10th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click Read More to view the commentaries for today:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. A Side of Huevos – Kill 40 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in Nightfall on Normal – 1000 cR
  4. Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 40 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

Commentary follow after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

Today I’m not recommending Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse, at least not yet. Go into FF Arcade and aim for the next challenge, then use either 2XSA, Gruntpoc or Generator Defense to get the full kill volume as needed.

Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

18th November. That’s the last time we saw this. And yes I hate assist challenges too, but at least they’re a lot less frequent these days. Assists are slightly harder on Firefight I think (you have to deal 40% damage and someone else kills them within 4 seconds). My recommendation is to play Courtyard, as you tend to stick together in the entrance to the spawn room so you’re more likely to help assist and get assists from your team mates, whereas you spread out on other maps. Particularly the Brutes and Elites are easiest to get this on, and communicate with your team that you’re doing this so they can get the kills and you get the assists.

A Side of Huevos – Kill 40 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in Nightfall on Normal – 1000 cR

You get 50 something bullets, so just go through and headshot everything you can. Note it is only the Sniper Rifle you can use to get the challenge, and it has to be a headshot. I played through to the end of the first camp (before the big creatures), then restarted the mission and got everything next time around. Don’t forget that Grunt’s heads are slightly lower than the tanks on their backs and forward. There is a checkpoint trick you can use to get this quickly, get a checkpoint trigger just behind the first Elite, headshot him, then reset the checkpoint, rinse and repeat.

Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 40 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

Your multiplayer automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler, Plasma Repeater and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. Rumble Pit can be really helpful too running around blazing the AR, but it’s tempting to pick up other weapons.

You’ve probably seen my post this morning about the Game Night tomorrow night. Feel free to come on in and bring any friends and partners as you want. Space is obviously limited on the groups but there are always people on you can add and form your own groups if you want. You can also start using the RDC Game Night page as your hub for upcoming sessions where I’ll keep all the details updated.

60 Responses to 10th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Juggernaut says:

    They have been doing the ” now I have a machine gun” challenge quite a lot recently. I would much prefer one with the pistol!

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    just get a friend in ff arcade,u go and mellee an elite,then ur friend quickly finishes him off…done 🙂

  3. Scruff UK says:

    30 assists is ridiculous; that’d take forever from playing ‘naturally’. If you are going to do this, then Sniperfight or Fiestafight (with any precision weapon, but preferably a sniper) is the way forward. Go for one body shot on every enemy you see and hope that someone else finishes them off for you. Or do it with a buddy, running round with a plasma pistol whilst your buddy has a DMR. You could in theory do this challenge for all four people in one game, but it seems highly unlikely.

    I can’t do the Campaign challenge either because it will ruin my perfectly placed Campaign checkpoint (which this week is me getting a headshot on a Grunt with a pistol and then falling off a cliff). So I guess I’ll just do one game of 2x Score Attack and then move into MM! 🙂

    I’m a bit miffed that the only MM challenge is AR-based. Doesn’t really mix well with the Weekly, which much better suits SWAT and Action Sack.
    Quickest way to get the challenge if you’re not bothered about Revenge medals is in Rumble Pit and Multi Team, as you’ll have a lot of people running around with low shields/health. Someone else gave a tip the other day of doing this with a jet-pack, and this does indeed work very well; people in the middle of a firefight often don’t realise that you’re raining AR fire from above, poaching their kills. On smaller maps like Countdown, run in, melee to take out their shields, jump backwards and finish them off with the AR.
    If you want to get this whilst also going for the weekly then Team Classic would probably be best. Most games start you with the AR, there are less weapons around in general, the maps are all pretty small, there’s no armour lock, and you’re still playing 4 on 4 so can often find the guy you want to kill.

    • Bowtie Bob says:

      If you have a second controller, just play co-op to get the headshots.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        But that will erase ur campaign current progress,so that wont work

      • Luke says:

        It won’t ruin your Solo campaign if you’re playing Co-op.

  4. Chris A says:

    Question: can u only acquire the “fire” helmet by ordering the Legendary edition of Reach? Or can u “reach” it through rank i.e. Legend, Mythic. Etc?
    Also I’m getting a butt load of “revenge medals” on the Griffer. 32 on Mon. Woot woot!!!

    Thanks Spartans.

    C.A.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      No you can only get the Legendary flaming helmet with the purchase of the Legendary edition of Halo Reach. Although, according to some websites you can easily mod a flaming helmet effect onto your Spartan by having an Xbox profile with the flaming effect on it, on a USB and transferring to your Spartan.

