Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 23rd May

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Not In The Face – Complete any Campaign mission on Heroic in 15 minutes with Black Eye on – 9000 cR

If you click on Read More you can also read the commentary on this challenge…

Dear Bungie,

Thank you for the challenge system you implemented with Reach. It is really enjoyable, and adds a great element of variety as well as longevity to your game.

However I feel I should point out that I might be lynched soon if the Weekly Challenges continue to be not only Campaign based, but also able to be completed in one quick sitting. You see, my lovely readers are clamouring for more of Dedication/Time, or some large target kill volume type of challenge that will take several days to achieve. This week I can confidently predict that you will be seeing tens of thousands of players running through Nightfall.

To help you with any future thoughts, we will be compiling a list of possible challenges in the comments section for this post. Please feel free to use any of the suggestions. To start us off:

Score 350,000 points in Firefight over the week
Kill 500 enemies in Multiplayer Matchmaking
Finish a Skirmageddon game

Please do not take this as a complaint about the system, but a humble request for future variety, mostly in the interests of my own safety.

Hugs and kisses, your dedicated servant

MV (aka Loreweaver)

———————————————————–

So you should all be thinking the same thing I am – Nightfall, speed run. I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments.

And yes before we get ranty comments, it would have been nice to have something other than Campaign, or something that took more than a single play session to achieve, but our Glorious Bungie Overlords did not see fit to provide on in their infinite wisdom. We must trust their judgement. But as above please do add into the comments ideas for future Weekly Challenges, fun or serious, and I’ll put the best ones on Twitter and in future posts.

Don’t forget to check out the updated RDC Game Night hub page for details for this week, to put your name down as PL, and note that we’re planning to do some Halo 3 gaming next week.

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the option on the right.

135 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 23rd May

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    “Finish a Skirmageddon game.”

    LAWL.

  2. Sean says:

    “Complete a game in every playlist in multiplayer matchmaking except Defient”
    cR 18000

  3. mickoboy90 says:

    I would personally recommend doing the winter contigency mission. It is really easy and I think everyone knows what to do 🙂

    • Dude, Nightfall is WAY easier than WC…. 😉

      • mickoboy90 says:

        Im not gonna play nightfall speed run ever again…me and my brother tried LASo but when we got behind the gate with the forklift,all enemies spawned. We tried 10x at least

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        For some reason, if you’re playing Nightfall on Co-Op, the enemies WILL spawn past the forklift glitch. If you’re playing solo though, they will not.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        well,i dont play solo cos me and my brother play on same xbox…so its winter contigency for us…anyway, i think its really easy

      • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

        I did a Nightfall co-op online with a friend and I glitched through the door with no enemies spawning. I sprinted to the end before he was able to glitch through as well, so maybe if one of you stays behind they wont spawn?

      • JustHawkeye says:

        I find that when doing the nightfall glitch on co-op, if everyone sprints forward once spawned behind the gate and doesn’t look back, the enemies don’t spawn. If someone doesn’t sprint forward or lags behind then you tend to get beamed back behind the gate and the enemies will spawn when Jun opens the gate. The best way to make sure this doesn’t happen is to stay behind in the caves and have one person glitch across the and run to the end of the level. I often do the forkllist glitch in co-op with an extra controller so i don’t have to mess up my farming checkpoint. 🙂

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Yeah but it may take more than 15 mins.

      • Winter contingency would take me about 17 minutes to run through. It is hard because you have to wait for the door to get opened. Otherwise, you can just push through. I have never really tried to do it without screwing around.

      • John says:

        Just finished Winter Contingency in around 13 minutes on my first shot so easily possible, I didn’t want to use the Nightfall glitch (and never have) as that seemed to make it too easy. Definitely a daily challenge rather than a weekly.

        John

  4. Pingback: 23rd May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  5. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Ha. I lol’d at the Finish a Skirmageddon idea. Everyone knows that’s impossible!

