Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 9th May

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Best Served Cold – Take your Revenge on 77 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 7777 cR

If you click on Read More you can also read the commentary on this challenge…

Simply put, Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you. So to do this quickly you’re going to want a game type that allows you to quickly get back into the thrust of the action and take hard revenge on the dude that took your frag-life (I feel like quoting Johnny Cash – I shot a man in Arena, just to watch him die). My thoughts on this:

  • Grifball – Quick action, lots of kills, and small maps so you can get to people easily. Taking out the guy who took you out is a little difficult because death turnover for everyone is very quick
  • Team SWAT – Depends on the map, but again one shot kills so it can be easy to get back in and take someone out, especially somewhere like Pinnacle or Asylum
  • Invasion – Since there are no kill volume limits in pure Invasion you can keep going at the same people again and again
  • Arena – Small number of players means it’s much easier to take out the dude who took you out. I’m a little wary of this because Arena players can absolutely own you sometimes

That last is pretty much your best tip – avoid big multi person games when going for this. Multi Team, BTB, Rumble Pit etc. Stick to small teams/numbers so you’ll find it easier to take people out.

I’m sure there’s more types that would work really well – some of Action Sack might be excellent for this. If you know of something please put it in the comments section.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

79 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 9th May

  1. Solarus says:

    I think this one is pretty self explanatory XD Take a playlist with less players so there’s a higher chance to get revenge.

  2. Pingback: 9th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  3. Scruff UK says:

    Firstly, don’t forget that until Friday, it’s double jackpot week in the Squad Slayer, Arena, and Defiant playlists!

    As for this challenge, is Team Doubles still a live playlist? As in, 2 vs. 2? That could work nicely, though personally I find 2 vs. 2 games incredibly dull.

    SWAT is probably the best option here, I think. Quick games, small teams and frequent deaths. As far as Action Sack games go, Splockets, Rocket CTF and Dino Blasters will work nicely for the same reasons.

    Not the best challenge and not the best payout, but shouldn’t take too long to grind out, and it gives me an excuse to play more heavy weapon games! I reckon around 20 games over the course of the week? Factor in the cR for playing 20 games, plus any extra credits from increasing commendations, and you’re looking at a total weekly cR boost of at least 30,000. Which isn’t bad, even though I got close to that just from four games of BTB over the weekend :/

    • bjw167 says:

      Wait how did u get 30000 cr from 4 games of brb

      • bjw167 says:

        Sorry btb. I hate auto correct

      • Scruff UK says:

        It was “Big Jackpot Weekend” on BTB – 9,000 cR per player, per day. On top of the regular jackpots and game completion cR.

        2 games on Saturday got me the 9,333 cR bonus, plus around 4k in game completion credits / commendations etc, for around 13,500 cR. 2 games on Sunday got me a 12,000 cR jackpot, plus all the usual cR, for around 16,000 cR. Totalling 29,500 cR.

        Big Jackpot Weekends are *awesome*.

      • Solarus says:

        I’m still gettting 3k cR from the jackpot from time to time in Griffball. Had 9k from BTB sunday which boosted me to the 50% mark for my rank XD

      • Don says:

        Every weekend is jackpot weekend. An announcement window will appear on Friday when you start up Reach letting you know. If it doesn’t appear you can still get the weekend jackpots, Bungie just hasn’t sent the message to the server to appear on everyones game yet. They normally do that between 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. PST (their time).

  4. Tom says:

    Yeah you should just play a couple of hours a day. By playing for fun, I get nearly 200 Revenge medals each week, so this won’t be a problem. Playing enough matchmaking games while keeping an eye on revenging players, will simply do the trick.

    • Chris says:

      A couple of hours a day , jes I wouldn’t want to do something I enjoyed for that length of time 🙂

      cjc

    • Chris says:

      As a side note to amount of games played , does anyone know if the Inheritor rank is still the sole preserve of Bungie employees ? I know it was at one time many months ago.

      regards
      cjc

      • nope. there are a couple of them out there, last i heard it was 3. not sure if that’s still accurate or not.

