15th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

Multiplayer challenges today, some easy, some much less so…

More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Multi Team Battle is the best way to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other mode. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, assuming no one scores the points very quickly (see last challenge).

Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 5 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR

See this previous post for more information on Plasma Grenade locations. It’s not the easiest to get 5 in a game, but a lot of maps have Plasma grenades so if you know where they are you can keep trying. I’ve always said Elite Slayer is good, but Armour Lock makes it genuinely difficult because everyone knows it’s coming. I did this in Rumble Pit in Countdown last time, by swapping between the grenades at the bottom of the stairs on either side of the map I had lots of chances to throw grenades. I think there’s also a gametype that doesn’t have Armour Lock but does give you Plasmas (one of the Rumble Pit variants I think)… anyone remember which that is?

Make a Wish… – Earn a Running Riot in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2500 cR

15 guys in a row without dying. That’s not to say 15 within a few seconds, but in the span of one ‘life’. Not the easiest, but they’ve upped the credit return which is good. Best advice? Grifball is always a good place if you can get your timing right and watch for betrayals. Juggernaut’s another good one. Infection can be good if you can get a decent team of humans together, but it’s hard to get 15 in the short space of time. In theory you can get this in any mode, it’s just harder to do it without dying in most variants. I expect everyone will have their own thoughts on this so please share in the comments.

Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Two good options for this – play Living Dead – Infection for some really fast games, or Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly. Frankly don’t chase this challenge until you have the rest since you’ll probably play five just chasing after them.

Just a quick note to say thanks for all the kind words from so many of you yesterday. You have no idea how timely they were since things are really crappy in the house of Vose at the moment, so they’re very very well received. I don’t have time to reply to them all but I do read every single comment that’s added to the blog, so you’re never ignored. Thank you.

And as ever if you have any thoughts please add them to the comments.

40 Responses to 15th April – Reach Daily Challenges Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Sticky Icky Icky – Team Slayer > any Slayer Pro game. One of the two loadouts gives you 2 plasmas, and no-one has armour lock. 5 in one game will still be difficult, and I suspect we’ll see a lot more people spamming plasma grenades today, but it’s very do-able if your aim is good. It’s just a shame that you actually have to stick them – kills from splash damage from a plasma grenade unfortunately don’t count for this challenge.

    Make A Wish – ugh. The last time this came up I managed to get it in Team Slayer on Sword Base simply by playing a little more cautiously than usual. Probably helped that the other team was rubbish as well, but hey. Not sure I’ll be able to do it again. It’s personal preference as to which game mode is best; Infection could be good (particularly on Pinnacle) but you’ve got to watch out for betrayals now that you can’t boot them; Grifball’s good unless you’re terrible at it like I am; or Invasion / Team Objective games, by staying out of the way and going entirely for kills and ignoring the objective.

    At least the other two challenges are nice and easy. And yesterday’s challenges finally bumped me to General, yay! 🙂

  2. V4lkyrie246 says:

    I agree with grifball you can get fast completes and maybe running riot and easily get 25 kills. Best bet is elite slayer for sticky challenge although I’m sure everyone will pick armor lock for this reason. Also try to get running riot in infection

  3. Jamie campbell says:

    I got the sticky icky challenge in 1 match of invasion playing as elites and using the camo 🙂

  4. Braythor says:

    Mmm not a bad day, though my only chance for running riot is grifball. Am thinking of getting the map packs today, as with the offers on Live at the moment you can effectively get both Noble and Defiant for a total of 800 points. Would’ve got them already if not for the utter contempt I hold towards the points system, I’m reluctant on principle to fork out for more points than I want to use. If they sold them in multiples of 400 I’d not have a problem, but of course this is MS we’re talking about…

    • Scruff UK says:

      2000 points IS a multiple of 400 😉 Come on, 100 points is only like 60p. And they’re not wasted – you save them up and use them for something else at a later date. If you look at simultaneous release games on XBLA, PSN and Steam, XBLA frequently works out the cheapest. So it could be worse… You could be paying more on PSN for a game that doesn’t work properly 😉

      Oh, and Jamie, good call; Invasion is a great idea for the stickies. For the first phase of the game Elites have camo and Spartans don’t have armour lock! 🙂

      • Braythor says:

        Haha yeah yeah, so is 4000, 10000 etc etc,. You know what I mean (and it’s 85p per 100 so *insert smiley thing blowing a raspberry cos I’m not tech savvy enough to know how to do it nor do I care enough to find out*). I’m just moaning cos I’m on a tight budget, I despise such business practices and I hardly ever buy anything off Live – I’ve still got 200 points left from the last time I bought something, which was well over a year ago. Wouldn’t mind Limbo as well, as it’s on half price today, but if I got that and the map packs I’d have 400 points left over to sit there for ages…well, until the first Gears 3 map pack I suppose, which ain’t too long really…Anyway, guess it’s just me being a grumpy old bugger…

      • Scruff UK says:

        Ah, you mean this! – :p

        I understand what you mean… It is a slightly sneaky business practice, without a doubt. But the way I see it, it could be a lot worse. MS Points work out cheaper in Europe than anywhere else thanks to the exchange rate, and our Live subscriptions still haven’t increased in price like the American’s have. Besides, your extra 100 points could well be spent on some of the little 80 point gems in the Indie channel! 🙂

        Limbo’s good… But it’s not THAT good. Unfortunately. I wanted it to be, but it just loses all direction about two-thirds of the way through and turns into Another Generic Platform Game 😦

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Im waiting to get Limbo on the 19th. Its going to be in a triple pack with Trials HD and Splosion Man. Im gonna get it from Gamefly. lol.

  5. Coolguy says:

    For the sticky kills, defintely invasion….OR elier slayer works too….for running riot, try action sack…hockey works great if you play careful, just watch your back, dont go for the ball, run away from danger, and beat those suckers down!

  6. SangheiliSean says:

    invasion might be good for the stick challenge, its a longer gametype so while your an elite you an get alot, especially in the first stage when the Spartans only have sprint.

  7. Ethan USA (Clone 066) says:

    Yeah slayer pro with the warden loading in rumble pit gets you 2 stickies per life and 11 people with faces that can be colored “plasma blue.”

    The 25 kills you’ll get just trying to finish the five games–unless you suck and can’t get at least 5 kills/game.

    For the running riot I’d suggest grifball with 3 friends with an extra controller/person. Then beat the he’ll out of those AFKers…

  8. Paddy162 says:

    hey, good way for the running riots is invasion spire. When your the elites you and a friend make a run for the Spartan falcon.. If one of you has the banshee simply land it , rob the falcon, let buddy spawn on you and then blow up the banshee. And of course don’t forget the rocket launcher, hop out and grab it and return to falcon.. With no air defense their easy targets and as your the elites they don’t even have plasma pistols! Doing this I got two riots In two games comsecutivly 🙂

    • Scruff UK says:

      It’s a good tactic to get the running riot, but personally I *hate* being on the receiving end of it when the Elites take out my Falcon as I’m running for it. Even though there’s nothing “cheaty” about it, it just feels a little unfair when it happens to you!

      Easily solved though, even without a rocket launcher, a Banshee or a plasma pistol. A sniper rifle will take out a Falcon full of people in 3 or 4 shots 😉

      • rippy says:

        I think you mean 7 or 8 shots. Multiple occupancy vehicles cannot be taken down with only one clip, although taking care of the gunners is easy in a Falcon.

  9. Oreo says:

    Good to hear defiant is half off. I finally bought noble on Monday, then it went on sale Tuesday, but I can’t get credit for the difference. I love the blog here in the states, and it has helped me to complete challenges faster than I would have normally.

  10. Chris Atreides says:

    Not to come off like a cheating scum-bag but could you play 2 on 2 in the arena and just kill your two buddies for the 15 kills? Or will it match you with an outside team? I’m only asking because I’m a Hero and I’ve only gotten 4 Running Riots in 6 months. I don’t even deserve the title, “Hero.” Just call me Cheating Loser…lmao!!! Thanks again Matt. Cheers!!!

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      I think this would work — you could do it in Team Doubles too.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Im not a fan of boosting or cheating, but i am a fan of getting the challenges done by any means necessary. I think i will let my son try to get the Make A Wish challenge in Infection, but if he cant i will probably get 2 friends together and go into a game of Double Team and take turns getting this challenge. I dont see doing this any different than doing the forklift glitch to get that challenge done. 😉

      • Kenji says:

        No, Teams doubles has a max party size of 2.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Dammit…Guess i wont be getting this one then. 😦

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      We are also at the Hero rank. My son has gotten 10 Running Riots since we have had this game, so getting one today will probably be slim to none.