    Kill 10 000 enemies in firefight matchmaking this week.
    16 000 cR

    Play a total of 15 hours in any game mode in Reach this weekend.
    20 000 cR

    Complete the Reach campaign on any setting without using ANY armour abilities.
    30 000 cR

    Also on a side note I think that Bungie should allow in FFM Score attack for the player to be able to choose what map and mode. Post your thoughts?

    Sir Galahad 63

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      I’ve actually finished a Skirmageddon game though. ^^;

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      “Complete the Reach campaign on any setting without using ANY armour abilities.
      30 000 cR” This will be impossible, because during Exodous you HAVE to use the Jetpack to get across with the Bullfrogs.

    • gans42 says:

      a few things: 1) skirmigeddon isnt so bad…you just gotta throw away your self respect and camp with a headshot weapon next to an ammo crate (drop shield helps too). 2) its supposed to be a weekly challenge, not a weekend challenge, so limiting the 15 hours to the weekend is unfair and hypocritical of the name ‘weekly’. 3) its impossible to complete the campaign without armor abilities, unless you propose a way to get through exodus without a jet pack

      • ooooooh i think someone forgot to take their sarcasm meds this morning! c’mon buddy, it’s all a joke and for fun. it’s not like b.net or 343i are actually going to stalk this blog and use these ideas.

        and even if they did….so what? not everyone likes the weekly challenge. i sure as hell don’t like LASOs so guess what? i just don’t do them and accept that i won’t get the cR.

        oh and it’s not hypocritical to have a “weekly” challenge take place on the weekend. sat and sun are still part of the week. 😉

      • gans42 says:

        Alright, let me clarify, I wasn’t trying to be cold-hearted by shooting down the ideas, I was just trying to point out some flaws, as you’ll notice, I didn’t criticize all the suggestions, I thought the killing a cumulative amount in firefight was good (something we haven’t seen before), also cumulative play time is also good, I just am not a fan of a weekly challenge being available only certain days of the week. The whole point of weekly challenges are so that you can get them all week (believe me I know that sat and sun are part of the week thanks to Rebecca Black). Again, I wasn’t trying to be cynical, I was just trying to be realistic, in the event that they actually take these suggestions in to consideration.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Just so we’re totally clear (and I may add a disclaimer to this effect) – Bungie are not going to take any of our ideas and use them. My blog has nothing to do with them, and chances are they stopped reading a long time ago if they ever did.

      • HoodedSandman says:

        The Exodus without armour abilities, has anybody tried old-school fragjumping? 😉 or maybe with the rocketlauncher? 😉

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Yeah well I forgot about Exodus!

    • Shane says:

      10 000 enemies! x-D

      How about “Complete a week of MM without using Armor Lock” – 20 000 Brownie Points!

      I wish they’d change the stupid level selector in Score Attack but I’m not sure if they could do it without a patch.

      What I believe they *can* easily do is increase the number of voting rounds so that every option is eventually covered. They’ve increased the voting rounds in other modes so this is probably just some server-side constant. Sure, it could take a few minutes to hit sniper attack on Holdout (:-D) but it’s better than unplugging my ethernet cable every 2 minutes.

  6. Scruff UK says:

    Must… Avoid… Ranty… Comment…
    On the bright side, this is like entering a gameshow and getting £9,000 for successfully answering the question “What is your name?”

    I might even leave this until about 10.56am next Monday, just to add a bit more of a challenge element to it. 😉

