5th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click Read More to view the commentaries for them:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR
  3. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  4. Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1250 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, and 120 in 2X Score Attack. So it might be worth doing a normal Firefight then a mix of the other variants if you need to top up to the challenges. You’ll get most of this in the other challenges anyway, so just use a quick Score Attack to finish it off.

Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR

Several strategies for you here – Gruntpocalypse on Corvette and throw grenades at the Grunt spawn rooms (particularly those to the left and right of the ramps opposite your spawn room), then when you get grenades from the Grunts you kill use grenades when they come into the pinch point corridors. Or play Firefight on Courtyard, run to the left out of the spawn room and from the terrace you can usually get up to 5 or 6 dudes with grenades when they’re dropped off. Or play Nadefight where you get lots of grenades when you spawn. Or play 2X Score Attack and use grenades to bomb the spawn/dropship points when a load of guys are dropped off.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal. I’d recommend using the pistol for this challenge so that you can get…

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1250 cR

Try and get a Gruntpocalypse games in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible then back in the menu to get it done. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out. I personally think Holdout’s an evil little map, although that’s when it introduces the tougher enemies in Score Attack.

Thanks to everyone who joined in last night. It was a lot of fun, and I might do some pics from it later of moments I quite enjoyed. Action Sack is a lot of fun, although some significantly better than others. Next time… we definitely need more party leaders so that we can have several groups going at once as there was a lot more interest than I expected (and my friend’s list is about to fill up I think). I’m thinking a regular time each week with optional weekends is going to be the way to go in future.

37 Responses to 5th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Two games of FF will do nicely for today’s, probably a Gruntpoc and then a 2x Score Attack, for the variety. Less than half an hour for over 5,000 credits (plus game completion) isn’t bad at all 🙂

    Organising weekly / weekendly get-togethers is a great idea. Wednesdays at 8 work very well indeed for me, though I’m sure some of our US brethren might disagree. Still, the weekend ones could be good for them, and there’s nothing to stop people from making impromptu get-togethers through these comment threads. I did one of those last week with Braythor, cjc and Doc Higg and it was great 🙂

    As for last night, woo, I had a blast, until I got gang raped 😉 Thanks for organising it and for not booting me when the party size went way over 8 people! I’m looking forward to the next session, though in the meantime if anyone wants to get together for some games just send me an invite if you see me online (though don’t be offended if I don’t reply, I might be working on daily challenges / commendations, or might be about to go offline). Also anyone who wants to go back and get the Halo 3 DLC / ODST Firefight & multiplayer campaign achievements, send me a friend request and we’ll organise a date/time to do them with as many other people as possible! Four would be ideal… Four with an extra controller each for the Halo 3 ones would be even more ideal 😉 Anyway, in-depth opinions on last night’s games:

    Shotty Snipers
    Well, I enjoy it, even though a lot of people *cough*snickerdoodle*cough* don’t seem to. Some maps are better suited to it than others, but probably the best feature of it is that the only armour ability is Sprint. Also got yesterday’s Triple Kill challenge during the game on Countdown 🙂

    To The Death!
    Ugh. Horrible. Games drag on endlessly, it’s really hard to kill people, and for some reason this game seemed much more prone to lag than any other game we played. Although bizarrely I was getting 6 cR every time I killed someone, which is odd considering it’s all sword kills and I hit Onyx on CQC ages ago.

    Dino Blasters
    Utter mayhem, and damn good fun, if a little unsubtle and lacking in much in the way of tactics. I’m fairly sure that the majority of my deaths on Countdown were due to me suiciding though – it’s so easy to jetpack into some scenery while you’re being attacked and then firing against it!

    Hog Potato
    For the reference of anyone who hasn’t played this yet, it’s called Team Hot Potato on the game selection – they should fix that, people tend to assume it’s not Hog Potato. This is probably my favourite of the new games, since it’s largely vehicle based (four Mongooses [Mongeese?]) per base plus the Hog), and it’s just the right side of chaotic, allowing people to camp around the sides of the map with a sniper rifle if that’s what they want to do. There was some very questionable driving demonstrated by porottaja though 😉

    Not much of a fan of the new BTB map, it’s just Hemmorage with slightly different bases, although it’s nice to be able to fly a Banshee around in there. At least it was a nice even game – although I think in future we need to communicate better as a team when playing objective games! 😉

    Didn’t play Splockets, Rocket CTF, Shotgun Assault or Boom Ball with you guys, how were they? And how’s the new Living Dead, if you played it?

