8th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. A Heroic Breach – Kill 150 enemies on Corvette on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking 1125 cR
  3. L.D. Solace – Complete Long Night of Solace, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Killing Spree – Earn a Killing Spree in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…
Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR

This is over any number of games, so no stress to push for it at once. 50 should only take a few games though, Grifball and Multi-Team Battle are particularly good for getting a high number of kills in any one game, especially the objective based Crazy King and Oddball variants.

A Heroic Breach – Kill 150 enemies on Corvette on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack, Fiesta Fight… whatever’s your preference for quick and easy game types. You’ll probably have to go through it twice, unless you manage to go through Arcade on your own or with one other teammate. Perhaps worth recommending to just take whatever variants it offers you on Corvette straight away, as it can be hard to get map specific challenges to come up.

L.D. Solace – Complete Long Night of Solace, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

We’ve never had Solace in Legendary Deathless challenge types before. The best advice I can give is to re-read Tyrant’s guide to doing it Mythic, as this is very similar to that, and all the advice when we saw this as a LASO challenge (can you believe this was April??).

Killing Spree – Earn a Killing Spree in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

A Killing Spree in MP is killing 5 people without dying. Grifball and Rumble Pit are my two suggestions, since they’re both pretty easy to go on a run without dying, especially if you can play Juggernaut and then be the Juggernaut. Infection’s good when you’re human, Invasion’s good if the opposition just run at you and you work as a team.

Game Night tonight, so check out the hub page for details on what’s going on.

40 Responses to 8th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Yes, no, no, yes. That’s pretty much how the challenges work out for me today! 😉 I can’t be spending time on FF or Campaign when a) it’s Game Night and b) I’m only 148/1000 on the Weekly.

    No mode-specific multiplayer challenges for tonight so I’ll just bob around from one group to another depending on how much room is in each group etc. See you all later! 🙂

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      Yes, yes, no, yes. Don’t know what it is with the FF challenges lately that require you to do something on a specific map, but the specific map does not come up as frequently as on other times. Had to go through 3 rotations of score attack before Corvette came up.

      Anyway, done that, will get the the 1st one and hopefully the last one during tonight’s RDC Griffball session.

  2. Scruff UK says:

    This is unrelated, but I just read a Mass Effect 3 preview and now I regret ever getting into the series. ME2 was one of my favourite games on the 360, but ME3 looks terrible. Gears Of War with Kinect integration. Ugh.

    Oh well. Reach has killed off my desire to play anything other than Halo anyway 😉

    • FireySplork says:

      SO EXCITED FOR HALO 4 and HALO CEA

      • Jesse says:

        Apparently Halo 4 is the beginning of a new trilogy. Halo keeps getting better as gaming technology progresses. Should be exciting to see what they have in store!

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Big Mass Effect fan here (enjoyed 1 and 2), but haven’t been keeping up with the latest concerning ME3 aside from the projected release date 03/06/12 (like the use of 3 there).

      I know I could Google it and get a gizillion previews, but what did you read exactly?

      I did see some mention of Kinect and ME3 on the 360 dashboard yesterday but didn’t think much of it until you pointed it out just now.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Well there’s very little RPG left – it is now primarily a third-person shooter. Lame. There’s enough of them already.

        As for the Kinect integration, you can now give orders, and Shephard’s dialogue in conversations, by you speaking to your Kinect. Out loud. I imagine you’ll still be able to use the standard controller as well, but I personally hate the thought of voice control 😦 Also it would be strange if I spoke for Shephard, since my Shephard is a female and all.

        It’s a shame. I *loved* ME2.

      • GN says:

        I don’t know where Scruff heard what he heard, but every where I look the previews are saying that Mass Effect 3 is going to have more RPG elements than ME2. I actually love the way ME3 looks and plays. It’s going to be AWESOME.

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Ah ok Scruff. You had me worried. Seeing ME3 and Kinect paired together had me picturing that movie “Gamer” and about to curse Bioware! lol All that motion sensing and “…you are the controller…” is fine and dandy for the family-type games. Games like Halo, Mass Effect and such need not apply until we have holodecks if you ask me!

        However, if it is just voice-over commands, fine. Hopefully it works better than the original Rainbow Six 3 game for XBOX. Telling your team to “Open frag and clear” and the game hears “Open flash and clear” got old really quick. That or “weapons free” being misunderstood by the game as “on me” during a firefight…

        Anyway, I certainly hope ME3 does not lose any RP elements. Mass Effect started as a RPG so it should end as one. I’m sure EA will have plenty of time and chance to take the Mass Effect IP and turn it into the next “Sims” money tree. ME2 was great after I got into it, but it scared me at first when it appeared ME1 and ME2 were drastically different as far as character stat building and inventory was concerned. If ME3 simply builds on 2 and doesn’t kill or “buffer” anymore RP elements, it should be fine. Assuming the story doesn’t get jacked up.

