27th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click on Read More to view the commentaries for them:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  3. Clip It. Share It. – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 1250 cR
  4. Light Fuse, Run Away – Kill 4 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Commentaries follow after the break, click Read More to view them…

Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR

This is over any number of games, so no stress to push for it at once. 30 should only take a few games though, Grifball and Multi-Team Battle are particularly good for getting a high number of kills in any one game, especially the objective based Crazy King and Oddball variants.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

Clip It. Share It. – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 1250 cR

One of the Reach achievements is to recommend a video to someone, this challenge is pretty similar. Press Start, go to Files and Local Store. I had one in there which was the one I’d recommended, so I picked ‘upload to File Share’ from the file info section and voila. If you need to make a clip you can frankly do a whole game, but have a play with theatre mode to capture a good kill or interesting moment in a game then upload that.

Light Fuse, Run Away – Kill 4 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Every time this challenge appears I want to play through the end of Halo: CE, just for the fun of running around the Pillar’s engine room going right up to Flood types with the shotgun, then the epic Warthog drive! Any good MP type helps here. Obviously Elite Slayer is good for Plasma Grenades, and I think Slayer Pro, or maybe Team Slayer, has a loadout with Plasma grenades too. This is with any grenade too, so just jump in your favourite game type (that isn’t in Action Sack, Grifball or Infection) and start throwing grenades into firefights.

And as ever, please add your own thoughts in the comments.

27 Responses to 27th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SubjectTango says:

    Those who don’t have a HDD can’t do Clip It. Share It. challeneg, D’:

    • Scruff UK says:

      I can’t either. Apparently my name isn’t allowed on XBL, even though I’ve been a member since day 1 of the original Xbox console.

      It’s because you could interpret a swear word in my Gamertag – Scruff UK – but I don’t want to change my Gamertag just to upload some photos and clips that no-one will look at anyway. Meh.

      At least the other three are nice and easy today 🙂

      • Shane says:

        Actually, you’re doubly offensive – Scru Ffuk 🙂 – but that sucks. It’s not that many points anyway.

  2. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Hey Matthew what do you mean by do the Hyper Lethal Vector challenge on Glacier to get the below challenge first?

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Whoops! Copy and paste fail – another sure sign I shouldn’t stay up till the wee hours.

      Totally worth it though, even if I look stupid the next day XD

      Cheers for the spot.

      • Clone 066 says:

        Dude I toattalu called it we posted at same time. Now it looks like I just read what you said and made it look like I called it.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        You dont look stupid, just a normal error anyone could make. You do a GREAT job everyday on here so i respect you no matter how many errors you make! 🙂

      • t-rOY says:

        Its funny becuz nobody mentioned it for the last 2 or 3 weeks Matt has done it, lol. I didn’t want to call attention to it since he works very hard to get his posts up everyday. Thanks for putting in the hard work dude, and don’t worry about making mistakes . the 7 other posts for each week are usually error free, and offer really good tips.

    • Clone 066 says:

      I think he copied an pasted from when we ha to kill enmies on glacier. I noticed he coppies and pastes some stuff, no problem–saves time–but sometimes it just doesn’t work.

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Hey, I just like to say thumbs up for this awesome post everyday, what would we do without you!! You have helped a lot of people because you like doing that ( I think…)!

    Thanks for helping with the weekly too great advice there 🙂

    Sir Galahad 63

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Everyon say thankyou to Matthew! And Praise him! For he is our saviour!

  4. mickoboy90 says:

    go to multi team to get the kills and the grenades challenge 🙂

  5. Tim Everitt says:

    I have a HDD. But for those that don’t… Can a thumbdrive be used?

    • t-rOY says:

      I’m pretty sure it works just the same. When I use a thumbdrive it prompts me on which device to load/save from before I started playing. After you make that selection it treats the device just like an HDD.

  6. C.A. says:

    For the file share do I have to make a movie clip? I’m having a hard time with this. I went to file share, uploaded a vid a buddy sent me, sent it to my “friends” and no voilla??? Lol. What am I missing?

    • Justin says:

      You might have to go in and make a short clip from a game you have played instead of uploading someone else’s video.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I had a clip saved in my file share. i went to it and pressed X and then upload to file share. The challenge popped after it loaded. See if that works for you.

      • Chris Atreides says:

        Thank you Doctor, I’ll try making a film like Justin said. I was trying to upload a screen shot and it wouldn’t recognize it for the challenge. I’ll try y’all’s way after I get home from work. Viva Reach!!!

  7. mickoboy90 says:

    I did that challenge,gave me it but then disappeared and cant do it again..my bro tried and didnt work..wtf??i even made short clip of assassination in theather..help pls

    • ZaganZee says:

      The last time this challenge popped up I had a similar issue, the challenge randomly vanished. But I removed it from my file share and re-uploaded it and it worked, so you could try that.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        I did what u said,but yet again it disapperared..wtf bungie???any help

  8. Corporal Alexei says:

    Four grenade kills sounds simple enough, especially if using stickies and you are in CQC. But isn’t it always the simple ones that give you the most grief?

  9. Scruff UK says:

    Hmm. RDC group meetup tomorrow evening, peeps?

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      If everything goes good i will play with you Scruff. Right now we are having some family problems but i should be on, if im on and you send a message and i dont respond then its probably my son playing. Hey Scruff do you have the GOW 3 Beta? Or do you like GOW?

      • Scruff UK says:

        I don’t have the Beta… I played the first GoW loads, finished it on Insane (solo) and everything, then I played it online and instantly hated it with a passion. Never bothered with the second one after that.

        Right now I’m just waiting for Portal 2 and the new Mortal Kombat to drop in price, then I’ll be getting them. Barely played anything other than Reach since September :/

  10. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Simple challenges again today. One game of Score attack and a couple games of matchmaking should get you the three, and then mess around with your file share for the fourth.

    I personally did a game of 2X Score attack for the headshots, and then hit some Invasion where I was able to get 18 kills and all 4 of my grenade kills. Then I hit up a quick match of Grifball for the remaining 12 kills.

    Goodluck all!

  11. budmaz says:

    You have to be the “author” of the video you upload to fileshare to get the challenge. Hope that helps, it drove me nuts!!!

Leave a Reply

