23rd May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. Pass the Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. There Are Many Like… – Kill 100 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  4. A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 100 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary to follow after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

125? Time to get our grind on. Multi Team Battle is the best way to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other mode. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or three, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Pass the Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

You can get lots of assists in Multi-Team, mostly because a number of firefights always open up, especially in Crazy King or Oddball. I’ve used Team Slayer for assists in the past which isn’t bad, and Rumble Pit is also worth trying. We’ve not had an assist challenge for a while so I’ve not used the Action Sack games for it – any thoughts from the group about what works well?

There Are Many Like… – Kill 100 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Needle Rifle and Focus Rifle. Nightfall is good, because you start with loads and loads of ammo for the Sniper Rifle, and you can shoot the first Elite in the head, restart checkpoint and do it over and over, although for 1000 that’ll get a trifle dull. Winter Contingency from Rally Point Bravo which has DMRs in the base and lots of guys dropped off to shoot at you. I think ONI Sword Base also starts off with the DMR as well.

A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 100 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

This just cries out for a quick jaunt into your favourite Gruntpocalypse map. Personal recommendation is for Corvette, so you can use the platforms by the corridors into the spawn room to snipe quickly from. Then if you need to retreat you can do so easily and use the corridor to funnel Grunts down, shooting them as they appear. There’s no requirement for how you kill them, so grenade, Pistol, DMR or melee, whatever seems appropriate.

So we have a short Weekly Challenge in Campaign, a grindy MP challenge, a grindy Campaign challenge and an Assist challenge. Not sure how many friends today is going to make in the challenge community!

Don’t forget to check out the updated RDC Game Night hub page for details for this week, to put your name down as PL, and note that we’re planning to do some Halo 3 gaming next week.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

45 Responses to 23rd May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Hmm. I don’t want to give up my commendation farming checkpoint in campaign. And I don’t have enough time for 125 enemies in MM. I might just do the grunt challenge. Too easy 🙂

  2. Scruff UK says:

    Yep, don’t think I’ll be doing many (if any) of these today! As far as assists go, I’ve found Rumble Pit gets me way more than any other mode, usually close to 10 per game. Lobbing grenades up the yellow lift in Sword Base is a pretty easy way to get an assist or two if you happen to be near there at the time, and the central ‘pit’ area in Pinnacle is a good spot for assists as well. As for Action Sack, the only modes good for assists are the ones that aren’t fun to play, i.e. Hockey, To The Death, etc. Though I guess you could play Shotty Snipers and deliberately just go for body shots with the sniper. Just got to hope that one of your team-mates finishes them off for you. So to speak.

  3. mickoboy90 says:

    im gonna go for the wekkly challenge today,and the rest of daily challenges apart from 100 precosion kills i think.

  4. Tom says:

    This is more like it. Especially with the biggest joke of a weekly ever.

  5. kenny says:

    Did they do something to prevent the target locater trick? I tried doing it today to try and finish off a few commendations and I got no credits for it at all

    • Scruff UK says:

      You don’t earn cR from any commendations you have already hit silver level on, except for when you hit a milestone (i.e. hitting gold and onyx). It’s not new, you’ve probably just hit silver on all the commendations since you last tried the target designator.

      • kenny says:

        Oh ok I thought you kept getting them until you maxed it out

      • Scruff UK says:

        Nope, just regular cR up to silver, and then only one-off payments at gold and onyx. And you get precisely 0 credits for taking a commendation from Onyx to Onyx Max. Even though I told myself I wasn’t going to bother taking anything to Onyx Max for that very reason, I’ve found myself doing it just for completist value 😉

  6. SensoryFour34 says:

    I don’t know about you, but I’ve never gotten 125 kills in one game of Grifball!

