24th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR
  2. A Friend in Need – Earn 10 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  3. L.D. Pillar – Complete The Pillar of Autumn on Legendary, without dying, with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

A Friend in Need – Earn 10 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

It’s got to be Firefight Arcade for this (you can’t get an assist in SA with no other players!). Courtyard all the way, especially on the Elites and Brutes. If you do 40% or more damage and someone else kills the enemy in 4 seconds you get an assist. So when you start seeing Elites and Brutes start hammering them (particularly using an overcharged Plasma Pistol on Elites) when there are other people clustered around you.

L.D. Pillar – Complete The Pillar of Autumn on Legendary, without dying, with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

Key to this challenge is the point that if you die, quickly hit pause, then select Save and Quit, then reload your last checkpoint in the menu, and you’ll be reset back, having never died. The best advice I can give is to have a read of Tyrant’s Mythic guide to PoA, which will serve you well here for getting through the mission, and is much much easier than trying to figure it out yourself. If you want to be really sneaky, there’s a good chance next week’s Weekly challenge will be this very mission, so do it all in Mythic, then save your last checkpoint before blowing up the Covvie ship and you get that 18k in credits easy. Of course… you won’t be able to do the other Campaign daily challenges this week (unless you put the save file on a USB stick and keep it safe) so is it worth getting ‘er done today for a total 23,000?

Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

The Frenzy is 10 kills without dying. Not necessarily in a short space of time. This will come down a lot to personal preference. Immediately I think Grifball, Juggernaut in Rumble Pit or Team SWAT for me. Grifball might be best although it’s so easy to be killed or betrayed you’re likely to get annoyed, however if you can get your timing in and get to the spawn points to take the opposition out as they spawn – annoying I know as the person spawning but admit it – you would if you were in that position! BTB can be really good if you can get in a tank type vehicle and just bombard the opponents.

From low low credits over the weekend to one of the top reward days I’ve seen. This is pretty nice. And yes I know this daily is more difficult than the Weekly Challenge, go rant in that post if you want to.

It’s RDC Game Night tomorrow evening. We’re still looking for a Party Leader for a 6v6 type party, and as usual let us know if you want to lead any party, particularly so that Snickerdoodle gets the chance to try other things for once. Feel free to come and play in any party at any time (whilst it kicks of at 8pm UK, it goes on for hours so just turn up and see who’s got a space for ya), it’s been a lot of fun over the last few weeks and I’m sure this one will be Legen…

As per usual please add any thoughts on today’s challenges into the comments.

…dary

40 Responses to 24th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Hierakles says:

    I find Living Dead is best for Killing Frenzy, it’s too easy to get insta-gibbed in both Swat and Griffball, but one good game of zombies can easily net you the challenge and a sweet 2k credits to go with it.

    • Ying says:

      Yeah, living dead Alphas at sword base. You can camp the air lift, or if you have the skill, jump up on the ledge and snip with the pistol. Cage/Uncaged also works well with Alphas.

      • GN says:

        Too bad douchebags who are also going for this challenge seem to want to betray you if you’re getting close to it.

    • Shane says:

      PC FPS player by any chance? 😀

    • Scruff UK says:

      You speak the truth. Quick games in Living Dead as well 🙂

  2. Tom says:

    Good, solid set of challenges for my day off. Lovin’ it.

  3. double team is also good for frenzies. 😉

  4. Sergeant Jinto says:

    If anyone else is on and wants to attempt “A Friend in Need” I’m up for some Doubles Attack. =D

    GT is the same as here, Sergeant Jinto.

  5. Shobaleader One says:

    Didn’t we just have this campaign challenge not so long ago? It’s an absolute beast to complete in my opinion, particularly the boneyard battle (i can’t grenade jump for the life of me, so i can’t skip the first part ala tyrant’s guide) and also the lengthy battle before taking on the zealots, those brute chieftains to some punishment. However 5000cr is a good enough payout for me to go for it

    • Ying says:

      Considering you don’t really get any other pay out, if it takes more than 25 minutes to complete, I am better off playing to Arcade Firefight matches. I would probably get more in the process, but I am a bit of a challenge freak, so I will probably for it as well. Campaign challenges are very really worth it, even weekly ones.

      • Shobaleader One says:

        I’ve uploaded my run in my file share, just over an hour – not bad at all for me (minus the 1 or 2 deaths), i left out the end mass driver sequence as i used the ‘save & quit’ trick at that point

  6. Nic says:

    L.D. Pillar challenge doen’t say anything about the dificulty so can I do it on normal

    • Matthew Vose says:

      This happened 9 days ago when we had it – Bungie missed out the difficulty on the challenge descriptor but it was still setup correctly within the game. The L. stands for Legendary (the D. for Deathless).

  7. ZaganZee says:

    Just a note here, the challenge doesn’t actually say anything about not dying this time around. I’ll look into it though.

    • ZaganZee says:

      Yup, just through my life away, and sure enough, challenge failed. I suppose they expect us to know the challenge by now that they don’t have to actually put it anymore.

      • ZaganZee says:

        *cough* threw.

      • mickoboy90 says:

        Easier idea…press start,challenges,and click on that challenge and it will set up everything for u automaticly..u can also just add any skulls..i always activate grunts bday party

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        @mickoboy90 – Except doing that doesn’t setup anything about not dying (Iron skull isn’t on for this DC).

  8. Jetpack333 says:

    Tge killing frenzy challenge: do actionsack and halo ball extreme. Got 4 running riots in same game..

  9. Hobocore says:

    L.D. Pillar is just far too much hassle to complete for the lousy payout. I’m not really sure why it’s in there as a daily challenge as it is such an odd one out compared to almost every other daily.