        Not everything needs to be a shooter! (I’m still bitter about XCOM…)

      • Scruff UK says:

        See Eurogamer for where I got my news. A generally entirely reliable website, except for giving everything 8/10.

        Speaking of “everything being a shooter” – the new Syndicate is going to be a FPS. Bah 😦

      • Niisama Broham says:

        @Scruff – Syndicate too? Gah, this is getting depressing.

        I’m all for remakes of games that are decades old, but all these FPS reboots… its like the games are resurrected in body alone; without the spirit that made it what it was in its day. Sad thing.

  3. Tom says:

    Annoyed that there is an L.D. challenge in a week where I have exams to do/study for + have to kill 1000 enemies in multiplayer matchmaking. So there goes a daily not done for the first time in months…

    On the upside, went up against an Inheritor in Multi-Team today annnd… had a proper one-on-one battle with him which I won, and was the one to kill him the most. So pretty high on myself right now 😛

  4. drgonzo says:

    hope you teabaged him proper.

    for me the challenges are yes,yes,hellNO,yes

    have the weekly already… 😀

    • Sergeant Jinto says:

      Ugh, no. I can’t stand the people that teabag, to be honest. All it does is say, “I’m an asshole!” to the person you’re doing it to. =\

      Non-sequiter, but when did we get the alternate log in options?

      • Jesse says:

        I’m with you on hating teabaggers. So, I have a general rule; if you tea bag me, I’ll give you an “avoid player – unsportsmanlike conduct” rep.
        I wish it were a bootable type offense. (On one occasion, some clown was teabagging me- he got clocked by his own player – which I thought was pretty stand-up-ish).

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ likewise. Something about being teabagged just infuriates me and then makes me be an asshole to the guy who did it to me for the rest of the match.

        I do think it’s ok when friends do it to friends though. Then it can be funny 😉

      • t-rOY says:

        I absolutely hate it when a total stranger tea-bags me. I still get annoyed if one of my friends does it, but most times I find it humorous. My usual reaction for a stranger is to tea-bag them back, and if they really tick me off I add in a punch after. Sometimes if they trash-talk in the lobby before the match, I just go straight into punching them. Two things I think are ridiculous, is if someone is losing AND they tea-bag, or if they completely miss my body when tea-bagging. If you’re going to do it at least be winning, and at least learn how to tea-bag the body and not the empty space 5 feet away. Now if it’s a friend I tea-bag them back, or call them a jackass, douchebag or jack-wagon as they’re doing it. I don’t punch them, but occasionally I’ll throw a sticky nade at them.

    • Tom says:

      Nuh, I didn’t teabag. I beat him fair and square and he knew it, that was enough.

  5. FireySplork says:

    im 71 kills away from the weekly, Grifball is your best bet for killing spree, or infection, or BTB and get a tank

    • Nic says:

      Yeah, I got 30 kills in 1 game of grifball

      • FireySplork says:

        yesterday I camped behind there spawn points and at the end of the game I got a total of 143 kills….WIN

  6. Sergeant Jinto says:

    Working on L.D. Solace, and what happens? I splatter a Banshee with my Sabre! I only know of a few other instances of that happening!

    • FireySplork says:

      The other day when playing The package, I was in a tank and an elite went into armor lock (since when do elites use armor lock on the package) and my tank blew up. WTF

  7. Mad Cow says:

    At WHAT rank are most of these campaign challenges actually worth the credits? 5k? For what, something that is atleast a hour to complete. At field martial I could get 12k maybe 15k in that same time in FF!

    • Scruff UK says:

      I know. The cR issue is getting a little silly now – Super Jackpot Weekends are further devaluing the challenges. 15,000 cR for 1,000 kills in MM this week vs. a total possible 54,000 cR for three Super Jackpots in Arena over the previous weekend. Could be worse though. Back when Reach came out, every Weekly was only worth around 4,000 cR.

      Also we don’t just do these for the credits, etc 😉 Personally I’ll do anything that roughly fits into whatever I’m already planning on doing. For example a challenge that involves getting so many headshots – I’ll play SWAT whereas otherwise I’d be in Squad Slayer. A challenge that involves not dying in FF – I’ll pick Sniperfight and hide away like a coward, thereby also boosting my precision weapon commendations. And I’ll do anything in Winter Contingency or Nightfall because they’re super easy 😉

      Do remember that lower ranks earn WAY less cR for game completion though.

      You just gotta pick and choose what’s worth doing. 🙂

      • oh man, it is SLOW going when you’re only a WO or something! i can do better in games i play as a WO and come out with less than half the cR i get as a general!

      • OMGBBQWTFLOL says:

        I definitely agree with you on picking what is worth doing, but it would be fun to see mixed up weekly challenges to stimulate us to do everything.

