18th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are below, click on Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  3. Linked Up with Bungie.net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1750 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

This is over any number of games, so no stress to push for it at once. 50 should only take a few games though, Grifball and Multi-Team Battle are particularly good for getting a high number of kills in any one game, especially the objective based Crazy King and Oddball variants.

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

Linked Up with Bungie.net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR

You don’t even need to actually play, just enter the Matchmaking lobby and you’re there, on Firefight, Score Attack, any Competitive type. If you’re not already signed up, go to Bungie.net on your computer, and follow the instructions when you click ‘Sign Up’ in the top right, using the email you use for your XBL account to link the two. 3000 credits for about 15 seconds work!

Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1750 cR

Complete 15 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, and Grifball can be very quick depending on if someone goes for the score straight away!

And of course a good way to achieve 3 out of the 4 challenges today is to join in on the RDC Game Night later on. Me (Loreweaver), Snickerdoodle and Amduscias will be running Invasion/BTB, 4v4 and Custom games (respectively). Add us on XBL and jump in from 8pm UK time to have some fun times.

54 Responses to 18th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    I love that the new challenges come out at 7:00 pm here in Japan. I can be ready and waiting for new challenges, and attempting to complete the previous day’s like a madman! (Case in point, I JUST got “You Want This, Don’t You?” from yesterday’s on my latest match which ended AFTER the new challenges dropped. Phew!)

    Anyone on now that wants to jump into a party and work towards “Fire When Ready” and “Put Your Quarter Up” with me? My gamertag is the same as my name here, Sergeant Jinto.

  2. Scruff UK says:

    It’s almost as if they knew it was RDC Game Night tonight. Flat Tire just so we can all complain about Flat Tire again, especially since it should be Flat Tyre, and then three challenges that are effectively giving us cR just for playing Game Night? Awesome 😀 15 games might be pushing it a bit, 7 would’ve been a much more realistic number, but hey 🙂

    Speaking of Flat Tire, someone (sorry, I forget who) posted a video guide a little while ago that showed you how to get 6 or 7 Banshees per game in Holdout. So in theory it can be done in one game today!

    Prepare for the influx of people not reading the description for Bungie.net and asking in the comments how to do it…

    @Jinto – check the RDC Game Night hub page and see if you’re able to make it! I think you’re 8 hours ahead of the UK, which would make it… oh, 4am your time… Fancy a late night / early morning? 😉 Failing that there are definitely a couple of Australians here who will be in a very similar time zone to you!

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      Maybe on a weekend, but when I have to get up for work at 6 am that’s not an option for me. D=

      These game nights will be better for me once I’m back stateside from Japan, which should be next month sometime.

    • wbs Skatanic says:

      Probably ‘Tire’ as it’s such a damn bore/slog to get through it.

    • Braythor says:

      Yeah I recall someone saying something about waiting for the banshee on Holdout and then not killing all the enemies present when it appears, then it respawns at certain times. Damned if I can remember the details though. Still, at least it’s only 5… I wish they’d increase variety in FF challenges, like maybe kill x enemies WITH a vehicle (I love rampaging around Beachhead in the ghost). In fact that’d be a nice challenge for mulitplayer too, though it’d just be asking for trouble from certain self-proclaimed driving experts…

      Normally 15 games is a bit much, but of course tonight I expect to go well past that. Only 13K to go for promotion too, woo.

    • SangheiliSean says:

      you can get the 15 games rather quickly with infection, which goes by fast,
      hopefully I can go to game night but it starts just as I get home from school

    • Nic says:

      For the last challenge it would probably be easiest to do griff ball or living dead

      • Scruff UK says:

        This is true, but I’ll be in 4v4 / BTB for the evening, and theres little chance I’ll get 15 games in when you’re talking 15 minutes a game! It’s alright though… One game alone will get me more than 1750 cR, I can live without ’em 🙂

  3. Tim Everitt says:

    Between Sniper Attack on Holdout and 2x on Beachhead, 5 or 10 Flat Tire is a breeze these days.

    • Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

      Provided Holdout comes up, and when it does, with Sniperfight as an option. Spent half an hour rotating thru score attacks and it did not come up. Last time it was the same. I finally did get the challenge, but the time spent is disproportionate. If I were not anal about this, I’d pass it up. Might do so in any case as I will try to get on the RDC gaming night tonight.