      Check it: http://www.xboxmb.com/forum/63-halo-series/2408-ultimate-halo-reach-thread-credit-mods-glitches-boosting-ranks.html

      In the link click the second tab (mods), then the first sub-tab (flaming helmet TuT).

      Sir Galahad 63

      • Chris says:

        Wow I love it when you guy’s get your geek on , I’d like to think I understood everything
        your saying …. alas I don’t .So I will adopt the technique I employ whilst conversing with
        my ex-wife and smile and nod my head in agreement.:)

        cjc

      • Chris says:

        @Sir Galahad 63 did you find your Noble maps ?

        regards
        cjc

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Lol I’m not geeky, I just like to speak efficiently, though not something most people would expect from a 15yo 🙂

      • Matthew Vose says:

        And there is nowt wrong with being a geek, it’s my way of life 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I havnt actually had a chance to download them again, I just don’t have the time or the internet usage to comply with my Halo needs 😛
        However I will confirm with you if it works when I download it again, if not within the next 2-3 days.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Indeed yes Matt, Geekiness is not a lifestyle that should be frowned upon, for we are the ones that provide for the other ah less academically fortunate human beings 🙂

      • Chris says:

        np 🙂 Any time you use the phrase “Legendary flaming helmet” in a conversation its welcome to Geekville.

        Oh yes Mr.Vose your King of the Geeks , with Scruff as the Prince in waiting …….. 🙂
        nowt wrong we it , owd lad 🙂 your RL support cancel’s it out anyway.

        regards
        cjc

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Well I’m glad to be a part of it (Geekville that is) 🙂

        Geekville FTW!!

      • Chris Atreides says:

        Thank you Sir, I appreciate it. Viva Reach!!!

        C.A.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        No problem! 🙂

      • Chris Atreides says:

        It’s better than asking how to be a “Legendary Flamer.” LOL I heard over a Nerd Alert you can aquire the helmet once you reach Legend status apparently that nerd was wrong. Thanks again.

        C.A. aka Spartan Geek 010 😉

      • Chris Atreides says:

        So I just looked at the site…amazingly awesome, thank you. One more question: Do I download it from my PC onto a thumb drive then upload it onto my 360? Thanks again Sir.

        C.A.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I havn’t tried it and I wish not to, as it is cheating. If you didn’t buy the legendary edition in the first place you shouldn’t have a flaming head. But it’s your choice what you do, it won’t make that much difference to anything in game. Sorry that I can’t help that way. :/

      • Chris Atreides says:

        No problem, I was just curious. If they have that site why can’t they patch those mods? I’m no cheater I was just curious. Now I am an a$$hole but that has nothing to do with Reach. Thanks a ton for all the beta. I’m not a big fan of “fire-head.” 😉

        C.A.

  5. John says:

    Wouldn’t mind trying to get the 30 assists as I do like Firefight matchmaking although I’ve only got 29 revenges so far and feel I should work at that. I find the easiest way to get assists (usually unintentionally) is to hit Elites with a charged plasma pistol, people frequently seem to get the kill off me before I managed to switch to the DMR and do so myself.

    John

  6. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    On the huevos challenge does it have to be on normal or can it be heroic?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      It has to be on normal. It’s easier that way anyway, why would you do it on heroic?

    • Scruff UK says:

      It says “on normal”, so I’d do it on normal.

      Also I hope your name is a Things To Do In Denver When You’re Dead reference.

      And I’ve been publicly outed as a geek. Wahh 😦 Where’s my superinjunction when I need one?! 😦

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Lol by “publically oiled as a geek” are you implying that we’ve left you out of Geekville?

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        *outed, not oiled. Darn the auto spell check on iPod touch! Grr!

      • Chris says:

        The Prince of Geekville has a ring to it 🙂

        “Where’s my superinjunction when I need one?” is that quote from Max Mosley ….
        I’d only raise your super injunction with a Tweet or two anyway …..

        regards
        cjc

      • Chris says:

        lol Idea for new reality TVseries “Oil your Geek” …….. need to check if geek
        oiling is still legal . 🙂

        cjc

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        “Injuction” meaning (law) a judicial remedy issued in order to prohibit a party from doing or continuing to do a certain activity.
        “Super” meaning – to an extreme degree.

        So if Scruff UK is the Prince of Geekville, may I ask what that makes Snickerdoodle? Princess?

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I don’t think Snicks has a title. She’s just the boss.