    If anyone is having trouble getting a killing frenzy, try for Slayer DMR’s on Asylum in Squad Slayer. Stick on your side of the map where the needle rifle spawns, and as long as the other team don’t rush you, you should get a frenzy fairly safely. I usually get at least 1 a night with that tactic.

    • Wunschkind89 says:

      It’s probably just a warmup to the impending Pillar LASO. With no famine skull on, this should be easy.

  10. Nic says:

    Can I do most of the Pillar of Autumn but not all of it then next week with the pillar of Autumn challenge finish it on LASO. You said something like that but can it be on easy until the next weekly challenge then finish it on LASO?

    • Wunschkind89 says:

      I don’t see why not, but there really is no point since you won’t get the 5000 cR, thus wasting your time. If you don’t do it LASO, then add skulls, the mission restarts.

      • Dogmeat says:

        Actually, you can save and quit at the final checkpoint, re-enter the game, complete it for the 5k today, hang onto the save spot until this Monday (5/30), finish any other non-solo campaign- related challenge in co-op mode with either a friend or a second controller ( as your solo progress gets retained), and finish it again for the weekly credit payout.

      • Dogmeat says:

        Whoops…didn’t see that the person was thinking you could do most of it on easy and increase the difficulty at a checkpoint. You could only do what I suggested with all the skulls turned on (except blind) and legendary difficulty from the get go.

  11. Wunschkind89 says:

    Infection as a spartan and Invasion should be useful for getting a Killing Frenzy.

  12. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Git ‘er done!

  13. dotJSX says:

    Just Confirming, A Friend In Need Can Be Completed In Doubles Attack. Very Efficient If You Have A Friend To Go In With.

    • mickoboy90 says:

      Ye,ive done it with my brother in one game..just the last round with elites i got sidekick 🙂

  14. Phil (GT feeblestud) says:

    With folks from all over the globe commenting on this blog, each day feels almost like a SciFi movie:

    US West Coast coming online now… 😉

    For assists in Firefight Matchmaking, I think NadeFight is hard to beat. The Grenade Launcher and Concussion Rifle are excellent area damage weapons, meaning that you may kill one or two Covies in the middle of a pack while injuring the rest enough so that your mates can kill them and give you the assists. I just played a game on Courtyard and got 24 assists in one game.

    The biggest challenge is getting your teammates to choose something other than RocketFight…

    • Shane says:

      I pushed Firefight Limited below but you’re definitely right. Whenever I get to play this mode I get the most amount of assists. That said…

      “The biggest challenge is getting your teammates to choose something other than RocketFight…” 🙂

  15. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Now, I’m not really sure as to exactly why, but I actually sat down and did the campaign daily today. Usually with something that time consuming, I’ll just skip it. I guess I was feeling intrepid today.

    Anyway, I was able to get the killing frenzy challenge knocked out by hitting the invasion playlist. After a couple games, Invasion Slayer on Hemorrhage came up and won the vote. I quickly went over and snagger the sniper rifle and got an easy 8 kills. Luckily, by the time I went back to the base, the sniper had respawned and I was able to get more ammo and quickly knock out my last couple of kills for killing frenzy.

    For those of you having trouble with this, just remember to be patient and find a good vantage point. If you do that, this challenge is cake. I was able to get 2 killing frenzies and a running riot all in one game of invasion slayer but being patient and waiting for my opportunity to strike.

    Now to knock out the last two challenges…

    Good luck everyone!

    • Tom says:

      This works in theory. Too bad i get betrayed EVERY time I get a sniper rifle.

      • Shane says:

        Yep, that sucks. I miss the old CE days when idiots could get banned from the server.

  16. SnuK evoX says:

    Looking forward to game night.

  17. SABER says:

    On the daily LD PoA is anybody having trouble not having the enemies spawn after completing the smelting room like Tyrant’s walk through suggests? At best the 2 Hunters and Skirmishers spawn and the Ultras follow me over too, because I have yet to figure out what I’m not doing right? Is it the timing or do I need to go to the right of that barrel coming out of the smelting room? Like do you have to get out of there before those 2 extra Ultras show up? I am happy to report that I have grenade/crouch jumping down to a science now though! LOL

    • Jorge says:

      You have to sneak past the Ultras. If they don’t notice you leave, you’re in the clear. If not, then you’re screwed.

      By the way, even with Tyrants walkthrough, I feel like all that work deserves a heftier payout. Hopefully LASO PoA will be worth upwards of 20 Large!

  18. OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

    Killing frenzy is easy if you love zombies. I don’t (normally) camp in the cheap spots, but I still got the challenge my 2nd round of being a human. 400 kills went synonymous with 10 firefight assists, as I either played with people who wouldn’t finish off my kills to get assists, or people who would vote for Rocketfight, netting me 1 assist the entire 330+ enemies. By the time I got the 10th assist I was already at 350/400, so just finished off the game I was in and got it.

    Campaign is not worth it for me, seems like too much stress to be worth credits (it is a game after all). I played through the campaign solo legendary the first time, and I don’t plan on doing it again (sans friends wanting to play co-op). But besides that challenge, I am happy the payouts were a little higher for not a ton of work.

  19. Shane says:

    Doubles Attack FRG was terrible for assists for me. The enemies in all the arcade variants are too underpowered in the first wave. In the first round of a Firefight Limited game (tougher enemies), I got 8 assists although my team of strangers was remarkably helpful.

  20. Tom says:

    Just finished L.D. Pillar. That was a LOT of work.

Leave a Reply