    Future Weekly suggestions:
    GOOOAAAL!: Be on the winning team in 100 Objective games in Matchmaking this week (hardly anyone plays Objective, and the reward structure of commendations tends to favour kills over ‘playing to win’ in Objective games; this could be a good one to get people actually playing properly for once. As long as you rule out Grifball, anyway)
    This… Is My Boomstick!: As a human, survive an entire round in Living Dead (never seen it happen)
    5 by 5: In a full party of 5, win 5 consecutive games in Squad Slayer (the most uncheatable game mode there is)
    They’re Baaack: Survive 50 rounds in the new Firefight: The Flood mode this week (come on… Flood FF would be awesome)
    …Problem?: Complete the Campaign on Solo Legendary with all skulls on, in one sitting, without exiting the game, collecting all data pads and killing all Gold Ranger Elites along the way.
    Bungie Pension Scheme: Earn 500,000 cR this week for a bonus 500,000 cR reward
    The Fast And The Porottaja: Whilst driving a Warthog, earn a Splatter Spree on your own team-mates.
    Whyyyyyyy: Enter Action Sack by yourself and play a game that isn’t Hockey, Halo Ball or To The Death!
    Remember This?: Complete Nightfall without setting foot in a forklift.

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      I’ve seen whole teams last a round in Living Dead. On Sword Base, all of the Survivors tend to camp at the bottom of the Red Lift and pick off the zombies as they try to come in.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Ah, I see how that could work, there really is only one way in to that area! Pretty much every game of Living Dead I’ve ever played has been on Pinnacle, Asylum or The Cage / Uncaged. I quite enjoyed playing Living Dead over the weekend actually, I think the increase to 12 players and the new Alpha Zombies mode have improved it all a lot, but I never hit the super jackpot 😦

      • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

        I’ve survived a full round on at least 3 different maps, if not more. Zombies has always been one of my favorite modes, and even not using the cheap spots (like the one ledge where everybody goes to on sword base) you can survive based on the ability of the zombies to all attack at once.

      • John says:

        I don’t like Living Dead at all after trying to play it again over the weekend, it seems more a case of who knows the defects in the map and how to exploit them rather than the game being played properly.

        John

      • JustHawkeye says:

        I played zombies 10 time or more and never got the jackpot. I also hate zombies now with 12 people since it ends up being a human camp fest. I also got betrayed by fellow humans for ammo and with no boot option, it’s about as much fun as a root canal especially when you’re a zombie 3 times inv a row. I also hate the campers on the ledges and stuff.

      • John says:

        I was lucky enough to get the jackpot on my second go on Friday although didn’t get it again after a few more attempts over the weekend, I quickly decided the gametype was too rubbish to bother continuing with rather than getting better as I’d hoped. It seems pointless unless Bungie fix the maps which I believe they can’t do.

        John

    • Hierakles says:

      WHAT… is your favourite colour?
      Blue! No, wa—
      AHHHHHHHH!!!!!

      • Scruff UK says:

        WHAT… is the average velocity of an unladen swallow?

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Am I missing something?? I Dont quite understand the whole… WHAT… thing.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Go watch Monty Python’s The Holy Grail and come back when you can stop crying through the tears of laughter XD

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I have seen that movie, but I only remembered key parts like the Knights who say Ni, and the killer bunny 🙂

        Oh wait, I remember now! Are you guys talking about the quiz the guard gives Sir (Lancelot?) at the very start? That was funny 🙂 I loved the coconuts so I got my dad to buy me one so I could be a horse ( when I was like 7yo, and I’m 16 now). Oh fun times.
        Geekville is happening again…

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I don’t know if anyone else noticed but the world didn’t end on the weekend? What’s with that?

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Meh, life goes on. (loljk)

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I just did some Wiki research (lol) and the Holy Grail plot follows King Arthur recruiting Knights such as Sit Galahad the Pure (thtas me!) from the Round Table.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        HEAD KNIGHT: We are now… no longer the Knights Who Say Nee.
        RANDOM: Nee!
        HEAD KNIGHT: Shh shh. We are now the Knights Who Say Ecky-ecky-ecky-
        ecky-pikang-zoom-boing-mumble-mumble.

        http://www.sacred-texts.com/neu/mphg/mphg.htm#Scene 1
        Lol, The holy Grail script

      • JustHawkeye says:

        European or African swallow?

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        There are some who call me.. .. .. Tim?

