3rd June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. I’m Rubber, You’re Glue – Earn 1 sticky grenade kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Fourth Horseman – Earn 4 multikill in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  4. Five-time Champ – Win 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking 1750 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

By the time you’ve done the other challenges you should be close to getting this, so just rock on with your favourite MPMM game type, or a busy Campaign mission, or something like Crashsite/Generator Defense. If you want to do it quickly then as always a quick Gruntpocalypse game with get it done fast.

I’m Rubber, You’re Glue – Earn 1 sticky grenade kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Any Elite Slayer where you’re given Plasma Grenades, although beware Armour Lock dudes as they’ll not give you the kill. Alternatively, Slayer Pro has a loadout that includes Plasma Grenades, or there are some scattered round a lot of maps in normal Multiplayer modes. Some Rumble Pit modes include Plasma Grenades in the loadouts too, and Squad Slayer on Zealot is always a grenade frenzy!

Fourth Horseman – Earn 4 multikill in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

There are so many options for multikills – Team SWAT and Grifball are probably the best in my opinion. But any mode you’re good at will work – Squad Slayer again because people cluster in it. Juggernaut (if you can get it) is really good for it. Don’t forget that multikills stack, so 4 in a few seconds counts as the double, triple and over kill, and you’re almost there!

Five-time Champ – Win 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking 1750 cR

Team Slayer and SWAT will be excellent for this, as there are only two teams so a much better chance of winning than in multi team. If you are doing Multi Team, try objective based types and go for the objective itself, most teams don’t. I mean Crazy King, Oddball, Rocket Race. Grifball can be good if you’re ready to grab the bomb and score you can win really quickly.

Three points of housekeeping today – check out the round up from Game Night on Wednesday from myself, Snickerdoodle, Braythor, Scruff, Zagan and Leroy. We’ll definitely be doing that again.

Thanks to Snickerdoodle for covering this week, she’s done a marvellous job, so good that one of her posts was the 64th most read post on WordPress that day. My young padawan is very impressive!

And finally, I’d like some feedback from my lovely American readers about a US oriented Game Night – can you use the below poll to indicate what would fit best for you. If enough people are interested in a Saturday one we might even do it tomorrow – if you are interested then put a comment too, especially if you can be a party leader.

29 Responses to 3rd June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    I definitely concur with Squad Slayer for most of these! The downside of Squad is that games take longer (there’s a 75 kill limit rather than the usual 50) and it’s strangely easy to get stuck on a team with people who are completely useless and get 3 kills between 4 of them all game long, when you’re against a team consisting of a Noble, two Field Marshalls and two Brigadiers. Not that I’m bitter or anything 😉 Squad also has the added bonus of being one of the Double Jackpot playlists this week, so at any point you could hit a 6,000 cR jackpot!

    Speaking of which, anyone know which playlists are the Super Jackpot ones this weekend? And also how big said Jackpot is? 🙂

    • FireySplork says:

      NO idea, But6 i already got the 6000, EPIC

      • Scruff UK says:

        It’s not just one jackpot per day like the Super Jackpots are. They’re just as frequent as the 3,000 cR jackpots. You could in theory hit a 6,000 cR jackpot every game. You won’t of course, but I have in the past had two in one day 🙂

      • Wunschkind89 says:

        Usually I get one 3,000 cR jackpot from FF a day. Last night with all the FF challenges I lucked out and got it 6 or 7 times. It was pretty ridiculous.

    • Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

      Yeah me too! Ranking up is an uphill slog, so all extra’s help.

      • Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

        That was in reply to Scruff’s post, I’ve not gotten the jackpot yet this wee.

  2. CrestOfFire says:

    Four multikills… -_-

    *loads shotgun and prepares for Infection fest*

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      Agreed. One killtacular nets you 4 different multikill medals, so just hope you’re the last man and mow down zombies. If not, just rack up a few doubles

      • WarZombie says:

        I was about to post “Why hasn’t Living Dead been mentioned yet?”, but I see you guys have it covered here. Yeah, this is my go-to playlist for anything multi-kill related. As long as you don’t play dumb and stick your neck out in the open, you’ll get this in one, maybe two games.

  3. HC Sangheili says:

    I can PL a Saturday US love fest. Could probably play a Wednesday, but other obligations would keep me from being able to commit to PL duties.

    Multis – Action Sack variants are good as well: Dino Blasters, Splockets, Haloball Xtreme.

