29th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR
  2. Close Talking – Earn 30 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR
  3. Go Right Ahead Folks – Earn a First Strike in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

Commentary can be found by clicking Read More

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly, especially once you’ve mopped up the other challenges…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Close Talking – Earn 30 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Close quarters combat (aka CQC) kills include: melees, beat downs, assassinations, sword kills, shotguns, and hammers. I read this and automatically think either Grifball or Infection games. HaloBall Xtreme also is a good option for this since they’re all hammer kills. I’m likely to accomplish this in either Grifball or HBX so that’s where I’ll be.

Go Right Ahead Folks – Earn a First Strike in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Team SWAT, Grifball or Infection are good game types to get this in. Infection & Grifball particularly because you get a First Strike in every round, so it’s giving you a good chance to pick up the medal. In Team SWAT, Asylum, Countdown or Sword Base are good for picking it up. On Asylum, zoom your DMR through the central arena and watch for the opposite team coming down their ramp. Countdown you can look through the central area and see the opposite team there, and on Sword Base go to the top of the green lift if you’re red, as blues usually come up the lift first. If you’re blue then go to the ramp up from your starting point as you can often snipe someone who doesn’t expect it.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

Sorry for the massive delay folks. Turns out I had to turn my phone off in the Abbey, but Harry’s found me a spare room in the palace to do the blog, so now it’s back to the party. I wished Kate and William all the best though, and I’ll have a dance with her later too.

As ever, if you have any tips or thoughts please add them in the comments.

32 Responses to 29th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    See you in Action Sack! Git ‘er done!

  2. Matt says:

    I’m going to pick up the last 3 challenges over 3 games of Grifball and then pop into Gruntpoc or Winter Contingency to finish the first challenge. A light day, but 4825 credits plus slightly less than that amount in the usual completion bonuses and commendations for about an hour isn’t too bad.

    • Matt says:

      Oh, win three games….I guess I was a bit optimistic. Can I count a K/D per match > 0 as a win? 🙂

  3. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    I was starting to get worried about you Matthew. lol. All of these challenges are pretty self explanatory today. Hey Matthew, do you really know the royalty personally?

  4. Scruff UK says:

    We need a properly organised RDC group meetup. BTB is incredibly annoying with randoms, as Higglestein and a few others will testify! 😦 Still, the Team Slayer / SWAT / Multi-Team games were all super 🙂

    Easy challenges today, Grifball or Haloball will get most of them if you’re in a hurry, or they’ll just come naturally from playing other game types.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yes it is annoying. That last game we were in was one of the worst i have seen. We tried. lol! 🙂

    • Chris says:

      First time I’ve played some of those game types , usually a team of one ,so was a nice change. But why is there so much variation between game speed , I keep trying different combinations of port opening/DMZ’ing/triggers/static IP/firmware update’s etc yet one game can be spot on hits the next is in slow motion , even during the course of a game there seems to be fast periods when your getting spree’s and then periods when you can’t even move the cursor as fast as the opposition can move , does the game play this way for everyone ?

      Do all XBL games play this way ?

      I know you can camp and wait for an enemy to run into your sights but its not really what shoot um up’s are about , running round blastin away merrily is more the style 🙂 .Apologise to any of the betrayals last night – purely accidental .
      When you play as a private party are things more even between players ?

      Just the ramblings of a bored mind ……………
      cjc

      • Shane says:

        Um, I get some lag sometimes but no noticeable gameplay speed changes unless it’s built into the gametype (e.g. Action Sack sets the player speed to be faster). I have a decent enough network connection and it’s usually not a problem but maybe the fact that the party was geographically diverse make a difference?

        “More even” depends on the players. I play with a group of people who more often than not will wipe the floor with my flattened carcass.

      • Scruff UK says:

        The only time I ever get actual lag is in multiplayer FF, never in MM. I can only assume that, as Shane says, the geographically diverse party is to blame. That said, you’re in the UK as well, right? I don’t know why it would’ve affected you so badly given that me (party leader) and Braythor are also UK-based.

        What’s your broadband speed? And were you downloading stuff on your PC at the same time?

  5. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    So I must be doing something right lately. After hitting the mega pot whole going after my FF challenges yesterday, I go and hit the 3000 cR jackpot right off the bat today. Keep it coming Bungie! 😛

    Anyway, as some have already said, head to Grifball for these. You should be able to knock out the 30 kills in a game or two, then you can move on to whatever game type is your favorite to knock out the win challenge. The first strike challenge is also very easy to get in Grifball.

    Hop into your favorite score attack variant to get the rest of the kills needed for the final challenge. 🙂

    Goodluck all!

  6. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    For the Close Quarters Combat challenge, a while back we had this one and in Infection every time i got a kill as the zombie with the sword it gave me 2 for the challenge. Im not sure if this still works but i will try and let you know.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Yes… Getting 1 kill in Infection with the sword counts as 2 for the CQC challenge.

