Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 16th May

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

The Package: LASO – Complete The Package, Legendary, All Skulls On (LASO) – 17000 cR

If you click on Read More you can also read the commentary on this challenge…

For me, the best section of Halo: CE was the missions in the tank. It’s such an awesome vehicle. And then in Reach those sections reminded me so much of it, I loved the game even more. In Mythic however, less fun!

The basic concept for the challenge is complete the mission on close to Mythic difficulty (Mythic is all of this challenge, in solo, without dying). I won’t post a full walkthrough here, because frankly the best one you can use is actually on Halo.Bungie.Org by Tyrant. As usual with these if you do die then quickly pause, save and exit, then restart from last checkpoint, so you don’t go back to the start of the mission.

Usually now you don’t need the Blind skull on – as ever can I get confirmation of this in the comments please?

If you have any tips on how to complete this challenge more easily, please throw them in the comments section for everyone to use.

Only the Pillar of Autumn remains. Wow, I bet that last Holdout section will be a breeze, especially when the final Elites show up. I wonder if after that we’ll get something in Lone Wolf? Like ‘survive LW for 20 minutes’?

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

64 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 16th May

  1. Hobocore says:

    Survive LW for 20 minutes? Please don’t give Bungie ideas!

    I’ve been dreading this weekly challenge, that holdout while you wait for the door to the lab to open is hard enough on legendary with no skulls, although hopefully it isn’t as hard as Exodus, that one too a friend and I 3 hours and lots of stress.

    • Nic says:

      I think Lone Wolf for 20 min would be easy

      • FireySplork says:

        With LASO, good luck with that

      • Scruff UK says:

        Well I think Lone Wolf for 30 min would be easy.

        lololololol.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I’ve finished Lone Wolf, killing all the enemies and saving Reach, unlocking the secret ending 😀

        (that’s a joke btw, I suck as badly at Lone Wolf as I do in Team Snipers).

  2. Pingback: 16th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  3. Scruff UK says:

    As usual there’s no way in hell I’m even attempting this! Good luck to those who do 🙂

    As far as future weeklies, I would actually bother doing one in Lone Wolf! After that though we’ll probably just get a whole lot of “do [x things] [y times]” challenges. Though perhaps we’ll get more Campaign ones, like “Collect all the Data Pads” or “Kill every Gold Ranger Elite in the Campaign” or “Complete [mission] SLASO without using the Save and Quit glitch” 😉 It’s about time we had some Firefight ones though, isn’t it? Feels like ages since we had one, bar the silly point-farming one we had a little while ago.

    How about “Walk 26.2 miles this week in any game mode”?

    • FireySplork says:

      I agree with the firefight matchmaking weekly. We havnt had one in months, its been LASO, matchmaking, LASO, matchmaking. We need one like kill 3000 enemies in firefight this week. That would be great and the cR would be like 10000.

    • FireySplork says:

      btw, whats ur gamertag

    • stevelands says:

      strangely apt, considering I’m actually running 26.2 miles on Sunday (and no, I’m not looking forward to it) 😀

  4. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    This one isnt as bad as i thought it would be. I started on it last night and made it to the end where you have to defend Halsey’s Lab. I really havent had any big problems yet. I am hoping to finish this today after i get back from my sons Kindergarten graduation. 😉 Good luck everyone!

    • awwwww congrats to your son! i have a picture of me from my preschool graduation somewhere, complete with cap and gown. i should dig it out! :mrgreen:

  5. Braythor says:

    Mmm, I think I’ll give this one a try; I haven’t done a LASO since Tip of the Spear as I couldn’t be bothered with LNoS or NA and I ran out of time on Exodus, but this one looks fun (I use that term loosely) and I haven’t got the tank achievement either…Still, Tyrant’s videos make it look so easy, and I know it won’t be. I also know that whenever he says “it’s very rare that will happen” it means “Braythor, that will happen to you”.

  6. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    I just beat the weekly. Good luck to everyone trying this! 🙂

    • Nic says:

      can you help me
      gt PhoneyBadge10

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        I would but myself i think its easier to do it alone. I do all the LASO challenges by myself. Just make sure you follow Tyrants Mythic Guide exactally and you will make it. It took me a while to get it.

  7. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I’m not even going to try, as doing it on plain Legendary I died what felt like 1000 times lol. Can’t wait until LASO PoA…

  8. Braythor says:

    Done, and with no real problems. The first phantom at the end didn’t fly off so I had to take it down with the wraith but generally this challenge wasn’t too bad at all. Shame I didn’t know you have to drive the tank to the door to get the Tank Beats Everything achievement…I suppose it won’t take long to get there some other time.