      • Scruff UK says:

        One of the non-Bungie Inheritors is trying to sell his account for $5,000. The sad thing is that someone will probably buy it :/

        http://theperfectlevel.com/halo-reach/accounts-for-sale

      • Chris says:

        So your telling me the character I met wasn’t even being paid to play and was averaging 36 games per day since 14/9/2010 .If that was one of my kids I’d be seeking psychiatric help for them ffs ……what pleasure could there be in ruining BTB games by spawn killing with the Banshee 40,000+ times ….. I know I’m out of touch being an old git but some-things are just wrong at any age 🙂

        regards
        cjc

      • Scruff UK says:

        It could have been a Bungie employee you ran into. Have a look at the game on bungie.net and click on the player who was an Inheritor and have a look at their stats.

        If it wasn’t a Bungie person then yeah, you ran into a genuinely obsessed person.
        I guess it could be worse, they could be dying in internet cafe’s because they’re too addicted to World Of Warcraft to remember to sleep / eat…

      • Chris says:

        That’s what worried me most ,if it was Bungie permie account, why were they spawn killing and ruining the game for everyone.I got the stat’s from the .net site , 9,554 games 8,393 MM games 40k banshee kills and this was a few weeks ago.It worked out at 36 games a day on BTB even at 15mins a time its a good days work .
        It was kind of the end of BTB for me , pity really one or two of the games were quite enjoyable.Some folk out their still play team games as they were meant to be played. Bring back the good old days of Quake,Unreal Tournament et al

        regards
        cjc

      • Matt says:

        I actually played against a non-Bungie inheritor on Hemorrhage Big Team Slayer on Friday for all of 2 minutes until all the hosts decided to have a seizure and the game ended. As you’d expect the dude was wearing the haunted helmet.

      • Chris says:

        A touch of genius including Banshee on Renegade (Hemorrhage) NBA ……. another map ruined .

        You have to ask questions of the mm search criteria , I got thrown in against a team of the one Inheritor,two Forerunners,two Eclipses,a Mythic,a Noble and a FM all american based and still don’t know why we didn’t win but
        I blamed the WO grade 3 on our side 🙂

        regards
        cjc

      • Solarus says:

        I played against a similar team as Chris’…all in a party, all in a chat. I went in ready to lose and that is exactly what happened. a slaughter is what it was to our team.

      • Chris says:

        First time I had to block an entire team , took longer to avoid them all than play the game.

        cjc

      • Scruff UK says:

        BTB is absolutely brilliant fun – if you’re on a good team. For some reason, that mode seems to bring out the idiots more than any other, but if you get on a good team it’s one of the best gametypes you can play. Going in as a party of 8 is the obvious way to go, but you can just randomly fall into a good team. Happened to me in 2 out of 4 games at the weekend.

        As for Banshee’s, learning how to take them out is the best way to counteract being spammed by them. They go down in four shots of a sniper rifle; the plasma launcher, rocket launcher, plasma grenades, mounted turrets, even the plasma pistol will all take a Banshee down in no time. If you get a few people together and spam it with DMR’s from various angles, that’ll work too. Preferred armour abilities for this purpose are armour lock or jet-pack, depending on how brave you are and how stupid the Banshee pilot is 🙂

      • Chris says:

        Out of 592 BTB games I’ve played I could cut two fingers off my right hand and still count the number of games that meet your criteria for being “absolutely brilliant fun” 🙂 .

        I think our problems in that game were a bit more fundamental than adopting the wrong tactics 🙂

        cjc

      • Wes says:

        @Scruff
        $5000 for an account!? Sure is a tough way to earn some bucks.
        Whoever buys it should change the gamertag pronto, as it is getting shredded in some forums, and mocked in youtube.

      • Elite Eliwood says:

        like scuff said, banshees are easy to take down when you know how to. as for any vihicle, try to find weaknesses or strategies when your in it yourself. at first i got pwned while i wasnt even in a tank or wraith for 5 seconds, by observing the enemy and how he managed to kill me, i got much better with them.