      • Tim Everitt says:

        Here’s the post ScruffUK was referring to for Sniper on Holdout. This morning I got 4 during 1 game of Holdout, then 5th was a Wraith on Beachhead.

        Kenji Ono says:
        08/05/2011 at 02:28
        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=602116768&player=SOVGAZ#

        Just click on files, and you are good to go. All you basically do is get score attack-sniper on holdout and camp there. Then you have to kill enough grunts AS FAST AS YOU CAN until you get a score of 1200+, but don’t kill all of them or else reinforcements will come. after you get 1200+, a banshee will come within the next increment of 30, then every 2 min/ 2 min and 30 sec if you did it right. If you didn’t, the banshees will come every 3 min/3 min 30 sec and you will only get 4/5 (like most people). my 6 banshees in the vid came at 12:20, 9:30, 7:25, 5:00, 2:46, 0:27.

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        Hey, at least it’s not “kill 1000 covenant on Glacier” and not have the map ever come up :p

  4. Zen says:

    Disregard my stupidity, but where is the “crow’s nest” on holdout? The sniper is there???

    • Scruff UK says:

      No, it’s the best place to snipe from. It’s that little hut on the raised bit, on the left of the map as you look out of the start room. Get on the roof of it and stay on the outside of the railings (to avoid the soft kill zone) and you can camp there and snipe away 🙂

  5. FireySplork says:

    Fire when Ready- Play for fun and you will get it in no time.
    Link up- Easiest 3000 credits of your life
    Flat tire- Always annoying. However firefight is always fun. Just play like you normally would, getting 3000+ a game and sooner or later you’ll get it.
    Quarter up- Im repeating myself, but just play for fun and it will also come

  6. Nic says:

    How do you get the linked up with bungie.net?
    I signed in to bungie with my XBL account then played two games of living dead but I didn’t get the 3000cR

    • Scruff UK says:

      Remember that time when I said how people would start asking about how to do this challenge?

      You have to LINK YOUR ACCOUNT. You’ll know if you’ve done it right because on the Bungie website you’ll get the opportunity to put one of those cool little pictures next to your name in Reach. I has the Halo 2 logo, for I am an awesome Original Xbox person 😉

      • Madar says:

        I tried to do that – but I still don’t have the 3000 credits. I’ve now got the Halo 3 logo on it – but yeah, still no luck!

      • Scruff UK says:

        Obvious question but you know you have to play a game in matchmaking, right? Try coming out of Reach and going back in, just in case. I know this challenge can be temperamental – if it’s still giving you problems, sign into bungie.net on your computer and stay signed in while you fire up Reach. The last two times this challenge has come up I’ve had to use that method, and each time the challenge registered as complete just as my first game started.

      • Shane says:

        I has the Halo CE logo for I am an awesome PC person ;-).

        Cue the Marathon players…

      • Phil says:

        Okay, I’m a bit late to the party, but I has the Marathon Durandal logo for I am an awesome Macintosh-before-Bungie-sold-out-to-the-Evil-Empire person! 😉

      • biodrumr says:

        I feel as though there should also be some sort of Oni logo too, even though it may not exactly be a first person shooter…just sayin Bungie.

  7. SensoryFour34 says:

    For Fire When Ready, you say 50, but then you say that 30 should only take a couple games.

  8. Mr Postamn 117 says:

    For the linked up, I dont have a computer. N I dont get 3g or 4g for my 4g phone where I live so If I do it it will take forever! so if im signed up for bungie pro, thats the same as bungie.net right?

    • Scruff UK says:

      No, it’s not. But if you’ve linked your account to bungie.net in the past, you don’t need to do it again. For instance I’ll get the 3,000 cR as soon as I play my first game tonight.

      Failing that your only options are to briefly borrow someone else’s computer / internet connection, or just accept that you won’t be able to get this challenge done 😦

      • Nic says:

        Am I missing something i still cant get that challenge

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        If you already have your account linked all you have to do is start a game of MM and as soon as it starts looking for people to play just exit out of it. Thats how i got it without playing a game or anything.

  9. Mr Postamn 117 says:

    Yeah I got the bungie pro so I could expand my file share. So with that said, u said it will automatically give u the credits? Awesome!

    • Scruff UK says:

      It gives you the credits IF you’ve linked your account – and signing up for Bungie Pro does not necessarily link your account. If you’ve ever been to bungie.net and linked up your Gamertag, then you’ll get them. If you haven’t, you won’t. Simples!