    • Chris Atreides says:

      What is LASO POA? My nerd alert immediatly started tingling. LOL

      • Braythor says:

        LASO POA is completing the Pillar of Autumn campaign mission on legendary difficulty with all skulls on (as per this week’s challenge). It’ll be the weekly challenge in two weeks.

  9. Westsideoc says:

    I already past the weekly challenge its so hard it took me 3 hours to pass it but the points are worth it and what is ur gamertag 🙂

  10. Grenada44 says:

    Is it possible to do the LASO in co-op? If so, me and my buddy should be able to wreck shop. We have done co-op LASOs on every level, but not for a cR challenge, so I dont know if it would “count”.

  11. Sergeant Jinto says:

    This was actually one of the easiest LASO levels I’ve played. The Scorpion at the begining of the level makes the first half super simple, and snagging a Banshee then a Wraith during the holdout at Halsey’s lab makes that last section easy too.

    Easiest 17,000 cR ever.

  12. Elite Eliwood says:

    pillar LASO will be very do able even the holdout part, which is the easiest part. however with yesterdays daily challange pillar fail, i learned that the mac cannon fight is imposible, its a pure gamble ether you die or you win… its a 80-20 chance.. the 20 is 20% of succeeding.. but just barely

    • REvOfEv EcHELoN (Lex) says:

      Hey I got a question about the Holdout part in POA you said its the easiest part do you have a shortcut through it or a different strategy because from where I stand that’s the toughest part of the mission. I’m not talking about the MAC gun part but Keyes the one where 3 waves of brutes come at you with jackals and the 3 brute chieftains of everrytype with a very healthy shield, not to mention the 3 zealots and the fieldmarshal after this part……ok so last night I was trying to complete LD Pillar and basically got stuck at the 3rd round of brutes with a shotgun and a plasma pistol against an FRG carying chieftain so I just gave up and did a game of Arcade and got the 5k so I wouldnt feel bad. Plus I exhausted all of my rocket and DMR ammo fighting the waves before this. If you got an easy way to skip this part I would live to hear it as it will come in handy for the POA LASO in 2 weeks.

  13. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    You have absolutely GOT to be shitting me.

    So I complete the LASO mission just now and as I open the door to Halsey’s lab, a grenade sticks me and blows me up. However, the cutscene still starts so Im pretty confident that I’ve completed the mission.

    However, the game literally stops MID CUTSCENE and brings me back to the beginning.

    Words can not describe my anger right now. Looks like I have to complete this LASO not once, but TWICE.

    • REvOfEv EcHELoN (Lex) says:

      Damn!!! Thats wild bro 😦 sorry to hear that. Hey me and Ether gonna do it in about an hour if you want some company…

    • Garr Komtaree says:

      Cry some more k bro. go to youtube and watch tyrants video… kill all the enmies before you attempt the button.

      • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

        Why don’t you use some form of grammar that’s not totally broken okay, “bro”? Typically people use capital letters after periods and spell out their words in the correct form. Maybe if you start doing that I’ll come close to giving a damn about what you say 🙂

        Anyway, I plan on attempting this later tonight. Thanks for the invite Ech, but I actually like flying solo on the LASO’s. Good luck to you guys though!

      • Shane says:

        😦
        That sucks. Good luck this time.

      • Scruff UK says:

        @Garr – was there any need for that?

      • bob says:

        @eyeohyou how do u lik dis gramer huh????
        lol

      • bob says:

        sorry, EyeOhYou, i was just joking.
        No harm intended.

    • Bowtie Bob says:

      If it ever happens again, you can shut off and reboot you xbox if you do it during the first cutscene. After restarting Reach, you’ll be back at your last checkpoint again. 😉

      • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

        Thanks for that Bob, I actually thought of that when it happened, but the mission had already restarted by that point! That definitely added to my frustration.

        Anyway, it’s all gravy now. I buckled down a knocked it out in under an hour on the second run.

        The 17,000 cR payoff definitely eased the pain a bit. Haha.

        Thanks guys! Best of luck to you all!

  14. porottaja says:

    This may be the easiest LASO after WC and Nightfall. I completed it solo and died just once in the beginning by ricocheting fuel rod to my own face. So I didn’t even need to cheat by save and quit.