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      “- …Problem?: Complete the Campaign on Solo Legendary with all skulls on, in one sitting, without exiting the game, collecting all data pads and killing all Gold Ranger Elites along the way.”

      … I just noticed this one. The only way in HELL I would attempt this is if it automatically gave me Inheritor for completing it successfully. @.@

    • porottaja says:

      I would gladly have Bungie put my name on challenge, even though it would result in mass betrayals and kicks.

    • scruff gets my vote!

    • Garr Komtaree says:

      …Problem?: Complete the Campaign on Solo Legendary with all skulls on, in one sitting, without exiting the game, collecting all data pads and killing all Gold Ranger Elites along the way.

      NO ONE could do this,

      • Scruff UK says:

        The article does ask for serious and not-so-serious suggestions 😉

  7. Sergeant Jinto says:

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=619062419&player=Sergeant%20Jinto

    Bam, challenge completed!

    00:10:37 on Tip of the Spear.

    Here’s a link to the run I just did, if you want tips on a speedrun for Tip of the Spear. ->

  8. wnwoody says:

    When it comes to the weekly challenges being campaign based a lot, I definitely agree with you. Finish a Skirmageddon game was too funny, considering I don’t know anyone who has finished a round against them steroid version of those freaks.

    I’m a huge firefighter and I would like to see weekly like:
    – Kill 10,000 enemies in firefight matchmaking (11,000 cR)
    – Complete 100 rounds of firefight matchmaking (12,000 cR)
    – Complete 30 rounds flawlessly in firefight matchmaking (15,000cR)

    I would even be happy to see something like:
    – Kill 25,000 enemies in any Reach mode (17,000cR)
    – Kill 12,000 enemies in Firefight (not matchmaking) on Legendary with default settings and no custom variation of game type (23,000cR)

  9. I would like to see weekly challenges that would involve other game types.

    I like the idea of completing 100 rounds of Invasion.
    Perhaps infect 200 humans or kill 500 zombies. It is far easier to kill a zombie than infect a human.

    I’m not going to think of witty titles or Cr amounts for my challenges because Bungie don’t pay me enough. In fact they pay me nothing.

    Some great suggestions from the community so far though. Keep it up guys, hopefully some of them will be picked up by Bungie as I’m not much of a campaign guy but I do play a lot of FF and MM and would enjoy to try some of these out

  10. John says:

    Rather than just kill a large amount of enemies which is just a grind I’d prefer something that was a bit of a challenge like survive 50 or 100 rounds of matchmaking without dying.

    Very much agree with the article, very disappointed with the weekly.

    John

  11. Steve says:

    I like playing Skirmageddon…. and as long as I get Glacier, Holdout, or Corvette, I live to the end with only a couple of deaths (camping is the only way, granted, but I’m perfectly fine with that).

    These are some great ideas. I’d love if they actually came true. I’d like to see something about the medals, like Earn Every Weapon & Style Medal in Competitive. Or Earn 50 Medals in Each Gametype. Something like that. The volume kills over the week ones were great and I’d like to see those again.

    LASOing the entire campaign in a sitting would be rough, but maybe completing the entire campaign start to finish legendary, 4 player co-op. It’d bring me back to release night!

    What about Survive Lone Wolf on Legendary for 7:77?

    ZanyMex

    • wnwoody says:

      I like the Lone Wolf idea, especially considering that that map hasn’t bee used before…. at least to my knowledge.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Do you think there will be a Lone Wolf LASO weekly challenge? I think the idea to survive for 7:77 is pretty nifty, although i don’t know how I would do it.

  12. Elite Eliwood says:

    just to go a bit half-life style:

    “one single bullet”
    Finish the whole campaign with at least 1 bullet each mission.

    i like this idea because it makes you play the game thinking different. sure you can still use the sabre, and the MAC on the end should count as that 1 bullet that mission. you cant however be a driver or passanger of a warthog when it kills with the machinegun or cannons. would be a great thing. throwing granades is fine, so i think everything is covered to compleate the mission without a single bullet.

