28th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentary:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Close Talking – Earn 30 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR
  3. Three Dog Fight – Earn a Triple Kill in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. House of Pain – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Mythic, Tilt and Thunderstorm on – 2500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Close Talking – Earn 30 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Close quarters combat (aka CQC) kills include: melees, beat downs, assassinations, sword kills, shotguns, and hammers. I read this and automatically think either Grifball or Infection games. HaloBall Xtreme also is a good option for this since they’re all hammer kills.

Three Dog Fight – Earn a Triple Kill in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Multi-Team, Grifball and Team SWAT usually yield a good chance for multikills. Rumble Pit, particularly Juggernaut, is also an excellent place to do it in. Probably Grifball works best for you here, since it’s a massive melee with one hit kills for the most part.

House of Pain – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Mythic, Tilt and Thunderstorm on – 2500 cR

Mythic, Tilt and Thunderstorm, so enemies are upgraded, tougher and damage is all messed up. Nightfall will be the way to go for this one. Have a read of the current weekly challenge to see the tips for getting through it in 5-10 minutes, this will be a pretty easy challenge when done that way.

16 Responses to 28th May – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Nightfall is always a good one for a quick speedrun, but I tend to prefer Tip of the Spear for a good speedrun since it doesn’t involve using a glitch to skip part of the level.

    But that’s just me.

  2. mickoboy90 says:

    I would do griffball for CQC kills and triple kill,then winter contigency for speed run 🙂

  3. Scruff UK says:

    Well this is the first time I’ve seen 4 daily challenges that can be done in under 15 minutes. It must be to compensate for the unfairly difficult weekly challenge!

    New personal best on Nightfall – 4.18 🙂

    • Braythor says:

      I was heading for a personal record too, but then I got blown up in the forklift because I stubbornly refused to get out and destroy the turrets.

      Sorry I ignored your Halo 3 request; normally I’d happily jump in on such fun but am off to Leeds in a couple of hours so was just trying to fire out some of the challenges quickly.

  4. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    New Action Sack variant ‘Shotgun Assault’ is perfect for the Close Talking challenge. It’s also objective based and usually played on Asylum which is perfect for this group;)

  5. SnuK evoX says:

    Nightfall for campaign and Multi Team for other challenges. Griffball maybe too…..

  6. Clone 066 says:

    One game of geifball yielded the 30 kills and yhe triple; well actually it was evovled. Now on to night fall, after i use yesterdays save on Oni for the 400 to complete the 100. Such a useful glitch.

  7. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Remember everyone for the Close Quarter Combat challenge if you get a kill in Infection with the Sword it counts as 2 towards the challenge. I can confirm this because my son just got the challenge in 2 games of Infection. For some reason this challenge has always given 2 with 1 Sword kill in Infection. Matthew if you want you can put this in your Commentary because im sure it would help alot of people out since you only have to get 15 kills with the Sword in Infection to get the challenge completed. 🙂

    • John says:

      Personally I’d still go for Griffball as I can get kills easily over twice as fast as infection along with multikills (I think I got the 125 kills in a couple of games last time) whereas I find infection fairly slow going particularly when you get people going to off map areas where they can easily camp out for a while.

      John

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah but since me and my son are HORRIBLE at Grifball, Infection is our best bet. My son is awesome at Infection so i let him get the CQC challenge whenever it comes around. LoL. He does really good in that gametype whereas im awful at it. He usually doesnt camp either. LoL.

      • John says:

        I’m rubbish at Griffball as well, that’s why I like it for challenges 🙂

  8. deviouskyle251 says:

    YES! I was able to combine House of Pain with the Weekly Challenge to score 11,500 cR on a single speedrun of Nightfall! And to weigh in on the debate above, I would go for Grifball to get Close Talking and Three Dog Fight, then you can probably do Matthew’s Firefight Invincible to top off Light Fare.

  9. John says:

    Anyone having trouble with the ‘Reach Service Record’ application on Android? Usually works fine for me on a Galaxy Tab but as of yesterday it crashes just after the screen saying it’s retrieving my details. Before I start ripping my Tab to pieces I thought I’d check if anyone else is having trouble with it.

    Thanks,
    John

    • EyeOhYou (Andrew) says:

      Can’t say I have that exact app on my Andriod Ally, but I use Halo Reach Tracker and it works great for everything I need. Even has a nice little widget that displays the challenges on one of my home screens.

      Anyway, very easy challenges today if you know how to go about them. Tackle the 30 close quarters kills first in Grifball. You should be able to pick up a triple kill along the way. this wil put you at atleast 30 of the 100 kills needed for your other challenge. At this point, go and knock out the campaign challenge and you should hit 100 kills along the way (assuming you don’t do a Nightfall speed run.)

      Good luck all!

Leave a Reply