  10. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Well they have Doubles Attack now but i think its only for the map Unearthed for some reason. Atleast thats what it says. I will check in a few and find out.

    • Tim Everitt says:

      Defiant Map Pack had the only FF map, so for a limited time we get Score Attack Doubles style for Unearthed. It’s quick fun.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah even though its just Unearthed, its still fun! I have been waiting on Doubles Score Attack for a long time.

  11. kenny says:

    I think bungie hates me i cant get vehicles in firefight i’ve played six games on beach head, and outpost and no vehicular enemies

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      When you do Beachhead go and grab the Ghost and drive it up to where you spawn and hide it to where it wont get blown up. At the end when the drop ships come in there should be a couple of Ghosts and/or a Wraith.

      • kenny says:

        Usually but i havent had one vehicle get dropped off yet im getting very irate and the skirmishers are making it worse lol most annoying enemies ever

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Another option for you Kenny is Doubles Score Attack on Unearthed. I played it twice with a friend and both times we got a vehicle at the end. The first game a Wraith was dropped and the second was a Ghost. I know most of the time its random but who knows.

      • HoodedSandman says:

        I really enjoyed the new doubles score attack together with my son but I have never seen any vehicle drops on Unearthed. Any clues on what triggers these drops?

  12. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    I just did Sniperfight on Holdout and got 4 Banshees and 1 grunt got on the turret for a total of 5 vehicles in 1 game. I had never found the hiding spot until now and i have to say its a good place to wait on the Banshees to come around without getting killed. Trying to get a good amount of Banshee kills = 1 long game of Score Attack! LoL! 🙂

    • kenny says:

      I just did the same lol didnt have all 5 in one game but i got it on the same map with snipers i hid on this catwalk off behind the spawn

  13. Mr Postamn 117 says:

    Thanx scruff. I logged in on bungie.net so I guess it wil work. Kool! Now if I could just get that pesky weekly laso

  14. Simmons9552 says:

    Hey it’s Simmons again and thank god these challenges are easy. For the flat tire challenge just go on rocket or sniper attack on beachhead. You’ll get at least 2 wraiths and a ghost. For the kills I did squad slayer. For me I get like 40 kills a round but that’s just me. So that’s it for today and also add me my gamertag is Simmons9552.

    • Shane says:

      There are some very good flat tire tips on this page and in the archives. Should help you get the challenge faster.

  15. I am Gozer24 says:

    Is anyone else like Nic and Madar having difficulty with the 3000 cR challenge for Bungie.net? It absolutely will not pop for me. I tried Firefight Arcade, Score Attack, and Team Slayer. Nothing. I went back to the dashboard and logged into my Bungie.net and got back into the game and tried Matchmaking while logged in simultaneously and still nothing. Turned of the XBox and restarted. Still nothing. Seems as though this challenge is so odd it could easily be very buggy and frustrating. And yes my account is linked and I have a pretty picture as my profile pic.

    • I am Gozer24 says:

      I even completed an entire match while logged in. Nothing. Guess that’s 3000 cR I will not be getting. I think they need to work out some bugs there.

  16. brady cook says:

    how do you link your account with bungie.net

    • Nic says:

      FInnaly figured it out just sign in to your bungie acount then get a nameplate.
      Then start a game, you don’t even need to play

  17. Corporal Alexei says:

    Five is certainly better than ten, but how I despise flat tire…..oh well, if that’s the worst part of my day, life is looking good. 🙂

    • brady cook says:

      Thank you Nic,
      I was still trying to figure it out forever, and that worked 100%
      Thank you again (:

      • brady cook says:

        Thank you Nic,
        I was still trying to figure it out forever, and that worked 100%
        Thank you again ((:

  18. Chris Allison says:

    Sorry to ask such a noob question, but I have been using your site exclusively to help with the daily challenges for about six months and everytime the “FLAT TIRE” challenge comes up I see that HOLDOUT is the best option to which I agree. Herein lies my question: where is the CROW’S NEST?? Is this figurative or seriously like a nest by the rocks/trees at either end of the map? Thanks to anyone who can help me clear this up!!

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      The crow’s nest is the shed/outhouse like structure on the top of the building you spawn in, you can get on the top of it and there is a spot near the railings where it won’t kill you (e.g. Return to Battlefield 10,9, 8 etc). Sniper Fight is obviously best for this. (ref ScruffUK)

  19. Pingback: June 1st Challenges and Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

