28th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 50 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1000 cR
  3. Heroic Spelunking – Kill 150 enemies on Glacier on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  4. Killagruntjaro! – Earn 7 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Commentary follows below if you click Read More

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend 3 Score Attack and one Gruntpocalypse, since you don’t always get the full amount in each game (usually Grunts and Brutes kill each other by accident with grenades), and Score Attack gives you a good way to up various commendations with the variety of weapons and enemy kills. If you can clear out the third challenge first as part of this one.

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 50 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1000 cR

Try and get a Gruntpocalypse games in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible then back in the menu to get it done. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out. I personally think Holdout’s an evil little map, although that’s when it introduces the tougher enemies in Score Attack. But of course what you really want to do it in is Glacier…

Heroic Spelunking – Kill 150 enemies on Glacier on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Glacier’s a pretty easy map until the Skirmishers turn up if they’re in your game. To try and guarantee this do it in Score Attack and pick some variant, whatever you’re best at really, although Gruntpoc is always easiest if you can. 150 implies two games of anything, or as ever try for 1 Gruntpoc/Score Attack and then Crashsite or Gen Defense to get to the total quickly.

Killagruntjaro! – Earn 7 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

In Gruntpocalypse (or indeed 2x Score Attack or whatever’s your preference) this is so easy. The enemies come out of the doors/dropships/appear in groups of 5 or so, and you can easily shoot 3 or 4 of them straight away. Multikills do stack so an Overkill counts as 3 – double, triple and 4 kills. Therefore just play the game and take them out when you see them together. I always like camping the back of Holdout where the Covvies appear and spamming them with grenades XD

Long weekend in England for the Royal Wedding and the May Bank Holiday, but I’ll be keeping up with the commentaries as ever.

42 Responses to 28th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. it’s definitely a bottomless cup of coffee day for me. i looked and couldn’t figure out why everything was FF today. then i remembered i spent my tuesday/wednesday traveling and sleeping. nice.

    or maybe i’ll go to the cafe and have 2 italian cafes. between the caffeine and sugar, i should be good for a week.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Given the minimal sleep I’ve gotten this week (all self inflicted and totally worth it) I’m much the same – my three heaps of coffee this morning definitely helped, and now working on an Easter egg to keep me going.

      Good job they’re easy so you actually have time for your packing and chores – less Halo more real life sometimes huh??

    • BUFF Magruff says:

      Blasphemy, heretic I say! Lol

  2. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Wow, had some really bad weather last night. Tornados everywhere. Im just glad we still have power. Todays challenges arent too bad at all, just a little time consuming. Thanks for keeping the blog up with everything going on your way Matthew, i wouldnt know what to do if i couldnt come here every morning. lol. Good luck on the challenges everyone!

    • hopefully Matthew doesn’t OD on royal wedding madness! :mrgreen:

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Don’t, the ceremony starts at 11am (when challenges come out), so I hope the couple don’t mind me sat in Westminster Abbey updating the blog whilst they do their vows. Still, I’ve got a good seat so should be able to keep an eye on them.

      • Shane says:

        That’d be excellent. I bet Prince Harry would probably be checking this website during the ceremony.

      • Prince Harry is the fun one anyways….and he’s still available! :mrgreen:

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Yeah, he and I are going to sneak off with the bodyguards for a gaming session during the first dance.

        Not during the cocktails though, I’m looking forward to seeing Richard Cheese playing.

      • put in a good word for me, yes? 😀

    • SwiftEagleEye says:

      Yeah I’m in east texas an we got hit hard tooon Monday, but not nearly as rough as alabama last night…we were actually lucky

      • REvOfEv EcHELoN says:

        Yea man I got family in Alabama they told me it was really bad down there tornadoes just tearing everything apart, everyone is alright though. Im over here in WA state worst we got is torrential rains and Japanese fallout lol…..anyways the challenges are light today no need for further dissection however I will be down for some BTB if you guys are doing that tonight. PS lol at Snickerdoodles bird situation i can see that ruining my day before i get my first cup of coffee 🙂

  3. mickoboy90 says:

    I just finished all challenges..easy to get..i just play ff arcade with my friend so more fun involved.

  4. good news: i’m awake now!

    bad news: it’s because a bird just flew into my house! WTF!

  5. Clone 066 says:

    I’m an amercian teenager, f*** the royal wedding. I can handle matchmaking Friday. I’ll do it 6:30 EST. 10:30 your time.

    —That is, if you wNt me to.

    • Clone 066 says:

      I’ll would do it from my pc to avoid ^. Although Scruff has been wanting to see “kiss 21 enemies in a matchmaking game.”

    • Chris says:

      I’m nether an American or indeed a teenager but I share your sentiment regarding the wedding 🙂

      cjc

  6. Mcneleon says:

    Im a bit confused why England has a Monarchy still, but I’m glad the celebrations give folks a bit of time off, that would be nice once in a while in the States.

    Enjoy the festivities!

    • Chris says:

      Yes confuses me why there’s a monarchy , I’ve never voted for them !!!!!!!

