6th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries for today:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 30 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR
  3. Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

By the time you’ve done the other challenges you should have this. If you want to do it quickly then as always a quick Gruntpocalypse game with get it done fast.

Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 30 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Your multiplayer automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler, Plasma Repeater and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. Rumble Pit can be really helpful too running around blazing the AR, but it’s tempting to pick up other weapons.

Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

This was the challenge I expected on Wednesday. Jump into a Team SWAT match, take out some guys and it’s an easy top up of 1000 credits.

Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Random, we had this only 3 days ago. Iron restarts the mission if you die, so be very careful here. The main trick is that if you do quickly save and quit the mission, then restart it and the challenge will be active again from your last checkpoint. Winter Contingency is good to do because we should all be experts at it now, or Nightfall, since you can use various tricks to get through it barely firing anything. You could potentially do this with the LASO Weekly Challenge I think, although that’ll take much longer and frustrate you a lot.

As ever, please add your own thoughts into the comments.

42 Responses to 6th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Tom says:

    Easy, easy day. Lucky Iron Will is there or the credit payout would be god-awful.

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Now I Have A Machine Gun: I’d say Rumble Pit and/or Multi-Team would be best for this. Small maps + lots of people with less than full shield + frequent deaths due to the amount of players and lack of team-mates = easy kills with the AR.

    The chances of me getting any of these done tonight are slim to none, so I’m hoping I wake up before 11 tomorrow morning and I can do them then. I also want to finish grinding out the two Campaign Commendations I’ve been working on so I can get back into doing Campaign challenges! I’ve only done 1 Daily Challenge in the last few days; efforts must be doubled! 😉

    Anyone fancy grinding out some Halo 3 and/or ODST achievements over the weekend? I’m on UK time, but with it being a weekend we might be able to organise a time when a few of us are all free. Let me know what time zone you’re on and when you’re free and we’ll take it from there 🙂

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      The Automatic Weapon challenge is the only one i probably wont get today since when i use the AR i usually take their shields down with it then move in with a melee. My Main Tool Of Destruction used to be Melee, now its Energy Sword, Melee, then Shotgun lol. Scruff, what kind of achievements are you talking about in Halo 3 and ODST? I have been looking for someone to finish beating the campaign in Halo 3 with on Legendary. My friend was helping me but the level we are on has us in a Warthog and were up against about 4 Wraiths and a bunch of Choppers, so he gave up pretty quickly and there is no way i can do it with the AI in the game since they are HORRIBLE at using the Warthog. lol. I have beaten ODST on Legendary but need some of the other achievements in the game. The only problem i might have is sometimes i lag like crazy when playing 3 or ODST for some reason, i guess we will have to just see what happens! 🙂

      • Scruff UK says:

        That’s why Rumble Pit or Multi Team are good for the AR – most of the time, someone else has already mostly taken down the opponent’s shields for you!

        As for Halo 3, I need a lot of the multiplayer DLC achievements, along with the Vidmaster challenges, including the ‘doing the last level with four people all in Ghosts’ one.

        And ODST I need all of the multiplayer ones, which again is the last level achievement, along with all the Firefight ones. I kinda ditched ODST when I finished the Campaign the first time… Didn’t really love it all that much, but the unfinished achievement list bugs the hell out of me! 😉

      • Shane says:

        I find multi-team is good for AR kills but it’s better if you don’t attack the opponent head on since you can’t miss many shots and they can close the gap and pummel you. Use the jet pack and rain death from above – the time it takes for them to realize where you are and change their aim gives you the advantage (and time to reload). I tend to win more fights this way unless I get double-teamed. Also, using the jet pack on outdoor maps like Powerhouse means you can spot people with low shields and get a nice, cheap kill 🙂

    • porottaja says:

      I guess I have time on weekend, I don’t have Halo 3 DLC, though. I am on GMT +2.

      • Jordan1511 says:

        I need the Vidmaster challenges doing as well, UK Timezone. Will finish the weekly LASO first though… :/

        -British GM

      • Scruff UK says:

        Alright.. You guys let me know in tomorrow or Sunday’s post when you’re free and we’ll try and work it out from there, see what we can do etc, the Vidmasters are looking good though 🙂

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        @Jordan1511

        If you need the Vidmaster Challenge: Classic (any ODST campaign mission, solo, without firing a round or throwing a grenade), I suggest doing it on Uplift Reserve. It can be completed in under 20 minutes.

