7th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  3. Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

Commentary for today is after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, and 120 in 2X Score Attack. So it might be worth doing a normal Firefight then a mix of the other variants if you need to top up to the challenges. You can also use CrashSite or Generator Defense to top off your kill volume.

Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

3 assassinations in one game can be tricky. A good new option is Hockey, in the Action Sack Community game types, but there was a rumour that you can’t assassinate anymore – can I get confirmation of that? Assassination is the best kill method although remember that everyone else will be doing this too probably! If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there. Anyone who has watched the Halo Reach Mythbusters series will know that assassinating someone on a moving platform, and sometimes on unusual terrain, does not trigger the animation but counts, so that could be useful (I know I’ve been assassinated on the ramp on Pinnacle but the animation didn’t play).

Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Double Kills are fairly easy to pick up. Multi Team will usually see you get 3 or 4, as you naturally get more people, closer together. Grenades and Heavy Weapons are your friend here. Team SWAT can also be good for this. If you’re good at headshot you’ll pick up a double kill or two during a match, depending on the map and opposition – Sword Base is good for it if you can hold the top of the green lift.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1450 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

As ever please put your thoughts in the comments.

26 Responses to 7th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. porottaja says:

    I have time later tonight for Halo 3 and ODST achievement hunting.

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    The hockey assassinations are taken out so me and my bro will go to rumble pit and just boost for it so we can get other challenges done 🙂 id say team swat for me as i get bout 20 kilks each game so we win all the time

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Honestly i will probably boost this challenge also. Its kinda like not telling a lie but not telling the full truth either. lol.

    • Chris says:

      “id say team swat for me as i get bout 20 kilks each game so we win all the time”

      translates to:-

      id say team swat for me as i get an average of 14 kills each game so we win 65% of the time

  3. Subject 6x says:

    The assassinations are really easy in invasion, if instead of playing defense during the first wave, you go to the Enemy spawn and camp u can pick it up quick, for the doubles I think big team is a good choice since the tank hog and wrath all hold two people take out two an you are home free, the one two three is so easy I am not gonna add input and I got super lucky for the firefight one, both arcade games I played were rockets and I had 2 people quit both games so I was at about 175 after the first one

  4. Tom says:

    I can confirm that the assasinations are gone from Hockey. Really, really annoying, This has made “Came From Behind” a whole lot worse. I guess I’ll have to go for HaloBallXtreme or snipers…

    • mickoboy90 says:

      Luckily i managed to get a killionaire and unfrigginbeliavable before the assassinations got taken out in hockey…do u think i should try upload to youtube as first unfrigginbeliavable in hockeg??? 🙂

  5. Scruff UK says:

    Assassinations – would Halo Ball Xtreme work for this? Failing that, go into Sword Base on Rumble Pit, choose Sprint, and camp in the dark areas in-between rooms down by where the energy sword spawns. It’s cheap, and will almost certainly cost you the game as you sit around waiting, but as long as you don’t have the sword equipped then chances are that no-one will even notice you’re there. Sit around, wait for people to go past, sprint up and assassinate. Repeat to fade.

    As for winning games, go for BTB or Squad Slayer or Defiant. BTB has a daily 9,000 cR jackpot over this weekend (one each per player per day) and Squad Slayer / Defiant / Arena have double jackpots all week. Worth doing if you care about credits, which you probably do, since you’re on this site.

    So who’s free for Halo 3 / ODST achievements today, and at what time?

    • porottaja says:

      I guess from around 7pm on UK time to at least 10pm.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      If everything goes good today i can do it. Im on Eastern Time, so around 7 :00pm this evening maybe?

      • Scruff UK says:

        I’m only free *until* 7pm tonight I’m afraid… If you see me on later then send me an invite and we’ll see how many others fancy it, but there’s a good chance this might have to wait 😦

        Oh, if I’m in Campaign, then I might not actually be at my Xbox. Commendations etc 😉

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        Hey Michael – I may be available during that time for achievements, though I may be a little drunk haha. Gamertag is the same as the name. Send me a message if you’re interested. What achievements are you specifically looking for in 3/ODST?

    • Tom says:

      That Rumble Pit/Sword Base plan is good. Works well.

    • ZaganZee says:

      Still good to go, I’ll be around noon and later, or 6p.m. for you.

    • Volantdreadknux says:

      Sort I played brb for 3 hours yesterday didn’t get a 9k jackpot

      • Scruff UK says:

        I got a 9,333 jackpoint on my second game. Obvious question, but you did finish each game, right?

  6. Grenada44 says:

    I got Double Double in Grifball. It actually ended up being a double kill followed by a Killtrocity.

  7. FearlessNOODLE says:

    For the came from behind I use rumble pit on countdown. Hide in the top two rooms by the airlift (either side of the bridge) and just snatch people as the run into the room.

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      Great suggestion. I headed to rumple pit to try this out for myself and ended up getting countdown on on my second game.

      many people are generally ignorant about checking the corner after they come up the lift, which makes pulling off assassinations very easy. I got my three in the first couple minutes.

      Goodluck everyone!

  8. Kerri says:

    I almost always use Rocket Hog Race to get the Double, Double challenge. If you’re playing more for kills, you usually get a double from a flipped warthog with the rocket turret or the rockets.

  9. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Why is it that whenever there’s actually a challenge to win games I seem to get paired up with the idiots that decided that they would try to play Reach with their eyes closed today?

    Look, I know not everyone is amazing at this game, but the last game I was just in I posted 20 kills with a +12 spread. The next closest guy on my team had 8 kills with a -5 spread.

    So annoying.

    • Tom says:

      That can certainly be a problem. Yesterday I seemed to be getting stuck with the the idiots who decide that all they want to do is team kill and troll they’re teammates rather than play properly.

  10. Chris says:

    Sounds more like disparity in connection quality than your immense skill , particular as the second player was a Mythic so must have played before and it was a precision weapon game.The joys of a P2P network game and poor matchmaking criteria.IMO

Leave a Reply

