6th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  2. Cook ’em, Clean ’em! – Kill 10 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking when you’re jet-packing – 1200 cR
  3. Oops! All Kills – Earn 5 multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 8 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

This is over any number of games, so no stress to push for it at once. 50 should only take a few games though, Grifball and Multi-Team Battle are particularly good for getting a high number of kills in any one game, especially the objective based Crazy King and Oddball variants. Read the latest weekly challenge commentary for advice on getting lots of kills.

Cook ’em, Clean ’em! – Kill 10 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking when you’re jet-packing – 1200 cR

Remember you have to be actively firing the jet-pack when the person dies to register it, otherwise you’re just falling with style. Normal multiplayer games (Rumble Pit, Team and Multi Team) and just firing short bursts when you’re about to kill someone – particularly with grenades or heavy weapons. Some useful places – grenades in Pinnacle when people are in the main loft area, Boardwalk again in the central sniper point. The Hammer and Sword work well with this, just use the equipment and fire buttons at the same time. In addition, Dino Blasters is almost tailor made for this what with the jet pack load out and all.

Oops! All Kills – Earn 5 multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Again the Multi Team Battles are excellent for multi kills. These will stack, so an Overkill (4 people) counts as 3 multikills. The objective variants are helpful because you can aim for people who are going for the objective (ie in the hill in Crazy King) where a natural firefight usually opens up. Again, I’ll play Team SWAT as I like the game type and know it can lead to a number of multikills.

Credits for Completion – Complete 8 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Two good options for this – play Living Dead – Infection for some really fast games, or Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly. But honestly why rush this when you’re going to be playing lots of multiplayer for the weekly challenge?

So all Multiplayer, all the time today in Reach for challenges. Bungie obviously got bored of the constant ‘oh man why always Campaign challenges for the weekly’ too so have gone completely the other way!

Check out our Game Night page for information on this Wednesday’s games (will be updated during the day).

Do you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries? Well it’s easy… you can follow me on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

34 Responses to 6th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    I see a whole lot of ‘maybe’ in my future with these daily challenges.

    Personally I think the best way of getting them is Action Sack – a couple of games of Dino Blasters or Splockets should net you all but one of these challenges. The problem is going to be finding people to select Dino Blasters or Splockets, because everyone in Action Sack is an idiot who likes to play Hockey and HaloBall all the time and NOTHING ELSE, EVER. Grr 😉

    Don’t know if I’ll be online or not tonight, but if I am (and by ‘being online’ I do not mean ‘playing Campaign’ because if I’m playing Campaign then I’m generally not actually near my Xbox) and you fancy leaping into Action Sack for a while then just join me or send me an invite or whatever 🙂

    Also, the challenge 2 write-up says “20 kills” when the challenge is 10. Sorry 😉 [/pedantic]

    • no it doesn’t…..liar! 😀 😉

    • Phil (GT feeblestud) says:

      Speaking of “idiots” who like to play only certain gain types, has anyone else fallen victim to the Rocket Hog Race obsession lately? It has seemed that whenever I’ve chosen Multi-Team over the last few days, everyone compulsively votes for that game type. Now don’t get me wrong, I actually love RHR — I’m a much better driver than shooter! — but it’s not very good for most kill-related challenges.

      • JustHawkeye says:

        Try a rockehog race with me and Snickerdoodle on the same team. it’s a race to see who can get out of the driver’s seat. 😉 We are awful drivers, I think it’s my robot arm that causes my bad driving.

      • John says:

        I’ve always found Rocket-Hog race pretty much guaranteed to be chosen every time it comes up, similarly I love the gametype particularly as the three person team and warthog actually works better than expected but it can be annoying if you’re after a specific challenge or just looking for some conventional multi-team chaos.

        I’m not sure why they haven’t separated it into its own playlist as it clearly needs to be split.

        John

      • Shane says:

        If I end up playing Rocket Race, I try to work on the Downshift commendation but usually the other players aren’t game for this. Rocket Race is much more fun as drivey-drivey-boom-boom.

  2. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Bleh! Why does today have to be ALL Multiplayer Challenges? I much prefer Firefight/Campaign over Multiplayer Matchmaking with my lag. 😦

    • Scruff UK says:

      Equally there are people who hate Firefight and/or Campaign challenges. Bungie can’t please all the people all the time 🙂 I’d be very surprised if tomorrow’s challenges were all Multiplayer as well, and Thursday’s are pretty much guaranteed to be all Firefight ones.

    • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

      Im with you man. I dont play Multiplayer Matchmaking much anymore. The main thing i play is Firefight and Campaign. Oh well, atleast i got Fable 3 in the mail today so that will give me a break from Reach. LoL. 😉

      • Shane says:

        Hey Michael,

        PLEASE for your own sake remember to back up your Fable 3 savegames. I had terrible problems with both Fable 2 (glitch where my savegames are corrupted) and Fable 3 (joining an online co-op game removed all of my inventory). While running around online in underwear is entertaining for a minute, the amount of time I put into both those games only to lose everything was extremely frustrating.