    • Elite Eliwood says:

      or to make it a bit more doable in a week:
      “Compleate *mission* with OLB”
      OLB is like LASO “One Last Bullet”

      not sure if it should be normal or heroic

  13. porottaja says:

    I read this challenge name in Grif’s voice.

  14. normally i like how the weekly challenges usually force people outside their comfort zones and to try something different than normal. ie, force some FF or campaign playing for those that like straight MM, no chaser.

    this weekly, along with the “get however many points it was in any FF mode” are both very, very unimpressive and not really much of a “challenge” at all. sad.

    that said, i like the idea of actual CHALLENGES such as completing X rounds, X games in specific game types, etc. whoever suggested forcing playlists like Objective had a good idea too. i also am a fan of Team Classic and wish they would do more to get those maps played some more. definitely looking forward to the H3 night so i can play the originals of a lot of them. 😉

  15. Wunschkind89 says:

    • Complete the campaign of Reach on Legendary with Iron on, without pausing – 25,000 cR
    • Finish 20 games of FF Score Attack without dying – 13,000 cR
    • Destroy 100 vehicles in FF – 17,000 cR
    • Obtain 2 killionaires in one FF matchmaking game – 15,000 cR
    • 100(?) assassinations in MM – 10,000 cR

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Killionares are too easy with the target locator in 2x score attack.

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        Could make it for FF limited. Between 4 people, getting the target locator twice is pretty fortunous.

  16. Haha. I haven’t even completed the campaign on Solo Legendary yet (stuck on the boarding of the Corvette in LNoS…), and never completed a weekly challenge (much less a LASO run of any mission), but this was ridiculously easy. Thanks for the free cR and 10G!

  17. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Halotracker.com has some of their own challenges that they put up all the time. Some of them are easy but some of them look really rough. Such as–Blind Luck- Finish Pillar Of Autumn on Legendary with the Blind and Tough Luck skulls on and get an Untouchable medal.–Adrenaline Junky- On Pillar Of Autumn on Heroic or harder earn 1X Buck Wild, 1X Sharp Shooter, 1X Red Menace, 1X Sword Spree, 1X Hammer Spree, and 1X Splatter Spree. I made up one called–Beat This- Use only Melee Attacks and finish 1 game of 2X Score Attack. Cannot fire any weapons. LoL. I actually did this with my son on Doubles Attack and it was pretty fun.

  18. Subject 6x says:

    Hey guys, would it be easier to do the challenge in four person coop? If so and anyone wants to try add subject 6x I will be on 2nite and 2moro at 9 est or so, and Wednesday early morning 8am est an on so help me out if u are willing

    • for me personally? hell no. *I* think it’d be harder but that’s just me. 🙂

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Only if you’re doing winter contingency, but nightfall is best with less. 😉

    • Scruff UK says:

      This challenge would be easier with four people in much the same way that ‘breathing oxygen’ would be easier with four people. Let’s face it, we could do this challenge in under 15 minutes one-handed with our eyes closed 😉

      • Subject 6x says:

        Little rude, to me it makes sense on nightfall even more so with 4 people because iron isn’t on, and it enables u to have 3 people act as decoys moreover, the melee to the best of my knowledge is universal, so for one smack u get a full shield charge, that being said, u could smack a teammate and get a shield back, I remember doing this in such a way on halo 3 that made laso stuff very easy, I am well aware that this could be done in a few minutes all by myself, but this would not only give me the chance to interact with other individuals here, but also increase the chance of success for those involved, this is not an attack on you personally I just thought it prudent to explain my thoughts

      • i don’t really think that scruff’s intent was to be rude at all. he simply gave his opinion to your question. your original question was clearly,

        “Is it easier?”

        that’s obviously a matter of opinion but odds are that no, it’s not easier with multiple people. even though iron isn’t it on, each respawn takes time if you both die and you only have 15 minutes.

