16th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  3. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  4. Katanarama – Kill 1 enemies using the Energy Sword in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll probably getting it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Beachhead and Outpost do have some vehicles dropped, 2X Score Attack has been reported to do well here, although sometimes there are none sometimes there are 4 or 5.

Katanarama – Kill 1 enemies using the Energy Sword in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

The easiest way I see of getting this is playing score attack or 2x Score Attack and getting to the Elites at the end. One of them carries a sword (more than one in 2x), and will of course rush you. Once you’ve taken him out, grab the sword then go after his buddies.

32 Responses to 16th June – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff UK says:

    Typical Thursday challenges really! I think a 2x Score Attack on a decent map like Unearthed (so I can *ahem* “kill one enemies” with a sword) followed by a FF Arcade (for lots of Elites, and also because it’s more fun with people, and I’m very close to hitting Iron on Perfectionist) should do nicely. Flat Tire can, as usual, go to hell.

    What is interesting is that Bungie Day is going to be on a Thursday. Given that it’s Bungie’s last day in charge of Halo and that Bungie themselves will be playing Reach for 24 hours, I’m hoping for some distinctly different and awesome Daily Challenges with massive credit rewards. Such as:
    – Play a game against Bungie staff [1,000 cR]
    – Win a game against Bungie staff [2,500 cR]
    – Steaktacular [5,000 cR]
    – Spend 7 hours in multiplayer matchmaking [7,777 cR]

    Bit of a ball-ache that Bungie Day is the day after Game Night though. Might be an idea to have another H3 night for Game Night that week, since I imagine a lot of people will want to be on Reach all evening on Thursday, and they might not want to do both! Come to think of it I should set up a H3 playlist so I can get that ‘7 on 7’ achievement…

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Don’t worry, we’ve already discussed what’s happening that week and I will be putting details when it’s pertinent. The next few weeks of game nights are all in hand and being mapped.

      • Scruff UK says:

        Awesome, thanks 🙂 I do love my game nights, will love ’em even more when I can stay up later, wheeeee 🙂

    • HalfEvilHomer says:

      Id definatly be up for a bit of H3 on that day…..or any day, might even get the last 2 achievements i need for that one, the shotgun spree and the extermination!

      As for the flat tyre challenge, if found arcade fight on glacier does well too (either in FF doubles or actual arcade fight) usually drops 3-4 vehicles in total….you just have to be quick and get them before everyone else does!

      Thanks for last night, was good to have some good games of invasion and BTB, definatly same again next week! =)

      • sevonica says:

        I played with a bungie emp last night. dude had a blue flaming head. i was surprised at how ‘not good’ he was hehe. all in good fun though. although getting hammered in invasion is very frustrating.

  2. Braythor says:

    The revamped arcade format makes Flat Tyre a more realistic goal as vehicles are no longer rare. Arcadefight on Beachhead or Glacier usually drops a couple of wraiths and ghosts now, and you can pick up a sword easily on that mode too.

  3. Edward (Marshy 40) says:

    I was going to give Flat Tire the shove too, but miraculously Sniperfight on Holdout came up immediately, so I tried Sovgaz’s tip (see comments some weeks back), and got 6 done. So if it comes up this evening, I’ll definitely go for it.

    Easy challenges otherwise, so that leaves more time for the weekly. Definitely in the home stretch now after yesterday’s fiesta, which makes it more relaxing to do. These challenges are not good for the OCD-side of my nature 😉

  4. Nic says:

    Will there be any challenges after bungie leaves?

    • Scruff UK says:

      Yeah, 343 are taking over.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      They should be, I’d like to think they’d give warning if they were going to remove functionality from a product (cf. Halo 2 online multiplayer). So 343i should be managing it. Whether they do anything different, or introduce any new challenges etc I don’t know.

