer games, from which it originally got its name. Like people that would bot WoW or just be away for whatever reason.

  7. Tom says:

    188 could have been a tough one. Luckily all three of the other players quit on me immediately in a game of FRGFight. Though even then it took until within the last two minutes to do.

    • wbs Skatanic says:

      I agree, managed to get it in my first game of Firefight Rocketfight. Lucky all three guys quit otherwise i’d be there all day. Only times I play Firefight matchmaking is for challenges. It’s insanely laggy and unplayable normally.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        This is why I’ll always recommend Score Attack variants ahead of Arcade variants – I know so many people who have problems with Arcade that it’s better to do it in Score Attack.

  8. Sergeant Jinto says:

    If anyone else is on now, I’m willing to take a quit or two to help people get into a Firefight Arcade game by themselves. All I ask is someone does the same for me. My gamertag is the same as my name here, Sergeant Jinto.

  9. wnwoody says:

    You would think they would give more than 1400cR for trying to get 188 kills with three others playing with you. I’ve only been able to do that once and that was because the other three players quit within the first two minutes of the game. Even then, I barely reached the goal with less than 20 seconds to spare.

    The rest of the challenges should be acheivable within the first two games.

  10. michael says:

    I really hate to ask this but does anyone know if you can get banned if you sign in another controller or 2 and play firefight arcade and let the other controllers sit there? I have never not played a game i started so i have no idea whats bannable and whats not. Honestly this seems like the best tactic to take so that its just you and one other person.

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      Depends how often you would do this, I think. I’m not going to risk it for 1400 cr, I get that just by playing 2x Score Attack.

      I would like to get the challenge as I’m a completionist at heart, but I think I’ll pass on this one. We could get a group of like-minded players together and just let each of us get the challenge, while the others just wait their turn and get some minimal kills to foil the banhammer. Somehow smacks of cheating though …

    • okininja08 says:

      It all depends, My friend and I were playing SWAT on the same xbox with two accounts and I put my controller down to pay/get the pizza. In the 1-2 minutes it took to do that I got a temporary ban. I have never had this experience when you have a guest signed in though. So I guess it all depends?

      • Sacul says:

        bungies thought on the subject is they will ban you if you have a controller running and no one useing it. they wont ban you how ever if you get someone to walk around the level with said controller. that said they wont catch you everytime….but you got to ask yourself “is it worth the risk?”

  11. Scott says:

    When I first read the “188 in a game” achievement, I thought they must be trying to move people towards “Firefight Limited” games.

    Any idea how realistic getting 188 in a Limited game is? I never play the game type, so I wonder how quickly teams “die out.”

    • wnwoody says:

      Getting 188 kills is very difficult. There are approxiamately 330 enemies total, but you’re splitting those kills with three others, which makes the challenge tough. I’ve completed this challenge before, several months ago, but only because the three others quit at the beginning of the match. Even then, I barely got, because I had a few seconds to spare.

  12. why not log in with friends and instead of having them quit, just have them hide somewhere? and play 3 or 4 rounds until everyone gets it done?

    if you end up on corvette, just have them move sporadically in the room so that they aren’t QUITE AFK but aren’t really playing either.

    at least, that’s what we always do when we’re piggy backing to get the x points in FF games.

  13. mac round fartz says:

    what is AFK??

  14. Hey You says:

    Yeah, I guess Bungie wants to get some more swings with that banhammer.

    I’ll just ask a friend to sign in 2 extra controllers and quit right away.

  15. Matthew Vose says:

    I’ve added a comment above, rather than going AFK with spare controllers, just sort out with your group who’s going for the challenge and have the rest distract the enemies so the ‘challenger’ can kill them more easily until they hit their total, then play as normal. Much better way of doing, and I bet a lot more fun if you can resist shooting and just take the fire for the guy who is taking out the Covvies.

  16. michael says:

    I just went into a firefight arcade with a guest controller signed in. When it got to the pick map screen i signed the controller out and it took me away from the other 2 people playing and put me into a game by myself in firefight arcade. I thought to myself, this is going to be easy now. lol. I was able to get 154 kills and thats it. But to be fair it was fiesta attack on Holdout. I was murdered to pieces when the elites with human weapons came out. lol. I dont think what i did counts as a quit because after the game were you can hit select and view previous game stats it shows the other 2 guys names and my guest, kinda like they quit. Who knows. I may just wait til i get a friend to sign in a guest then i will have help when i need it! Good luck everyone.

    • Peter M says:

      Michael’s method works; I just got all four challenges in one game.

      Enter FF Arcade with a guest signed in and then, when the match starts, sign the guest out. It’ll boot everyone except you out of the game, leaving only you, your weapon, and three sets of doomed covvies.

      … of course, if you’re like me — I lure hunters into the spawn room when I’m playing with those Noble and Mythic guys who sit through the entire game AFK — you’ll feel like something of a douchebag for abandoning all your teammates. But hey, you can get the challenge this way.

      Or, like Matthew suggested, you can play with friends, lol.