        there isn’t anything inherently wrong with wanting to do the mission co-op or with XBL friends or anything, not at all. in fact, more power to you if you get someone that wants to give it a go with you on any level. i just know that for some of us, co-op isn’t an option or we just work better alone. both of those tend to be true for me, especially on speed runs. if it’s a LASO, i do like working that co-op but for something that’s time based? i’m running that solo – literally.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Ahh c’mon. Winky smiley indicates a slightly cheeky yet humourous reply. If you want a serious answer then no, it would not be easier; as earlier posts have said, playing Nightfall in co-op can lead to all the enemies spawning behind the ‘forklift gate’. There are also more enemies in co-op. Do it on solo and you can blitz the whole mission in under four minutes without getting shot at once.

      • matt a says:

        You can’t melee teammates to replenish. Only covies. Assassinations count as a melee strike though

  19. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    As many have said, this weekly is a breeze.

    I knocked it out with a Nightfall speed run in 4:48.

    Anytime you can get 9K cR for less than 5 minutes of work, i’ll gladly take it!

    Can’t wait to tackle the final LASO next week. Good luck all!

  20. kurt says:

    My idea for a weekly challenge could be to rank up in the arena, by rank up I mean the um..stars that appear on the side of your GT, for example from bronze star to silver star and so on and so on.

    Personally I don’t play much on the arena but I think that could be a real challenge, because you have to play at least 4 games per day.

  21. Chris says:

    I was going to comment but I want to be comment number 121 , so I’ll save it for later.Thk

    cjc

  22. Tim Everitt says:

    Complete Nightfall using the glitch on Easy 77 times – 777cR

  23. leroy getz says:

    Got to agree with scruff… something objective based. I love CTF but the playlist is dead in reach. Maybe complete a certain number of games instead of just winning?

    • Scruff UK says:

      I’d still stick with winning; if you make it just ‘playing 100 games’ then Objective would still suffer from the same problems it currently does, namely people playing only for kills rather than trying to score the objective 🙂

  24. clutch1965 says:

    how do you upload a picture/avatar when posting here ?

    With the exception of nightfall the laso challenges are pretty hairly at my skill level.

    Fire fight challnges can be very easy with custom maps. Having a weekly challange having to use only
    established maps would prevent this.

  25. thatbradcoleman says:

    Go Outside Challenge – Don’t Play Halo Reach for a period of 24 hrs – 1000Cr
    Building a Community – (Unsure what yet) Complete a task on Halo Waypoint or Bungie.net- 1000Cr
    Have Fun Breaking The Rules – Betray 5 Teammates in a Single Match – 1500Cr (having the chance without being booted)
    Out of Your Element – Earn 5 kills with your least used Gun in any Mode in Reach (makes you check you Halo Waypoint Stats, only includes Guns, not falls, explosions or vehicles) –1000Cr LOL
    What To Wear – Change All Pieces of Your Armor 3 times for 3 separate matches – 2000Cr
    Can’t Sit Down – Play an Entire Match without Crouching – 1500Cr (I thinks it’s just something everyone does without thinking)
    What The Heck, Am I Drunk – Invert your Controller for 1 Match and Still get (x amount of Kills) – 2500Cr

    Just some different things that made me laugh when some friends where talking about it awhile back.

    What

  26. clutch1965 says:

    dont allow custom maps for challenges, especially ff maps. This would make the challenge much harder.

    with the exception of nightfall the laso challanges are quite hard at my skill level. Beating them feels a hell of
    a lot better than winning with a gimmick/glitch like using the forklift.