        If anyone wants to do ODST Vidmaster Challenges Endure and/or Deja Vu, add my gamertag and we’ll work out a time. 50G combined.

    • Braythor says:

      I might be up for a bit of that, I’m lacking the 4 player and all the firefight ones on ODST, and most of the Halo 3 mulitplayer ones (never really got into the online play). I don’t quite know what I’m doing this weekend yet though, and I also just got Fable 3 so I’ll have to be a ‘maybe’ for now. If you see me online send a request and if I’m up for it I’ll join in, if not I’ll just politely ignore it. Chances are if I’m on Reach or Gears I’ll exit and jump in, if I’m on Fable I won’t.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Ive heard about the Vidmaster challenge with the 4 Ghosts. I honestly dont think i could do this for some reason.

      • Scruff UK says:

        It’ll be easy. I once did the last level of Halo 3 on solo Legendary in a Mongoose because I thought it would be funny. It was funny, as it turned out, though a little on the difficult side! 😉

        Keep in mind that Halo 3 only gets easier with more players. And considering you can do the LASO challenges and I can’t, I think that particular Vidmaster challenge will be a breeze for four of us. Especially since the worst situation on death is going back to a checkpoint, rather than starting the whole mission again.

        I’m up for it anyway, but we do need 4 players or we won’t get the achievement! If three other people are interested, let me know what times you’re free on Saturday and/or Sunday and also what time zone you’re in, and we’ll try and get it done 🙂

      • KingoftheRats says:

        I would be interested in helping out I still need most of those challenges for halo 3 and ODST. I’m always on during the weekends
        I’m in the u.s eastern time zone. Let me know if you guys need help or send me a message

    • ZaganZee says:

      I’d really like to get the halo 3 achievements. I’m free noon to midnight or so Central time, so that’d be… 6 to 6 for you. I suppose that’s not really that convinient, but if that works out let me know

      • Scruff UK says:

        I’ll confirm tomorrow, but 6pm on Saturday (that’s 6pm my time) could work. I’d only have an hour, but that should be enough time to get some of the Halo 3 achievements done, particularly the Ghosts one, perhaps?

        Are there 2 other people available for this time tomorow?

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Ok man. My Xbox stays on pretty much all day so just send me a message when you are ready and if i can join you i will, but if you dont hear back from me then its my son playing and i will catch you another time. Thanks.

    • Daniel Boone says:

      West Coast time zone PST. I totally intrested in some Halo 3 and/or ODST achievements over the weekend. Gamer tag = dboone67. Send me request if possible.

      • JustHawkeye says:

        I’m CST here and need a few more Halo 3/odst achievements. GT is JustHawkeye. I have some friends who also need them as well as my hubby. Just send an invite or friend request with RDC in it.

  3. Shobaleader One says:

    Now i have a machine gun – i’d personally go for Invasion, since there’s a needler and AR start

    • Matt says:

      Yeah, and don’t forget the plasma repeater if you prefer an evade loadout.

      Also Power Slayer should be good for this, particularly on Arena Zealot with sprint and just doing laps around the upper corridors. Run up to a dude, punch him in the face, AR him to death, rinse and repeat.

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Omg! The weekly is so easy when you know how to do it! I did it with a friend and used a glitch or Easter egg pretty much for each chapter! Took half an hour literally!

    Club Errerra:
    Use the DJ brute Easter egg or a jetpack for this.

    The Reflection map building:
    Juggle different armor abilities to halfway points between the jammed and the elevator so you can use sprint, then swap to a different AA then quickly swap back to have full sprint! Then sprint to the elevator for no death!

    The hospital:
    the best glitch ever! Hi jack a banshee then position it outside the hospital door. Shoot off one wing the fly the banshee through the door all the way to the jammer. Get out and activate the jammer then get back in the banshee until the jet packs behind the jammer DE-spawn, meaning disappear. Then quickly get ou of the banshee and wallah!! You will be teleported to your falcon! Makes it so easy!!

    The rest of the level is just a breeze.
    Need any help just reply to me 🙂

    Brute DJ FTW!!