    Squad Slayer should become permanent removing Team Slayer, imho.

    -Tim

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nice one. Looking at results so far I’m tempted to start one tomorrow with at least one party if you’re up for it? Time TBD, but I reckon the two options might come out pretty even.

      • coalinn says:

        I was going to make a joke about needing an alternative voting system, but no one would laugh. Also it looks like 8pm Saturday is leading by a lot now. Either Saturday time is good for me. I plan to hop into the normal RDC game nights on Wednesday, and I can only Halo so much in one day.

      • Tim Everi says:

        Yep, 8pm works for me tomorrow (3 doesn’t).

      • HC Sangheili says:

        *two different posting tools. Me Tim E = same.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Hey Tim would you still be up for tonight? If I do a post saying ‘impromptu US Game Night tonight’ and listing that you’ll be heading up the party to do whatever game type is appropriate for the party size (Rumble Pit, 4v4, Squad Slayer, Invasion, BTB and so on). I’ll tell people in that post to add you as a friend if you confirm your GT.

      How long do you think you’d be playing for (ideally 90 mins or more then hand over)?

  4. Edward (GT: Marshy 40) says:

    Multi-team slayer is good for the stickies and there’s enough mayhem to get multiple kills quickly.

  5. SnuK evoX says:

    Thanks for the US love! I was bummed when I got home late from work and GN was over.

    • Sunburst Purple says:

      I agree! I can never make it home from work&class in time for Weds RDC nights.

  6. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    1 kills?

  7. awww 😳 thanks! 😀

  8. Ian (FearTheTurtle06) says:

    I’m definitely down for late night gaming but 8pm is still family time for me. I luck out being off on wed. afternoons for regular game night. Then I usually play @ 10pm Eastern time US after the kid is in bed. I actually have a lot more time on Sunday evenings than saturdays

    • Defender77 says:

      I see you on once and awhile now too. I’m normally on Mon-Fri after 10pm too and I try to play Saturday nights 9pm til 2am or so. Hit me up and we’ll go after a challenge or 2 or play the double jackpot playlists. I actually hit last weekend and got 15K slot on one game. It was wicked!

  9. coalinn says:

    Going off of Scruff’s post, have you (matt and snickerdoodle) considered posting info for weekend super/double jackpots? I did a quick google search and not much popped up, yet I’m sure many people search for websites detailing the weekend jackpots. People with poor memory (like myself) sometimes can’t remember all of the special playlists. I think it would be a neat addition and it could create some more traffic. I love the site as is, so don’t take my comments as complaints. Thanks :)!

    • John says:

      I had the same thought actually the other weekend, discussions on the super jackpot creep into daily challenge discussions but it would be good to have it as a separate post here particularly as the Reach app I use doesn’t show this info.

      John

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Apparently this weekend is Super Jackpots in the Arena playlist…Booooo. Im not much for that. 😦

      • John says:

        Same here…18,000 is a lot of credits though!

        Nice to see some updates to FF although shame Fiesta Attack seems to have been missed again

        John

      • John says:

        Ok., I guess the updates aren’t implemented yet which I found to my painful bullet ridden delight in a game of Skirmigeddon. I really don’t understand how they came up with that gametype, I can only assume the person who created really, really hated Reach players and wanted a way to exact their revenge. The skirmisher’s speed, jumping and evasive abilities can be fairly deadly when they have normal weapons but when given uber weapons where they can embed the entire contents of a needle rifle in your end in the fraction of a second when they’ve appeared on screen or have virtually invulnerable shields and a plasma pistol that rivals the heavy machine guns for fire rate it makes them ridiculous. I’d honestly rather take on a horde of gold elites as they’re nowhere near as fast and easy to shoot down with a plasma/DMR combo.

        Looking forward to playing a proper version of skirmigeddon soon hopefully…

        John

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I’ll mention it in tomorrow’s post – the info only comes out on the weekly update, which won’t be running for too long anyway according to today’s update, so it’s possible the super jackpots won’t be here to stay.

      For this weekend, it’s Arena, up to 18,000.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Arena? Yeesh 😦

        It’s possible that 343i will take over the day-to-day running of Reach, I can’t see them just abandoning it and leaving it all to slowly rot away.

        Some of the new changes are pretty extensive. No more drop shield in objective games is going to make a huge difference, particularly if they’ve also removed it from Invasion, and what is this talk of improved spawning on Pinnacle? Drop ships in FF Arcade should mean more vehicles as well which will be nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