    • well given your history, that’s not surprising 😉

    • Jesse says:

      It’s not cheating if you save and quit. If it was, and you did it repeatedly, you would be banned.
      Not nice to call out practically everyone as cheaters, as they attempt these LASO challenges – we ain’t all so gifted as some players.

      • Shane says:

        Eh, I save and quit and would *definitely* count it as cheating. LASO means you can do it without dying. Saving and quitting is exploiting a bug in the code (which I’m glad is there otherwise every second week would be Jet Set Willy hell).

        Maybe Bungie don’t ban it because either it’s impossible to detect or maybe they just acknowledge that it’s their bug. Patching it may require patching the binaries which is generally an expensive no-no after release unless absolutely necessary.

        Anyway, I think porottaja is just happy to have managed to pull it off and fair play to them.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Is saving and quitting cheating? Yes. But is it a cheat that affects other people? No. Doesn’t really matter. Everyone expects to either ‘save and quit’ on these challenges, or do them in co-op so deaths don’t matter so much.

        If they ever ran a “SLASO in one session without quitting” challenge, we’d see just how many people can actually do these challenges legit! 😉

      • porottaja says:

        I didn’t mean to offend anybody, but it is cheating, avoiding the effect of iron skull. I don’t care if somebody uses it and I would haveused it if I had died.

        And what history are you talking about, snickerdoodle?

  15. dotJSX says:

    Been Subscribed To Your RSS For About A Month Now, But First Time Commenting. Just To Clear It Up For You, Blind Skull Is NOT Required For LASO.

    Source: Its The Only Skull Not Listed When You Look In The Challenges.

  16. Garr Komtaree says:

    Already done it, easy.

    best trick yet again is to watch tyrants legendary guide works the same for LASO
    i had it done 20 mins before the challenge was handed out too 🙂

  17. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  18. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    I’m following Tyrants guide but I’m not finding the jetpack in front of Halseys. Also, when I grab a banshee and try to land on the roof, it explodes. Anybody else having problems?

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      When you get to Halseys Lab the Jet Packs arent marked like the other Armor Abilities. They are up next to all the ammo where you go into the building when the missions over. They are gray packs up next to the Rocket Launcher on the right side. Hope this helps you. 🙂

      • Mister Shhhhhhh says:

        I must have look at those things a dozen times in the past and run right by them! Thanx Dr H!

  19. Bowtie Bob says:

    Tyrants guide us great, except I didn’t get a wraith dropped outside the lab. Now I’m stuck hiding on the roof waiting for the other Spartans to kill all the ranger elites…unfortunately, the Spartans suck!!

  20. KingoftheRats says:

    Challenge complete just make sure to hijack one of the banshees and. It makes the end a piece of cake enjoy this one isn’t that hard. Goodluck everyone anyone need help send me a message GT KingoftheRats

  21. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Just knocked this LASO out a few minutes ago.

    As many have said, this LASO is very simple if you follow Tyrant’s guide. So simple in fact that I essentially completed it twice in one day (see my post above). The Wraith you grab for the last section really makes what would otherwise be a nightmare of a battle into a very straight forward bombarding session with one of the most powerful vehicles in the game.

    Good luck everyone! Just one more (unless they devise some sort of challenge for Lone Wolf – I doubt it) and we’re done with LASO’s!

  22. jim says:

    just beat it. not too bad, actually… as long as you follow the guide

    • Shobaleader One says:

      My thoughts exactly – i completed it in around an hour with 2 friends, the most difficult part by far was defending Halsey’s lab

  23. Wunschkind89 says:

    Fairly easy LASO given all the elites. I didn’t look at Tyrants guide, so apologies if these were mentioned in his vid, but a few tips: outside ONI, just let the spartan’s do everything – if need be, you’ll have some good chances to assassinate 2-3 elites to speed things up. Inside the base, the cloaked elites generally rush the spartans and just beat each other. One bullet to their heads once their shield is down – simple.

    In the Glacier section, I personally went with clearing out the map with just the DMR until there was nothing but elites. I took a few elites out with the help of the spartan’s, then hijacked a banshee. Usually the elites cluster at the foot of the ramp, so you can just mow them over. With the rest of it being straight forward, I had this done in less than 3 hours. Hope this helps! 🙂

  24. Tom says:

    There appears to be a trick fore Lone Wolf to survive for as long as you want, by sort of hiding yourself. Finding that glitch will be even easier than a campaign mission (heroic) within 15 mins>> see this week’s challenge.

Leave a Reply