    Also for the reference of other people, Hockey, Halo Ball and Halo Ball Xtreme have *not* gone from Action Sack. They all came up at least once in the game selection options.

    • porottaja says:

      I take that as a compliment about my driving.

      I like BOOM ball, because it is only Grenade Launchers, which is one of my favourite weapons.

      Living dead went far worse. More humans pistol sniping and NO EVADE! It is replaced with infinite sprint, at least for Alpha zombies. And I was one for all rounds. MY only try on The Cage turned out to be humans climbing on top parts and then raining hell on spawn spots with pistols. Never again.

      • ZaganZee says:

        I actually appreciate the change to sprint, the pistol wasn’t nearly as deadly in the shotgun before but now it’s on about the same (or higher) level. Which is nice. Especially if you want to up pistol commendations. Also it makes it so that there’s a chance for the humans to win, before the switch, I’d senn the humans win maybe twice out of the several hundred games I played. But I will agree that it is terrible for maps like Sword base with the camping spot and the cage.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Hockey used to be fun but since they took assasinations out, it feels kinda like To The Death with golf clubs. I was gonna join you all lastnight but when i looked at the party you already had 8 people. I didnt want to get in there and be the odd man out and get murdered by my RDC friends. lol. Maybe next time me and my son can get in there with you. Easy challenges today and as always i love the Firefight challenges. Still i would like to know when they are going to be bringing back Doubles Attack since i think it would be fun just 2 people on Unearthed driving around in the Warthog. Have a great day. 🙂

      • Tom says:

        They took assasinations out of hockey?! What…. why? I don’t even…

        This is shit.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yes it is. Its just not the same.

    • Shotty Snipers is so not my favorite. not at all. i suck with the sniper rifle so bad. and countdown is an awful sniping map anyways. shotgun all the way for me. 😀

      Rocket CTF is my new favorite!!! with Dino Blasters a very close second. just in case anyone who was in those games was curious. 😀

      Hog Potato was fun but it does royally suck when the hog spawns on the other side of the map almost every time. makes it not so fun but i do enjoy it. i do think there needs to be more heavy weaponry or something to combat the hog though because right now, all you really have to do is pile 3 people in, drive into the back of the base, and have the 4th player cover with sniper fire. kind of lame, really. it’s less fun when your own teammate jumps on your frag that was intended for the enemy’s vehicle and causes a betrayal. *cough*matthew*cough. :mrgreen:

      shotty assault – meh. take it or leave it. at least everyone has a shotgun and no sniper rifle!!!

      boom ball was fun too. good way to practice with the GL if you’re not used to it, like me.

      to the death really IS “to the pain.” good grief that game takes forEVER. Braythor and i were having a go at each other for AGES before i got some back up. traveling in a pack or pairs is DEFINITELY the way to go on this game. for those of you that played Stab Out on Halo 3, i think this is supposed to be the new one? anyways, it sucks. and i won’t be jumping at the chance to play again.

      didn’t try the new zombies so i’ve got nada there.

      overall i had an AWESOME time….until i got gang raped. :mrgreen:

      • Braythor says:

        Yeah that whole to the death thing was ridiculous, we were just bouncing off each other like a nightmarish pinball machine. I also was NOT a fan of shotty snipers – I hate the sniper rifle (because I’m awful with it) and the shotgun’s not as much fun when everyone else has one.

        Dino Blasters was mental, but fun. And the rocket modes were right up my street. The other modes were fun, some more so than others (and what was with that zombie custom game on the hill?! I ended up just clipping the mongoose against the wall to see how fast a barrel roll I could get into).

        Overall I had fun, though I wasn’t quite with it mentally, hence the general lack of chatting and utter failure to realise when I was party leader (it’s been a hectic week or so of friends and drinking), but I wanted to reach promotion, then I realised I was only a few off upping the heavy weapons commendation. At that point both myself and my controller were out of energy.

        Having it organised a bit would help a lot, as it was just a blur of white noise at first with everyone trying to suggest stuff, then having to boot people due to wrong party sizes, but it’s the sort of thing that needs trial and error so no doubt it’ll run smoother next time now we all know what to expect.

    • ZaganZee says:

      I’m definately up for the halo 3 and Odst achievements (Especially Halo 3) and I can bring two other people that will work with us if you need. GT ZaganZee

    • Cary says:

      Great job Dude… been following for a few months now.. rackin up the points.. even tho I’m really not that good. Been playing Halo since it first came out but I’m 40.. and keep getting my ass handed to me by these chatty little teenage punks!!!! LOL. I’ve muted all players now and just quietly move up the ranks.. haha..

