25th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  2. Killagruntjaro! – Earn 10 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1100 cR
  3. L.D. Winter – Complete Winter Contingency, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

This is over any number of games, so no stress to push for it at once. 50 should only take a few games though, Grifball and Multi-Team Battle are particularly good for getting a high number of kills in any one game, especially the objective based Crazy King and Oddball variants.

Killagruntjaro! – Earn 10 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

In Gruntpocalypse (or indeed 2x Score Attack or whatever’s your preference) this is so easy. The enemies come out of the doors/dropships/appear in groups of 5 or so, and you can easily shoot 3 or 4 of them straight away. Multikills do stack so an Overkill counts as 3 – double, triple and 4 kills. Therefore just play the game and take them out when you see them together. I always like camping the back of Holdout where the Covvies appear and spamming them with grenades XD

L.D. Winter – Complete Winter Contingency, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

It’s not particularly hard on Winter Contingency, especially if you follow Tyrant’s Mythic guide, for the most part you can run the map, what makes it hard is the base section. If you get really stuck, there is a glitch which can be exploited, by exiting the game and restarting from last checkpoint it opens up the challenge again, and you can continue from where you died. Also have a look at this post, and particularly the comments, for the previous LASO guide to WC.

Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

3 assassinations in one game can be tricky. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there. Anyone who has watched the Halo Reach Mythbusters series will know that assassinating someone on a moving platform, and sometimes on unusual terrain, does not trigger the animation but counts, so that could be useful (I know I’ve been assassinated on the ramp on Pinnacle but the animation didn’t play).

So it’s RDC Game Night tonight, where I’m sure we’ll be looking to pick up at least two of these challenges during the playing. Read the hub page for more info, add the Party Leaders and see who has space when you want to come online and play.

70 Responses to 25th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Yeesh, daily L.D. challenges? No thanks! I know this is only Winter, and you could potentially add Black Eye into the mix and get the weekly done too, but no. It’s game night anyway, and that is where my Halo time shall be spent tonight! With perhaps a very quick 2x Score Attack for some easy credits 😉

    As for cheap assassinations, my personal favourite strategy is Sword Base on Rumble Pit. Equip sprint, and crouch in the dark areas in-between the rooms in the energy sword area. Don’t have the sword equipped though – the blue glow makes your presence obvious. Then just wait for someone to come past, sprint up behind them and assassinate. Then move off to the other dark area, or switch sides, just in case the person you killed comes back looking for revenge. 3 shouldn’t take long using this method, then you can just move on to playing normally. Though again, it’s game night. Challenges will have to take a back seat, for I must get my Race on tonight! 😉

    • Corporal Alexei says:

      True….disappointing to see another campaign challenge with other more interesting modes to play….still, though: you can knock WC out in twenty minutes or so. I might go ahead and complete it for giggles.

    • John says:

      That would be quite an impressive run to do Legendary Winter with mythic, thunderstorm, tilt and blackeye in under 15 minutes?

      John

      • Scruff UK says:

        Well… That depends. Keep in mind that it’s possible to skip the level up until the base section at the end – even then you can do that very quickly and from a distance if you know what you’re doing. 😉

      • John says:

        I still think it would be very tight for timing, even powering through it on Heroic I only had two minutes to spare.

  2. Tom says:

    Ech. I do not have the time to do an L.D. every day. I’ll give it a go though.

    • John says:

      Same here, I was going to give it a shot this evening but thought even on Winter Contingency it’s going to take time and the payout is pretty poor.

      On the other hand the 10 multikills is far, far too easy – it would be hard not to get 10 multikills!

      John

  3. Ian (FearTheTurtle06) says:

    At least this L.D. is only on winter so half of it can be skipped if following tyrants mythic guide mentioned on here before. I may actually do this one.

    For the assassinations, I’ve had good luck on team swat and slayer pro gametypes b/c of the lack of radar.

  4. SangheiliSean says:

    YA a melee chalange!!!!
    that just up my ally.

    • Scruff UK says:

      What? There is no melee challenge…

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        I think he means the Assassination challenge, since that’s technically a melee kill.

    • Shane says:

      [Insert Rear Admiral joke]
      [Insert Insertion joke]

      My favourite assassination in MM is the one where the opponent is in the air since it’s quick and hard to stop. Otherwise, try getting quick assassinations on ramped surfaces. There’ll be a lot of Yoinking and D’oh-ing tonight.

  5. Scruff UK says:

    Unrelated, but I believe the correct term here is “LOL”:
    http://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=60714558

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      They finally sorted it that out, I lol’ed massively!!!!
      How many accounts do you reckon they’ve reset??? There always seems to be an AFK’er when I play FF arcade!

