27th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR
  2. Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  3. Neuroscience – Kill 10 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR
  4. Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1750 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR

Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Came From Behind – Perform 3 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

It’s been a whole 2 days since we last had this challenge! 3 assassinations in one game can be tricky. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there. Anyone who has watched the Halo Reach Mythbusters series will know that assassinating someone on a moving platform, and sometimes on unusual terrain, does not trigger the animation but counts, so that could be useful (I know I’ve been assassinated on the ramp on Pinnacle but the animation didn’t play).

Neuroscience – Kill 10 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1200 cR

Play on Team SWAT for this, where about 97% of kills should be headshots with one shot. Don’t forget if you shoot someone in the body you can still shoot them in the head for the headshot. Keep your reticule at head height as well.

Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1750 cR

Complete 15 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 45-60 minutes using that, and Grifball can be very quick depending on if someone goes for the score straight away!

28 Responses to 27th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    15 games in 10 mins? Am I reading it wrong or do you mean 10 mins per game? Obviously it’s impossible to do 15 in 10 mind but I’m just hoping you don’t think that, Matt…

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Sorry, probably a very stupid comment, but hey, I’m having a slow, boring day.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Not sure what I meant, changed it to something slightly more relevant. #ill #Tired #UsingHashtagsWhenNotOnTwitter #NotSureWhy

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Lol, i don’t understand or use Twitter, Facebook, Bebo, myspace, or any other social site. I use MSN and Xbox Live. That’s it.

  2. Chris McKee says:

    They really are dragging out ‘came from behind’
    I’ve always found there are slot of assassination oppertinities in SWAT. The enemy is usually distracted with your team and so you just need to get behind them. Even better when it is on Sword Base
    🙂

  3. SangheiliSean says:

    XD another assassination challenge this’ll be easy >:D

    I always just go on rumble pit and see who I can get the drop on, or camp a common route, like the lift exit in sword base., the hardest challenge today will be the 15 games, I don’t always have enough time or need to do that much. living dead goes fast so I guess I’ll go on there

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Just curious, has anyone here ever had a video of theirs featured in “Fails of the Weak”?

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      I’ve submitted a few, but none have made it so far. But who knows how far backlogged they are! Last I knew, they were months behind on going through submissions since they get so many.

      This is the latest one I submitted: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=18066383&player=Sergeant%20Jinto

      You don’t get a good angle view of it though, because I can’t get the free-roam camera outside of the spawn building until like, 15 seconds in and by then there’s only a split second left until the Fail happens.

      • ZaganZee says:

        It’s too bad you couldn’t get a better view of it, that was awesome. I’ve seen drop pods kill enemies but never the ordinance.

    • FireySplork says:

      my friend has, the one where he jacked a falcon then his teammate blew it up

    • John says:

      Submitted one a long time ago where Cat managed to kill Jorge on Winter Contingency around the time they were on the eighth episode but never used. They’re still showing clips with FF betrayals which means some are very old as that’s been disabled for a long time.

  5. Simmons9552 says:

    Lol what I do to get the 3 assassiantions challenge is I grab a buddy and go on rumble pit and we both assassinate each other 3 times. Then for the 400 kills you could always do BTB or Squad Slayer, I usually get 30 kills in 1 round of each of those

  6. Clone 066 says:

    Yeah with amulets and swat not having radar it’s easy to sneak up on the Emmy do the assassinations. I miss doing it in hockey tho.

  7. Subject 6x says:

    For the assassinations I like to play invasion, on spire when I spawn as an elite I can usually get 2 people early on running up the right side and then just camp the objective for one more, most of the other maps I play similarly just waiting patiently on the objective invisible, sometimes I can get real lucky and get behind the spawn when I am on offense, just a thought

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      Just what I was about to say. Good call.

      I managed to get my 3 assassinations on an invasion game on Boneyard. I got them all while playing as a spartan by crouching by either stairway near the first objectives. Simply wait for the other team to come running up, then sprint up behind them and introduce them to your knife. Simple as that.

      As for the 10 headshots, SWAT is obviously the way to go.

      The other two dailies are cake, even though they are time consuming. I’d recommend getting your 15 games knocked out if you have the time, then seeing how many kills you have to go to hit 400 from there.

      Good luck all!

      • SlimEel94 says:

        Yep, swat would seem like a good one but my headshots accuracy isn’t the best and when I finally got the tenth it was the last kill of the match so didn’t log the challange but has on my kills! Bizarre, I suppose I can always just try again.

  8. Corporal Alexei says:

    Hell yeah, finally an assination challenge….oh, wait…..I forgot, these seem to be included every week now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