  7. Niisama Broham says:

    Quick question for anyone willing to indulge – FF matchmaking – Is it bad etiquette to look out for and save/assist your team members?

    I ask because I normally play FF locally with friends on split screen. We look out for each other and regularly kill targets engaging and being engaged.

    So, I tend to do this online during FF matchmaking Arcade and Limited games and I’m finding I get shot at or followed and punched after getting an assist or kill. Ive never been killed (don’t know it there is something to prevent “friendly fire”)… yet.

    Anyway, what gives? Anyone?

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Myself i think that most, not all, people that play this game are a**holes. I think what you are doing is “stealing THEIR kills”. I almost never play MM unless i have someone to play with since atleast every other game i play of FF Arcade or MM has someone complaining or betraying over something. Honestly its got me to where i usually just play Campaign or Score Attack.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Heh, figured as much.

        I guess the next time I see someone has 4 grunts, 2 jackels and a hunter gunning for them while they are desperately Armour Locking to delay the inevitable, I’m going to keep sprinting by lol

        Too bad though. Takes some of the fun out of the game.

        I don’t usually play online. Just happened to catch a deal for a few months of Live at a decent price.

        I wish Bungie would allow us to gain FF commendations offline. Score attack is fun. I wish the offline variants of FF were worth more.

        Thanks for your time michael

      • Chris says:

        Sadly that seems to be very true

    • Shane says:

      Unless I’m playing with a bunch of muppets, I’ll try to save team members. It’s meant to be a cooperative game and it’d be great if everyone got perfect rounds. Usually the only time anyone “saves” me is when there’s a challenge and they need the kills :-/ so it feels good when you’ve about the get slammed by the covenant when they suddenly get dropped by a teammate’s rocket. Instant “Preferred Player”!

      Ranty rant rant: Speaking of a-holes, I ended up in a three person game on Courtyard last night (1 person quit immediately). One of the other two guys flew into the AFK hollow so I waited a wave and then pushed him into the killzone. I get a message “why you kill me u “. I replied “Why weren’t you playing?” and reported him for good measure but seriously? Why did I kill him for making the other two players’ game a lot less enjoyable? Gah!

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Yeah, I see that a lot too. People quitting games like crazy. Sometimes I think it’s my connection though. I always get the “NAT” notifications but am too lazy to make the changes lol. I think the problem may more be the FF matchmaking and how the connection is handled by Bungie (what I’ve heard anyway). I never had many disconnection issues in competitive MM.

        And whats with the AFK players in FF? Whats the point? I’ve seen videos of it but never knew why.

      • Scruff UK says:

        People go AFK in FF because it’s easy credits. 3000+ credits, plus 1-3 on the Perfection commendation, for doing absolutely nothing past setting up the initial AFK spot. That said, I never do it, and it really annoys me when other people do.

        As far as etiquette goes, I had no idea there was this whole thing about letting people have their kills. It doesn’t matter – losing out on one kill is preferable to dying and losing your kill streak / perfections. I always wade in to other people’s fights, and I don’t object when they do it to me.

        I’m really glad they turned off betrayals in FF. I was playing Fiestafight on Glacier earlier, and since I had a sniper I jet-packed up to the safe zone on top of the crane. I wasn’t AFK, I got loads of kills; but one of the other guys on my team spent the whole game firing at me with a FRG and shoving me off the safe zone. There’s a distinct difference between being AFK and hopping onto a particularly safe part of the map to snipe from! Oh, and there was also a recent game on Beachhead where I drove around murdering things in a Ghost before my team-mate destroyed it, while I was driving. Super.

        Things like this is why people from here should all play together instead…

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Ah, I see. Didn’t know it was that lucrative to do nothing. Also forgot about the perfection commendation. Makes sense now.

        I wasn’t aware there were vehicle betrayals still. I recall driving the Rocket Hog on Beachhead once. 1 guy on the turret and the other riding shotgun. We were doing pretty well until suddenly *boom!* all dead. I assumed it was some fuel rod grunts that dropped 10 seconds earlier but never really knew how they hit us from so far off… the 4th guy was close by though… bastard. Probably felt left out.

      • Shane says:

        I completely agree, Scruff. I’ve got my vehicular commendation to onyx so I avoid that headache but I see some players doing it to others all the time. Instant “avoid” .

    • John says:

      No, I actually prefer people play it that way – ok I lose a few kills but I find over the three rounds I’m probably going to get a few kills back from my team-mates when I save them. I find games where people cover each other to work far better than those where people try to go it on their own, get swamped, that mob then goes onto the next player and so forth.

      I’ve never had someone indicate they’re annoyed they only got an assist but if they did I’d just submit a player review to avoid them as aside from being overly petty I’m probably going to get a fair few assists as well.