      • Scruff UK says:

        There are a LOT apparently, including the first two people to hit Inheritor (supersoak and turk) who are now both back down to Private. Ahahahahahaha 😀

      • Scruff UK says:

        This is the funniest thread I’ve ever seen. I shall now quote my favourite post so far:

        I WANT AN INVESTIGATION I WAS AN ECLIPSE AND GOT RESETED AND WITH ALL DUE RESPECT IF YOU WANTED TO BE FAIR TO EVERYONE YOU WOULD HAVE ADVICED THIS SOONER THAT YOU CAN’T GO AFK, BUNGIE JUST BECAUSE GAMERS OUTSMARTED YOU DOESN’T MEAN WE SHOULD GET PUNISH, ALL I KNOW IS THAT I PLAYED FIREFIGHT MATCHMAKING ALOT ALOT AND SOMETIMES I DON’T PLAY THE FULL GAME ITS TRUE BUT HEY WHO DOESN’T TAKE A BREAK WHEN A PHONE CALL,BATHROOM EMERGENCY OR FOOD CRAVING ARRIVES. MY DAD IS A LAWYER (AND A GOOD ONE) AND I EXPLAIN THE SITUATION TO HIM AND HE’S WILLING TO GO TO COURT AND SUE BUNGIE BECAUSE HE KNOW’S A CERTAIN LAW IN THE CONSTITUTION WHICH CAN AND WILL GIVE YOU GUYS HUGE TROUBLE, CAN’T SAY NO MORE BUT YOU BETTER INVESTIGATE MY ACCOUNT ONCE AGAIN AND PUT BACK EVERY SINGLE CREDIT I HAVE AND PUT MY RANK UP OR YOU’LL BE SORRY, I SWEAR TO GOD YOU WILL BE AND I’LL NEVER STOP FIGHTING TILL IT’S DONE RIGHT. YOU CAN CONTACT ME SENDING ME A MESSAGE TO MY EMAIL OR THRU THE XBOX, YOU CAN CONTACT ME OR EVEN ASK FOR MY PHONE NUMBER AND WE CAN TALK ON THE PHONE BUT PLEASE CONTACT ME

      • FireySplork says:

        @Scruff UK- why are those two back down to private?

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        @FireySplork They were caught using the AFK technique of farming cR in Firefight. Bungie has reset EVERYONE that was doing it.

      • Shane says:

        Ahahahahahahahaha! AhahahahahahaHA! Mwahawhawhawhawwwwww!

      • John says:

        That’s hilarious to see the saviour and turk guys getting reset as there were so many threads complaining about their constant idling and getting away with it.

        John

      • John says:

        This I think was the first guy to hit inheritor:

        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/Default.aspx?player=xxsaviors0ulxx

        John

    • Tom says:

      Man, that is hilarious.

    • Chris says:

      Classic you couldn’t make this stuff up , thanks for sharing

      “Sorry, just really want to bring my friend to justice, he’s been a pain lately anyways.” I wish I had a
      friend like him.

      “You don’t have to be a rocket surgeon to know you should play a game.” what degree would you need
      to be a rocket surgeon?

      Bless “I’ve AFKed a LITLE, after learning how to do it from reading this very forum…. I’m not gonna sit here and lie. But why can’t you just take all the credits I earned from those games and let me keep the credits I actually earned?” almost shed a tear for him.:)

      cjc

      • Scruff UK says:

        I believe that the degree you need to become a rocket surgeon is the same degree that you need to know about “A CERTAIN LAW IN THE CONSTITUTION” 😀

      • Chris says:

        Oh yes the little used amendment to the Bill of Rights :-

        “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of cheating, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; the right of the individual to cheat at computer games , or prohibiting the free exercise thereof , or abridging the freedom of cheating , or the right of the people peaceably to cheat , and to petition the government for a redress of grievances , not withstanding their ability to grow a pair and take their punishment like a man ”

        cjc

      • Shane says:

        SSHH! CAN’T SAY NO MORE!

    • ZaganZee says:

      Thank you so much for introducing me to this thread. My day is set now.

    • Matt says:

      I really think Bungie should turn off betrayal booting – or maybe even the betrayal system entirely – for people who are idle for more than a certain time averaged over a certain number of games in MM or FMM. I also think a 10 CR bounty for each time a person kills a teammate or opponent who is above this idle threshold would fix the incentives.