  5. mickoboy90 says:

    i would stick with team swat, as i get about 20 kills each games 🙂 and its easy to kill ur opponent afetr he kills u 🙂

    • Wes says:

      20 kills a game! I’m usually dead by the time i put the reticule on the guys head! 😦
      You have to know the maps very well to score that average. Good work.

      • Chris says:

        “about 20” equates to an average of 14 , the joy’s of Bungie.net

        That’s why I don’t include my gametag , I can pretend I’m ace and no one
        can check and see I’m really sh*t.

        cjc

      • Wes says:

        I won’t leave my gamer tag either, because in my head I think I’m great at Halo, but reality is, when i get into some playlists, basically I feel like i’m the blue/red team’s B*tch! embarrassing !!!! lol
        but, hitting 20 kills in SWAT is above average.

  6. Shobaleader One says:

    or you could just boost it in grifball with friends and pair up to continually get revenge medals on each other, its not full party boosting since every one is playing. It’s sneaky – but effective.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I did think about that, it’s the most obvious way. But I’m a little wary that it’s *that* obvious it’ll be easy for Bungie to pick up. I don’t know how close it runs to the banhammer regs, but I don’t want to risk it so I decided to leave it off.

      • i actually don’t think it’d be very easy to pick up on? i mean, it’s grifball. they expect a certain level of spawn killing and constant death so as long as you vary who’s doing the spawn killing and the like, my guess would be you’d be fine.

      • Shobaleader One says:

        Well ive just done it, so we’ll see if i get banned or not i guess haha – wish me luck!

      • Don says:

        snickerdoodle makes a good point. To expand upon that, I would expect someone to be hunting me after I killed him for his revenge as I would hunt him if he did kill me so I could get my revenge. Even without meaning to, you can end up boosting if you and one other person just hunt the each other all game or for that round. I know that has happened to me on more than one occasion. If you play hockey in action sack you’re almost guaranteed to have someone dogging you for the whole game since that’s how most people boost their assassinations. I did 24 in one game before. I had the same two people trying to assassinate me the remainder of the game after I got 8 within the first 2 minutes.

      • don – they took assassinations out of hockey so that’s a no go anymore.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Yeah.. It probably could be done this way, but personally I wouldn’t want to risk it. 8 people going into a game and all coming out of it with the weekly challenge completed on the Monday that it starts would be a little suspect, especially when they’re posting on the internet (with gamertags attached) that it would be an excellent way of boosting it! 😉

        Besides, I’d rather do this naturally by playing SWAT and Splockets etc. More fun that way, and it’ll work on commendations as well!

      • for the record – i wasn’t suggesting boosting the entire weekly this way. but it would be a good way to get some of those done. or to clean up if you’re only missing a couple. 🙂

        i don’t really have a plan for this weekly other than to just play as normal since i seem to manage to get this medal fairly often anyways.

  7. Sam says:

    Can I suggest Team Snipers for the Weekly Challenge? Small teams (4vs4) plus people tend to camp and stay in their spot after they kill you. Move the camera around after you die to see where they are camped and find them right when you spawn for a quick revenge. I haven’t tried yet but this sounds like a pretty good way to do it, just a thought that came to me.

    • Tom says:

      That idea works in theory. To be honest (and without trying to sound arrogant), I don’t die enough in snipers to get many revenges playing normally. I guess I could die on purpose, but where’s the fun in that?

  8. Paddy162 says:

    Just hit 29/77 …. Doing ok I believe

  9. Red Vee XIII says:

    SPLOCKETS on ACTION SACK is your best bet for the Weekly Challenge.

    I’m on 16 after just two games.

  10. CallUpChuck says:

    Why did it have to be revenge?! I would have been fine with avenger or splatter or yoink, but Bungie is not really promoting self-preservation this week. Maybe it’s just me, I don’t like dying.

    Of all the games I’ve played, there has been only one instance where I went up against a team of pros. I could usually holdup well against most games where there are 1-3 really good people (TS and BTB) on the other team. This game was Team Slayer DMRs – Treasury. Mic’d (making calls), accurate grenades, teamwork, power weapons, paced DMR shots.. etc. are the signs of pros. I hope I never play against good MLG people again, I went 2-17.