      • :mrgreen: i knew there was a reason i loved you guys :mrgreen:

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Lol, geek oiling. Kind of like that show, “Beauty and the Geek”, except they are shiny and slippery lol.

      • Mister Shhhhhhh says:

        Few and far between are fans of ttdidwyd!

        I like to boost up some commendations in these campaign challenges so I do them on heroic.

        Git ‘er done!

  7. i’m not sure if i should be flattered or shunned at being left out of the geekdom talk…

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Oh no you haven’t… Princess…

    • Chris says:

      As discussed previously no Royal family in the good old US 0f A but you can
      run for El Presidenta of Geekville , a position of some importance 🙂

      regards
      cjc

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Haha this just gets funnier and funnier. Humorous geek talk amuses me.

  8. Chris says:

    Is the term “Geek” used in a derogatory fashion by you modern youngster types ?

    I was called a geek by my brother in law sometime ago , so if it was meant as an insult
    I’ll go and punch his lights out 🙂

    cjc

    • Matthew Vose says:

      If ANYONE uses it in a derogatory fashion around me they get a piece of my mind. I openly call myself geek, I have a mug that proudly states it (alongside the MS logo).

      Intelligent, clued up, good with modern technologies and very commited to the people around them – that’s what a geek is.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      It depends on the person saying it and in what context they use it in. No one on this forum has used the term “Geek” as an insult, as far as I can tell. We call each other geeks because we are and we are proud of it.

      If anyone HAS been insulted, sorry, but we don’t mean it derogatoritively (did I just make a new word?!).

    • John says:

      Many, many moons ago when I was at school the term was derogatory although now I’d say when I come across it the term is used as a compliment. That said I prefer when people use the term ‘guru’ particularly if they’re needing a favour 😉

      John

  9. Chris says:

    Oiled or not I use geek as term of endearment.

    Sir Galahad 63 “derogatoritively” sound good we’ll all be using it tomorrow.I’ll add
    it to the Dictionary of Geekism 🙂

    Now stop all this chat about Geek Chic , this is a place for Reach challenges only , its
    not here for you enjoy yourselves , you all keep taking the subject off topic ….:)

    cjc

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Haha thanks. I agree we do get off topic but it hops with the morale of RDC.

  10. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    This Firefight Assist challenge is tough. I played a game of Firefight Arcade and went around the whole time spamming the Plasma Pistol and only came out with 6 Assists. Im pretty sure it would be hard to get them even if you work with someone just because of all the chaos.

    • Shane says:

      Assists are tough. When I was trying to up my commendation I was kind of frustrated with that. I found Nadefight pretty good for them though since you do a lot of secondary damage. No one ever picks that mode though.

    • Braythor says:

      Arcadefight is great for the assist challenge, I just got it in 3 games on that mode, with about 7 or 8 to spare. It’s also good for boosting the AR and grenade commendations and gives a good cR haul – I was getting 4K per match not including challenges.

      • John says:

        Agreed, I was getting seven to eight per game without trying and as you say the CR payout is pretty good given the games are normally fairly quick.

        John

  11. Wunschkind89 says:

    I’m surprised no one has picked up on the Die Hard reference to “now I have a machine gun.” :/

    Invasion would be a decent way to get this challenge also – Elite slayer would be best though.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I assume you’re new here, so welcome to the site. If you look on the right you’ll see a link for ‘Challenge Names 101’. It’s a good read, and NIHAMG is the third entry XD

      And thanks for agreeing, I always just go nuts with the Needler when this challenge is on.

    • John says:

      *facepalm*

  12. This Machine says:

    Easy way to get the assist challenges: Get good with the Pro pipe’s EMP ability in Nadefight. Fire an EMP grenade into a large cluster of enemies and have a teammate mop up the unshielded targets. I got over 15 assists doing this. So can you!

  13. KingoftheRats says:

    Are some playlist still doing double exp because I just got 6000cr in my jackpot playing squad slayer?

    • REvOfEv EcHELoN says:

      Niice!…Yea Squad Slayer, Arena Slayer, and Defiant Map Pack all jackpots doubled till the end of the week.

  14. a inferior race says:

    I’ve just started reading this site and I have to say I quite like it and it’s a very good idea.

    Keep up the good work.

  15. Scruff UK says:

    Halo hates me. 4 games last night; 29 kills with the AR out of the required 40, and a paltry one revenge medal. Argh 😦

    • Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

      Yeah, I had a bad run last night. I did get my 40 kills, but also 16 revenges, so lot’s of death. Went negative on plenty of games. I’m sure it’s lag LOL.

Leave a Reply