  27. Subject 6x says:

    12000 cr complete a campaign mission without using a melee attack, or grenades
    7000 cr complete 5 consecutive games without advancing your jack of all trades commendation or earning a medal for it if it is maxed
    20000 survive in lone wolf(the final stage I think that has no end) for 2hours on legendary solo
    12000 cr earn 50 flag captures in mm Not stockpile
    9000 cr finish the week with a 1.8 kd or higher
    17000 cr win 20 games of rumble pit with a 7 or more lead on the second closest player
    11500 cr earn 20 double kills without eod or close combat
    These are just a couple I think would be cool

  28. Matthew Edwards (Amduscias) says:

    Hoo boy. I just did it on WC with a few sloppy deaths and thirty seconds to spare!

    😀

  29. Matt says:

    Just did it in 13:22 (postgame score report time) on Winter Contingency. Didn’t do anything too fancy – skipped Grunt/Jackal/Skirmisher fights #1 + #2 and Elite fight #3, drove like hell to the riverbed, hid behind a rock and got a ton of pistol and DMR headshots, threw a sticky in the courtyard to clear the jackals and grunts, got more headshots while waiting for Kat to do her slow work, popped the first Zealot with DMR headshots, grenaded/shot the remaining jackals and grunts, headshotted the final four grunts, noob combo’d the final Zealot, and hit the switch. No deaths, and only used the healthpack before the final Zealot in case he tossed a plasma near me.

    Whew.

  30. marcus says:

    Yay

  31. Matt says:

    Also, challenge suggestions:

    Egon, Your Mucus: Kill 50 Engineers with grenade sticks in any game mode. 5000 CR (because this isn’t all that hard on New Alexandria using restart from checkpoint)

    Get Over Here: Assassinate the Grif 40 times in Grifball this week. 20000 CR

    My Allergy….Has Returned: Earn a Running Riot in a game of Hockey. 10000 CR

    I Pledge Allegiance: Earn 20 flag kills in Matchmaking this week. 10000 CR

    The Jerk Store Called: Betray AFK players 20 times this week. 10000 CR

    Why U Mad Tho: Earn an overkill in a Grifball match using only standard melee attacks (no sword lunges or hammer swings) and without picking up the bomb. 8000 CR

    Nice Glowstick: Earn 10 sniper headshots on opponents while they are charging Spartan Laser or Plasma Launcher shots in Matchmaking this week. 10000 CR

  32. Saxplayah says:

    With a vengeance: Earn 100(?) Avenger medals
    Or
    250 revenges

  33. Ravenlocke83 says:

    Weekly was far too easy. Did it on Nightfall in about 7 minutes. would have been been about 3 and a half but couldn’t get the forklift glitch too work and got killed a few times.

  34. Ying says:

    Did it in WC yesterday. Even died a few times with a friend, but we still got it on the first try.

    I have to say that this campaign weekly challenge was actually WORTH the effort. Too many times I would get more credits playing firefight arcade in the same amount of time.

    • FireySplork says:

      a challenge should give more credits than if you were to play normally. I did The Package LASO in h1:30min and got 16000, which was worth it. My friend took about h3:20min to do it. Not worth it

  35. Pingback: 24th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  36. FireySplork says:

    Pheonix – earn 400 kills while jetpacking in any game mode – 10 000 cR
    Over 9000 – earn 9000 FFM kills this week
    Apocolypse – earn and extermination this week – 12 500 cR
    Godly – Earn a perfection this week – 15 000 cR
    Denied!!!! – Earn 50 bull trues this week – 16 000 cR

    Just to name a few

    • Matthew Vose says:

      50 Bulltrues! And after that week we will all be masters of that and the Sword becomes redundant XD

      I’m Loreweaver, and I wholeheartedly endorse this challenge.

      • FireySplork says:

        cmon, bulltrues are pretty easy to get i guess 50 is a little extravagent, mabs 10 then, but the rest are definetly doable

    • Supreme Calibre says:

      I just do winter contingency in 12 mins legit
      Godly can be easily done in team snipers

  37. matt a says:

    Took me and 2 friends 11mins to beat winter contingency. Used the exploding tanks (2 and 3, not 1) to clear out the first room after the courtyard fight. Cleared out the grunts, marched through the final room.