      You mean time off in addition too :-

      Memorial Day , Independence Day (Will Smith Day), Labor Day , Columbus Day , Veteran’s Day , Thanksgiving Day , New Year’s Day , Christmas Day , Washington’s Birthday , Martin L King’s Birthday ,

      did I miss any ?

      Get a job in the US Embassy you get UK and US bank holidays …. which is nice

      cjc

      ps I can spell Labour correctly its in honour of our American friends who can’t 🙂

      • well silly, you don’t vote for a monarchy! 😉

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Don’t forget, we get:

        NY’s day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, May BH, Spring BH, Summer BH, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

        This year the wedding, next the Diamon Jubilee. AND the UK holiday allowances are significantly better than the standard American ones.

        And no, you don’t vote for the monarchy, you get it by living in a country with an incredibly rich past that it uses to promote itself throughout the world. It’s a very good idea to have some power separate from the party system in a democracy, and a Presidency doesn’t solve that problem all the way.

        Personally (as you can probably tell) I like the monarchy, what it brings to the country and what it represents. Don’t think I’m having a go, I’m happy to accept everyone has their own opinion, which is why I’m confident I can state mine without being harangued.

      • Chris says:

        sarcasm noun 1 an often ironical expression of scorn or contempt.
        News just in you don’t vote for a monarch and bears do indeed sh*t in the woods.

        Funny sarcasm never comes through on that there internet . So Mr Vose you really are a monarchist I kind of assumed you were taking the pi*s , which also didn’t come across in text form.You have of course the right to like/believe in anything you wish too , wars have and are being fought to maintain that right for you.
        Today the Sovereign has an essentially ceremonial role , the power separate from party politics you speak of is probably Rupert Murdock …….

        Enjoy your day tomorrow , I’ll be out on a Republican Ride so regretfully will miss the entire event .. I will be available to watch the divorce and subsequent “accident” if she takes up with a Muslim man though.

        regards
        cjc

      • Truth says:

        Trust me i’d rather live in a Monarchy any day rather than a country dominated by false antics and the hate and insanity that is spread every single day by the Tea Party and other Republicans. So please get of Mathews back and enjoy your Republican ride where im sure you sacrifice goat or small children or whatever it is that the Tea Party does lol

      • annnnnnnnnnnd off we go.

        guys, let’s keep things civil please and not fling “my side/their side/them/those people” kind of things around.

  7. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    So I woke up this morning knowing it was FF Thursday and expecting the same old routine: Easy challenges with poor credit returns, and I was right.

    That was until I finished my third game of score attack, and managed to hit the jackpot on the slot machine, which was a nice 8047 bonus cR. It was a nice little surprise on FF Thursday 🙂

    Anyway, as I mentioned before, challenges are cake today. If you’re more of a score attack guy like I am, you can knock all these out easily in 4 games.

    As always, goodluck all!

    • Scruff UK says:

      8047 in the slot machine? Woah. The most I’ve ever got is 3000 😦

      • Clone 066 says:

        I think that was 3000 plus others. Making 8047 total. I dont’t think the slot machine goes higher than 3000.

      • Shane says:

        I’m pretty sure I got a mega-pot once in the 7000 or 8000 range.

      • REvOfEv EcHELoN says:

        I second that the highest I ever got purely off the slot machine was 8000 but I tend to get 3000 more often.

      • EyeOhYou (Andrew)(mobile) says:

        No it was definitely 8047. I recieved a total of over 10k credits for that game. The mega pot is always right around 8000 as I’ve now hit it twice.

    • Shane says:

      The cake is a lie.

  8. Scruff UK says:

    Attention: People

    In honour of getting a free day off tomorrow for two people I’ve never met getting married, is anyone up for a RDC group meetup this evening? I’m thinking some Team Slayer/Objective, Invasion/DLC or BTB depending on numbers, from 10pm UK time. Which would be 2pm in LA, I think, so you American types can work it out from there.

    Friend me if you haven’t already (Scruff UK), join party, and we’ll see how many show up 🙂

    If you’re late and we’re already playing then please queue to join the party… The more the merrier 😀

    • Chris says:

      “a free day off” ?????????????

      You or any of your nearest and dearest have never paid any taxes !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Please supply me with the name of your accountant .:)

      regards
      cjc

    • Braythor says:

      I’m up for it, keep missing these little get-togethers. I might be a tad drunk by then though so if end up shouting you f****** c*** that was a f******* kill or such at anyone I assure you it’s all meant in the nicest possible way 🙂

  9. REvOfEv EcHELoN says:

    Im up for some BTB add REvOfEv EcHELoN to the list! Im on West Coast time so 2pm it is lol

  10. harrumph. you guys would pick yet another weekend i can’t join in for.

    lame.

    • Scruff UK says:

      Sorry 😦 Hopefully we can have one soon that’s arranged in advance rather than someone deciding on the day that it would be a good idea 😉

      Half an hour before I get online and so far only two people appear to be playing as well.. Come on people, get involved! 😉

Leave a Reply

