3rd May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  2. Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR
  3. Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR
  4. The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1350 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). So jump into some sort of Score Attack variant to get this really quickly, especially one with lots of grenade opportunities for the next challenge.

Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR

Several strategies for you here – Gruntpocalypse on Corvette and throw grenades at the Grunt spawn rooms (particularly those to the left and right of the ramps opposite your spawn room), then when you get grenades from the Grunts you kill use grenades when they come into the pinch point corridors. Or play Firefight on Courtyard, run to the left out of the spawn room and from the terrace you can usually get up to 5 or 6 dudes with grenades when they’re dropped off. Or play Nadefight where you get lots of grenades when you spawn. Or play 2X Score Attack and use grenades to bomb the spawn/dropship points when a load of guys are dropped off. Hopefully you can pick up this one in the same game you get the first challenge.

Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Iron restarts the mission if you die, so be very careful here. The main trick is that if you do quickly save and quit the mission, then restart it and the challenge will be active again from your last checkpoint. Winter Contingency is good to do because we should all be experts at it now, or Nightfall, since you can use various tricks to get through it barely firing anything. You could potentially do this with the LASO Weekly Challenge I think, although that’ll take much longer and frustrate you a lot.

The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1350 cR

Only seen this once before, 26th February, but it’s very similar to previous ones. This is just complete so you can play normally, esp for the challenge above. If you want quick game types, Infection and Grifball can be very very quick, so run through them a couple of times and you’re good.

35 Responses to 3rd May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Kenji says:

    i have bad news for everyone.. i did this on nightfall and did the forklift glitch and the enemies no longer despawn behind the gate. luckily i was still able to run though it without dying to finish the level for the daily challenge.

    • Kenji says:

      i was referring to the -Iron Will- challenge btw.

      • Scruff UK says:

        I believe that the ‘enemies spawn beyond the gate’ situation depends on how long it takes you to glitch through the gate. They appear after a certain line of dialogue happens, I think.

        Although if they don’t spawn, instead of charging blindly to the end of the level, look left over the edge of the cliff. There should be a Covenant dropship pointlessly hovering there with a lone Grunt on the turret. Amused me 🙂

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        A while back i was working on my Demon and Flawless Cowboy commendations on Nightfall and saved the checkpoint where your at the forklift. I tested the theory about the enemies spawning behind the gate out and i noticed that once i was through the gate i went up a little bit and then i went back to the gate and when i turned around the enemies were there. Just once your through the gate keep running and dont turn around if anyone does this level and glitch today.

      • Shane says:

        Thanks Michael. I always almost head back when the comm chatter mentions an inbound dropship just as you’re about to finish the level after using the glitch. Glad I haven’t done so now!

  2. Chris says:

    Still worked for me, through the gate on third attempt , no spawn and 2500cr in the old onion bag 🙂

    Unfortunately the civilians didn’t fair quite as well as I did … makes me feel bad every time 😦

    cjc

    • Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

      Yep, worked for me too. I actually glitched thru just as the forklift exploded from being under fire!

    • Shane says:

      What do you mean, feel bad? There was nothing we could do! 😀

  3. Scruff UK says:

    Good mix today! Unfortunately I don’t think 7 games tonight on top of some FF is plausible, since today’s my first day back at work after the Easter break! I know I could get them done quickly in Grifball or Infection, but I’m not much of a fan of either mode, and if I’m going to spend my only free hour online playing MM then I’d rather it was in game modes I’m a fan of.

    I’m a bit gutted that the Campaign challenge has to be done alone. Means I either have to sacrifice my perfectly placed checkpoint, or spend around an hour repeatedly reloading said checkpoint in a bid to hit Onyx Max on the two commendations I’m working on. Booo.

    Ah well, one game of 2x Score Attack will at least get me the other two challenges. I can still pick up grenades in Score Attack, huzzah! 😉

    • Shane says:

      If I were the type of person to max out my, say Demon and Flawless Cowboy commendations , I’d do it while watching some TV on my other monitor.

      Stephen Colbert helps win Halo. Just sayin’.