      • Chris says:

        Its a lot funnier to just reset them though , its comedy gold to read the thread , more
        entertainment value than the game itself .

        e.g. “Hey lets be prepared to wait…Bungie is probably trolling their desks right now…probably not since they are West Coast but lets common-deer some intellect into this Biiatch ” you can’t argue with a well reasoned argument
        like that.

        cjc

      • Steve says:

        *Commandeer

    • John says:

      ‘LOL’ indeed, about time they started taking idling more seriously. What’s rather scary about reading through that thread and others is how completely dishonest some people are. As with the challenge reset network glitch (this is pretty much a repeat of that) there’s been a lot of people protesting their innocence then proved from their own history that they had indeed been idling.

      I also like the range of excuses most of which were seen during the previous credit reset such as ‘I’m a really loyal Bungie fan, please give me my rank back’ ‘It’s my little brother who’s been playing on my account’ ‘It’s my birthday’ (no joking, seen this at least three times)’ and ‘there was no warning’ but my favourite was someone who was idling because their controller battery ran out of power and they couldn’t find the lead to charge it so just left their player idling in FF….

      John

  6. Jussy says:

    Multi-team Elite slayer with camo worked a charm for me, 3 assassinations in first game.

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      This^. I got lucky and got 2 on afk players, but the 3rd I picked up near the end of the match with camo. Multi team is great for a lot of challenges, lots of assists and kills.

  7. mickoboy90 says:

    for the assassinations challenge,im just gonna boost for it in rumble pit with my brother,then doubles attack for multikills,swat for kills and maybe get a shot on LD winter

  8. biodrumr says:

    Did anyone in here get reset? That thread is comedy gold. I love all the guys that say they aren’t going to play anymore…they weren’t playing anyway, so it won’t be much of a loss! Hahahaha

    I think I’ve gone AFK once to help get a daily challenge, but that was before I knew Score Attack existed, which is now my favorite playlist.

    This has absolutely made my day. I love it when a company can make hundreds of 12 year olds cry. 🙂

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      Have you seen the front page of B.net full of locked threads!! CRAZY!!
      I’ve been on that forum for years and don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like this!!!!

    • Tom says:

      I doubt that anyone here would have got reset. Everyone here seems pretty dedicated and hense would be far more likely to play the game properly.

      And yes, it is hilarious.

  9. Jetpack333 says:

    For the FF. Use crashsite( I think it’s called that or gen something..) n kill a fuelrod guy n go crazy.

  10. Pete says:

    Hi everyone,
    my first post here after reading the site for a long time, firstly thank you very much to everyone who contributes, it is a great site and makes getting those achievements so much simpler:)
    Sorry it isnt strictly (if at all) about today’s challenges, but would someone mind explaining the AFK issue? I get that the person is judged to be away from the computer, hence taking a slot away from someone who could actually play, but why would someone do it in the first place? I assume there is a credit exploit or something, but I wasnt sure. Also I am really nosy/curious. It seems a very harsh penalty, but then, I’m not sure I understand what they have been banned for.
    Anyway, apologies for my general ignorance, my level of Halo expertise is really based on “oh cool, lets see what this weapon does”:)
    Again thanks for all the hard work on the site it really is great.
    All best
    Pete
    ps Scruff UK thank you for that quote “Law in the constitution” priceless!

    • Hierakles says:

      They get the credit bonus and jackpot for finishing the game, without actually playing, hence the reset.

      • cubedude925 says:

        We are 4FK clan, but we use our waypoint thingies as “excuses” to go AFK whenever we need to.
        Yeah.
        Thats Right.
        4FK does support playing, not just AFKing

    • Scruff UK says:

      You get a lot of credits for just completing a game in Firefight – you don’t even have to move. These credits count towards you ranking up, allow you to buy more armour, etc.

      Resetting the AFK people is quite a harsh penalty – but it’s still funny. Getting stuck in Firefight with AFK people is really, really annoying.

      • John says:

        I don’t think it’s harsh, I think it was needed as bans clearly were not working. I find it extremely annoying when people idle in FF Limited as it ruins the game when they burn off all the lives. I’ve been hoping they’d start doing credit resets as that’s guaranteed to stop people idling.

        Is it only Firefight or multiplayer matchmaking as well?

        John

      • mickoboy90 says:

        I think its good if u get afk players in firefight,cos u can get more kills to urself. 🙂

      • John says:

        It’s fine in Arcade but in Limited it’s a real problem as they bleed away your precious lives leaving you sitting on 0 lives. It is possible to survive Limited without losing a life but there’s plenty of brutal one hit kills particularly in the fifth wave when facing the heavily armed Elites/Brutes or the drop pod elites.

