15th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Grunt Spelunking – Kill 125 enemies on Glacier in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  3. Leadership Element – Kill 30 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  4. Fourth Horseman – Earn 5 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

By the time you’ve done the other challenges you should have this, so just rock on with your favourite MPMM game type, or a busy Campaign mission, or whatever FF you can get in Glacier. If you want to do it quickly then as always a quick Gruntpocalypse game with get it done fast.

Grunt Spelunking – Kill 125 enemies on Glacier in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

If you go in Firefight Arcade you’ll be able to get this assuming there’s only one or two people playing. If you go via Score Attack variants chances are it’ll take two games, but that’ll probably still be the same time if not faster. Frankly take whatever game types it offers you on Glacier just to get this done since you can’t guarantee you’ll get what you want.

Leadership Element – Kill 30 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

A great way of doing it is to jump to the start of Nightfall. Get the checkpoint just before the first Elite then take him out, reset checkpoint, rinse and repeat. We’ve had this challenge a few times since I started the blog, although not for a while. Have a read of these three posts for my previous thoughts on this, I still say playing through The Package and The Pillar of Autumn, particularly from later Rally Points for each will see you well. The ONI: Sword Base credit farming trick with the Target Designator can work well if you can trap one or two Leaders in the beam each time.

Fourth Horseman – Earn 5 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2500 cR

There are so many options for multikills – Team SWAT and Grifball are probably the best in my opinion. But any mode you’re good at will work – Squad Slayer because people cluster in it. Juggernaut (if you can get it) is really good for it. Don’t forget that multikills stack, so 4 kills in a few seconds counts as the double, triple and over kill, and you’re almost there!

Wednesday means it’s Game Night tonight. Come check out this post for the rules and details in the comments on the planned activities for each group. If you want to join in add the PLs for the group/groups you’re going to play in. I’m sure each group will give some opportunity for the first and fourth challenges today, even if it’s just one game to boost them for all players.

25 Responses to 15th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Regarding the Campaign challenge, am I right in thinking that if I start a local co-op game it won’t screw up my current solo Campaign save? I spent nearly an hour setting up my current Campaign checkpoint, pushing sleeping Grunts around with boxes, and I don’t want to mess that up when I’m 5,999 kills away from maxing out the Precisely commendation. On the other hand, this challenge will only take a minute or two of spamming ONI, and I’m mouth-wateringly close to Field Marshall and the extra 1,000 cR might be what I need to get me there tonight!

    The FF challenge can go to hell. Killing 125 enemies is bad enough, let alone killing 125 enemies on a map that is pretty much guaranteed to not come up as an option.

    The two other challenges should come easily enough from tonight’s Game Night session! 🙂 If we’re at exactly 8 people at any point then I might just throw us into Grifball for a quick game (if everyone wants to, anyway) so we can all get the challenge done easily. If not then it should come naturally in something like a Skirmish game since everyone tends to crowd inside the reinforcement spawns; or in BTB since there’s bound to be people sharing vehicles and stuff and the kill threshold is so high.

    19,062 required for Field Marshall
    4,500 from the three challenges I’ll do tonight
    14,562 left to get just from playing. Bring it on! 😀

    • gans42 says:

      co-op and solo campaigns are separate, so you don’t have to worry about losing your progress. though i will admit, i am just a smidge curious as to why you’re pushing around sleeping grunts? also just so you know, when you max a commendation you dont get a giant bonus, the last bonus you get is when you get the commendation to onyx. hope that helps

      • Scruff UK says:

        I know, but I’m a sucker for completism. And also I like flames. Once Precisely is maxed out then the only Campaign commendation I need to do anything on is the assists one, which is easily gypped with a second controller 🙂

        I’m pushing sleeping Grunts around so I can kill four of them at once with one sniper shot before my guy falls of a cliff and reloads to the checkpoint, thereby firing one shot at four Grunts and falling off a cliff, etc 😉

      • gans42 says:

        I would love to see a flying 4 for 1. you should make a vid of it and place it in your file share and put a link here. and yeah, i cant blame you, the flames are cool. i just figured ill end up maxing commendations as i play

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ I would, but I’m unable to make anything (vids or pics) and upload them to my file share, because my username is apparently banned. Even though I’ve been using XBL for years. It’s because it’s “Scruff UK” which contains “ff UK” which could be taken as being sweary. But I don’t want to change my Gamertag, so it’s kind of a stalemate!