        300 kills in MM, 1000 kills in Campaign, 1000 kills in FF – Something like this would keep us focused on choosing what to play when, but would allow us variety (and commendations) by making us play every game type. If the dailies that week reflect this, a lot of fun credit potential.
        Or something like
        Complete 10 daily challenges this week as well as 1500 kills in any game mode

        If we had weekly challenges more along the lines of this, a summation of the daily challenges put together, it would be a nice bonus for the people who consistently play Reach in various modes without having to worry too much about completing LD and FF challenges during a week that’s solely devoted to MM. Just my two cents.

      • Bah Bodenkurk says:

        I do the challenges for exactly what they are: challenges. I think they’re fun. For instance: the challenge the other day where you had to get 10 firebird kills in one game was pretty fun. It was especially enjoyable because the red team only had two players who stayed inside a building, and I’m not a monster Reach player like probably everyone else on this forum.

        One that note, though, someone said that as a field marshall he could get some amount of credits in a firefight. Do you get more credits based on higher rank or something? I feel like that person could get the same credits as a corporal that they could as a field marshall, it just depends on how good a player they are.

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ you get more credits for game completion as your rank increases, except for grades. So a Grade 4 General earns the same as a Grade 2 General, but a General in general (haha) earns more than a Commander. Commendation, win bonus and slot machine credits are the same for everyone though.

        The reason higher ranks earn more credits is that it takes more credits to rank up as you go through the ranks. There’s 350,000 between General Grade 4 and Field Marshall.

  8. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    How does one save a completed campaign challenge to a thumb drive? Is it possible to reload them and finish them from the last checkpoint for credit on future challenges?

    • Edward (Marshy 40) says:

      From the xbox dashboard, goto the system blade, then select memory. Choose your hard drive, then navigate to the game save. From there you have an option to move it to your thumbdrive.

      • Mister Shhhhhhh says:

        You are a scholar and a gentleman, sir! Not many of us left.

      • t-rOY says:

        Thought it’s worth mentioning, you don’t have to transfer that save back to the HDD to play it. Just insert the thumbdrive, start up reach and you’ll be prompted on which device you want to save/load from. To reset back to the save on your HDD, I think you can just sign out, remove the thumb drive then sign back in.

  9. Mr postman 117 says:

    Most inheritors credit farmed or hacked. I play virtually every day since it came out and im a mythic. Yes some of tge better players get more credits per game and could b one maybe two or even three ranks higher, but 13,000,000 cr ahead of me? No way. I dont buy it.

  10. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Well im excited! The new playlist is up and we have Doubles Arcade, Doubles 2X Score Attack and Doubles Limited. No more Unearthed always. LoL. Its pretty awesome that we can get that many enemies in 1 game now. Anyone else love this? 🙂

    • t-rOY says:

      It will certainly give me & my wife some options when FF challenges come up. She hates to do them alone, but we both hate getting matched up with randoms since a lot of them play like they don’t give a crap about what you’re trying to accomplish (they blow up vehicles, hog all the kills, draw enemies to you when you try to survive a round without dying, etc.) I love 2x score attack, and including that in a doubles attack option will be awesome. Doubles limited will be a great help when Flat Tire (a.k.a. one of the worst challenges ever) comes around, assuming it will have drop ships & vehicle drops.

    • Braythor says:

      Ah yeah I saw the update but didn’t take it in. So am I right to believe the doubles is like score attack but with two? Or is it the full three rounds with two players? I’d be up for doing some FF with someone on that at some point (FF Thursday comes to mind straight away).

      Unrelated: Doc, I see you’re on Fable 3, what do you think? I got it a month or so ago and am nearing the end of the story. Enjoying it, but there’s something missing…it doesn’t feel as immersive as Fable 2…

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        Yeah it gives you the option of either 2 X Score Attack, Arcade and Limited. The Arcade and Limited is just like the regular Arcade and Limited except with just 2 people which is awesome since me and a friend of mine did Arcade earlier and i scored over 49,000 points myself, so im very happy with that. LoL! Yeah Fable 3 was fun until i got to the quest where you have to save the princess. I slayed the wolves and walked up to the door and i couldnt open it. I looked online and found out that it is a glitch that they were supposed to patch but didnt apparently and the only way around it is to start the game completely over. So i am pissed about that. I guess i will be sending this game back to gamefly unbeaten, which sucks! Oh well, atleast im getting Red Faction Armageddon either tomorrow or Friday. LoL! 😉

      • Braythor says:

        Oh that does indeed suck! Can you not reload? Or is the save point within the quest? I’m glad I didn’t encounter that…

        Glad to hear the FF doubles gives the option of limited, will be very useful when it comes to Flat Tyre challenges I think.

      • michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

        The save point is in the quest, so yeah it sucks. I just dont feel like spending another 6-8 hours getting back to that point and maybe it happening again. Oh well, i have other games i guess. LoL. Yeah i have been playing the new Firefight gametypes alot tonight. They are pretty fun. My son got a score of just over 45,000 points in an Arcade game so that was awesome. We still have yet to actually finish a game before time runs out though. :/

Leave a Reply

