11th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Annoyingly you can’t easily combine these challenges with my advice on the new weekly challenge, however we are going to have fun taking out large numbers of Grunts…

Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. I imagine there are guys out there who will be able to get this challenge in one game.

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly. As usual, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long. There are tricks in some places like Rally Point Bravo on The Package where you can get a checkpoint just before a group of Grunts so you can take out 5 quickly, then restart checkpoint and do it again.

The Little Guys – Kill 135 Grunts in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 1200 cR

Really similar to the previous challenge, Winter Contingency, Exodus or The Package are excellent for Grunts – read through the post from the 17th for more information on them. The opening of ONI Sword Base has one useful trick – go straight to the Target Designator, turn around and blast some Grunts, then reset to checkpoint. It’s a quick way of doing it, although I prefer playing through levels to up various commendations. Ryan suggested something similar on The Package, throwing a grenade just before the checkpoint so that every time you reset it goes off and takes out a few Grunts. Let me know if you have any other great suggestions.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. Again though do it in Glacier to get the below challenge first. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

If you want to get notifications of when I add new commentaries it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

12 Responses to 11th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. michael says:

    Im going to put the two challenges Short Controlled Bursts and The Little Guys together and do them on Oni Sword Base. I will probably start from the beginning and take out the 4 grunts that walk down in front of me with my AR then restart. Im sure there is other easier ways of getting the grunts but this is the method i use when dealing with a challenge that calls for campaign grunt kills.

    • Eric (GunsOfSummer33) says:

      I was actually going to suggest this method, Michael. It’s what I do every time there’s a grunt campaign challenge, as well. To help you get there a little faster (or at least with a little less repitition), I like to kill the four grunts at the beginning as you mentioned, then run to the right where three more grunts come around the corner from down where the target designator is. You should get 7 grunts at a whack, then restart mission.

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Regarding Short Controlled Bursts and The Little Guys… If you don’t have moral objections to doing some solo AFK in Campaign, there are ways of getting both of these challenges done in less than an hour without you having to be anywhere near your 360. All you need is a needler, the correct spot in Nightfall, and a little bit of sticky tape on the left thumbstick and the right trigger of your (preferably wired) controller. So I’ve heard 😉

    Cheating? Possibly – though no more so than the ONI Target Designator trick. Let’s face it, who *hasn’t* got Onyx Max on Splash Damage by now?! 😉

    As for the matchmaking kills – if like me you’re pretty useless at Grifball, then try Action Sack. Games like Haloball Xtreme and Hockey can be great for high amounts of kills.

    • Shane says:

      Are YOU one of those people who run around assassinating people in hockey then?

      (high-five! :-D)

      • michael says:

        I am! But i still go after the ball 10% of the time! 🙂

      • Scruff UK says:

        Haha, yes, yes I am 😉

        Though I do work on the “get approximately 5 kills then hit the ball at least once” method 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    “Cheating? Possibly”

    tut tut …… you Sir are a bounder and a cad 🙂

    To gain achievements one could play the game in the manner in which the originator intended !

    I’m proud to say my Splash Damage so far from Onyx Max …….

    from the moral high ground regards
    cjc

    • Scruff UK says:

      I am playing the game in the way it was intended! It tells me to kill 12,000 enemies with automatic weapons; I kill 12,000 enemies with automatic weapons. It just happens to be the same enemy 12,000 times and I’m playing the game using only my mind. And some sticky tape. 😉

      Just to be clear though, I would never attempt to boost anything online. That’s just lame, and I know how annoying AFK players are in Firefight. But in solo Campaign, it’s not hurting anyone except for my electricity bill 😉

  4. BigPoppaStyle says:

    You’re doing God’s work. Thanks for the effort you put into this.

  5. Reaperville says:

    I got all the dailys AND the weekly – frankly I’m feeling a little bit special 🙂

    2 x Gruntpoc, using the magnum for the commendation boost (although is it just me or are the Grunts on Unearthed *especially* belligerent?)

    Grifball for multiplayer – as much as I’ve come to love it, I do really need to man up and play stuff involving guns.

    For the rest, I need to boost my campaign commendations so just played through WC & ONI. Quite an easy day!

    Also – I visit here every day, and do tremendously appreciate it!

  6. ROBERT HARRISON says:

    Did the weekly challenge on LNOS with 5 skulls on (normal) and just made the 80,000 as I got the last Elite. I was wondering if I should have have started earlier than Rally Point Alpha to allow for a margin of error. But managed to barely sneak over the point total and get the challenge.

    Probably demonstrates how bad I am at this game…….

    Happy headshots to all!

  7. Eric (GunsOfSummer33) says:

    Got all the dailies and the weekly in about an hour and a half. Two games of Gruntpoc for the headshots, Grifball for the MP kills, and the beginning of ONI: Sword Base for the auto and grunt kills. Pretty easy 5,500 cR!!!

Leave a Reply