      • System says:

        This worked out so well for me. I did holdout with rockets on and racked up all 4 challenges at once. Not only that but I lucked out and got commendations too so I ended up with close to 9000 credits in a 15 minute game. My mind was blown that such an easy trick works so well/

      • Shane says:

        Thanks to Michael for the tip. I’ve (allegedly :-)) previously unplugged my network cable and plugged it back in to do this which may count as network manipulation. The guest controller trick sounds more legitimate.

        I’m a Mythic but actually play – the lines are blurred with that rank. However, I’ve come across Forerunners recently who are still AFKing Firefight like crazy. I’m emphasising the rank not because rank is in any way important or representative of skill but because it implies a huge waste of time idling.

        I do my best to get them killed as well but the fact is that this is one of the few areas where Bungie has failed the community – the Banhammer doesn’t thwomp these guys at all.

    • Phil says:

      Brilliant suggestion, Michael! I used your method and immediately got an “FRG Attack” on Holdout, so I had it made… right? Well, brilliant me forgot about the timer and played leisurely until I heard “Five minutes remaining!” Oh, crap! Then I went into aggressive mode and finished out the time. My final tally: 181 enemies. No!!! So I had to try matchmaking again a half dozen more times until I got back to Holdout and was successful.

      Thanks again for the suggestion, and thanks to Matthew, snickerdoodle, and everyone else for such a great blog!

    • TheChrisD says:

      Yea, I too had to resort to this method. Got me a nice little Rocket Attack on Corvette and got the kills with plenty of time to spare.

      Pity it doesn’t show up on Bungie.net :/

  17. DCSimian81 says:

    I’d like to think that it’ll come down to the bonus round for those last set of kills. My advice? Get into a Rocketfight or FRGfight game, strap on a jet pack and do your thing. When the bonus round comes. Fly on top of the phantom and just sit up there. Then rain fire down on the poor sods below 🙂 You won’t die unless you’re careless and you’ll rack up the kills really fast.

  18. Coolguy says:

    This weekly, is a total, well i wont swear here but yah know….

  19. Cash says:

    All it says is get a killing spree so why do you always insist on suggest using a weapon to get a specific weapon spree. Like a hammer spree…

    You make people think that they have to use a weapon to get it but they don’t just get kills, it doesn’t have to be with only one weapon.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Sorry Cash, where does it say get a killing spree? All it says is spree – so 5 kills with specific weapons or 10 kills with any.

      • Cash says:

        Yeah, I know that and you’re right. But sometimes when they have this type of challenge for multiplayer you always suggest to people using a certain weapon for 5 kills.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I believe the recommendation is something along the lines of ‘a weapon you like’, so rather than swapping and changing it’s about playing smart to stay alive to get the killing spree, not about getting the weapon spree.

        But I’ll take your comments on board to see if it needs a rewrite next time.

    • michael says:

      I understand him just fine. If i didnt i wouldnt come to this site everyday to get tips from him on what to do. You do a great job Matthew, keep it up.

  20. Zakap says:

    I call it Gruntapolooza. Invincible health, bottomless clip, unlimited equipment usage, 300% damage output, alll grunts, no time limit no round/wave/set limit, disable drop ship for faster enemy delivery, play on corvette. set your own favorite auitomatic weapon loadouts (suggest the needler or the AR), legandary firefight lobby. stay and wait in the middle until the grunt surround you , put on 10 look sensitivity and spin and shoot the needler. you will have this done in 10 minutes tops.

    • DCSimian81 says:

      Screw the challenge, that just sounds fun as it is 🙂 Purple Rain suckas!!

  21. ptb says:

    I’ll gladly run interference (and build up the Perfectionist Commendation) for a few games in exchange for a shot at getting the 188 kills. Won’t be on until later this evening though (~10PM EST), gamertag is ptb.

  22. Chris says:

    Sorry , 247 kills towards the ‘Shootin’ and Lootin’ challenge or 3 kills short if you like .
    Made sense to me this morning anyway 🙂

  23. Cheborneck says:

    SOLVED-The house of blue leaves
    Go into firefight arcade with a spare controller. When you’re prompted to choose a game sign out the spare controller. This will kick you into a game by yourself. I got it with room to spare.

  24. Lex (REvOfEv EcHELoN) says:

    I dunno why everyones sweating the 188 kills challenge i get that almost every game playing arcade, and if you jump on top of the drop ship at the end you can rack up an easy 50-75 kils just in the bonus round. If you’re still having trouble put all your search restrictions on that way the search timer will most likely time out before finding a fourth leaving you in a game by yourself or usually with one other person.

  25. Darth Malber says:

    Suggestion for The House of Blue Leaves: Arcade on Fistfight. Bonus round activates the Black Eye skull, so each time you hit a covie with a sword or hammer it recharges your shields. Last game I did on this I got over 140 kills on the Overlook map, but you could combo this with the Holdout challenge. If I had set a controller to AFK to take up one player spot I could probably get more. The bonus round is key.

  26. rippy says:

    As far as AFKing with a controller goes, my friend and I have done it numerous times in firefight. All you have to do is move that player and get a few kills here and there. We’ve never had any trouble with banning ever.

  27. Brett says:

    I just did ‘The House of Blue Leaves’ on Corvette in a 4-player FF Arcade game. You just gotta be aggressive with your kills. I also suggest Rocketfight or FRGfight for this. Good luck to everyone trying to get this done. =]

  28. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