      • Chris Atreides says:

        Thank you for making me feel justified in my ways. 😉 I will be on later with some of my buddies trying to cheat our way to 15 kills. lmao. I finished the other three this morning but the closest I got was 9 in a row. Viva Reach!!!

  11. Jetpack333 says:

    Make a wish- do some BtB, and try to snag a wraith/scorpion or banshee: easiest

    • Shane says:

      I hate that challenge. I’ve gotten it before but the aggravation of all my teammates trying to betray me for getting to the tank first is not worth it.

      • matt says:

        But don’t you understand? It’s really THEIR tank/wraith because right before the loadouts were done each of them individually called it. They didn’t hear you call it even if you did so they have every right to handicap the team by 1) starting you off with a -1 score 2) possibly only having 3 players as a result of a boot and 3) taking away an offensive weapon.
        So please… don’t give them the stuff because you don’t call it………..

        Lol
        I friggin hate that. Idiots who bark and whine when you get to a vehicle they want… either pick sprint as a loadouts or shaddup is what I say.

      • xoblivion2004 says:

        It is a game!!! If people are trying to argue over virtual property then they are sad individuals. A real player would say, “Damn, I guess I’ll grab this DMR and make it work.”

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        I have almost completely stopped playing Multiplayer Matchmaking simply for that reason. It seems like every other game there is someone who wants to betray you because you got the Sniper, Wraith, Tank, Banshee, Ghost, etc. Hell, most games i have played recently i was betrayed by someone on my team for no reason at all. My sons favorite gametype is Infection but since they took the booting system out, people know they can betray without getting kicked and they definately take advantage of it. Its bull. Now i pretty much only play Multiplayer if i have a full team of friends, that way i know i wont be betrayed for “stealing” someone elses Weapon/Vehicle.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Yeah, people like that can be annoying, and I’ve found that BTB is far worse for it than any other game type… But it happens. FF is also consistently full of people messing about, just in different ways. What’s odd is that it’s almost always the particularly high ranks and the particularly low ranks who are bad for it. You tend to remember all the bad, annoying times when it does happen, but in actual fact it happens less than you’d think 🙂

        There’s ways around it all though. If someone actually betrays you for taking the vehicle / weapon then boot them; if you don’t get the option to, then provoke them into betraying you a second time, THEN boot them 😉 And then make sure you ‘avoid player’ afterwards!

        Failing that… Add Gamertags from on here and play with them, that way you know no-one will be a jerk! 🙂

      • Chris says:

        I find myself agreeing more and more with peoples views on here , don’t know if its a good thing or bad 🙂

        The fun of multiplayer mode seem’s to have passed me by in recent weeks also, didn’t even attempt any of todays challenges 😦

        There should be a separate multiplayer mode just for the followers of “The Vose Way” ……

        take care
        cjc

      • Austin E says:

        Or my personal favorite is since i like invasion. When they kill you because you got the good camping spot too. Especially on sword base

  12. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Oh and by the way the update for Halo Waypoint is up. Just thought i would let you all know. 🙂

  13. Adam says:

    hey for the sticky icky icky you can easily get this in invasion elites start with 2 and humans cant armor lock until later so this is a quick way of getting it

  14. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Just wondering, how many daily and weekly challenges do you have? Right now i have 392 dailys completed and 13 weeklys. I didnt start playing this game until Dec. 10.

    • Chris says:

      353/13 inception date 30.11.2010 …. 🙂

      regards
      cjc

    • Shane says:

      Daily Challenges 589, Weekly Challenges 23. I think I started online a couple of weeks after release.

      • Shane says:

        Oh, and I’ve been reading this blog since near the beginning – it’s helped a lot!

  15. Erik Shititicoch says:

    That darn nabbit Running Riot takes too much time for a cowboy like myself.

  16. Coolguy says:

    This running riot is ridonkulous….it seems like everyone is going for it..and when i get close, its like they all go for YOU just so you dont get it…

  17. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Well we got all of these challenges done today! My son got the Running Riot challenge in a game of Infection on Pinnacle, He came in 1st place with 30 kills and 3 deaths. 🙂 I should have never doubted him! lol. I owe him 5 bucks now cause i bet him he couldnt do it! Me and my big mouth!

Leave a Reply

