24th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, and click Read More to view the commentaries for them.

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Cannon Fodder – Kill 100 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1250 cR
  3. Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone, on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Click Read More to view the commentaries for today…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

So you could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. Why am I going for Gruntpoc as the best option? Because it’s got easy enemies to take out and a really quick game type to play through. If you can get onto Holdout and take out the Banshees too you’ll be on your way with the third challenge, plus I think it counts as additional kills too.

Cannon Fodder – Kill 100 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1250 cR

Winter Contingency should give you over 50, assuming you clear out all areas when in the truck, and take out the Grunts when defending marines, and die having taken out all enemies in the courtyard at the start of Rally Point Bravo and do it twice. I think Tip of the Spear will give you enough infantry enemies through the whole mission, but it is a long mission that has a lot of potential for death and delay. Your other option is either the checkpoint respawn in the end of The Package, and use the Target Designator on ONI Sword Base – run straight to where it is, ignoring all enemies, grab it, turn around and blast the grunts. Then respawn to the checkpoint or restart mission to do it again.

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone, on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Iron restarts the mission if you die, so be very careful here. The main trick is that if you do quickly save and quit the mission, then restart it and the challenge will be active again from your last checkpoint. Winter Contingency is good to do because we should all be experts at it now, or Nightfall, since you can use various tricks to get through it barely firing anything. You could potentially do this with the LASO Weekly Challenge I think, although that’ll take much longer and frustrate you a lot.

As anyone who follows me on Twitter will know I’m at a wedding all day today, which I’ve been excited about for a long time, so you won’t see me online. However I’ll probably post a picture or two from it. I know you’ll all pass your best onto the happy couple, especially since they are geeks and gamers like the rest of us.

And as always, please add your thoughts, questions and ideas into the comments section.

46 Responses to 24th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Brit says:

    I got Reach about three weeks ago due to delay and I’ve been using this sight for all of my daily or weekly challenges. Thanks for being up to give good advice, you have been incredibly helpful.

  2. DaddyOi30 says:

    Hehe. Still had my last save from the Exodus weekly challenge that I finished yesterday. 30 seconds later I had another 2500 Cr. Took longer than that to load the mission

  3. Corporal Alexei says:

    Urgh, I hate the flat tire challenege every time it is posted!!! But hey, they are called challenges for a reason. 🙂

  4. Bowtie Bob says:

    I managed to get Flat Tire in one game of FF Limited on beachhead. Every wave dropped a wraith, so I just made sure I grabbed a power weapon when the dropped and went to town on them before my teammates could.

  5. Westsideoc says:

    Ur a asshole u should be my friend im a forerunner.

    • Chris says:

      Good to know , thanks for the input ……. I for one always rate the relevant value of my fellow human beings by the amount of time they spend playing computer games ffs …. good luck in your search for a friend , bless !

      (mental note add to avoid list)

      regards
      cjc

    • Tim Everitt says:

      Pissered cuz someone stole your vehicle kills? I didn’t know they were reserved for Forerunners or labeled with your gamertag. Neat0!

      And second what CJC said.

    • o.O

      let’s review, shall we?

      1. you insult…someone. i’m not exactly 100% sure whom, exactly, to be honest.

      2. you are trolling for friends for whatever reason

      3. you toss your rank out and expect us to fawn all over you

      …yeah. not a fan. also, you are totally not making any friends here or winning any one’s hearts.

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      I’m not really sure what’s worse – your grammar or your attempt at trolling.

      If you came on this site to troll, that’s really the best you could come up with?… Really?

      Come back after you experience puberty kid, hopefully you’ll have matured a bit by then.

    • Chris says:

      OK , I really want to be your friend , but the ” Westsideoc” on Bungie.net is only Mythic level after 4000+ games and having been a player since 15/09/2010 and hasn’t even managed the campaign on Legendary ….. can’t possibly be you !!!!!!!!!!!???????

      friend in waiting
      cjc

      ps was LASO on Exodus too much of a challenge for you?

  6. John says:

    I find flat tyre very difficult to get in score attack as very few vehicle kills actually seem to count, I’ve had two 2x Score on Holdout but it hasn’t counted a single banshee kill for the challenge. I managed to get a ghost on Outpost on sniper attack to count (Elite pilot) but not a ghost on beachhead as the grunt died before the Ghost. The Wraith on Beachhead did count when killed with the sniper rifle.

