13th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR
  2. Showtime – Earn 5 assists in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR
  3. Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  4. Vengeance Found – Earn your ‘Revenge’ in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode ni Reach – 1125 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly if you don’t get it in the other challenges…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Showtime – Earn 5 assists in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

Rumble Pit is good for assists since it’s just bullets and fists flying everywhere! As usual with assists you can do well in a Team game type if you pair up with someone, tell them that’s what you want to do and join forces, using Sniper Rifles, Plasma Pistol overcharges and the like to do max damage to someone, and your partner finishing them off. Don’t forget an assist is classed as doing 40% or more damage to someone with another playing killing them within 4 seconds.

Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

The Frenzy is 10 kills without dying. Not necessarily in a short space of time. This will come down a lot to personal preference. Immediately I think Grifball, Juggernaut in Rumble Pit or Team SWAT for me. Grifball might be best although it’s so easy to be killed or betrayed you’re likely to get annoyed, however if you can get your timing in and get to the spawn points to take the opposition out as they spawn – annoying I know as the person spawning but admit it – you would if you were in that position! BTB can be really good if you can get in a tank type vehicle and just bombard the opponents.

Vengeance Found – Earn your ‘Revenge’ in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you. Chances are you’ll pick this up naturally, especially if a camper kills you and doesn’t move. That said, there are some maps that seem to make it easier, particularly ones where you can get back to someone really quickly. Team SWAT on Asylum’s good because you can snipe the guy who took you out from afar. I like Countdown because the high platform by the jets and ramps is always a killing zone that’s easy to get to and you’ll often find your killer there. Infection might be good if you’re the zombie and you get shot by a human and can then take them out. Grifball’s also excellent as it becomes a big melee you can get back to your killer quickly, especially those who stay near your spawn zone. Shame you can’t get revenge on Betrayals though. Everything you need to know has been discussed on the current Weekly Challenge, so have a read there and see if there are any other tips that’ll help you out.

And as ever if you have any thoughts please add them in the comments.

45 Responses to 13th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Happy Rebecca Black day everyone! 😀

    So in theory I’ll get all these today. Will get the kills just from my current Campaign commendation farming technique, and the Assists and Revenge challenges can be done easily in one game of Rumble Pit and SWAT, respectively.

    The Frenzy’s a bit more problematic though. Invasion instantly springs to mind; go for kills from cheap camping spots rather than going for the objective. Breakpoint seems to work really well for me here, although apparently it never comes up as an option anymore, and I might just do well on it because I know a good hiding spot to defend from! 😉
    An alternative way would be to go into Squad Slayer with a team of 5 who play well and know to communicate with each other, but that does require 4 other people who you know you play well with. Squad Slayer with randoms never goes very well at all, but in a team of 5 is *awesome*, and I always seem to do well in those games 🙂

    Don’t think I’ll be getting the Weekly though. I’m on Day 5 and I’ve currently got a whopping 4 Revenge medals. Ah well. It’s only 7,777 cR I s’pose 🙂

    • Braythor says:

      I know what you mean about the squad slayer with randoms – I got put in a team with a party of 4 against a party of 5 and I got massacred, partly because I’m crap but mainly because my party were French so I had no idea what they were up to…

      As for the challenges, they’re not too bad. Don’t think I’ll focus on any particular one though; gonna spend some time tonight swapping between swat and grifball to work on the weekly, so I imagine I’ll get a couple of them doing that, maybe even a frenzy if I’m lucky and come across some afk grifball players (not exactly sporting but too much fun to refuse).

      • FireySplork says:

        DOUBLE TEAM

      • Chris Atreides says:

        French? Like, “Thank you America for saving us from the Germans.” And before any Frenchmen get angry I do appreciate your help in our war for Independence.
        Side note, did anyone else absolutely abhor the glacier challenge yesterday? 1000 kills for 3k? I did it of course but when I was finished I didn’t have that cool “accomplishment” feeling. Instead I felt like a dog chasing his/her own tail for n hour and a half. LOL
        TGIF
        C.A.

      • hey now chris, watch it. you don’t want to end up with a sticky grenade on your helmet, right? 😉

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      I agree with you Scruff about Invasion for the frenzy also a good place to get the assists due to the length of the game!

    • Chris says:

      Is “commendation Farming” organic ? and can I get a EU subsidy to get into it ?

      🙂
      cjc

      • Scruff UK says:

        Sadly not; however you can spam message boards around the world with comments such as “WoW!!! Cheap Onyx Max!!!! Cheapest GOLD online!!!!!!!! Visit http://www.onyx-max.com!!!!!!!! IT CHANGE YOUR LIFEE!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE TEARING ME APART LISA!!!!!!!!!!!”

        Alright, maybe not that last line.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        So far Scruff you’ve had 21 clicks on the onyx-max link.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Seriously?! Hahahaha awesome. I don’t even know if it goes anywhere. People really don’t understand World Of Warcraft Chinese gold farming jokes, huh?

    • Nic says:

      I only need 12 more revenges.
      What is your commendation farming technique?

      • FireySplork says:

        Oni: run to the target locater, turn around get the checkpoint, get like 30 kills, and restart from last checkpoint. so on and so forth

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ There is actually a slightly quicker way of doing that, relying on forcing another checkpoint.

        And although that is absolutely the quickest way of both getting kills and commendation farming, I maxed Splash Damage a long time ago. So right now my Campaign commendation farming is focussed on pistol kills and headshots on Nightfall. Only another 8,000 pistol kills to go! :s
        See Youtube if you want the full details on how to do it!