        From reading the Bungie thread I think they’re only resetting for Firefight rather than Multiplayer Matchmaking where idling is probably worse particularly in the smaller team games.

        John

      • Scruff UK says:

        There have definitely been some MM resets as well, though definitely way fewer than for FF.

  11. Pete says:

    Thanks Hierakles, much appreciated

  12. cubedude925 says:

    One time I got on to play some reach and my credits, rank, armor, and all of my buddy’s stats were reset. I was like HOLY (insert the expletive of your choice here, and even then it may not be enough to convey the meaning.)!!!!!! But then when I came back later, everything was fine! My buddy is an Eclipse now, and I am sure he was freaking out too. Any way, I finally am able to play reach weekdays, but my hope is that the next weeklys wont suck balls. I finished that without shooting a person! Melee, Melee, Melee, boom! 9000 sh*tty credits right there. Easy, but maybe. @matthewvose you need to rethink that skermiggeddon (screw that spelling) thing. Anyone for 4FK games? 4FK is the AFK clan, but that was taken already. We have a site up, but it isn’t even been edited or whatever. I’ll put a link in later.
    going afk is perfect with gruntpocalypse, because you finish and they kill themselfes. just put the controller down so that the trigger is pressed. Easy peasy. Did I get off topic? Well, just remember that AFK is the way to go when you play skerr(screwit)meggedon.

    By the way, Assist challenges(yesterday) are easy or hard, depending on many things
    Heres a chart.

    you naturally headshot, but are trapped in RocketFight and try to use the pistol.-HARD
    Corvette, useing Needler in FRG Fight-EASY, just dont do too much holding of the trigger
    Sniperfight-MEDIUM, depends if you play with kill stealers or people without the challenge
    Doubles Attack(Unearthed)-HARD, UNLESS you have an aggreement.
    Score Attack-WTF man?
    Driving-No
    Nadefight-MEDIUM, Stick with someone else, EMP away!
    FiestaFight-EASY, but only if you follow Nadefight rules (above) and EMP weapons or Sniper body shots
    CoOp Campaign- Really?
    Note- Assist challenges for MM chart
    General Rule- stick with someone else
    SWAT-No
    Snipers-yes
    MultiTeam or Rumble Pit-Flares away!

    Okay, you get my point. I may be on this weekend, but oh well
    GODDAMN you finals! RRRRGGGGGHHH!!!!
    Finals suck.
    End of Story.

    I am looking for a few good players that are local to NC (young guys please, but not tweens or anything like that.) If you are in the peidmont area, then I need a few good players to help get recon( Vidmaster Hunt)
    Reqs- Must have mic, NO PEDIFILES, not a douche, and can get or have copies of reach, ODST, halo 3, and not be complete noobs. Be good with the controller, and be a good guy willing to join 4FK. Email Me or more likely REACH me on Xbox360.

    Just a shout out, cuz Bungie.net doesn’t have as good a community as this.

    I reject your reality, and substitute my own grunty thirst!
    cubedude925
    email is my username here @gmail.com

    • Shane says:

      Wow.

      • Chris says:

        wow indeed , the medication clearly isn’t working …..

      • Scruff UK says:

        Damn. I was going to join this awesome sounding clan, but then I saw “NO PEDIFILES”. I am a sad puppy now 😦

      • Shane says:

        I keep my feet in tip-top condition. No clans for me :-(.

      • Corporal Alexei says:

        No douches either? Man, his prerequisites exclude most all of us on this blog. 🙂

    • ….who brought the kool-aid and didn’t share with me?? sheesh…

      anywho, since you like suggestions, i have a few of my own for you, yay! 😀

      if you want people to take your seriously, correct spelling is important. especially when what you are trying to spell has been written out plainly elsewhere. (ahem, Skirmigeddon 😉 )

      yes, the weekly was pretty sucky, there’s even a whole post dedicated to it, hooray! there’s lots of whining there, i promise. 🙂

      your “chart” is unfortunately very confusing and i don’t think i understand? but it’s okay. assists are not very complicated….

      and on a serious note, i’m not so sure that coming onto someone’s blog and trying to promote your own “AFK’ clan is really good manners? i don’t know any of the regulars here who actually promote AFK type behavior and i can’t imagine any of them would intentionally pull that kind of behavior.

      PS – i like cherry kool-aid 😉

      • John says:

        I’d also add that recommending AFKing FF when Bungie have been busy banning and resetting people who have been idling in Firefight is not a good idea. Or is the post supposed to be sarcastic and intended to criticise Bungie? I really can’t work it out.