  7. Jaxsis says:

    I agree with John. Is there anyone out there that can tell me the rules for killing vehicles so that it will definitely count towards the flat tire challenge (or vehicle kills in general)? Most of my kills came in a 2x Score Attack in Holdout. I have used the sniper rifle, AR, DMR, and Lazer. The only one that has ever given me credit for the vehicle kill is the Lazer. The problem is that the Lazer is not always dropped. I have tried the sniper rifle multiple times. I only takes one shot in 2x score attack to kill a banshee but I never get credit for the kill.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      The last time we had the Flat Tire challenge i played Holdout a lot to see what would count for the challenge. I found out that on 2X Score Attack the Spartan Laser counts, as you already know. The Sniper Rifle from the drop pod did not count. If you pick up a Plasma Grenade Launcher that a grunt drops and use it, this counts. My favorite of all is using the Grenade Launcher loadout and equip that and a Plasma Pistol. shoot at the Banshee with the Pistol and wait til its close and shooting at you then overcharge it and bring it down. Once its down in front of you use the Grenade Launcher to blow it up and this counts. Just be careful not to have to overcharge it twice because this will blow it up and it will not count. The Fuel Rod works also. Hope this helps.

    • Pirate Drummer says:

      Laser works best, then sticky launcher, then rocket launcher (if by some miracle, the banshee doesn’t dodge it), then EMPs. I’ve never followed up an EMP with a sticky, so IDK if that would work, but you CAN EMP it over the cliffs and it will fall and die and give you credit.

    • Jaxsis says:

      I appreciate the input. Thanks.

  8. Dustin says:

    I seem to get a Wraith every other game I play on 2xScore Attack on Unearthed.

  9. Matt says:

    John, check out this link for help with flat tire and the grounded commendation. Once I read this and watched the demo it links to, I could finally finish flat tire.
    http://www.xbox360achievements.org/forum/showthread.php?t=295391

    Thanks to whoever originally posted this here.

    • John says:

      Great link, the advice seems spot on to me. I didn’t think of using the turret but I find using sticky grenades on wraiths on 2x Score Attack will count – not jumping onto the wraith and putting the grenade in (the punch to put the grenade in seems to kill the pilot and lose the vehicle kill) but just chucking the sticky grenades normally.

      As mentioned above the other choice is to go into Firefight Limited as you’re frequently get wraiths, ghosts or banshees depending on the map and you can just kill them as normal without worrying about which weapon to use. Of course you’re dependent on having team-mates that don’t get all the kills but I find I can usually get a few vehicle kills particularly wraiths on Beachhead (which people seem to ignore once they’ve used up the heavy ordinance), ghosts on outpost and banshees on holdout.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I might be missing something here but look at this guys stats from the link above on Bungie.net in Invasion. How does he average kills in the hundreds and not get banned? lol. I was just wondering how he is able to boost without getting caught. Ive never seen anyone get that many kills in 1 game, let alone game after game. Wow.

      • John says:

        Just looking quickly, it looks like they’ve made sure the guests did something rather than idle the whole time so while they’re blatantly boosting they should be able to avoid the automated ban system which looks for guests which have no kills. That’s my understanding from occasionally hanging around the bungie forums anyway, in general it doesn’t seem like quitting, idling or boosting when picked up is even that harsh anyway. I think if people were threatened with credit resets it would stop a lot of that behaviour very quickly but I guess they don’t want to risk losing people playing.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        I guess your right John, thats probably why theyre able to get away with it. Im not sure how it works but in Invasion there are 2 teams of 8 and i think the maximum party size is 8, so i dont see how they can get matched up with each other in order to do boosting sessions. Who knows. I guess its better that i not find out because if i knew i would probably be trying it out! lol.

    • attyred says:

      Thanks for this. It was very helpful.

  10. Matt says:

    Jaxsis, see the link above. The jetpack and fuel rod cannon (dropped by grunts) is probably the most reliable combo, but I’ve also used the plasma launcher or concussion rifle in a pinch.

  11. Tim Everitt says:

    If anyone is up for it, try 2x on Beachhead, grab the ghost and drive it up to the main spawn. Play through the five waves. The final wave *should drop 2 wraiths which can easily be taken out with a heavy weapon or a sticky grenade. I’ve found that if you don’t touch the ghost, only one drops. If you destroy the ghost, none drop. But drive it and keep it protected and you get two.