    • t-rOY says:

      my wife hit 137 in one game of g-ball. her gamertag is mieko23. it was an unreal set of circumstances though. Our teammates lagged out and we were in the 3rd round of the game. It was us 2 vs 4 and I thought for sure we would get spawn-killed or they would score the bomb to close out the game. To our surprise I was able to pick up the bomb, and she was cleaning up the other team while I ran back and forth across the map. We played out the game through all 5 rounds & I believe we got the win 2-1 or 2-0. Sorry I don’t have the link, but you can check back on her history if you want proof.

      Anyways 125 in one game is still possible if you are teamed up with some friends who run the bomb until the end of sudden death and just let you concentrate on hammering away. My wife got around a 100 kills on a number of occassions because me and our other friends try to run the bomb back and forth until the time runs out on all 5 rounds of a g-ball game. Other team will get pissed, but its just how some play the game.

  7. ya says:

    Haha, serves you right for trying to cheat the game

  8. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    “Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or three” – If you can get 125 kills in 3 games of Grifball, you are probably just lucky. I’ve played games with 60 kills or so. But then right after that game I’ll play a handful of really fast ones, with people scoring really quickly and only getting like 5-15 a game.

    I’d say a better estimate is 5-8 games, unless you’re playing with a group of friends in which case you can just hog the bomb and let your teammates rack up kills for 3 minutes then score in sudden death.

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      That comment came off sounding sort of rude, so I’ll reiterate: If you can get that many kills consistently in Grifball games you are definitely of skill, but it also depends on your teammates desire for quick scores or to grind kills.

  9. biodrumr says:

    I’ll probably skip out on trying to get the 125 MM kills tonight unless it happens over my regular playing.

    I hate those challenges because those of us who actually enjoy playing Grifball get pissed because it ends up full of a bunch of douches holding the bomb so everyone can rack up kills.

    Other than that, the other challenges will be a breeze, and quite fun to do.

    I’m not sure why they don’t make challenges specific to a certain playlist in order to get people to use them properly. Like plant the bomb 10 times in Grifball. Or infect 20 human in Infection, etc.

    • Tim Everitt says:

      If I’m the douche that holds the bomb, are you the douche teammate that betrays me to grab said bomb and run it in? 😛

      Racking up multi-kills, including the rare extermination medal is another component of Griffball, including the objective of running it in.

      I get your point, you want to run the bomb in, in 10 seconds, for 3 rounds, making the payout 23cR.

      • biodrumr says:

        You don’t get my point. I want to play the game, rugby style.

        I’m not the guy that runs in and tries to glitch through the scrum and run it right in.

        I’m the guy that grabs the bomb, backs off, and waits for my teammates to clear a proper path to the goal.

        And yes, I would betray you if you were a little bitch running back and forth with the bomb with no intent to score 🙂

    • Corporal Alexei says:

      Hey, there biodrumr. I think its fair to say that I am one of those douches you are referring to. Nice to meet ya! 🙂

      • biodrumr says:

        BTW, as I feel this is incredibly important…my service tag on Reach is DBAG 🙂

      • Sir Emmortal says:

        Same.

        Name a better way to get your mutlikill and spree commendations up and I will listen, otherwise STFU.

  10. Chris says:

    Douches Verses Bitches , I the sound of that 🙂 but if your a Douche bag bitch which side would you be on ?

    I use the term Douche Bag purely for comic effect , it has no place in the English language.Next I’ll be
    saying “The dudes a F**king camper man ,I f**king hate campers man” over and over and over and over again,
    in fact for the entire length of a SWAT game.Happy days

    cjc

    • biodrumr says:

      It’s much like road rage. You get pissed at anyone who is driving in any way other than the way you drive, regardless of how good a driver they may/may not be.

      So when I, for example, want to play Grifball for kills, everyone that wants to score is a DBAG. But when I want to play the game as it should be played, everyone that is credit farming is now a DBAG. 🙂

      Funny how that works.