      • Bah Bodenkurk says:

        Is the gameplay for Reach going to change? And is all the bungie.net stuff going to go away? Why is Bungie handing over it’s star game title anyway? I loved every Halo game that came out (except Wars, because I haven’t played it). Why the sudden change?

  5. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Soooo… Whose got blue flame?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      I do! Happy face!

      • Jesse says:

        Are you saying that’s you (well not YOU, you know what I mean) in the pic? Bungie employee?

      • Scruff UK says:

        ^ A couple of days ago, Bungie gave away the Blue Flame and the Bungie nameplate to everyone with an iPhone, an iPad, or 7 of their friends.

        Patience. I has it.

      • HalfEvilHomer says:

        I has it too, got my Brother to download it to his iphone and log me in to unlock it! Everyone will get it on the 23rd of june if i rememebr rightly!

      • The Fired Goon says:

        No longer reserved for Bungie employees…Blue Flames are free from the Bungie iApp.

        Don’t be stupid and give your info to some random person online so they can “Gift them to you”. Keep in mind they CAN, cuz I had my older brother hook me up. But those folks will need your B.net name and password. Which is usually linked to your Microsoft.net profile…I foresee some kids getting screwed over through this…

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Yes it is me

  6. Mister X says:

    Easy, medium, hard, easy.

  7. G says:

    Call me contrary if you like, but now anyone can have a blue flaming helmet, and in nearly every game I play someone has got one, I find I really don’t want one. It’s just not special any more 😦

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I totally agree. I had the star nameplate for 1 game, then changed back to the helmet, which has always been pretty rare anyway.

      And yes I got a friend to give me access to the star via the app because I don’t have an iTunes device.

    • Scruff UK says:

      I know exactly what you mean. Back when I first heard about the star nameplates I thought it’d be an awesome thing to have, but now everyone’s got them I feel much more smug with my old-school Halo 2 logo 😉

      • onza says:

        The halo 2 one is legit lol

      • plstubblefield says:

        Marathon, baby! 😉

        I remember what a groundbreaking series of games this was for me. Now when I play the Xbox Live Arcade version, it reminds me anew of how far the gaming industry has come so fast…

      • G says:

        I changed my gamertag and missed out keeping the halo 2 nameplate… I’m very jealous right now!

    • ZaganZee says:

      absolutely agree. The whole joy was that no one had it. I thought it was a huge deal when I ran into people with stars or blue flames but now it’s just a common thing.

  8. Alright, I love Bungie and all (so much that I made my first forum post ever on their 7 reasons to celebrate thread yesterday), but the Flat Tire challenge needs to be fixed.

    For 10 vehicles, the credit total needs to be upped. I have no problem at all when it only requires you to kill 5, but a 1125 cR payout for 10 vehicles doesn’t really seem so worth it to me. Hopefully, I’m not the only one thinking that. Anyway, other than that, easy challenges today. A couple games of 2X score attack and you should be done with 3 of the 4.

    Good luck all!
    GT: EyeOhYou

    • Niisama Broham says:

      Flat Tires suck. The challenge and in RL too; but definitely the challenge.

      Considering the trouble involved with poor returns, Fire Tires should be avoided

  9. Shawn (Gamertag: txmade1986) says:

    About 10 more games for the Weekly Challenge! Still can’t believe I ran into an Inheritor last night! I have proof in my file share 😉

  10. michael (DR HIGGLESTEIN) says:

    Flat Tire was a LOT easier for me this time since they added the Doubles Arcade gametype. In 1 game of Doubles Arcade on Beachhead i was able to get 5 Vehicle kills easily. Everytime the Drop Ships come in they dropped either a Ghost or a Wraith or both. Just make sure if your going for this challenge to take out the Vehicles the right way so it will count. I made a mistake and thought a Rocket Launcher would take out a Wraith and give me a vehicle kill, but it didnt. Guess it kills the driver first. Always go up to it and board it and put a Grenade on it. Thats the way i was able to get it to count every time. Good luck! 😉

Leave a Reply