        It’s a pity since I loved both games but now have a sour feeling towards them. Lionhead were pretty useless about addressing either glitch. So back up regularly and enjoy the otherwise awesome game!

      • JustHawkeye says:

        Fable 3 is super buggy and annoying as all hell. Here’s a tip, Don’t stay too long in the Dweller village, just get the quest from the chief to get them food then leave and go to the next area. If you stay too long in the dweller camp all you will here is Im hungry and other complaints. If you finish the quest to feed them and then come back to the camp, all of them are happy and not annoying as all hell about being hungry and only eating snow for a week.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        LoL…Yeah, i got it today and already have about 6 hours in it. I havent had a problem with my saved games yet and i hope i dont because i dont have a flash drive. As for the people in Dweller Village, i know exactally what you mean. LoL. I married a woman from there and all she wants to do is A) beg for money, B) Sleep in the snow even though i have a house there, and C) give me STD’s. Too bad i had a kid with that woman. LoL. Oh well, im gonna kill her soon anyways. Yeah its a pretty fun game but some of the quests get boring quickly. I need to get through it ASAP because i should be getting Red Faction Armageddon either Thurs. or Fri. Thanks for the advice! 🙂

    • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

      Bungie wants to give us a head start on the weekly. If we have to complete at least 8 games to get all the dailies, the average player (unless they are playing haloball) will have racked up probably around 120 kills if not more. My goal is to hit at least 250 kills tonight to get a good chunk of it done.

    • Sean says:

      With the heavy Multiplayer today (and probably rest of the week) perhaps us firefighters will get lucky and get a FF weekly next week. Kill 1000 elites or something.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        That would be awesome. Im excited to see what next weeks challenge is considering normally it would be a LASO challenge.

  3. Shobaleader One says:

    action sack is the way to go for ‘cook em clean em’ – with dino blasters and splockets, who could ask for more!

  4. Absolution Gap says:

    Phil – I never get Rocket race thing! I try as there is an achievement tied to it I think.

  5. Jetpack333 says:

    easy. do actionsack.. and you will be able to do all challanges.. even weekly 😛

  6. CrestOfFire says:

    Sky are still fixing my Wi-Fi; somehow I can connect to this, but not XBL. I liked todays challenges.

  7. Jesse says:

    Anyone having problems with “challenges” being offline?

  8. John says:

    Anyone else having issues tonight with Reach? I lost everything earlier on this evening (around 11pm) putting me back to as if I’d just started the game. After a few games it sorted itself out but warned me I’d hit my offline credit limit despite playing online fine. It’s just happened again (and to all players in the match and those on my friends list it appears) and showing me with no rank, armour or service tag and no credits for finishing a game. I can’t access challenges either.

    John

    • Jesse says:

      Hi John,
      The exact same thing happened to me. When a MM game finished, I got the message saying my offline credit limit reached… (how could i be offline and in grifball?), And now, just after another game of grifball, i can’t access challenges, and I’m a recruit (and NO, i do not cheat/afk in any way).

    • John says:

      Ok, servers are down….booooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Didn’t get the jetpack achievement but at least managed 216 kills before it screwed up.

      John

  9. Matthew Vose says:

    According to Bungietweets:
    Reach is offline. One of our servers melted. Top Men are working to bring it back asap. Apologies for the outage.

    • Jesse says:

      Someone let this guy know…. 🙂

      • Shane says:

        He… he posted a … *youtube* … video asking the Internet (“everyone”) why he couldn’t connect to the Reach servers. Within an hour (“maybe”) of not being able to play a game? He did this expecting some kind of help, presumably?

        We, as a society, are doomed.

        Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some delicate surgery to attend to. I’m going to post a question on Twitter asking which of the icky stringy thingies to cut. I hope someone reply soon, the patient is smelling pretty bad now, like for an hour maybe (hey *everyone*, what is that smell, can you tell me?).

        [Okay, it’s Monday and I’m only 1.5 coffees in]

      • John says:

        Shane, I thought the same…very odd way to do it.

        John

    • Reaperville says:

      Thanks Matthew, was just googling that myself to see if there was a prob. I do like the ‘Top Men’ reference 😉

  10. SIR OBLIVI0N says:

    Good to know it’s not just me.

  11. John says:

    Should be slowly coming back online, it was weird as we were playing a custom gametype where everyone was on a small square arena so just a mass of black noble 6 defaults. Then my armour restored itself followed by a couple others but still surrounded by mostly default armour sets.

    John

Leave a Reply