  5. nic says:

    I would like help my GT is PhoneyBadge10

  6. KingoftheRats says:

    Didn’t we just do iron will a couple days ago?I’m still trying to get the weekly done that’s so annoying! I guess no iron will for me today since we are closing in on the end of the week and I’m not restarting my weekly.
    I’m always down for trying to get more achievements and usually I’m on for a good amount of time on the weekends. I’m on U.S eastern time. Gt is my name KingoftheRats

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Yes, as I said in the commentary, we had it 3 days ago.

    • MJOLNIR Tester says:

      Why is it so annoying? If you complete the weekly challenge today you will also complete Iron Will. That’s what I plan on doing today.

      • KingoftheRats says:

        Ya that’s true I mean I could do that but I would like to play some mm instead on just all campaign. When I get home from work. Ill be online around 8pm u.s eastern time. If anyone is interested in some Action Sack.

  7. KingoftheRats says:

    Sorry matthew. That’s me not paying attention at all. It just that as soon as I saw iron will again I went straight to the comment section to vent some frustration…

  8. Scruff UK says:

    Hey, Matthew!! It’s Friday, so I made you a gift:

    (Yeah, ah-ah-ah-ah-ah-ah)
    Oh-oh-oh, oh yeah, yeah
    Yeah, yeah
    Yeah-ah-ah
    Yeah-ah-ah
    Yeah-ah-ah
    Yeah-ah-ah
    Yeah, yeah, yeah

    7 a.m., waking up in the morning
    Got to be fresh, got to go to Sword Base
    Got to be Noble, got to have DMR
    Killing everything, the time is going
    Armour lock is on, everybody’s spamming
    Got to get down to the forklift
    Got to glitch the gate, I see my squad (my squad)

    Carter in the front seat
    Jorge’s in the back seat
    Got to make my mind up
    Which gun can I take?

    It’s Friday, Friday
    Got to play Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant, Covenant
    Friday, Friday
    Playin’ Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant

    One Hunter, two Hunters (die)
    Sangheili, Sangheili (die)
    Guns, guns, guns, guns
    Looking forward to the weekend

    7:45, Kat’s driving on the highway
    Driving so bad, we’re all gonna die
    Guns, guns, think about guns
    You know what it is
    I killed Moa, you killed Moa
    A Guta is by my right
    I killed Bob, you killed Bob
    Now you know it

    Emile in the front seat
    Jun is in the back seat
    Got to make my mind up
    Which gun can I take?

    It’s Friday, Friday
    Got to play Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant, Covenant
    Friday, Friday
    Playin’ Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant

    One Unggoy, two Unggoy (die)
    Brute Leader, Brute Leader (die)
    Guns, guns, guns, guns
    Looking forward to the weekend

    Yesterday was Firefight Thursday
    Today is Friday, Friday (matchmaking)
    We-we-we so excited
    We so excited
    We going to kill a Grunt today

    The invasion is Saturday
    And the glassing comes afterwards
    I don’t want this planet to end

    N.6., Noble Six
    So chilling in the Falcon (in the Falcon)
    Kill the Banshees (kill the Banshees)
    I’m playing Grifball (smash, smash)
    To The Death, having fun
    Until I got gang raped (woo, gang rape!)
    Passing by is a Scarab in front of me
    Makes green light, death light, want to scream
    Check my time, it’s Friday, it’s a weekend
    We going to save Reach, come on, come on, y’all

    It’s Friday, Friday
    Got to play Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant, Covenant (we gonna kill ’em)
    Friday, Friday
    Playin’ Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant

    Skirmisher, Skirmisher (die)
    Huragok, Huragok (aw!)
    Guns, guns, guns, guns
    Looking forward to the weekend

    It’s Friday, Friday
    Got to play Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant, Covenant
    Friday, Friday
    Playin’ Reach on Friday
    Everybody’s killin’ all the Covenant

    Team killer, team killer (die)
    Tea-bagger, tea-bagger (die)
    Guns, guns, guns, guns
    Looking forward to the weekend

    • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! scruff, i am DYING! that’s effing priceless! oh.em.gee. i cannot stop laughing!

    • ZaganZee says:

      You win sir. A winner is you.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

      Fortunately the single time I’ve heard this song was Justin McElroy playing an acoustic guitar and singing it.

    • Matt says:

      I….I am speechless on this momentous occasion. You are the winrar.