    • Hawkeye says:

      FYI extra controller/idle boosting will get you banned in Halo 3 because of how their ranking system works. Also a lot of the Halo 3 multiplayer achievements have to be done in ranked free for all (lone Wolf) and that limits party size to one.

      I still need 5 ODSt achievements, 2 vidmasters and 3 FF.

      • Scruff UK says:

        I’ve done the initial 1000 on Halo 3 (where all of the ranked free for all achievements are), and some of the DLC ones since, just need stuff like the Killtacular, Perfection, Sword Spree, etc, along with the Vidmaster challenges. And then all the multiplayer stuff in ODST.

        With extra controllers, if four people play a game and each have an extra controller, and make sure to move that controller about a little bit, and maybe get a kill or two, then it shouldn’t be an issue. Even if it is, I don’t care about getting banned from Halo 3. I don’t know if you’re aware, but there’s this whole new game called Halo: Reach out! 😉

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Damn! It sucks living in Australia when all the fun is happening in the UK! I would have had to been up at 5 in the morning to play with you guys! Maybe we can organise some games so some of us Aussies can have a night time go too. But I did have a go at Dino blasters (chaotic and awesome!!), shotty snipers ( I didn’t like it that much, but it was on reflection so yeah), to the death ( I quit after about 2 mins) and the new infection games ( only fun after at least half of the players are infected).

    Just a LASO question, if I save and quit half way through the level, will I have to start all over or will it resume where I was from?

    Thanks for accepting my friend request Matt, we will have to have a game sometime 🙂

    Sir Galahad 63

    P.S, any fellow Australians who want to make a big party on the weekends and do BTB and actionsack, add me and we will try and work something out. Afterall we can’t sit back and let the poms have all the fun, hey? (I mean no offense to any English people 🙂

    • Shane says:

      About LASO, I had a problem a fortnight ago where the option to resume wasn’t available. Not really sure why. Do a quick test – start the level, reach a checkpoint, quit, and see if you can resume. If you can then everything’s fine.

  3. captainron19 says:

    These challenges suuuuuck.

    • Jordan1511 says:

      Welcome to FF Thursday…

    • Chris says:

      Thanks for sharing 🙂

      cjc

      • Scruff UK says:

        Are you new, by any chance? The challenges are like this EVERY Thursday. If you don’t like Firefight challenges, stay away from Reach on a Thursday 😉

        I never used to enjoy Firefight but I’m really getting into it now. The fact that the credit payouts tend to be much larger than for playing Campaign / MM helps as well 😉

    • Chris says:

      Grunto 10min + 2x SA 9 min + Crashite 77 sec = 5250cr bonus

      Its kind of a result for those of us without all the time in the world 🙂
      So these challenges kind of un-succcccccccccccccck

      cjc

  4. mickoboy90 says:

    Im just gonna play ff arcade with brother and friends…much more fun 🙂

  5. Matt says:

    Yeah this is looking like 2 games of Gruntpoc plus some FRGFight or something. I’m going to give 2x Score Attack a pass because a missed DMR headshot on a grunt or jackal is sometimes fatal anyway in that mode.

    I find that for pistol challenges Rocket Attack on Outpost is also pretty good if you don’t get Gruntpoc. Camp the top of the stairs on the square buildind and headshot anything that moves. Then you have grenades and the rocket launcher for those lolfivebrutecaptainschargingme moments too.

    I finally played Splockets last night (after playing most other new gametypes the day before, still need Shotgun Assault, Rocket CTF, and Hog Potato) and it’s a mixed bag. I played on Asylum and everyone chose jetpacks or was quickly persuaded to by the endless rain of rockets from above. It’s really hard to hit someone in mid-air with a rocket so most people will first try the splaser,. but the charging time gives you an opportunity to duck behind cover. I used the rockets for all but one kill and simply waited until my opponents ran out of jetpack and I knew where they’d land. Looking at the carnage report I remember being somewhat pissed off at getting spawn-killed twice, but I was the only one to come out of the game with a killing spree, which suggests to me that at least on Asylum you want to pick a high, walled-in area as a landing point and pop up when you can to kill people. Anyway, I’ll be curious to see how this experience translates to other maps. I’d love to use Armor Lock to return some rockets to sender but I have a feeling Bungie wisely hasn’t put any wide-open maps in the playlist (to prevent an epidemic of ragequitting/forum shouting).

