19th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, clikc on Read More to view the commentaries for them:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  3. Killgruntjaro! – Earn 7 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. Points, Points – Score 15,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break:

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there were about 28 in the 2x Score Attack I played.

Killgruntjaro! – Earn 7 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

In Gruntpocalypse (or indeed 2x Score Attack or whatever’s your preference) this is so easy. The enemies come out of the doors/dropships/appear in groups of 5 or so, and you can easily shoot 3 or 4 of them straight away. Multikills do stack so an Overkill counts as 3 – double, triple and 4 kills. Therefore just play the game and take them out when you see them together.

Points, Points – Score 15,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

2X Score Attack all the way on this one. Or any of the Arcade variants work too. I seem to remember completing this one with a couple friends in either Rocketfight or Fistfight on Courtyard. Just remember this has to be in one game.

Have a read on the roundup for last night’s awesome Game Night action, and if you want to lead a party next week please put your name down in the comments.

29 Responses to 19th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Tom says:

    Meh. Easy challenges, low payouts.

    • Shobaleader One says:

      Agreed, i wish they would give us at least 1 difficult, high payout challenge a day – especially on firefight thursday, they really need to spice it up a bit, i’m so bored of firefight!

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Well, these are surprisingly easy. Three of them you’ll get in your first game of 2x Score Attack, the Elite challenge following in the next game.

    @Shobaleader One – Agreed. Really they need to overhaul the entire single-player FF experience. I’m sick of going in to Score Attack to try and get one specific mode or map, only for it to never come up. I don’t see why we can’t specify a map, and then the game variants (of which there should be more) come up as the random three options that we then choose between.

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      “I don’t see why we can’t specify a map, and then the game variants (of which there should be more) come up as the random three options that we then choose between.” <–This

      I can understand the random choice for Firefight Limited/Arcade, but if you're on your own, especially if you're trying specifically to beat your friends scores on the leaderboards, it'd be so much better to pick and choose map/gametype.

    • FireySplork says:

      @Scruff UK – They should give us a list of all the maps and then we can choose which one, then we should be able to the game type

      @Shobaleader One – I agree. It DOES get very boring but at least this way, I dont need to spend all my time playing Firefight, I can go back and forth between FF and MM to enjoy myself rather than sit infront of my xbox counting down how many kills i have left to go.

  3. Matthew Edwards (Amduscias) says:

    Honestly, it’s easy credits, and since I’ve usually got the spare time to get them, I just zone out and listen to Ricky Gervais or Steve Merchant podcasts. 🙂

  4. Niisama Broham says:

    Quick and easy credits that can be done on an hour lunch break.

    It would be nice to have new challenges though. Spice things up a bit.

    Maybe something a la ODST; “Good Samaritan” – don’t kill the engineers on the Corvette map but you still have to deal with the normal enemies… could be a 3-5k challenge depending how long the game is (1 set or 1 round).

    Yeah, this FF Thursday is going to be simple but still enjoyable nonetheless.

  5. Chad says:

    Does anyone know how many enemies are on a Doubles Attack map? Is it just a standard Score Attack split between the two people, or does it have 330 enemies like a 4-player firefight?

  6. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    One game of 2x score netted me 24 elites and the other 3 challenges in 8 minutes. Easy but low payouts

  7. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    My first game of FF was Score Attack on Beachhead and i netted 7,411 Cr. So that was awesome. Cant ask for easier challenges than this.

  8. Sean says:

    agree with everyone else – 2 score attacks and done. It would be nice to see some harder challenges for us FF people like getting the higher multi-kill and spree medals.

    Killionaire
    Invincible
    Corrected
    Sunburst (I only have 1 of these)

    Medals like that. I don’t know about any of you but I have a hell of a time getting Corrected before dying in an explosion chain reaction or getting stuck in return

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Right now i have 3 Corrected, 5 Killionaire, 59 Invincible and 0 Sunburst. I always try to get that one but it seems to me i have to get the shot lined up just perfectly in order to take down multiple enemies with one blast. I think the most i have ever gotten in one is 3. LoL. Is there any easier ways of getting a Sunburst? And what gametype is best for getting them? 🙂

      • Scruff UK says:

        Fiestafight, all the way. A Splaser with unlimited ammo? Yes please. I’ve got a few Sunbursts and I’m useless with the Splaser and generally poor at FF. Sunbursts are EASY on Fiestafight, particularly in Arcade because you can just hide out of the way somewhere safe and splipe from a distance. Yes I said splipe 😉

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah i forgot in Arcade Fiesta Fight you have unlimited ammo. I hardly ever play anything other than Score Attack. I might have to try that and just keep dying til i get one. LoL. Too bad Fiesta Fight in Score Attack doesnt have unlimited ammo. Makes me wonder why they give unlimited ammo to Arcade and not Score Attack Fiesta.