        Anyway, I just copied what I already saw on Youtube and added a fall off a cliff! Have a browse around – it’s on Nightfall, on that bridge just before the forklift. Knock the crates over and melee it around to shove the Grunts into a nice line, then trigger the checkpoint, then BOOM 🙂

      • Niisama Broham says:

        I concur. A file share video of that is requested! Unless it’ll get you in trouble with Bungie somehow… but it sounds too creative to really be a bad thing

      • Niisama Broham says:

        Oh right, the gamertag thing. Oh well.

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ it’s all over Youtube anyway, just hunt for Commendation farming videos. All I did was add in a cliff fall 🙂

    • FireySplork says:

      600,000 Left for Hero

      4500 challenges

      595500 from playing BRING IT ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      (I know theres a credit limit)

      • Scruff UK says:

        You should do the Weekly Challenge. That 10k will make all the difference 😉

    • Matt says:

      What mission are you moving the grunts around?

  2. Braythor says:

    I like these, it’s a nice variety. I even think the Glacier one is ok – the revamped arcade format means that as long as it comes up, getting 125 shouldn’t be a problem (unless you really suck at it). Arcadefight is my preference, then run around spamming grenades at the spawn points (or the odd FRG, but I maxed out Get Loud months ago).

    I like to play through a mission fully when we get a campaign challenge. For this I recommend ONI whether you want to do that or not: I’m quite sure the banshees at the end count as leaders so just get to there and reload the checkpoint until you’re done. Only annoyance is your fellow spartan likes to take them out too.

    I’ll be on tonight but later than normal. Will probably join Scruff’s party if it’s still going.

  3. gans42 says:

    im sure many of you know this already, but to build on what matthew posted in the challenge description, you should do the ONI target designator trick, just turn on the thunderstorm skull. this way you ensure that every enemy (or practically every enemy) is a leader

    • Sean says:

      FYI, this does NOT work. I just tested it and ran past all enemies used the TD once and ended the game. I got my Killionaire, got 16 kills total (4 of which were Elites) and only those 4 elites counted towards the challenge.

      Personally I like Long Night of Solace from rally point Bravo for elite / leader kill challenges. By the time you get to the control room and back to the hangar, you’ve killed nearly 30 (maybe more) elites.

      • Scruff UK says:

        There is an in-game discrepancy between the Covenant’s hierarchy and what the game treats as a leader. So although you’ve got your leader class Jackals and Grunts running around, the only thing that counts towards “leader class enemies” as far as the challenges or commendations are concerned are Elites (and possibly Brutes), whether they’re leader-class (in terms of the Covenant canon) or not.

  4. Mister X says:

    Easy, easy, easy, easy. Griffbal, nightfall and 2 games of 2X SA

  5. mickoboy90 says:

    Easy challenges today..griffball and firefight doubles with my brother..off topic,the blue bungie are awesome..does anyone else have them?

    • Scruff UK says:

      Pretty much everyone’s got them. Have a look at any thread about Halo anywhere on the entire internets and you’ll see how they got them.

      • Bah Bodenkurk says:

        What’s a blue bungie?

      • mickoboy90 says:

        Its an armor effect mostly used by bungie. its blue flames..same as normal flames but in blue

  6. Bah Bodenkurk says:

    Didn’t Fourth Horseman com up a few days ago for less credits? It was on a day when there was also a challenge called Double Double, which was two multi-kills, I think.

  7. Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

    45 more games to go for the Weekly Challenge! Might as well grind it out during my few days off from work…

    • Shane says:

      Wow! What game types are you playing?

      • Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

        All Grifball… I just got a 21,000 cR jackpot and ran into an Inheritor today! I think his gamertag was “Dadiola”

Leave a Reply