    I’d appreciate anyone that’s able to try and confirm. It’d be good for us FF geeks to catalog the 2x, Limited and Arcade vehicle scenarios.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Nice find. I did what you said and instead of getting my usual 1 Wraith, i got a Ghost and 1 Wraith. I have never seen them drop a Ghost on Beachhead 2X Score Attack so i think your right, the Ghost has something to do with it. 😉

      • Tim Everitt says:

        Thanks for trying it out Michael. I’ll create a public spreadsheet after I finish the weekly tonight and share the results.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Your welcome! I usually just do Holdout for the vehicle kills but after what you said i had to try it out. I wasnt expecting a Ghost to come flying out at me when it did. I was up in the room where you spawn when the Dropships came. After they left i took my Ghost out and around the right corner and headed for the Wraith. When i got there i was met by both a Wraith and Ghost. I didnt make it to the other side before the game was over so the Dropships could have very well dropped other vehicles off that i didnt know about. I will try this again later.

    • John says:

      I’ve found no consistency in the vehicle drops so I just think it’s random, there’s been times where I’ve not had a single vehicle spawn for several games in a row then other nights where I’ve had multiple vehicles spawn each time on the fifth wave. I think any pattern there appears to be is just coincidence.

      • Tim Everitt says:

        I keep thinking that as well, but I’m damn determined to find a pattern. I don’t mind Arcade or Limited, but some of the people that end up playing are increasingly a pain in the ass. I’d like to think there’s a method to the vehicle madness in Score Attack.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      It would be nice if you could find a pattern. Myself anytime a Firefight Matchmaking challenge comes up i always go with the Score Attack gametype just because its only me. I have tried FF Arcade and Limited but its hard to get a vehicle with everyone breaking their necks to get to it first, me included. lol.

  12. Brooks says:

    This is ridiculous. I did 2x Score Attack on Holdout. There was ONE banshee that waited to come til the Brutes were in full force. It then proceeded to dodge not 1, but all 4 locked-on rockets before it left to never return before the end of the match.

    Then I did regular Score Attack on Beachhead. Not one Covie got in the ghost, and not one Wraith appeared the entire match.

    Awesome fkn challenge. And worth less than doing 1 matchmaking game.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yeah for some reason i never get any Vehicles dropped when i do regular Score Attack, even on Holdout. Everyone says that when the game starts in Rocket Attack or 2X Score Attack just take out so many grunts and leave enough to where the next wave doesnt start. That way you can get a Banshee to come out and not get overwhelmed by your enemies. Just keep doing that and taking as long as you can on the enemies and you will get multiple Banshees on Holdout.

  13. Weird, I just did 2X Score Attack. I shot down 4 Banshees…. got ZERO credit for them.

    • John says:

      What did you shoot them down with? There’s only certain weapons you can use otherwise you kill the pilot first, while this does destroy the vehicle it doesn’t count. There’s a link above which tells you exactly which weapons you can use but on Holdout on 2x Score Attack I know for sure you cannot use the DMR or sniper rifle.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Spartan Laser, Plasma Grenade Launcher, FRG, Grenade Launcher and Rocket Launcher are what i know work for sure. I dont know about sticking with it with a Plasma Grenade. I would assume it would count also though. Good luck getting the challenge!

  14. Stuart says:

    This was a great help – thanks to everyone involved in this site!

    I chose the ‘Go To A Lobby For This Challenge’ from the challenge menu, and found a bunch of people trying to complete the challenge also, so we voted Beachhead as many times as possible and got our Wraiths and Dropshippy-type ones with the artillery.

  15. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  16. Frenchy58 says:

    First time for everything. 3AM, couldn’t sleep . . . fired up Reach . . . six Score Attack games . . . five vehicles . . . Flat Tire succes. Guess insomnia is the key.

  17. DaddyOi30 says:

    I tried waiting for a Sni

    • DaddyOi30 says:

      Grrr. Damned iPhone keyboard…

      I tried waiting for a Sniper Attack on Holdout to come up in score Attack this morning. Waded through choices for a full 45 minutes, quiting out of the game that was selected when I had no more choices & starting again. That selection didnt come up even once in that whole time so I just gave up on the vehicle challenge

  18. Austin E says:

    I just want to say that everyone here is AWESOME! I read this post daily even when i can’t play reach all day i still come here just to see the comments

Leave a Reply