  8. Ted says:

    Hi Nisama and Michael, I’m new to this site, and I’ve been playing Halo only since January. First off I’d like to thank Matt for the site and say that he and the rest of y’all do a great job providing a lot of helpful info.

    As for the questions about FF Arcade, I play it a fair amount and really like it, and i agree it’s more fun with a friend so you can tag team enemies and watch out for each other in multi-enemy engagements. I have been paired online with the occasional a-hole player who will shoot at me etc., but it seems Bungie has disabled friendly fire / betrayal there, so my Spartan takes no damage.

    As far as FF “etiquette”, I’d say only that generally it seems courteous to let a FF teammate who’s engaged with a particular enemy have his or her shot at the kill, unless of course they are surrounded and about to get smoked.

    Personally I like to go head-to-head in a melee battle with an elite or two and take ‘em out, and maybe land a sweet assassination move, without my teammates showering me with rockets or fuel rod plasma, but it’s no big deal really. Of course, if I found myself surrounded by a new spawn of 4-8 a$$-handing elites while some jackal snipers are stripping my shields from afar, I’d welcome as much assistance as my teammates could give!

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Hey Ted.

      Yeah, maybe I cause some of the animosity.

      First time it happened, I thought I was helping someone fighting 1 hunter with the other approaching. He had 3 grunts around him too. And it looked like his shields were sparking… so I sniped the hunter in the back and it goes down in 2 shots… next thing I know he’s running toward me shooting.

      Second time happened last night. Two players quit, the other guy was using a pistol against 2 brutes. One had a hammer the other a plasma turret… so I took out the turret brute. After the guy finished with hammer brute, he came over and start punching.

  9. Wunschkind89 says:

    I miss the DC’s with a 4-5000cR payout. 😦

    Team Snipers is another good one for the “First Strike” challenge.

  10. Matt says:

    I generally don’t “look out” for people in Firefight unless, say, an Elite General is behind them with a sword. I tend to assume people can handle any enemies right in front of them and I get annoyed when I’m working on a lone Brute Chieftain with melee and a pistol and somebody grabs the headshot from across the map. OTOH, I think all bets are off if someone’s standing in the middle of an 8-grunt drop during the Bonus Round.

    People find clever ways to betray one another even where friendly fire is turned off. I’ve been run over a few times or deliberately splattered when someone shoots a nearby crate with a rocket. The trick to getting them back is to time it right: see if you can use a heavy weapon to push their vehicle into a kill zone or blow up their Rocket Hog during the turret cooldown when they’re working on some Elite Heretics.

    • John says:

      I always look out for teammates and hope they’re looking out for me, it’s easy to cover people at range and it can be frustrating when I’m getting mobbed, the clip has just run dry and there’s no-one paying any attention. Most of the time I can handle myself but not always especially when you get a drop pod just coming in as you’re engaging a wave.. I find games where people cover each other are the ones you can breeze through whereas those who fight out on their own and ignore everyone else don’t fare so well.

      I agree with you on betrayals, I was playing Unearthed with my brother and two randoms who were driving the warthog like idiots…an accidental splatter I can forgive but they killed me, my brother then me again so the next time they came towards me their warthog met its demise on the end of my gravhammer which I still rate as one of the most satisfying weapons there is in an FPS game. At least it’s fairly easy to get rid off the vehicles if people are being a pain in the neck with them.

  11. CaptainRon19 says:

    I was able to do these in roughly an hour to and hour & a half. I probably could’ve done them quicker if I didn’t do Grifball the whole time. I should have switched over to FF after I got everything except for Shootin’ & Lootin’.

  12. Chris says:

    Its most noticeable in SWAT games were you get a flow and feel like the shots are going exactly were your aiming , not so much the kind of lag were players jump from one position to another or your killed even though you jumped behind a wall etc.It doesn’t seem to be based on skill level as even the higher ranks scoring seems to swing wildly from 20+ to lucky to get double figures .

    When you play in a game with known player 1. Do you think if you all change geographic position and used one another hardware they would still beat you ? 2. If your the party leader or your machine is first in the list they still beat you comprehensively ?

    Thanks for the input Shane , sorry for the questions – but this really bugs me and I’m running out of ideas to solve it .I thought with the hardware all being same the game would be a lot more consistent.Why there isn’t an option to just MM with same country or even continent I don’t know.

    cjc

    • Shane says:

      I notice the same and particularly in SWAT and Grifball. Some players are just really quick but others clearly have a better ping. In Grifball, you can spot these guys easily as they nearly always win the melees (it’s great when you’re that guy :-)).

      Another point of latency/lag is your monitor/TV. The old CRT monitors were great for low latency. The newer LCD and plasma displays have higher latency. Ideally you want <16ms of display latency.

Leave a Reply