    There are at least 32 inheritors. They signed up in HaloCharts.com but there are probably more out there. I myself am getting close, I am a brigadier already.

    • ZaganZee says:

      Hate to burst your bubble here, but Brigadier is roughly 1/15 of the way to inheritor in terms of credits earned. http://halo.wikia.com/wiki/Rank_(Halo:_Reach) I’m also a brigadier, and I calculated that I’d have to hit the credit limit for 158 days to reach ineritor. And the apparent halo CE remake is going to be released on November 15 this year, so I feel it’s unlikely I’ll ever get there.

      • CallUpChuck says:

        That was my attempt at dry humor. First time I’ve heard of the Halo CE remake, I might have to check it out once it arrives. I hope the pistol is still OP as it was before.

      • i’m glad you clarified that Chuck! ha. i was sitting here trying to think of a nice way to let you down easily about the progession. :mrgreen:

      • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

        Don’t worry, Chuck. Snicks tends to crush dreams from time to time. She does it to me daily (usually with a sticky grenade).

        Haha just kidding. But I did manage to pick up on your sense of humor if no one else did, probably because mine is much the same.

        While it’s true that as far as the number of ranks you have left isn’t that much, the credit total needed to advance each rank increases exponentially starting with field marshal. That;s what makes those higher ranks such a grind.

      • everyone picks on me 😦

      • Chris says:

        Bless (insert chin up simile) DLTBGYD

      • CallUpChuck says:

        I thought the way snickerdoodle crushes dreams was with 10 kills with a gravity hammer?

      • John says:

        No, she does it with that blooming concussion rifle on Dino Blasters which I died to many times last week 😦

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Im at Legend right now and i dont think i will ever get to Inheritor. LOL. Its pretty far fetched but me and my son are gonna try! My son is determined to get the Haunted Helmet. Definately would be awesome.

      • John says:

        I plan to keep on playing while I find the game enjoyable, I’ve been pleased at the updates Bungie have provided to keep the game enjoyable. I’m currently General Grade 4 and it’s a while until I reach Field Marshall, I can’t see me going much higher than that. According to the excellent Reach Service record my predicted progress is:

        Field Marshall – 28 days
        Hero – 90 days
        Legend – 169 days
        Mythic – 261 days
        Noble – 380 days
        Eclipse – 512 days
        Nova – 732 days
        Forerunner – 908 days
        Reclaimer – 1216 days
        Inheritor – 1524 days (4 years!)

        John

  11. Red Vee XIII says:

    Scratch that last comment. ALL Action Sack games are pretty good.
    And there’s no need to boost, either.

    It’s better to enjoy your games than boost for a measly 7777cr

    • Tom says:

      Agreed. HaloBall Xtreme is particularily effective, having all the upsides of griffball but in an even more confined space.

  12. REvOfEv EcHELoN says:

    Easy easy weekly before we get our feelings hurt by the Package LASO, however if you pace yourself and just try to get all the challenges done this week you’ll have 77 revenges easy by the weekend. Of course if your one of those people who would like the credits now boost away lol……… However i have a few words for Bungies superjackpot weekend, i have been playing annoying objective based games that take way to long on BTB all weekend long for three days all before 12 and havent got a single Jackpot, I finish my games and i never betray people on purpose anyways, plus when bungie did this a few weeks ago for the Defiant map pack for 7000cr i was getting them after only playing a few games in the playlist. Well im sure there are some of you who got all three really easy just by playing 1 game but i guess thats why they call it random.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I played about 6 games of Score Attack today and got 2 big jackpots. They were both right around 3,000, so that was awesome. They seem more regular now than they were before for some reason. Good luck.

  13. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Love this weekly! I’ve always been a huge fan of weekly challenges that you can accumulate as you play throughout the week, especially when it’s something like revenges!

    As some have already said, SWAT is great for racking up revenges. You don’t even have to go for the specifically, just hold your reticule a little higher for head shots and be sure you’re quick and efficient on the trigger and SWAT should come fairly easy for you. You’ll rack up the revenge kills along the way.