        John

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I’m not going to repeat what everyone else has said, but this really isn’t the place to come looking for young guys in your area, or for people who aren’t actively playing Halo games.

      We’re all pretty engaged in the game so the idea of going AFK, playing with people who want to play that way or generally not having fun in the game doesn’t really appeal.

      And to quote the sign off from your very first comment all those (Well 2) months ago:

      ‘Hey Snickerdoodle.
      Goodbye!’

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      Thank you for so generously providing a more than ample amount of incentive for no one on this blog to ever join your clan… ever.

      By the time I reached the end of your post, I seriously doubted my ability to put words into sentences because of the sheer mind numbing properties of your giant wall of text. I collected myself and decided to strongly advise you to never post anything like this ever again, not only for your sake, but the sake of anyone in your clan.

      Oh and, way to leave yourself open to e-mail flaming as well. Enjoy that.

  13. Matt says:

    I didn’t realize that xXGinobiliPRXx was the butthurt guy crying about his credit reset and claiming that his dad was a lawyer and the credit reset was unconstitutional (lulz). I’ve played against this asshat and he’s got a terminal case of try-hard whiner’s syndrome; he puffs out his chest about how good he is against scrubs but I’ve seen him get owned hard by a dude with a DMR when he was holding the Sniper.

    From his :

    xXGinobiliPRXx

    xXGinobiliPRXx (1 year ago)
    i boost accounts on xbox 360 modern warfare 2 and halo 3 hit me up my gamertag is xXGiNoBiLiPRXx , payment thru paypal or thru codes of microsoft points, for details msg me or add me, thanks!
    xXGinobiliPRXx

    xXGinobiliPRXx (1 year ago)
    i boost accounts on xbox 360 hit me up my gamertag is xXGiNoBiLiPRXx , payment thru paypal or thru codes of microsoft points, for details msg me or add me, thanks!

    Good riddance to bad rubbish.

  14. Wunschkind89 says:

    For the Winter Contingency L.D. DC, there is a cool trick where you can grab a Falcon early, and pretty much skip the entire level. Here’s a video of how to do it:

  15. Smurfs342230 says:

    For CAME FROM BEHIND…I got my 3 assassinations very easily in Action Sack playing Halo Ball Extreme.

  16. EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

    Very easy challenges today overall.

    The LD Winter challenge shouldn’t be any challenge at all for anyone who does the campaign with any regularity. Just take your time and don’t rush it. Same goes for the firefight challenge. You should be getting way more than 10 multikills without even trying 🙂

    As for the assassination challenge, I got it on my very first game of matchmaking. I was probably a little lucky because I got tossed into slayer pro, but still, this challenge isn’t bad. Just set up camp in a dark corner and come out only to put your knife through an enemy.

    As always, goodluck everyone!

  17. Donch says:

    u can still do skip scene glitch and get challenge complete for L.D. winter

    • Donch says:

      dunno if it still works but hockey in action sack u can rack up tons of assassinations

      • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

        Assassinations have been disabled in hockey for quite some time now. Shame as that’s about the only thing that made it fun.

  18. Tethercat says:

    Hi, all. Long time lurker, first time poster. On a whim I decided to do a SLASO tonight. I finished it in an hour and a bit, and got the 5000cr for it (as well as an avatar award). I wanted to point out that Tyrant’s Mythic guide was what I followed by the letter, but also just wanted to let you all know that if a complete n00b like me can do this, then all of you shouldn’t be saying it’s not worth trying. That’s all. I love this site. Keep it up.

    • Scruff UK says:

      I’m sure we could all do the SLASO on Winter Contingency – most of us already have as the first LASO Weekly Challenge, and that was with Blind on – but for anyone of a relatively high rank, it’s a time investment vs. credit reward kind of thing. 5,000 cR is a lot, sure, but I could get that in 4 games of Matchmaking (~45 minutes play). For 90 minutes of Campaign play, 5,000 isn’t worth it to me, since I’d make double that in MM or FF 🙂

      • hoellenhamster says:

        Where do you get your 90 minutes in this calculation? I did this twice yesterday (once for my account and once for my roommates’) and finished both in about 30 minutes following Tyrant’s guide and I am far from being a LASO expert. I would argue it is actually worth it, if it is a mission you can speedrun.

        Only real holdups in Winter is the fight in the courtyard and the zealots in the end.

      • Scruff UK says:

        I got 90 minutes from the post I was replying to saying that they took an hour and a half to do it 😉

        Personally I would’ve done the challenge if a) I didn’t already have a campaign save I needed and b) it was game night.

  19. Pingback: 27th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