  6. Scruff UK says:

    I’ve been thinking about the proposed regular RDC nights and the issue of having more interest than we do party slots, and have come up with the following:

    1: Have two or three parties each playing different gametypes. For instance, last night a lot of people wanted to play Custom Games, whereas others wanted Action Sack. Two parties made sense. So, if you have one party playing Squad Slayer, another playing Invasion, and a third playing Customs, then everyone’s happy.

    Or 2: Have two or three parties all playing the same gametypes. This would work according to Matthew’s blog posts: one week could be RDC Invasion Night, the following week RDC BTB, etc.

    And 3: The party leaders should change every week, rather than always having the same two or three people. For instance, if me, Matthew and Snicks were the party leaders every week, then we’d never play with each other on RDC nights, which would suck.

    Do feel free to completely ignore me though, I wouldn’t want to overstep any boundaries, since this isn’t my blog and all 😉

    But in the spirit of things, I will nominate myself for a party leader position next game week (assuming I’m available to play), preferably for Invasion, Squad Slayer or BTB.

    • REvOfEv EcHELoN says:

      I like Scruff’s idea I think if we have a meet up on a regular basis with preset squad leaders. Having a couple parties goin at the same time will also let us cycle players after the matches so if someone is tired of doing Custom Games they can switch with somebody who is doing action sack………..Last night meet up did not go great for me at the last minute my plans all changed and I was forced to get off after only a few games of Griffball(ps. remind me to not get Snickerdoodle angry when she has a hammer lol 🙂 ). I especially felt bad as I got an invite from Matthew just as I was about to turn off my system, yesterday was just a bad day for me. Im looking forward to participating in future meet ups.

      Id like to nominate EyeOhYou and Snickerdoodle as squad leaders.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I want to get with you guys and play a little. If im busy and cant, my son can take my place. Hes really good at MM. As long as you all dont mind. 😉

  7. Paddy162 says:

    I don’t mind the odd firefight challenge but they do tend to be putting more in throughout the week…

  8. KingoftheRats says:

    Hey guys great stuff on here been following for awhile now and would love to get in on some of these games. I am a weekend warrior since I work all week. I try to get on as much as possible and love playing all game types add me gt is my name KingoftheRats.

  9. Ender Xer0 says:

    Just wanted to let you all know that the Enders had an ass-kicking good time playing with you guys! (Until we were gang-raped.) Let’s do it again!

  10. Reaperville says:

    I like to go for sniper fight when the pistol challenges come up, cos of the unlimited ammo you get for it. Plus I’m looking to level up that commendation so if I’m lucky, three games of sniper should see me through this!

  11. Hawkeye says:

    Woo hoo my first comment here, although I’ve been a RDC fan for a few months. I would love to play some action sack or other game types and not have to worry about my teammate betraying me. My GT is JustHawkeye (let me know you’re from RDC because I don’t accept random requests) and I’m in the US, although most of you aren’t.

    A few thoughts on the latest update.

    I hated To the death and not a big fan of shotty snipers. Dino blasters was fun and boom ball was ok. I didn’t get to play hog potatoe, mostly because I didn’t know it was called Team Hot potatoe.

    I didn’t care for the zombie update, it takes too long now and pistol sniping makes being a zombie for all 3 rounds a pain in the butt.

    I love Squad slayer without armour lock, although all the jet packers can be annoying.

    Here’s a tip for getting your vehicle achievements in FF. The chain gun turrets count towards the commendation for killing an enemy with a vehicle. 🙂

    Also if anyone wants to LASO send me a message. I did it twice, solo and co-op. Note: if you use the Nightclub easter egg, don’t kill the DJ brute first.

  12. CallUpChuck says:

    Since we speaking of organizing a consistent batch of people to do challenges together, why don’t we compile a list of players? Have categories for possible team leaders, frequent players, less frequent, etc.

    I am also a weekend player. It seems like many of the members here are in the UK so that’ll be a challenge to coordinate.. I’m in GMT-8, west coast U.S. Am I correct in assuming that the challenges start/end on GMT-5 (east coast U.S.) midnight everywhere? My challenges are changed at 3am everyday.

    GT: CallUpChuck

  13. Hawkeye says:

    My challenges reset every morning at 5am CST, 6am est. I play everyday so I am on a lot, but not always in Reach.

  14. DrDave says:

    Been lurking for a few weeks.
    Just want to send a thanks to Matthew for the site and hints.

Leave a Reply