  9. Jackjack71 says:

    Yeah, this is the second time in a row now I’ve tried to get through the door on Nightfall with the forklift because of a campaign mission daily challenge, and it’s not let me through the door. I try multiple times; nothing. And I’ve done the Nightfall speed run many times before, used to work perfectly. What the hell is going on?

    • Shane says:

      The advice is always “keep at it.” I tried a bunch of times this morning and it wasn’t working. I didn’t want to hit the next checkpoint so I saved and resumed and then got through the door first time [shrugs].

    • HoodedSandman says:

      Try Winter Contingency, quick and easy at Heroic if you follow the guide http://halo.bungie.org/gameplay/reach_mythic/wc.html + picking up a plasma pistol and some plasma grenades. Lure the sword Zealot up to fight with Jorge, overload the plasma pistol and then stick him with a plasma grenade.

    • Tom says:

      It wouldn’t work for me either the last time we had a campaign challenge. Haven’t tried it yet today.

    • Matt says:

      To add on to what others have said, Winter Contingency is easy for Iron Will challenges.:

      Duck to the left of the basement door and headshot all skirmishers on the low roof for the first encounter, then move onto grunts. Press right down the hill and either avoid or headshot the next wave of grunts and skirmishers; run to the right of the “guardrail” on the cliff side at the first Elite encounter to skip them entirely. Hop in the jeep, wait for Carter and Jorge to get in, and bear right as long as you can, until you head down the hill to where the troopers are under attack. Drive through, dropping Carter and Jorge off at close range to kill/herd the grunts onto the dirt road and then run the stragglers over. Hang out high on the road’s hills until the second dropship comes through, then run dudes over left and right.

      At the comm station, head up the stairs and grab armor lock and toss a sticky grenade down into the cluster of grunts and jackals. Jump the railing, hide inside the room with Kat, and headshot as much as you want (duck back into more cover after Kat finishes the hack to avoid Banshee bombs, stickies, and Phantom fire). In the tunnel walk to the caution line then step back to spawn the Elite, drop him with a bunch of DMR headshots, then shoot the caps off the two gas tanks and let the explosion help you thin the herd. Give George a wide berth through the hallway as he’s a sticky magnet and just headshot everything. In the last section, either noob combo the Elite or duck back up into the hallway (out of sight) after engaging him and getting him to charge, then assassinate him while he slashes at Jorge. Flip the switch and you’re done. Doable in 15-20 minutes without even needing the restart trick.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Forklift glitch still works. I did it twice today. I find that if you can’t get through the door, after a couple of tries, try moving the forklift forwards or backwards and crouch jump left when you exit the forklift. Once through keep running forwards and don’t look back because that is wif you do Jun will zap you back across the gate, open it and spawn enemies. This normally happpens when you doing it co-op and your teammate doesn’t sprint forward once spawned behind the locked gate.

  10. t-rOY says:

    For those with an extra thumbdrive formatted for the Xbox 360 or even an Xbox 360 memory unit, I found a ‘cheat’ for the Iron Will Challenges. Complete Nightfall using the ‘glitch’ with Iron skull on then just before you reach the end of the mission, wait for it to check point. Save and quit, and resume the mission for a Flawless Cowboy + Demon commendation. Now go to the dashboard and insert your thumbdrive or memory unit. Go into the system settings find the saved game under Halo Reach on your hard drive and copy it over. Remove thumbdrive/memory unit, and go back into Reach. Start a new mission (LASO if you desire) then save and quit. Restart your xbox 360, start Reach, and insert your thumbdrive/memory unit. Your Xbox should prompt you on which drive to save your game. Select the thumbdrive/memory unit, then proceed to the Campaign Lobby (you may get a message regarding DLC, but just ignore it). Nightfall with Iron skull should load and it should take you to the ‘end of mission checkpoint’. To get your ‘other’ campaign save back, just shutdown the xbox 360, remove the thumbdrive/memory unit, restart the xbox 360 and Reach. Your ‘other’ campaign save should load up when you get back into the Campaign Lobby.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Cool idea, but you don’t have to turn off your xbox to remove the thumb drive, just exit reach and go to dashboard and make sure it’s not bliunking before you remove it. Everytime you go into reach with a memory stick in your box it will always ask you where to save, also if you sign in and out of the box it asks you.

Leave a Reply

