1st May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to read the commentaries for them.

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR
  2. Headshot Honcho – Kill 9 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer matchmaking game – 1080 cR
  3. L.D. Exodus – Complete Exodus, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 5 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

Commentary can be found by clicking Read More…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly if you don’t get it in the other challenges…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Headshot Honcho – Kill 9 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer matchmaking game – 1080 cR

Team SWAT everytime for this. It’s in one game, but in SWAT you should easily get this number of headshots, if not double!

L.D. Exodus – Complete Exodus, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

Well, that’s gotta annoy you if you’ve tried to start the next LASO challenge to get a headstart on tomorrow’s new weekly (I’m going to look daft if it’s not aren’t I!). But this shouldn’t be too bad for us, especially if you’ve done the LASO on Exodus previously. I’m not going to post it all here, but your two things to do are to follow Tyrant’s guide to playing it in Mythic, and read through the commentary and particularly comments for the weekly challenge to get further tips.

Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 5 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

EOD weapons include: Rocket Launcher, Grenade Launcher, Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher, and the Concussion Rifle. (At least, I am pretty sure that’s all of them. Did I leave anything out?) So obviously, go for maps/game types that have these weapons around. Reflection with the RL, Countdown with the CR, and possibly even Cage/Uncaged which has both the GL and either the RL or PL. Just remember that there will likely be a mad dash and several scuffles over the power weapon.

If you have any thoughts or tips please add them into the comments.

34 Responses to 1st May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    1st 🙂

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    2nd 🙂

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    3rd 🙂

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    4th 🙂

  5. ireggae says:

    I would play the mission with iron on in co-op.

    • Scruff UK says:

      You can’t. It has to be done without dying. Dying and going back to a checkpoint still counts as dying. So unless you mean leaving your main controller behind, and rampaging through with your second controller (who is free to die) then it has to be done in one go, without dying.

      Which is one of many reasons why I’m not even going to bother with that particular challenge 😉

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        If you want the challenge and have an hour or so Scruff i will go through it with you and do all the killing, or atleast try to. I got the challenge this morning and did it with the guest controller like i stated below. I dont mind at all helping as long as you have the time. It took me a while!

      • Scruff UK says:

        Aw, thanks! 🙂 Turned out I never had the time to do it (or get on the Xbox at all for that matter) but the offer is much appreciated 🙂

  6. mickoboy90 says:

    For the EOD weapons i would play invasion..u get a grenade launcher on one class so u can use that..good luck

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      Good call on the Invasion game type for the EOD challlenge. I actually got tossed into an Elite Skirmish game myself. Since I was one of the only people actually trying to capture the objectives, I was able to pick up the Grenade Launcher that dropped in the objective zones after capturing them twice. I was able to get four kills with the grenade launcher alone. Then, by the time that was over, the loadout with the concussion rifle became available. I quickly chose that and knocked out my final EOD kill. Simple.

      As for the others, headshots is SWAT all the way. It shouldnt be at all difficult to get 9 headshots, as I got 21 my first game of SWAT.

      Goodluck all!

  7. hoellenhamster says:

    I think the Fuel Rod Gun is also EOD… Wouldn’t know where to find one in MM though. Team Snipers should also work fine for the headshots if you don’t like SWAT.

    • Lehite says:

      There’s one in the spire map.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I think you’re right, but the FRG is fairly overpowered for MM, at least the Rocket Launcher is only 2 shots to a clip.

      • hoellenhamster says:

        I actually don’t like either (RL or FRG). I mean I realize it adds some tactics to the gameplay because you can try to hold on to the spawnpoints of the power weapons if you play in team, but RL is just so ridiculous… And then people bitch about armour lock.

  8. Soccert2 says:

    For the L.D. Exodus challenge, it’s ok to die as many times as needed, until the final activation of the missile pods. Youll get a checkpoint after activating the two pods. Save & exit. After you save and exit, just choose ‘Resume solo campaign’ and activate the last switch without dying.

    • N.V. says:

      Can anyone please confirm this?
      I’d very much like this to be true. =D I’ll try it nows. =)

      • Chris says:

        So little faith in the world these days ……….:)

        ps its true

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        The best way to do the Exodus challenge is to do what i did so i do confirm this WILL work. Play the game in Co-op split screen and let the guest controller go out and kill everything, then move your primary controller up. Keep doing this and you will get through it. just make sure you hide the primary controlled person. If the guest controller dies its ok since mine died about 30 times. lol. If for some reason your primary controller dies you will have to start over so be careful! Good luck! 😉

  9. moneymaker35 says:

    okay,so what is eod weapons anyways im a beginner i gues you could say.lol

    • Chris says:

      as in the commentary

      “EOD ( Explosive Ordnance Distribution ) weapons include: Rocket Launcher, Grenade Launcher, Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher, and the Concussion Rifle. (At least, I am pretty sure that’s all of them. Did I leave anything out?)”

      or as I like to call them the I can’t score kill’s with a precision weapon weapons , not for the purist ….:)

      cjc

  10. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    If you’re following Tyrant’s guide for the LD Exodus challenge you don’t have to be as careful with your ammo as Tyrant directs. Since the Famine skull isn’t on, there’s ammo aplenty! Git ‘er done!

  11. biodrumr says:

    Anyone think a Rocket Hog Race would work for ordinance weapons? I’m gonna give it a shot and I’ll keep you all posted.

  12. Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

    biodrumr- I did a Rocket Hog Race game to get my achievement for earning a kill in a Rocket Race game, and it took me 2 games before I could get a kill. When you are in the Warthog, you and the ‘Hog are invincible, only when you set foot on the ground are you vulnerable to damage. I would say that Rocket Hog Race isn’t the way to go, but maybe you will have more luck than I did.

    • biodrumr says:

      Hog Race works, but you have to be in the passenger seat. It’s incredibly chaotic though.

    • Scruff UK says:

      Agreed. Getting into a game of Rocket Race is difficult enough, let alone getting 5 kills in one.

      Just get into a normal Slayer game (team would be best, just because it’s easier to not die) on Pinnacle and grab the rocket launcher. You’ve got four rockets, should be easy to get the five kills from those four alone. If not, the rocket launcher will respawn soon after. You won’t be popular for spamming the rockets but hey, it’s all in the name of daily challenges! 😉

  13. FearlessNOODLE says:

    For EOD I like big team battle on spire. There are two rocket launchers and usually you can get 2-3 in the enemy falcon and if they have an enemy banshee that’s one more. Then look for the other poor sap walking around or In a ghost.

  14. FearlessNOODLE says:

    And last time I thought I would be slick and do the rocket hog race for eod. I got 8 kills with the turret, needed 7 and they didn’t count. 😦 so if you want to do the hog race you need to wait till a hog flips, jump out of the turret and then use a regular rocket launcher. That being said, its not easy

  15. Subject 6x says:

    I as always will do the mm challenges in invasion and I have done the save restart on ld challenges b4 so I know it works, if anyone is interested in laso 2moro let me know subject 6x I will be on around 4 eastern USA

  16. Matthew Edwards (Amduscias) says:

    This may sound silly, but what does L.D. Stand for?

  17. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  18. Rhys says:

    I got 5 RL kills on Rocket race but I didn’t get the challenge complete? Any1 had this problem? No they weren’t the rear weapon kills! Pls help!!!

Leave a Reply

