5th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. There Are Many Like… – Kill 50 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  3. Killagruntjaro! – Earn 7 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. Came From Behind – Perform 2 assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

There Are Many Like… – Kill 50 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, and Needle Rifle (anything that can headshot except the Pistol, which is small arms, although you don’t need to headshot for the challenge). Nightfall is good, because you start with loads and loads of ammo for the Sniper Rifle, and you can shoot the first Elite in the head, restart checkpoint and do it over and over (a little dull but quick and easy). Winter Contingency from Rally Point Bravo which has DMRs in the base and lots of guys dropped off to shoot at you. I think ONI Sword Base also starts off with the DMR as well, and a series of Grunts running towards you quickly.

Killagruntjaro! – Earn 7 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

n Gruntpocalypse (or indeed 2x Score Attack or whatever’s your preference) this is so easy. The enemies come out of the doors/dropships/appear in groups of 5 or so, and you can easily shoot 3 or 4 of them straight away. Multikills do stack so an Overkill counts as 3 – double, triple and 4 kills. Therefore just play the game and take them out when you see them together. I always like camping the back of Holdout where the Covvies appear and spamming them with grenades XD

Came From Behind – Perform 2 assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1100 cR

Not too difficult, easy methods are just to hide around a corner in Sword Base or somewhere and jump guys as they go past. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and you can hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the lift in Reflection. Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there. Anyone who has watched the Halo Reach Mythbusters series will know that assassinating someone on a moving platform, and sometimes on unusual terrain, does not trigger the animation but counts, so that could be useful (I know I’ve been assassinated on the ramp on Pinnacle but the animation didn’t play).

Sounds like the US Game Night was a lot of fun. I’ll be adding a round up post later today, and we’ll add some details about Game Night this Wednesday. Don’t forget if you’re interested in future US Game Nights to vote for your preference – and more importantly (because it’s pretty clear where the preference lies) we need Party Leaders. If no one volunteers to do it, then it won’t run, simple as really.

24 Responses to 5th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sergeant Jinto says:

    I guess we should start calling these “Simple Sunday” challenges? Recently they’ve been pretty easy on Sunday, probably to let us focus on finishing off the LASO weeklies.

  2. CrestOfFire says:

    Isn’t the Focus Rifle a precision weapon? It’s the Covenant equivalent of a laserpen.

    • SlimEel94 says:

      Ha ha, but I’m with Sergeant Jinto on this. I also noticed that Saturdays are as well but just thought it was me. Then again a daily total of under 7000 and Rumble pit being generous on the slots I’ve earned around 20000 for nearly 2 hours game time! I’m not complaining I might finally get to a rank that I can be proud of!!

  3. mickoboy90 says:

    want an easy way to get precision kills in campaign??start oni sword base,and do like you would do with target locator,but instead pick up dmr ammo,get checkpoint,blast enemies with dmr and revert checkpoint

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      Personally, I prefer doing Nightfall, since you start out equipped with a Sniper Rifle and TONS of ammo for it. Playing on Normal, Grunts and Jackals are one-shot kills and Elites are two-shot kills unless you get a headshot. Not to mention that there’s tons of extra sniper rifle laying around everywhere.

  4. Scruff UK says:

    My current Campaign commendation checkpoint gets me 3 sniper kills and a fall off a cliff every 10 seconds or so. Win 🙂

  5. Bah Bodenkurk says:

    Sounds easy.

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      Alrighty, I’ll work on it! I’m not that far behind that, and 2nd on my Leaderboards.

      While I’m working on that, I have a challenge for YOU. =D

      http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=634572606&player=Sergeant%20Jinto

      Beat it. ^_^

      • i seriously cannot believe you did this. you’re nuts. :mrgreen:

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        :3 I told you I’d do it!

      • ZaganZee says:

        Challenge Accepted! 🙂 I’ve made it throgh a whole game of skirmiggedan without dying (I think O.o ), If I just focus on more headshots and multikills I can get it. I’ll beat it once I have time. And add me so I can see your high score up there as I play.

    • Braythor says:

      It’s not recent, but I have bested that, just (the 2X, not the Skirmy, that’s crazy talk)

      http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=516235899&player=Braythor

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Im curious. How in the hell do you get that many points in a 2X Score Attack game? Ever since we had that challenge a good while back where you had to get atleast 40,000 points in a Firefight game i have been trying my best to get the highest score possible. I play Firefight Score Attack a LOT and the highest points i have ever gotten is around 37,000. Whats the secret other than not dying? I was kinda thinking that if you mix up your weapons you could probably get more points like using the Sword or Hammer since they give a spree. I would definately like to hear some tips. LoL!

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        @michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) It’s all in getting sprees and lots of multikills, the higher the multikill, the more points you get.

      • ZaganZee says:

        All my higher scores are on beachhead, they’re a little more liberal with drop pods and tend to send out at least a wraith in the last round. I also headshot nearly every enemy.

      • ZaganZee says:

        Wow nice 43K point game there. I’ll try to beat it. One day. Might take a while. Once I have time…

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah thats what i thought. I try to mix it up a little when i play 2 X Score Attack and use different weapons that give sprees, such as the Hammer, Sword, etc. I also try to use the Target Locator when the dropships come in so i can get some pretty good multi-kills. The main weapons i use are the DMR and the Grenade Launcher. You guys have me trying like hell to even get close to your scores but the way it looks its not gonna happen. LoL! As for the Skirmigeddon game, if i was going to try to complete a game without dying i would want to do it on Corvette. I have always wondered if anyone has ever completed a game of Skirmigeddon without dying on like Waterfront or Outpost. LoL. That would be a challenge i wouldnt even want to try!

      • Sergeant Jinto says:

        Corvette is the only one I’ve been able to survive on so far. All of the other maps are way too open and I get pegged from multiple angles. Courtyard, maybe, if I can camp successfully at the far end of the walkway.

  6. TexasRanger7239 says:

    Matthew just wanted you to know that even tho i knew today’s challenges already i logged on just so your hit count will rise one more…. I love you guys

  7. Sergeant Jinto says:

    For anyone that’s curious, and actually WANTS to attempt a flawless Skirmigeddon game, here’s the video of how I did mine: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=18398104

  8. deviouskyle251 says:

    I tried to do There Are Many Like… in Nightfall by constantly killing the first Elite, but it seems I can’t get the checkpoint right before the first Elite to register anymore. It doesn’t make the challenge any harder, but it does make it take longer. I suppose I could just play through the level as normal, but has anyone else encountered this problem?

Leave a Reply