      • Scruff UK says:

        For the same reason that weapon pick-up is enabled in single player but disabled in multiplayer… It’s to stop every game turning into Rocketfight 😉

      • TheChrisD says:

        5 Corrected, 4 Killionaire, 81 Invincible and 0 Sunburst (at best, 4 Laser Sprees).

        Very nearly got a Red Menace, but just missed getting 4 with my last shot 😦

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      I have 2,398 Pummels. I was thinking about going into a game of 2X Score Attack and just using Melee attacks to see how many i can get in 1 game. I love Firefight so i try to give myself challenges of sorts just so i will play the game more. LoL.

  9. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    I’ll use my pistol and a plasma pistol to boost up my small arms commendation. Maybe snipe a vehicle or two.

  10. Wunschkind89 says:

    I recommend snipers on Beachhead. Get the jetpack and camp on the ridge to the right of the structure you spawn in. Nothing should be able to shoot you given you’re too far away. I can’t see how you can’t get all 4 challenges in one single game, plus the sniper will build your Dome Inspector and Longshot commendations too.

  11. Braythor says:

    Just got all those in one game of rocketfight on Overlook – 48K score, 42 elites, 180 kills. Oh and 88 multikills (honestly, 7???, why Bungie, why?). Had one AFKer which did help and though it was a nice total of over 8K cR in 15 mins I wish they’d give us a bit more to do on firefight thursdays, as I do enjoy the mode.

  12. Matthew Vose says:

    When next week we’re given something difficult or grindy to do I’m going to point all the people whinging back at these comments. Be careful what you wish for folks… 😉

    • TheChrisD says:

      As long as it’s not 1000 enemies on map-of-bad-framerate, I can’t wait for more challenging shit next week 😀

    • Braythor says:

      Yeah fair comment Matthew, I would MUCH rather have these than, as has been said, kill 1000 on Glacier for measly cR amounts. Or any flat tyre challenge…

      But while I’m in whinge-like-a-child-half-my-age mode, what is it with people voting for Haloball? I just played 5 games on action sack, 3 of which were Haloball, and not by a small margin of votes either…And this isn’t a one-off. Still, I suppose I had a great game of shotgun assault to make up for it.

      • Scruff UK says:

        I KNOW. At least Haloball is over quickly; last time I went into Action Sack I kept getting Hockey, which is so much more annoying now that they’ve taken assassinations out. In the end I just started going entirely for kills / assists, since the ball physics are so broken that scoring is just a matter of luck anyway.

        Think I’ll only be going into Action Sack with a group from now on, the few times I’ve gone in solo I’ve been subjected to a load of games I didn’t want to play!

    • t-rOY says:

      I for one am very glad I’m done with my dailies. At times these challenges feel like a chore, and in those cases, I can’t wait to get them done so I can work on completing the campaign or attempt to do a LASO challenge (I usually pass on these.) And as much as I love playing Reach, I’d really like to spend my gaming time on playing games I got for my birthday over a month ago. Those poor discs haven’t seen the inside of a console, and their cases are collecting dust.

      • Scruff UK says:

        You do know that nothing terrible will happen if you don’t complete the challenges, right? It’s not like Bungie will walk into your house and assassinate your family. If you don’t want to complete them and would rather play other games… then just play other games 😉

  13. Elite Eliwood says:

    uuughhh soooo bad challanges today… ive gotten only 4% to next rank which is 8000Cr and only 5000Cr were from the challange. took me only 2 games. i xpected more from FF tuesday, i love flat tire ones, the 15-20 vih kills. those take like 10 games which is 20,000Cr only for just the matches. awwww today is sad day! yatatatata

  14. SnuK evoX says:

    Is it me or are there incredibley easy challenges and then really hard ones. I’ll take the easy pts any day- leaves more time to play multiplayer.

Leave a Reply