      • Chris says:

        Too true

        I’ve found a simple solution to Grifball , whenever I feel the need to play it , I just bang
        my head against a brick wall …. same effect …….same result. Pointless and gives you
        a headache.

        regards
        cjc

      • Scruff UK says:

        Played a game last night with a guy who was complaining about everything that he got killed by. It went like this:
        “Oh yeah, great, kill me with grenades, you have no skill.”
        “Oh you can only kill me with a DMR? Wow, lame.”
        “He’s got the energy sword again? What a loser.”

        It was fun 😉

  11. Woodrow says:

    Would I be right in assuming that since I don’t want to lose my saved campaign spot, I can get challenge through campaign matchmaking?

    • ❓ campaign matchmaking??? do you mean co-op?

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      I would use a second controller but matchmade campaign should net it as well yes. Or you could just wait to do the challenge, since we have all week. Grind your commendations and once you finish you can do the challenge in a few days.

    • Woodrow says:

      Yes, I mean matchmaking >cooperative >Campaign.
      I’m not LASO-good, but I try to get all the dailys.

  12. Rhino says:

    I find that Squad Battle is excellent for assists. The maps are typically Asylum, Countdown, Powerhouse, or Zealot and you frequently get the DMR start loadout. So that’s 5×5 with a lot mid-range shooting and support from your teammate, which equals lots of assists. It’s fairly easy to get 4-5 assists per game and not unusual to notch 9-10.

  13. clutch1965 says:

    score attack, gruntopolypse on the pillar of autum site is a easy way to get 100 grunts. I like to camp in the
    hallway on the main level, there is a ammo cache in the back for easy dmr refills. The grunts all funnel in
    the door for easy sniping.

    For the precision kill challenge Nightfall work well. When one grunt is left in the area past where the elite is
    assasinated reset to last save. rinse wash and repeat.

    • biodrumr says:

      I actually find it easier to get through all 120 grunts on other maps. They don’t come quick enough when you camp on Holdout. My favorite is Unearthed although Beachhead is good too. High vantage points close to ammo caches.

  14. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    Multi team all the way for assists – especially if you can get people to vote for Crazy King. I got 18 assists (and like 40 kills) in a crazy king on reflection.

    • yanno. i tried this tonight and couldn’t get assists for the life of me. i’d chuck a grenade into the hill and get double kills out the wazoo but no assists. of course, when i want the multikills, i get assists out the ass. 😕

      • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

        It helps to throw grenades on the outer edges of the hill (people just walking in) or to simply get a good vantage point and shoot people. I would stay on the ground above the hill and pop 3 pistol shots into each person before they walked in and let my random teammates pick them off. If you’re playing with friends you can even sit next to each other and just shoot the same targets (not exactly playing the objective, but rack up a few assists then actually capture the hill)

      • lol, that’s exactly what we were doing. we weren’t even going for the hill and we didn’t even come in last. and my friend got 2 triple kills in one game with the plasma pistol on accident. it was just not my night and that’s okay. 🙂

  15. DCSimian81 says:

    39 kills in my first game of Grifball today 🙂 Was pretty happy with the result! Though it does seem like fewer and fewer people are playing it.

  16. Jez says:

    That forklift thing is a bitch to do right, but certainly makes the weekly challenge quick once you get it. It took me several tries and a respawn to get it right, but I still made the time limit with five minutes or so to spare.

  17. Tom says:

    Any tips for the forklift. Its driving me insane.

    • Jez says:

      I had to check the videos again to check what I was doing it right. What I had to focus on was making sure my character lined up with roughly the middle section of the gate (where the two doors meet) when he was hopping out of the forklift. Basically just get as close to the middle as possible, and once you’re wedged up against it just try making very slight forward/backward movements of the forklift till you get through.

      • Tom says:

        Just realized I totally posted this in the wrong section. Meant to put it in the weekly… oops. But thanks for the advice regardless, I’ll give it a go.

      • what seems to do it for me is if the forklift is angled slightly so the front end is sticking out to the right a bit more. not sure why but that seems to be the only way i can get through.

Leave a Reply