  4. Scruff UK says:

    New game modes aplenty later today:

    http://www.xbox360achievements.org/forum/showthread.php?t=307198

    Squad Slayer sounds *awesome*. 5 on 5 with no Armour Lock? Yes please.

    • Luke says:

      The changes to Hockey make me really angry. Now where am I going to get easy assassinations?

      • Scruff UK says:

        Hockey’s changing? Nothing in that post mentions Hockey. What’s changed?

        I like the sound of the new modes. Plenty of new ways to get other commendations up. Hog Potato should be good for driver / vehicle kills, and there are so many “heavy weapon” based games.

        I want to play all of these new modes, and I want them now.

      • Chris says:

        Guess you can’t please all the people all the time 🙂

      • HoodedSandman says:

        Hockey is still listed as a gametype on the Action Sack playlist http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/playlists.aspx

    • Justin says:

      I am totally okay with all of this, except for the apparent removal of hockey, as I too enjoyed free assassinations. Oh well, the rest of the update more than makes up for it.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Omg! Spartan lasers and rocket battles!! Dino blasters! Action sack just got so much better! No more BTB for me for a while…

      • Scruff UK says:

        But BTB is getting Assault, too, along with some new community maps. And Infection is completely changing. And Team Slayer and Team Classic are getting new community maps. So much awesomeness, not enough time…

        But yeah, I think I’ll be in Action Sack quite a lot 😉

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Hog Potato, Dino Blasters, To The Death (no, to the pain XD).

      Anyone else smell what’s cooking? A night to test these out? Tomorrow night? 8pm UK onwards? Drop in and drop out as you want?

      Yeah, that sounds like a juicy meal right there. I’ll be on from 8pm, I expect other people to turn up and look to add me to their party. I want to play the new stuff.

      What I’ll do is write a separate post about this tomorrow so you can throw your GT’s into one comment line from the start and we’ll see who’s around to do it. Ideally we start at 8pm but as it gets later more of you US based types can join in and take over owning the party as the current leader leaves so the playing can go on into the night – updating the post with whoever’s the party leader so that new joiners know who to look for.

      EST is -5 hours, PST is -8 hours, Italy is +1 hour.

      GT: Loreweaver. And FYI I don’t always have voice enabled to boost my bandwidth (I use 3G/HSDPA for my gaming, long story).

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Im ready for Doubles Attack. I have been missing it since we had it around Valentines Day. Atleast im pretty sure its in the new mix, i hope!

      • Peggy Peggy says:

        Splasers………..oh the memories

        I’m in the UK – Gamertag Peggy Peggy

        See you tomorrow night 🙂

    • Shane says:

      Nice! Looks like an easy way to get my heavy weapons commendations up too!

  5. Master Chief says:

    Can you use the ‘Save and Quit’ Glitch for the Campaign challenge?
    Probably a stupid question but…………

  6. Master Chief says:

    Wow sorry guys….maybe just read the post!!!!!

    • Corporal Alexei says:

      Yeah, sometimes I comment before reading…. D’oh! But you need to be quick if you die. It helps if you are able to anticipate your death so you are ready to revert, but I’ll tell you, I have messed up my fair share of missions with the iron skull because I have not been fast enough.

  7. blast radius will be fun! i puffy heart grenades so much.

  8. i kind of wish they’d bring back Run for Cover, that was a lot of fun too.

    (sorry for comment spamming, i’m a bit all over the place today.)

  9. Corporal Alexei says:

    As already stated, Winter Contingency should be an easy way to get Iron Will. Hell, you barely have to fire a shot until you are in the base. Now if I can just get my head straight for this week’s LASO on New Alexandria…..

  10. kevin says:

    the Nightfall forklift/despawn thing worked fine for me.
    is anyone else having trouble accessing playlists? every playlist except for Team Swat is saying “current playlist is unavailable, please try again later”. weird …

  11. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Does anyone know what happened to Doubles Score Attack? I could swear i seen it on the Bungie.net website the other day in the new update. Guess i was wrong?

  12. Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

    Squad slayer could be fun, but you have to go in with a party. Tried it with randoms yesterday, got slaughtered 😐

Leave a Reply