  38. Kingkoopa063 says:

    Me oase corriendo anochecer en 6:00 min por dios que porqueria de desafios

  39. BeerMit says:

    I would love to see a weekly that called for x flawless FF matches. Gettin pretty good at them on 2x attack using the grenade launcher, so much fun. But no two games ever end up exactly alike so it would keep things interesting.

    Nobody’s Perfect… But Me: Complete 30 rounds of Firefight without dying – 25000 Cr
    Oh No He Di’int: Perform 20 Yoinks – 12000 Cr
    Oh Yes He Di’id: Perform 5 Showstoppers – 20000 Cr
    Pitch Perfect: Earn 25 Sticky Sprees in any game mode – 15000 Cr
    One Up’d: Earn the high score among your friends on a Firefight map – 10000 Cr
    Four of a Kind: Earn 4 different sprees in a Matchmaking game – 6000 Cr

    A couple of these would be fun. Two of them would be insane (to me atleast lol)

    • Scruff UK says:

      The problem with One Up’d is that all you’d have to do is clear out your friends list of everyone except that friend you’ve got who is terrible at Halo. Come on, everyone has one of those friends 😉

      As for 25 sticky sprees.. Jesus.. I’ve never even got ONE sticky spree. Sticky grenades tend to be a last resort for me, in a “Well if I’m going down, you’re coming with me” kind of way.

      And nothing should ever encourage yoinking. I hate it when people yoink. I hate it more than when people spam armour lock. I think that being on the receiving end of a yoink should give you the ‘boot?’ option like betrayals do 😉

      • FireySplork says:

        sticky spree in any game mode – forge spawn sticky grenades and just take turns getting sticky sprees
        I guess yoinking sucks but you still laugh when you yoink someone, dont even deny it. But the showstopper would be epic.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Actually when I yoink someone I yell “SORRYSORRYSORRY” over the mic. I know that yoinks happen accidentally, but if I see that someone on my team is assassinating someone, I stay well clear of them, and I expect people to give me the same courtesy.

        Yoinks are a fair strategy in free-for-all games though 🙂

      • Tom says:

        Yeah, I don’t ever mean to yoink, and I apologies as well. My stock standard response is “shit, sorry buddy,” as it also is when I betray someone.

      • FireySplork says:

        I usually play free for all, I never intend to yoink in teams, but the best medals are definelty showstopers, when you get one, you yell at the person you saved, YOU OWE ME ONE!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      The last two don’t ring as weekly challenges in my head (not that this week’s does anyway!), but I love the first four. Especially Yoinks and Showstoppers. It’d be great if there was a good Assassination mode again where they could be worked at really easily.

  40. LordICE83 says:

    I would suggest Nightfall for this challenge. You can run through the whole mission without firing a shot. When you get to the bridge where you have to fight the hunters, jump in the fork lift and use the “glitch” in the game that allows you to jump through the gate to the left. Completed it in 9 minutes.

  41. LordICE83 says:

    Thanks, I think its great and my buddies and I read it daily. Figured I would start throwing my two cents out there.

  42. Scruff UK says:

    Inspired by last night:

    Care In The Community: Download and play 100 different Custom Game variants
    Endurance: Spend a total of 24 hours in Race games this week
    Drive Like Michael: On the last lap of a Race gap, kill the Racer in first place and go on to win

    • FireySplork says:

      Do a Barrell roll – Successfully complete one rotation in midair and land perfectly on all four wheels. LOL

  43. Pingback: 28th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  44. CallUpChuck says:

    I like the suggestions for the weekly challenges guys! Bungie has no imagination when it comes to challenges.

    One thing I would really like is the tracking of armor ability usage. Don’t get me wrong, Bungie.net’s stats tracking website is great. However I would like to see, ie. how many seconds you use sprint/jetpack, how many armor lock activations and armor locked seconds, how many seconds cloaked, etc. This would open up so many new challenges!

Leave a Reply