    Grifball would also be good for this, as mention previously. Anything where you have a confined space and two teams of four like that should yield a fair amount of revenge kills.

    Best of luck everyone!

  14. I gotta say that Griffball is the best solution for me with this.
    Constant revenges for me. The key is small battle 4×4.

  15. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  16. John says:

    Any plans for another Halo night to organise on here some time this week? Action sack seemed pretty good when playing from some of the people from here last week so I’d definitely be up for another night of that.

    So far my revenge count isn’t looking so hot, just eight revenges in just six games.

    John

    • John says:

      Doing a bit better now…up to 30. I notice in Griffball if the ball carrier kills you then plants the bomb you get a revenge which is handy although I came across people doing this intentionally as they didn’t care about losing the game.

  17. Saber says:

    snickerdoodle says:
    09/05/2011 at 04:03
    “don – they took assassinations out of hockey so that’s a no go anymore.”

    Thanks for mentioning that, I was beginning to think I lost my touch! LOL
    I sorta like playing it both ways, but somehow assassinations never get old? I like all the different animations that go along with ’em. Good Luck with the Weekly Everybody.

  18. Chris says:

    yes right , the sort of know how that got you all the way to colonel.Good job

    Thanks for the advice I’ll file it under ‘B’

    regards
    cjc

  19. Colossalslayer says:

    i just got my weekly i playd 22 games of swat and i got it plus i got general grade 3

  20. Ninpo Pandemic says:

    I actually got this done in a couple of hours in Grifball. I definitely recommend that. Seems everyone who goes into Grifball has the same idea, haha! As a result, there was very little scoring of the ball. I even saw one guy hold the ball and watch the rest of the players go nuts on each other…

  21. JustHawkeye says:

    If anyone wants to put a grifball team together (I am tired getting betrayed for the bombs and super fast plants) send me a invite GT JustHawkeye. I’m in Central Time zone and on in the evenings and mostly everyday in the day time.

  22. Garr Komtaree says:

    Okay, this weekly is completly stupid… seventy seven revenges…. really catering to the weekend players bungie

    • John says:

      Should be doable in one weekend, in fact should be possible in a day. I’m half way there from a single session played after work and reckon I should be able to finish it with one other.

      John

  23. Shane says:

    As Tom said above, HaloBall Xtreme is a good gametype for this. I found it better than Grifball because:
    1) No betrayals;
    2) One round and no idiots scoring after 4.5s and screaming “look at me, Mom!” meaning you have time for revenge;
    3) When you get killed you can easily spot where the other player is on the deathcam and get to them quickly;
    4) Even playing field w.r.t. weapons.
    All this means quick games and high rate of revenges (12 for me in my first two games). Throw in the multikills, double sprees, and assassinations and baby, you got a stew goin’.

    • Where is this halo ball extreme located, I cannot find in the playlist.
      Also I see something about Hockey in here as well, but cannot locate!
      I am about halfway done with this and play really just a few games of Griffball doing it.

      • Tom says:

        HaloBall Xtreme and Hockey are both found in “Action Sack” under the “Community” playlist.

  24. nic says:

    how exactly do u get revenges

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Hi Nic, welcome to the site. If you read the post you’ve commented on you’ll see I talk about how to get a Revenge and good strategies for doing so. In this case ‘Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you’.

      Cheers
      MV

      • nic says:

        I’ve read it for about a month now.
        about the revenge, does it have to be in a time limit or can i kill someone
        before i kill the guy who killed me?

      • Garr Komtaree says:

        You have an unlimited time limit as long as you kill the person who struck you down first

  25. Stephen says:

    Someone probably already mentioned this, but how about Double Team? There’s only two guys to kill you so I’ve been getting about 7 revenge medals every game. Usually ranges from 5 to 10.

  26. Jesse says:

    A general question, maybe someone could please answer:

    When hitting the “back” button (on the controller) during a Firefight Matchmaking game, does this cause “LAG” ??? When I press it, it looks like the screen is getting choppy.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