    • FireySplork says:

      Play double team
      you get 5-7 revenges a game if ur a decent player

      • Scruff UK says:

        It’s a good strategy for revenges, but doubles is a horribly boring game mode. It just goes on and on and on! SWAT is pretty good for revenges, and it’s much more fun.

      • i don’t know…when you play a doubles game and win 25-4, it’s rather fun…. 😆

      • Nic says:

        Did the weekly. yay me

  2. porottaja says:

    Friday the 13th.

    I like to try sprees on Multi Team.
    Reflection+Elite Slayer+Armor Lock+Camping-on-lift may be questionable strategy, but effective.

  3. Scruff UK says:

    Just realised; Bungie missed an opportunity with today’s challenges…

    Ch-ch-ch-ah-ah-ah – 1,300 cR
    Get 100 kills a bladed weapon.

    … vs. Freddy – 1,300 cR
    Die 8 times and tie the game.

    Listen To Mother – 1,300 cR
    Avenge the death of the first team-mate killed in a match.

    Obey The Rules – 1,300 cR
    Get an extermination on a group of American teenagers

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Final Destination – Get out of a flying vehicle before it is destroyed – 1000 cR

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Game Over Man – Blow up a flying vehicle as an Elite – 1000 cR

    • Scruff UK says:

      ^ Nice 🙂

      Dereks Don’t Run – 13,000 cR
      Successfully prevent the alien invasion

      [/obscure horror references]

      • Shane says:

        “…I also want your balls”
        Pick up all three oddballs in a game of 3 ball – 1313 CR

        “Singh A Song Of Wrath”
        Infect 5 people in a Living Dead match – 777 CR

        “Feed Me Seymour”
        Complete 1 game of Haloball – 888 CR

  4. kenny says:

    If anyone want to party up in a bit send me a friend request i need to find others to play with gt=

    rancidkennykaos

  5. barry says:

    Double team is best for revenge particularly for weekly challenge.

  6. Corporal Alexei says:

    The challenges are nice today, decent for multi-player Friday…..though I can’t stop thinking about the impending Package LASO. Defending Halsey’s lab, although not the hardest of scenes in the game, is so long that you have lots of time to get hit by some bumbling grunt or brute….better have your “quick save” plan in place!!! But alas, why am I complaining about next week’s weekly when I still have more work to complete this for week’s?! 🙂

  7. Braythor says:

    Woooooahhh. Two great things just happened to me. First, and this is more of a personal thing, I got to play on a Noble map! Hurray, dino blasters on Tempest, such fun… Second, and this was unbelievable, after cursing people who voted for haloball over rocket CTF, I just got a 14,000 (yep, 14 thousand) slot machine bonus from it. I’ve never seen the slots spin 5 digit bonuses, anyone else?

    • NICE! congrats….on both counts! :mrgreen:

      • Braythor says:

        Cheers all. Yeah the notice about jackpot weekend came up after I reloaded, which I did twice in a row because there were far too many people voting for To the Death. I mean seriously, how anyone, ANYONE, can want to vote for that mode is beyond me! Even Shotty Snipers is better, by a long long long way.

        Glad to see the weekly get together looks like becoming regular. Look forward to it and I’ve a couple of ideas (well, more like suggestions on managing it) too, mainly relating to party size, but I’ll chuck them on the RDC game night section/hub once comments are enabled.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Thanks for being subtle Bray (no that’s not sarcasm). I’ve enabled comments in the hub page.

        Now excuse me whilst I discipline Snicks for such a lapse. Hard to get good help huh??

      • John says:

        I hate To The Death, it seems such a daft mode.

        I take it you can only get the high jackpot once a day? Just got 11298 credits after a second game on action sack so assume that’s it for tonight

      • John says:

        I’m just finding there’s quite a few modes I dislike in Action Sack…Hog-Potato doesn’t seem to really work anyway and I’ve yet to find a team (aside from those here) that understand how it works. One teammate today seemed to think the target was to blow the warthog up so it was a race to beat him to it and keep him and his blooming grenades away..

    • Corporal Alexei says:

      Damn….that is sweet. 14K is crazy. Congrats!

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Thats the best thing i have heard all day! Hope i have the same luck as you soon. And no, i have never heard of the slot machine going into 5 digits. Very nice. I wish i could say different but here lately i just havent been into playing multiplayer matchmaking. I will jump back into it when the game night starts again!

      • John says:

        It’s new for this weekend I believe, action sack is one of the gametypes with a chance of a 14,000 slot machine. I’ve finished off the revenge challenge so that’s probably enough Reach for me today but hopefully some people may be around over the weekend.

        John

    • HoodedSandman says:

      Congrats! And I got 11368cr on the slot machine after a game of Haloball. (Yiiipeeeee!) Played about 5 games of Action Sack before (just love dino blasters even if I get…).

  8. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Really pretty easy challenges today. I knocked all three of the MM specific ones out in Invasion. I even over achieved a little bit when going for the killing frenzy and made it all the way to a rampage before catching a tank shell to the face.

    As always, good luck to all of you!

  9. Tom says:

    Got the frenzy first game, so was pretty happy about that. Three off the weekly now. Should be a high paying day 🙂

  10. JustHawkeye says:

    I got 13 assists in one game of multi team and I wasn’t trying for the assists since I had already done them. Can’t wait for Wednesday, although a weekend game night would be great too,

Leave a Reply

